DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh (TW 201504533).
Regarding claim 1, Hsieh discloses a wall installation Fig. 10 comprising: a wall panel 3; a plurality of framing members 4; and a plurality of fasteners 1, wherein the wall panel is secured to the framing members by passing at least two of the fasteners through the wall panel into each of the framing members, wherein each fastener comprises: a head 11; a shaft 10; and a sleeve 2, wherein the shaft extends from a lower surface of the head, wherein a first portion of the shaft includes a helical thread Fig. 10, wherein the sleeve surrounds a second portion of the shaft, and wherein the sleeve is made of an elastomeric material and wherein vibro-acoustic energy that encounters the wall panel and travels through the fasteners to the framing members is capable of being attenuated by the sleeves of the fasteners. However, Hsieh fails to explicitly disclose a material having a Shore A hardness in the range of 10 to 30. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used as a matter of obvious design choice. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Regarding claim 2, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein the sleeve 2 is fixed to the second portion of the shaft 10.
Regarding claim 3, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the sleeve 2 is a conical frustrum having a first end defining a maximum width of the sleeve and a second end defining a minimum width of the sleeve.
Regarding claim 4, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein the maximum width of the sleeve 2 is equal to a maximum width of the head 11.
Regarding claim 5, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein the maximum width of the sleeve 2 is less than a maximum width of the head 11.
Regarding claim 6, Hsieh as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the maximum width of the sleeve is greater than a maximum width of the head. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. In re Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984)
Regarding claim 7, Hsieh as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the maximum width of the sleeve 2 is in the range of greater than 0.125 inches (3.0 mm) to 0.5 inches (12.5 mm). Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the sleeve to any number of ranges (i.e. 0.125 inches (3.0 mm) to 0.5 inches (12.5 mm)) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Hsieh as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the minimum width of the sleeve is in the range of 0.125 inches (3.0 mm) to less than 0.5 inches (12.5 mm). Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the width of the sleeve to any number of ranges (i.e. 0.125 inches (3.0 mm) to 0.5 inches (12.5 mm)) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 9, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein the first end of the sleeve 2 abuts the lower surface of the head 11. Regarding claim 10, Hsieh as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a slope of the conical frustrum from the maximum width to the minimum width is in the range of 3 degrees to 30 degrees. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a slope of the conical frustrum to any number of ranges (i.e. 3 degrees to 30 degrees) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 11, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein at least a portion of the sleeve 2 is a cylinder having a diameter that corresponds to the maximum width of the sleeve.
Regarding claim 12, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein the cylinder is situated between the head 11 and the conical frustrum.
Regarding claim 13, Hsieh as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a length of the sleeve is in the range of 0.25 inches (6.0 mm) to 1 inch (25.4 mm). Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a length of the sleeve to any number of ranges (i.e. 0.25 inches (6.0 mm) to 1 inch (25.4 mm)) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein a length of the sleeve 2 is less than one half the length of the shaft 10.
Regarding claim 15, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein a length of the sleeve 2 is equal to one half the length of the shaft.
Regarding claim 16, Hsieh as modified discloses invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a length of the sleeve is greater than one half the length of the shaft. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a length of the sleeve to any number of ranges (i.e. greater than one half) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 17, Hsieh as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a width of the sleeve is the same along a length of the sleeve, wherein the width of the sleeve is in the range of 0.125 inches (3.0 mm) to 0.5 inches (12.5 mm), and wherein the length of the sleeve is in the range of 0.25 inches (6.0 mm) to 1 inch (25.4 mm). Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a length and width of the sleeve to any number of ranges (i.e. 0.125 inches (3.0 mm) to 0.5 inches (12.5 mm), 0.25 inches (6.0 mm) to 1 inch (25.4 mm), respectively) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Regarding claim 18, Hsieh as modified discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a length of the shaft is in the range of 0.25 inches (6.0 mm) to 1.625 inches (41.28 mm). Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a length of the shaft to any number of ranges (i.e. 0.25 inches (6.0 mm) to 1.625 inches (41.28 mm)) disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 19, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein an upper surface of the head 11 has an indentation 110 to facilitate rotation of the fastener 1 by a tool that interfaces with the indentation.
Regarding claim 20, Hsieh as modified discloses wherein the framing member 4 is a wall stud.
Conclusion
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675