DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes: currently, NO limitation invokes interpretation under § 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 29 is/are objected to because of the following informalities; appropriate correction is required:
In claim(s) 29, the claim(s) should have a period at the end of its sentence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 27-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Representative claim(s) 27 recites
A system for predicting abnormal eye convergence using an eye tracker having a camera, the system comprising:
a display for presenting a video for a subject;
an eye tracking camera configured to track eye movement of the subject while the subject watches the video;
and a processor coupled with the eye tracker having a camera and containing program instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to:
process the tracked eye movement to generate eye tracking data for a first eye and a second eye, the eye tracking data including a plurality of data points for each of the first eye and the second eye;
analyze the eye tracking data;
temporally calibrate the eye tracker by independently predicting pupil positions of the first eye and second eye for each of the plurality of data points based on time elapsed since a start of the video;
and compare movement of the first eye to the second eye and predicting whether the subject has abnormal eye convergence.
(abstract portions shown in emphasis)
Step 2A Prong One
The recitation of processing and analyzing data to then calibrate, compare, and predict more data / values encompasses performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of mere extrasolutionary activity (i.e., mere data gathering and/or nominal output) and/or otherwise nominal and generic computer elements (2019 Patent Eligibility Guidance – hereafter ‘2019 PEG’ - p. 55; see also MPEP § 2106.05(a), (d) and (g)) (e.g., processing ‘units’).
For example, but for the recitation of obtaining/acquiring data and/or generic processing ‘units’ / functional steps to perform abstract limitations, the steps of ‘processing’, ‘analyzing’, ‘calibrating’, ‘comparing’ encompasses a clinician (mentally) reviewing eye tracker data to then (mentally) compare and predict a subject’s eye convergence status.
If a claim, under BRI, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the mere recitation of extrasolutionary activity (and/or otherwise generic computing elements) then the claim falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea under step 2A prong one of the Mayo framework as set forth in the 2019 PEG.
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 27 only recites additional elements of extrasolutionary activity — in particular, displaying a video and tracking the eyes of a subject — and/or generic computing structures / elements without further sufficient detail that would tie the abstract portions of the claim into a specific practical application (2019 PEG p. 55 - the instant claim, for example, does not tie into a particular machine, a sufficiently particular form of data or signal collection — via the claimed data obtaining, or a sufficiently particular form of display or computing/processing architecture / structure).
Independent claim(s) 28 encounter the same issues as claim(s) 27 mutatis mutandis.
Dependent claim(s) 29, 32, 33 merely add detail to the abstract portions of the claim but do not otherwise encompass any additional elements which tie the claim(s) into a particular application / integration (the dependent claim(s) reciting generic ‘units’ or ‘steps’ which encompass mere computer instructions to carry out an otherwise wholly abstract idea).
Dependent claim(s) 30, 31 encounter substantially the same issues as the independent claim(s) from which they depend in that they encompass further generic extrasolutionary activity (generic data gathering and nominal display) and/or generic computing elements (storage, memory per se).
Accordingly, the claim(s) are not integrated into a practical application under step 2A prong two.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of extrasolutionary activity (data gathering and display outputting) and generic computing elements cannot amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
For the independent claim portions and dependent claims which provide additional elements of extrasolutionary data gathering, MPEP § 2106.05(g) establishes that mere data gathering for determining a result does not amount to significantly more:
2106.05(g) Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity
Another consideration when determining whether a claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application in Step 2A Prong Two or recites significantly more in Step 2B is whether the additional elements add more than insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception. The term "extra-solution activity" can be understood as activities incidental to the primary process or product that are merely a nominal or tangential addition to the claim. Extra-solution activity includes both pre-solution and post-solution activity. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent. An example of post-solution activity is an element that is not integrated into the claim as a whole, e.g., a printer that is used to output a report of fraudulent transactions, which is recited in a claim to a computer programmed to analyze and manipulate information about credit card transactions in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent.
As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. Parker v. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ 193, 196 (1978). In Flook, the Court reasoned that "[t]he notion that post-solution activity, no matter how conventional or obvious in itself, can transform an unpatentable principle into a patentable process exalts form over substance. A competent draftsman could attach some form of post-solution activity to almost any mathematical formula". 437 U.S. at 590; 198 USPQ at 197; Id. (holding that step of adjusting an alarm limit variable to a figure computed according to a mathematical formula was "post-solution activity"). See also Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 79, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1968 (2012) (additional element of measuring metabolites of a drug administered to a patient was insignificant extra-solution activity).
Examiners should carefully consider each claim on its own merits, as well as evaluate all other relevant considerations, before making a determination of whether an element (or combination of elements) is insignificant extra-solution activity. In particular, evaluation of the particular machine and particular transformation considerations (see MPEP § 2106.05(b) and (c), respectively), the well-understood, routine, conventional consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)), and the field of use and technological environment consideration (see MPEP § 2106.05(h)) may assist examiners in making a determination of whether an element (or combination of elements) is insignificant extra-solution activity. Note, however, that examiners should not evaluate the well-understood, routine, conventional consideration in the Step 2A Prong Two analysis, because that consideration is only evaluated in Step 2B.
This consideration is similar to factors used in past Office guidance (for example, the now superseded Bilski and Mayo analyses) that were described as mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea. When determining whether an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity, examiners may consider the following:
(1) Whether the extra-solution limitation is well known. See Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611-12, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) (well-known random analysis techniques to establish the inputs of an equation were token extra-solution activity); Flook, 437 U.S. at 593-95, 198 USPQ at 197 (a formula would not be patentable by only indicating that is could be usefully applied to existing surveying techniques); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d 1928, 1937 (Fed. Cir. 2017) (the use of a well-known XML tag to form an index was deemed token extra-solution activity). Because this overlaps with the well-understood, routine, conventional consideration, it should not be considered in the Step 2A Prong Two extra-solution activity analysis.
(2) Whether the limitation is significant (i.e. it imposes meaningful limits on the claim such that it is not nominally or tangentially related to the invention). See Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 715-16, 112 USPQ2d 1750, 1755 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (restricting public access to media was found to be insignificant extra-solution activity); Apple, Inc. v. Ameranth, Inc., 842 F.3d 1229, 1242, 120 USPQ2d 1844, 1855 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (in patents regarding electronic menus, features related to types of ordering were found to be insignificant extra-solution activity). This is considered in Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
(3) Whether the limitation amounts to necessary data gathering and outputting, (i.e., all uses of the recited judicial exception require such data gathering or data output). See Mayo, 566 U.S. at 79, 101 USPQ2d at 1968; OIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1092-93 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering). This is considered in Step 2A Prong Two and Step 2B.
Below are examples of activities that the courts have found to be insignificant extra-solution activity:
Mere Data Gathering:
i. Performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain input for an equation, In re Grams, 888 F.2d 835, 839-40; 12 USPQ2d 1824, 1827-28 (Fed. Cir. 1989);
Some cases have identified insignificant computer implementation as an example of insignificant extra-solution activity. See e.g., Fort Props., Inc. v. Am. Master Lease LLC, 671 F.3d 1317, 1323-24, 101 USPQ2d 1785, 1789-90 (Fed. Cir. 2012); Bancorp Servs., LLC v. Sun Life Assur. Co. of Canada, 687 F.3d 1266, 1280-81, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1434-35 (Fed. Cir. 2012). Other cases have considered these types of limitations as mere instructions to apply a judicial exception. See MPEP § 2106.05(f) for more information about insignificant computer implementation.
For claim limitations that add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea), examiners should explain in an eligibility rejection why they do not meaningfully limit the claim. For example, an examiner could explain that adding a final step of storing data to a process that only recites computing the area of a space (a mathematical relationship) does not add a meaningful limitation to the process of computing the area. For more information on formulating a subject matter eligibility rejection, see MPEP § 2106.07(a).
The extrasolutionary activity/step(s) of displaying a video and tracking eye movement as presently recited, cannot provide an inventive concept which amounts to significantly more than the recited abstract idea.
For the independent claims as well as the dependent claims merely reciting generic computer elements and activity (memory/storage, processing units), MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) establishes computer-based elements which are considered to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when recited at a high level of generality
II. ELEMENTS THAT THE COURTS HAVE RECOGNIZED AS WELL-UNDERSTOOD, ROUTINE, CONVENTIONAL ACTIVITY IN PARTICULAR FIELDS
Because examiners should rely on what the courts have recognized, or those of ordinary skill in the art would recognize, as elements that describe well‐understood, routine activities, the following section provides examples of elements that have been recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, conventional activity in particular fields. It should be noted, however, that many of these examples failed to satisfy other considerations (e.g., because they were recited at a high level of generality and thus were mere instructions to apply an exception, or were insignificant extra-solution activity). Thus, examiners should carefully analyze additional elements in a claim with respect to all relevant Step 2B considerations, including this consideration, before making a conclusion as to whether they amount to an inventive concept.
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result‐‐a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added));
ii. Performing repetitive calculations, Flook, 437 U.S. at 594, 198 USPQ2d at 199 (recomputing or readjusting alarm limit values); Bancorp Services v. Sun Life, 687 F.3d 1266, 1278, 103 USPQ2d 1425, 1433 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("The computer required by some of Bancorp’s claims is employed only for its most basic function, the performance of repetitive calculations, and as such does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of those claims.");
iii. Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 225, 110 USPQ2d 1984 (2014) (creating and maintaining "shadow accounts"); Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 716, 112 USPQ2d at 1755 (updating an activity log);
iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93;
v. Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348, 113 USPQ2d 1354, 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (optical character recognition); and
vi. A Web browser’s back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent Corp. v. Active Network, Inc., 790 F.3d 1343, 1348, 115 USPQ2d 1414, 1418 (Fed. Cir. 2015).
Accordingly, the computer elements, as presently limited, cannot provide an inventive concept since they fall under a generic structure and/or function that does not add a meaningful additional feature to the judicial exception(s) of the claim(s). The claim(s) are not patent eligible under step 2B.
Examiner notes: by way of contrast, claim(s) 20-26 do not encounter the same eligibility issues as claim(s) 27-33 as the eye tracking and display are more particularly limited and thus are not overly generic data gathering functions / steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (US 20130021456 A1).
For claim(s) 27-28, Inoue teaches A system for predicting abnormal eye convergence using an eye tracker having a camera, [entire disclosure - see at least abstract, ¶12] the system comprising:
a display for presenting a video for a subject; [¶12]
an eye tracking camera configured to track eye movement of the subject while the subject watches the video; [¶80]
and a processor coupled with the eye tracker having a camera and containing program instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to:
process the tracked eye movement to generate eye tracking data for a first eye and a second eye, the eye tracking data including a plurality of data points for each of the first eye and the second eye; [eye tracking while video watching is/are central inventive feature(s) detailed throughout the majority (if not the entirety) of the disclosure of Inoue – see at least abstract, Fig(s). 1, Fig(s). 5C, Fig(s). 6][coordinates in Fig(s). 8]
analyze the eye tracking data; [analysis throughout ¶¶86-106, see at least ¶¶95-100]
temporally calibrate the eye tracker by independently predicting pupil positions of the first eye and second eye for each of the plurality of data points based on time elapsed since a start of the video; [pupil coordinate determinations of left and right eyes over eval time in ¶¶94-96 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of ‘calibrating’ (i.e., the elements are present in Inoue and thus the claimed function of ‘temporal calibration’ is taught]
and compare movement of the first eye to the second eye and predicting whether the subject has abnormal eye convergence. [assessment of whether convergence is ‘ideal’ (i.e., normal or abnormal) per ¶86, ¶106]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Examiner notes: for brevity, economy, and clarity of reading, select of the claims may be addressed jointly herein when instances of limitations with verbatim or near-verbatim similarity are recited in the body of differently numbered claims and/or when multiple different limitations are clearly addressed by a same/similar citation to/within a reference.
Claim(s) 20-21 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Waldorf (US 20140171756 A1).
For claim(s) 20 Inoue teaches
A method for identifying impairment of a subject, [entire disclosure – see at least abstract] the method comprising:
presenting a video for a subject to watch on a display, the video including a target that moves; [eye tracking while video watching is/are central inventive feature(s) detailed throughout the majority (if not the entirety) of the disclosure of Inoue – see at least abstract, Fig(s). 1, Fig(s). 5C, Fig(s). 6]
using an eye tracker having a camera to track pupil positions of a first eye and a second eye of the subject to generate eye tracking data for the subject as the subject watches the video, the eye tracking data including a plurality of data points for each of the first eye and the second eye; [coordinates in Fig(s). 8]
analyzing the eye tracking data; [analysis throughout ¶¶86-106, see at least ¶¶95-100]
temporally calibrating the eye tracker by independently predicting pupil positions of the first eye and the second eye of the subject for each of the plurality of data points based on time elapsed since a start of the video; [pupil coordinate determinations of left and right eyes over eval time in ¶¶94-96 constitute(s), under BRI, a form of ‘calibrating’ (i.e., the elements are present in Inoue and thus the claimed function of ‘temporal calibration’ is taught]
and comparing movement of the first eye to the second eye and predicting whether the subject has abnormal eye convergence. [assessment of whether convergence is ‘ideal’ (i.e., normal or abnormal) per ¶86, ¶106]
Inoue fails to teach the video including a target moving around a perimeter of the display including at least one revolution.
Waldorf teaches a method of impairment determination [abstract] comprising displaying a video of a target moving around a perimeter for at least one revolution. [Fig(s). 3]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was filed to modify the method of Inoue to incorporate the moving target video of Waldorf in order to more robustly and accurately assess the subject’s vision. As motivated by Waldorf ¶¶18-22.
For claim(s) 21, Waldorf teaches (in the motivated combination of claim(s) 20)
calculating one or more metrics based on the eye tracking data, the one or more metrics comprising at least conjugacy metrics of both eyes of the subject. [¶7 ¶20] As motivated in claim(s) 20.
For claim(s) 26, Inoue teaches
wherein the pupil positions are tracked for at least 40 seconds. [time shown in Fig. 8 is greater than 40s]
Double Patenting
Claims 20-26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 11064881 in view of Waldorf. Claims 1-7 of the ‘881 patent substantially anticipate the identified claim(s) of this application but for the specific display of a target forming a revolution around a predetermined perimeter. Waldorf teaches such a feature in Fig(s). 3 for the benefit of children and younger athletes in Waldorf ¶58. Thus, claim(s) 20-26 are obvious in scope over claim(s) 1-7 of the ‘881 patent in view of Waldorf.
Claim(s) 27-33 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 8-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11064881. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claim(s) substantially anticipate(s) the identified claim(s) of this application.
Claims 20-26 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 12161415 in view of Waldorf. Claims 1-4 of the ‘415 patent substantially anticipate the identified claim(s) of this application but for the specific display of a target forming a revolution around a predetermined perimeter. Waldorf teaches such a feature in Fig(s). 3 for the benefit of children and younger athletes in Waldorf ¶58. Thus, claim(s) 20-26 are obvious in scope over claim(s) 1-4 of the ‘415 patent in view of Waldorf.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN S MELHUS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791