Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, 11, 14-17, 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0032107 A1) in view of LI (U.S. Pub
No. 2021/0185734 A1)
1, Cozzo teaches a first node, comprising: at least one processor; one or more non- transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor [par 0013, 0040, The phrase “computer readable medium’ includes any type of medium capable of being accessed by a computer, such as read only memory (ROM), random access memory (RAM), a hard disk drive, a compact disc (CD), a digital video disc (DVD), or any other type of memory. A “non-transitory” computer readable medium excludes wired, wireless, optical, or other communication links that transport transitory
electrical or other signals. A non-transitory computer readable medium includes media where data can be permanently stored and media where data. The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS],
wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the first node to perform operations comprising: receiving a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH) block[par 0074, A gNB usually sends multiple SS/PBCH block transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index that corresponds to a downlink beam. A mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble enables the possibility to establish a beam pair, e.g., during initial access. For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index | and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i.],
wherein an index of the first SS/PBCH block is one of a plurality of candidate SS/PBCH block indexes [par 0072, For example, the gNB can transmit a number of SS/PBCH blocks using different narrow downlink beams and the UE can transmit multiple PRACHs using different spatial filters associated to the receptions of the different SS/PBCH blocks];
determining a first physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion group (ROG) based at least on the index of the first SS/PBCH block the index of the first SS/PBCH block, and the a first repetition factor, and a first mapping order between candidate SS/PBCH block indexes and ROs [par 0074, A gNB usually sends multiple SS/PBCH block transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index that corresponds to a downlink beam. A mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble enables the possibility to establish a beam pair, e.g., during initial access. For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index i and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i],
wherein the index of the first SS/PBCH block is mapped to at least two ROGs in a plurality of ROGs according to the first mapping order [fig 6, par 0077, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index. Thus, the association of the SS/PBCH block index and the RO provided by a PRACH configuration allows the gNB to understand the beam where the UE is located],
the at least two ROGs respectively correspond to at least two different repetition factors, and the first repetition factor is used to determine the first ROG from the at least two ROGs [par 0111, In 810, the first PRACH transmission associated to the first SS/PBCH block index is with 4 repetitions, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, and the second PRACH transmission associated to the second SS/PBCH block index is without repetitions],
wherein the first ROG comprises a plurality of PRACH occasions (ROs) [par 0077, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index],
the first repetition factor indicates a quantity of repetition times of preamble transmissions in a first preamble group[par 0081, The UE is also provided a number N of SS/PBCH block indexes associated with one PRACH occasion and a number R of contention based preambles per SS/PBCH block index per valid PRACH occasion by ssb-perRACH- OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB. The PRACH configuration can also include at least one parameter p that indicates a number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission];
wherein each RO in a plurality of ROs in the first ROG corresponds to the index of the first SS/PBCH block[fig 6, par 0077, In one example, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index. Thus, the association of the SS/PBCH block index and the RO provided by a PRACH configuration allows the gNB to understand the beam where the UE is located],
and preamble indexes of preambles corresponding to each RO in the first ROG are the same[par 0074, 0076, The association between SS/PBCH blocks and ROs and/or PRACH preambles can be a 1-to-1 mapping or a many-to-one mapping or a one-to-many mapping. Each RO can be associated to a single PRACH preamble or to multiple PRACH preambles, and the configuration provides the number of PRACH preambles associated to one RO];
transmitting the first preamble group on the plurality of ROs in the first ROG,
wherein the first preamble group comprises a plurality of preambles and the plurality of preambles in the first preamble group are transmitted using a same spatial filter and associated with a random access response[par 0071, 0073, 0074, 0076, the UE can send multiple PRACH transmissions using a same spatial filter for all PRACH transmissions. The UE can select a received SS/PBCH block based on the quality of the SS/PBCH block reception and transmits a number of PRACH repetitions so that the gNB can combine the corresponding multiple PRACH receptions. If the UE does not receive an RAR, either because the gNB has not detected a PRACH preamble from the UE, for example because a corresponding spatial filter used by the UE does not provide sufficiently large SINR, or because although the gNB has successfully detected the PRACH preamble from the UE and has transmitted an RAR to the UE, For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index i and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i. The association between SS/PBCH blocks and ROs and/or PRACH preambles can be a 1-to-1 mapping or a many-to-one mapping or a one-to-many mapping]; and
receiving the random access response associated with the plurality of preambles[par 0072, 0132, 0136, A QNB can detect several PRACH preambles from a UE that transmits PRACH with repetitions using multiple ROs, and transmit a RAR. The UE attempts to detect a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a corresponding RA-RNTI during a window controlled by higher layers. The UE uses the one or multiple RA-RNTIs to receive a RAR message in one or multiple RAR windows].
Cozzo fail to show any two ROs in the first ROG are orthogonal in time domain, the first ROG is one of the plurality of ROGs.
Li show any two ROs in the first ROG are orthogonal in time domain, the first ROG is one of the plurality of ROGs[par 0139, One PRACH periodicity may include a plurality of PRACH slots, and one PRACH slot may include a plurality of ROs orthogonal in frequency domain and/or a plurality of ROs orthogonal in time domain].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo and Li because the candidate SSB occasion in the SSB time window is mapped to the PRACH time-frequency-code resource in the PRACH periodicity first in ascending order of indexes of preamble sequences on one RO. [Li par 0139]
2, Cozzo and Li disclose the first node according to claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of ROGs comprises a plurality of Ros [Cozzo par 0008, The SIB indicates a first number of multiple physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions, a first partition of PRACH occasions (ROs) associated with multiple PRACH transmissions, a second partition of ROs associated with one PRACH transmission, and one or more first sets of multiple ROs associated with the first number of multiple PRACH transmissions];
and each of the plurality of ROs comprised in the first PRACH occasion group is valid [par 0111, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, the first PRACH transmission in the first RO is without repetitions, and the PRACH transmission in the second RO is with 4 repetitions and the repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources].
3, Cozzo and Li demonstrate the first node according to claim 1, wherein the first repetition factor is two, four, or eight [Cozzo, par 0084, The PRACH configuration may provide more than one value for the number of repetitions, for example (2, 4) or (2, 4, 8) or (2, 3, 4) or (2, 3, 4, 8) and the UE determines the number of repetitions by selecting one of the configured values based on RSRP measurements of the received SS/PBCH block].
8. Cozzo and Li reveal the first node according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of ROGs includes a plurality of ROs, and for each RO included in the plurality of ROGs, different candidate SS/PBCH block indexes are mapped to different preambles in a plurality of preambles included in the each RO [Cozzo, par 0106, Partitions of PRACH resources for use with or without PRACH repetitions may also depend on the mapping between SS/PBCH block indexes and ROs. For example, when a first partition of ROs is for transmission with repetitions and a second partition is for transmission without repetitions, ROs that are part of the first partition are configured with a 1-to-N mapping of SS/PBCH block and ROs so that a PRACH transmission with MSN repetitions uses some or all the N ROs mapped to the same SS/PBCH block].
14, Cozzo provides a method, comprising: receiving a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH) block[par 0074, A gNB usually sends multiple SS/PBCH block transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index that corresponds to a downlink beam. A mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble enables the possibility to establish a beam pair, e.g., during initial access. For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index | and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i.],
wherein an index of the first SS/PBCH block is one of a plurality of candidate SS/PBCH block indexes[par 0072, For example, the gNB can transmit a number of SS/PBCH blocks using different narrow downlink beams and the UE can transmit multiple PRACHs using different spatial filters associated to the receptions of the different SS/PBCH blocks];
determining a first physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion group (ROG) based at least on the index of the first SS/PBCH block the index of the first SS/PBCH block, and the a first repetition factor, and a first mapping order between candidate SS/PBCH block indexes and ROs [par 0074, A gNB usually sends multiple SS/PBCH block transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index that corresponds to a downlink beam. A mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble enables the possibility to establish a beam pair, e.g., during initial access. For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index i and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i],
wherein the index of the first SS/PBCH block is mapped to at least two ROGs in a plurality of ROGs according to the first mapping order [fig 6, par 0077, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index. Thus, the association of the SS/PBCH block index and the RO provided by a PRACH configuration allows the gNB to understand the beam where the UE is located],
the at least two ROGs respectively correspond to at least two different repetition factors, and the first repetition factor is used to determine the first ROG from the at least two ROGs [par 0111, In 810, the first PRACH transmission associated to the first SS/PBCH block index is with 4 repetitions, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, and the second PRACH transmission associated to the second SS/PBCH block index is without repetitions],
wherein the first ROG comprises a plurality of PRACH occasions (ROs) [par 0077, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index],
the first repetition factor indicates a quantity of repetition times of preamble transmissions in a first preamble group[par 0081, The UE is also provided a number N of SS/PBCH block indexes associated with one PRACH occasion and a number R of contention based preambles per SS/PBCH block index per valid PRACH occasion by ssb-perRACH- OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB. The PRACH configuration can also include at least one parameter p that indicates a number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission];
wherein each RO in a plurality of ROs in the first ROG corresponds to the index of the first SS/PBCH block[fig 6, par 0077, In one example, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index. Thus, the association of the SS/PBCH block index and the RO provided by a PRACH configuration allows the gNB to understand the beam where the UE is located],
and preamble indexes of preambles corresponding to each RO in the first ROG are the same[par 0074, 0076, The association between SS/PBCH blocks and ROs and/or PRACH preambles can be a 1-to-1 mapping or a many-to-one mapping or a one-to-many mapping. Each RO can be associated to a single PRACH preamble or to multiple PRACH preambles, and the configuration provides the number of PRACH preambles associated to one RO];
transmitting the first preamble group on the plurality of ROs in the first ROG,
wherein the first preamble group comprises a plurality of preambles and the plurality of preambles in the first preamble group are transmitted using a same spatial filter and associated with a random access response[par 0071, 0073, 0074, 0076, the UE can send multiple PRACH transmissions using a same spatial filter for all PRACH transmissions. The UE can select a received SS/PBCH block based on the quality of the SS/PBCH block reception and transmits a number of PRACH repetitions so that the gNB can combine the corresponding multiple PRACH receptions. If the UE does not receive an RAR, either because the gNB has not detected a PRACH preamble from the UE, for example because a corresponding spatial filter used by the UE does not provide sufficiently large SINR, or because although the gNB has successfully detected the PRACH preamble from the UE and has transmitted an RAR to the UE, For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index i and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i. The association between SS/PBCH blocks and ROs and/or PRACH preambles can be a 1-to-1 mapping or a many-to-one mapping or a one-to-many mapping]; and
receiving the random access response associated with the plurality of preambles[par 0072, 0132, 0136, A QNB can detect several PRACH preambles from a UE that transmits PRACH with repetitions using multiple ROs, and transmit a RAR. The UE attempts to detect a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a corresponding RA-RNTI during a window controlled by higher layers. The UE uses the one or multiple RA-RNTIs to receive a RAR message in one or multiple RAR windows].
Cozzo fail to show any two ROs in the first ROG are orthogonal in time domain, the first ROG is one of the plurality of ROGs.
Li show any two ROs in the first ROG are orthogonal in time domain, the first ROG is one of the plurality of ROGs[par 0139, One PRACH periodicity may include a plurality of PRACH slots, and one PRACH slot may include a plurality of ROs orthogonal in frequency domain and/or a plurality of ROs orthogonal in time domain].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo and Li because the candidate SSB occasion in the SSB time window is mapped to the PRACH time-frequency-code resource in the PRACH periodicity first in ascending order of indexes of preamble sequences on one RO. [Li par 0139]
15. Cozzo and Li describe the method according to claim 14, wherein each of the plurality of ROGs comprises a plurality of ROs[Cozzo par 0008, The SIB indicates a first number of multiple physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions, a first partition of PRACH occasions (ROs) associated with multiple PRACH transmissions, a second partition of ROs associated with one PRACH transmission, and one or more first sets of multiple ROs associated with the first number of multiple PRACH transmissions];
each of the plurality of ROs comprised in the first ROG is valid[par 0111, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, the first PRACH transmission in the first RO is without repetitions, and the PRACH transmission in the second RO is with 4 repetitions and the repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources].
16.Cozzo and Li convey the method according to claim 14, wherein the first repetition factor is two, four, or eight[Cozzo, par 0084, The PRACH configuration may provide more than one value for the number of repetitions, for example (2, 4) or (2, 4, 8) or (2, 3, 4) or (2, 3, 4, 8) and the UE determines the number of repetitions by selecting one of the configured values based on RSRP measurements of the received SS/PBCH block].
19. Cozzo and Li defines the method according to claim 14, wherein each candidate SS/PBCH block index in the plurality of candidate SS/PBCH block indexes is mapped to at least one RO in a first period[fig 8, par 0111, PRACH transmission with repetitions that is associated to an SS/PBCH block index and transmitted in ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources, and different mappings of ROs and repetitions in a time period can be associated to same or different SSBs].,
wherein the first period is a PRACH configuration period; or the first period starts from frame number 0, and the first period is an association pattern period including one or more association periods[Cozzo par 0091, 0112, The UE determines time and frequency resources from a mapping of SS/PBCH block indexes and ROs and PRACH preamble index(es) from the configured PRACH parameters, for multiple PRACH transmissions 740. ] PRACH repetitions can be transmitted in ROs with subsequent non-consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources, or in ROs with subsequent consecutive or non consecutive frequency resources indexes and same time resources, or also in ROs with subsequent time and frequency resources indexes. The periodicity or association period of the mapping of the RO resources and number of repetitions illustrated in FIG. 8 as the SSB periodicity equally apply to any duration of the association period provided to the UE].
20. Cozzo provide a second node, comprising: at least one processor; one or more non- transitory computer-readable storage media coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor[par 0013, 0040, The phrase “computer readable medium’ includes any type of medium capable of being accessed by a computer, such as read only memory (ROM), random access
memory (RAM), a hard disk drive, a compact disc (CD), a digital video disc (DVD), or any other type of memory. A “non-transitory” computer readable medium excludes wired, wireless, optical, or other communication links that transport transitory electrical or other signals. A non-transitory computer readable medium includes media where data can be permanently stored and media where data. The controller/processor 225 is also capable of executing programs and other processes resident in the memory 230, such as an OS],
wherein the programming instructions, when executed, cause the second node to perform operations comprising: transmitting a first synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH) block[par 0074, A gNB usually sends multiple SS/PBCH block transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index that corresponds to a downlink beam. A mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble enables the possibility to establish a beam pair, e.g., during initial access. For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index | and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i.],
wherein an index of the first SS/PBCH block is one of a plurality of candidate SS/PBCH block indexes[par 0072, For example, the gNB can transmit a number of SS/PBCH blocks using different narrow downlink beams and the UE can transmit multiple PRACHs using different spatial filters associated to the receptions of the different SS/PBCH blocks];
receiving a first preamble group wherein the first preamble group comprises a plurality of preambles and the plurality of preambles in the first preamble group are transmitted using a same spatial filter and associated with a random access response[par 0071, 0073, 0074, 0076, the UE can send multiple PRACH transmissions using a same spatial filter for all PRACH transmissions. The UE can select a received SS/PBCH block based on the quality of the SS/PBCH block reception and transmits a number of PRACH repetitions so that the gNB can combine the corresponding multiple PRACH receptions. If the UE does not receive an RAR, either because the gNB has not detected a PRACH preamble from the UE, for example because a corresponding spatial filter used by the UE does not provide sufficiently large SINR, or because although the gNB has successfully detected the PRACH preamble from the UE and has transmitted an RAR to the UE, For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index i and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i. The association between SS/PBCH blocks and ROs and/or PRACH preambles can be a 1-to-1 mapping or a many-to-one mapping or a one-to-many mapping],
a first physical random access channel (PRACH) occasion group comprises a plurality of PRACH occasions (ROs) [par 0008, The SIB indicates a first number of multiple physical random access channel (PRACH) transmissions, a first partition of PRACH occasions (ROs) associated with multiple PRACH transmissions, a second partition of ROs associated with one PRACH transmission, and one or more first sets of multiple ROs associated with the first number of multiple PRACH transmissions],
and the plurality of ROs in the first PRACH occasion group (ROG) are configured for transmitting the plurality of preambles in the first preamble group[par 0008, The processor is configured to determine a group of ROs from the one or more first sets of multiple ROs and a PRACH preamble for transmission in a first number of ROs of the group of ROs. The transceiver is further configured to transmit the PRACH preamble in the first number of Ros],
wherein the first ROG is one of a plurality of ROGs; a first repetition factor indicates a quantity of repetition times of preamble transmissions in the first preamble group[par 0081, The UE is also provided a number N of SS/PBCH block indexes
associated with one PRACH occasion and a number R of contention based preambles per SS/PBCH block index per valid PRACH occasion by ssb-perRACH- OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB. The PRACH configuration can also include at least one parameter p that indicates a number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission];
wherein the first repetition factor is equal to a quantity of ROs comprised in the first ROG, and the first ROG is determined based at least on the index of the first SS/PBCH block and the first repetition factor[0106, In another example the ROs that are part of the first partition are configured with a 1-to-1 mapping of SS/PBCH block and RO so that a PRACH transmission with M repetitions uses M ROs mapped that are mapped to different SS/PBCH block];
and a first mapping order between candidate SS/PBCH block indexes and ROs[par 0074, A gNB usually sends multiple SS/PBCH block transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index that corresponds to a downlink beam. A mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble enables the possibility to establish a beam pair, e.g., during initial access. For example, the gNB transmits SS/PBCH block with index i that corresponds to downlink beam i, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index i and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i],
wherein the index of the first SS/PBCH block is mapped to at least two ROGs in a plurality of ROGs according to the first mapping order[fig 6, par 0077, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index. Thus, the association of the SS/PBCH block index and the RO provided by a PRACH configuration allows the gNB to understand the beam where the UE is located],
the at least two ROGs respectively correspond to at least two different repetition factors, and the first repetition factor is used to determine the first ROG from the at least two ROGs [par 0111, In 810, the first PRACH transmission associated to the first SS/PBCH block index is with 4 repetitions, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, and the second PRACH transmission associated to the second SS/PBCH block index is without repetitions],
wherein each RO in a plurality of ROs in the first ROG corresponds to the index of the first SS/PBCH block[fig 6, par 0077, In one example, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index. Thus, the association of the SS/PBCH block index and the RO provided by a PRACH configuration allows the gNB to understand the beam where the UE is located],,
and preamble indexes of preambles corresponding to each RO in the first ROG are the same[par 0081, The UE is also provided a number N of SS/PBCH block indexes associated with one PRACH occasion and a number R of contention based preambles per SS/PBCH block index per valid PRACH occasion by ssb-perRACH- OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB. The PRACH configuration can also include at least one parameter p that indicates a number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission];
and transmitting the random access response associated with the plurality of preambles [par 0072, 0132, 0136, A QNB can detect several PRACH preambles from a UE that transmits PRACH with repetitions using multiple ROs, and transmit a RAR. The UE attempts to detect a DCI format with CRC scrambled by a corresponding RA-RNTI during a window controlled by higher layers. The UE uses the one or multiple RA-RNTIs to receive a RAR message in one or multiple RAR windows].
Cozzo fail to show and any two ROs in the first ROG are orthogonal in time domain. Li show and any two ROs in the first ROG are orthogonal in time domain [par
0139, One PRACH periodicity may include a plurality of PRACH slots, and one PRACH slot may include a plurality of ROs orthogonal in frequency domain and/or a plurality of ROs orthogonal in time domain].
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo and Li because the candidate SSB occasion in the SSB time window is mapped to the PRACH time-frequency-code resource in the PRACH periodicity first in ascending order of indexes of preamble sequences on one RO. [Li par 0139]
21, Cozzo and Li provide the first node according to claim 1, wherein the first repetition factor is one of a plurality of repetition factors and each of the plurality of repetition factors corresponds to a different RO [Cozzo, paragraph 0111, 0112, n 870, the first PRACH transmission associated to the first SS/PBCH block index is with 4 repetitions, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, and the second PRACH transmission associated to the second SS/PBCH block index is without repetitions. In 820, the first PRACH transmission in the first RO is without repetitions, and the PRACH transmission in the second RO is with 4 repetitions and the repetitions
are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources. PRACH repetitions can be transmitted in ROs with subsequent non-consecultive time resources indexes and same frequency resources, or in ROs with subsequent consecutive or non consecutive frequency resources indexes and same time resources, or also in ROs with subsequent time and frequency resources indexes, the paragraphs shows different repetition factors correspond to different Ros].
22. Cozzo and Li describe the method according to claim 14, wherein the first repetition factor is one of a plurality of repetition factors and each of the plurality of repetition factors corresponds to a different RO[Cozzo paragraph 0111, 0112, n 870, the first PRACH transmission associated to the first SS/PBCH block index is with 4 repetitions, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, and the second PRACH transmission associated to the second SS/PBCH block index is without repetitions. In 820, the first PRACH transmission in the first RO is without repetitions, and the PRACH transmission in the second RO is with 4 repetitions and the repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources. PRACH repetitions can be transmitted in ROs with subsequent non-consecultive time resources indexes and same frequency resources, or in ROs with subsequent consecutive or non consecutive frequency resources indexes and same time resources, or also in ROs with subsequent time and frequency resources indexes, the paragraphs shows different repetition factors correspond to different Ros]..
23. Cozzo and Li convey the second node according to claim 20, wherein the first repetition factor is one of a plurality of repetition factors and each of the plurality of repetition factors corresponds to a different RO[Cozzo paragraph 0111, 0112, n 870, the first PRACH transmission associated to the first SS/PBCH block index is with 4 repetitions, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, and the second PRACH transmission associated to the second SS/PBCH block index is without repetitions. In 820, the first PRACH transmission in the first RO is without repetitions, and the PRACH transmission in the second RO is with 4 repetitions and the repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources. PRACH repetitions can be transmitted in ROs with subsequent non-consecultive time resources indexes and same frequency resources, or in ROs with subsequent consecutive or non consecutive frequency resources indexes and same time resources, or also in ROs with subsequent time and frequency resources indexes, the paragraphs shows different repetition factors correspond to different Ros]..
24. Cozzo and Li describe the second node according to claim 20, wherein the first repetition factor is two, four, or eight [Cozzo, par 0084, The PRACH configuration may provide more than one value for the number of repetitions, for example (2, 4) or (2, 4, 8) or (2, 3, 4) or (2, 3, 4, 8) and the UE determines the number of repetitions by selecting one of the configured values based on RSRP measurements of the received SS/PBCH block].
4. Claim(s) 4, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0032107 A1) in view of LI (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0185734 A1) in further view of LY et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0223312 A1).
4, Cozzo and Li defines the first node according to claim 1, Cozzo and Li fail to show wherein the first repetition factor is predefined in a protocol or configured with a network device
In an analogous art Ly show wherein the first repetition factor is predefined in a protocol or configured with a network device[par 0064, The base station 110 may receive the request and determine whether to schedule the repetitions for the UE 120. If the base station 110 determines to schedule the repetitions, the base station 110 may determine a quantity of the repetitions (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, or 16 repetitions) that the UE 120 is to transmit. The quantity of repetitions may be referred to herein as a “repetition factor.”]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo, Li, and LY because this provide for indication of a repetition factor for the third message with improved scheduling flexibility. [Ly, par 0070]
25. Cozzo and Li provides the second node according to claim 20, Cozzo and Li fail to show wherein the first repetition factor is predefined in a protocol or configured with a network device
In an analogous art LY show wherein the first repetition factor is predefined in a protocol or configured with a network device [par 0064, The base station 110 may receive the request and determine whether to schedule the repetitions for the UE 120. If the base station 110 determines to schedule the repetitions, the base station 110 may determine a quantity of the repetitions (e.g., 1, 2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 12, or 16 repetitions) that the UE 120 is to transmit. The quantity of repetitions may be referred to herein as a “repetition factor.”]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo, Li, and LY because this provide for indication of a repetition factor for the third message with improved scheduling flexibility.[Ly par 0070]
5. Claim(s) 7, 11, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0032107 A1) in view of LI (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0185734 A1) in further view of Li et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2020/0281018 A1) hereinafter Yingzhe
7, Cozzo and Li The first node according to claim 6, wherein each candidate SS/PBCH block index in the plurality of candidate SS/PBCH block indexes is mapped to at least one RO in a first period [fig 8, par 0111, PRACH transmission with repetitions that is associated to an SS/PBCH block index and transmitted in ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources, and different mappings of ROs and repetitions in a time period can be associated to same or different SSBs].
Cozzo and Li fail to show wherein the first period is a PRACH configuration period; or the first period starts from frame number 0, and the period is an association pattern period including one or more association periods
In an analogous art Yingzhe show wherein the first period is a PRACH configuration period; or the first period starts from frame number 0, and the period is an association pattern period including one or more association periods [par 0207, The association period for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to valid type-0 ROs, starting from frame 0, can follow similar rule as in NR; i.e., within a configurable set of supported association periods at a given PRACH configuration period]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo, Li, and Yingzhe because a given PRACH configuration period can be enhanced from NR, such that at a given PRACH configuration period, different association period or equivalently different number of PRACH configuration periods from NR can be supported for SS/PBCH block to valid type-0 RO mapping [Yingzhe par 0207]
11, Cozzo and Li create the first node according to claim 1, wherein ROs in a first period are classified into a plurality of ROGs according to a plurality of repetition factor [Cozzo, fig 9, par 0113, 0114, RO1, RO2, and RO3 are associated to corresponding SS/PBCH block indexes SS1, SS2 and SS3. RO1, RO2, and RO3 are used to transmit the first repetition of corresponding PRACH1, PRACH2, and PRACH3 transmission with repetitions. FIG. 9, in 910, RO1, RO2, and RO3, or equivalently the ROs in a group or set of ROs, have consecutive time indexes and a same frequency index and for each PRACH transmission the ROs used for transmission of second, third and fourth repetitions have consecutive frequency resources indexes],
Cozzo and Li fail to show wherein the first period is a PRACH configuration period. In an analogous art Yingzhe show wherein the first period is a PRACH configuration period[par 0207, The association period for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to valid type-0 ROs, starting from frame 0, can follow similar rule as in NR; i.e., within a configurable set of supported association periods at a given PRACH configuration period]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo, Li, and Yingzhe because a given PRACH configuration period can be enhanced from NR, such that at a given PRACH configuration period, different association period or equivalently different number of PRACH configuration periods from NR can be supported for SS/PBCH block to valid type-0 RO mapping. [Yingzhe par 0207]
19. Cozzo and Li defines the method according to claim 14, wherein each candidate SS/PBCH block index in the plurality of candidate SS/PBCH block indexes is mapped to at least one RO in a first period[fig 8, par 0111, PRACH transmission with repetitions that is associated to an SS/PBCH block index and transmitted in ROs with consecutive time resources indexes and same frequency resources, and different mappings of ROs and repetitions in a time period can be associated to same or different SSBs].,
Cozzo and Li fail to show wherein the first period is a PRACH configuration period; or the first period starts from frame number 0, and the first period is an association pattern period including one or more association periods
In an analogous art Yingzhe show wherein the first period is a PRACH configuration period; or the first period starts from frame number 0, and the first period is an association pattern period including one or more association periods[par 0207, The association period for mapping SS/PBCH blocks to valid type-0 ROs, starting from frame 0, can follow similar rule as in NR; i.e., within a configurable set of supported association periods at a given PRACH configuration period]
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo, Li, and Yingzhe because a given PRACH configuration period can be enhanced from NR, such that at a given PRACH configuration period, different association period or equivalently different number of PRACH configuration periods from NR can be supported for SS/PBCH block to valid type-0 RO mapping. [Yingzhe par 0207]
6. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2024/0032107 A1) in view of LI (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0185734 A1) in further view of JIA et al. (U.S. Pub No. 2021/0212112 A1).
13.Cozzo and Li describe the first node according to claim 1 wherein the first ROG is used to determine a scrambling sequence for the random access response [par 0140, When one RA-RNTI is associated with the group of ROs, wherein the one RA-RNTI is calculated using the indexes of time and frequency resources associated with the first RO, or with any of the ROs of the group, the UE attempts to detect a DCI format with CRC scrambled by the one RA-RNTI during a RAR window].
Cozzo and Li fail to show wherein the random access response is received in a first time window in response to transmitting the plurality of preambles, wherein the first ROG is used to determine a start of the first time window and a scrambling sequence for the random access response.
In an analogous art JIA to show wherein the random access response is received in a first time window in response to transmitting the plurality of preambles, wherein the first ROG is used to determine a start of the first time window for the random access response[par 0267, the terminal equipment starts an RAR reception window on each RO or each group of ROs transmitting the preambles, and in case of starting an RAR reception window on each group of ROs, the RO starting the RAR reception windows is a first RO or a last RO in the multiple ROs transmitting the preambles];
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Cozzo, Li, and JIA because the network device may complete the RAR transmission within the RAR reception window, thereby improving a success rate of random access. [JIA par 0236]
Response to Arguments
Claims 1, 14, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 16, and 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,922. Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be held in abeyance until all other rejections are withdrawn in the instant Application.
The applicant’s amendment overcame the double patent rejection.
However, Cozzo has not been shown to teach or suggest that the first ROG, that is used to transmit the first preamble group, is determined based on a first mapping order between candidate SS/PBCH block indexes and ROs, in addition to the index of the first SS/PBCH block and first repetition factor.
The examiner respectfully disagrees applicant claim doesn’t specifically state transmission of the preamble group is determining based on mapping order between candidate SS/PBCH block indexes and ROs, in addition to the index of the first SS/PBCH block and first repetition factor. In Cozzo para 0010, it is shown wherein, “The method further includes determining a group of ROs from the one or more first sets of multiple ROs, determining a PRACH preamble for transmission in a first number of ROs of the group of ROs, and transmitting the PRACH preamble in the first number of ROs of the group of ROs”, this paragraph discloses ROs are used to transmit a preamble.
In Cozzo paragraphs 0074, 0081, gNB usually sends multiple SS/PBCH block transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index that corresponds to a downlink beam. A mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble enables the possibility to establish a beam pair, the UE receives the SS/PBCH block with index i and transmits a PRACH preamble in RO j that is associated with SS/PBCH block with index i. The association between SS/PBCH blocks and ROs and/or PRACH preambles can be a 1-to-1 mapping or a many-to-one mapping or a one-to-many mapping.
The PRACH configuration can also include at least one parameter p that indicates a number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission. The paragraphs show transmissions where each SS/PBCH block transmission can be associated with an SS/PBCH block index mapping between SS/PBCH block index and RACH occasions (ROs) and/or preamble, configuration can also include at least one parameter p that indicates a number of repetitions for the PRACH transmission.
However, Cozzo has not been shown to teach or suggest specifically the first mapping order that is used to map the index of the first SS/PBCH block to at least two ROGs in a plurality of ROGs.
The examiner respectfully disagrees fig 6, par 0077, the mapping is a 1-to-M mapping of SS/PBCH block and PRACH occasions 620. Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index. Thus, the association of the SS/PBCH block index and the RO provided by a PRACH configuration allows the gNB to understand the beam where the UE is located, the figure and paragraph shows Each RO of the M ROs corresponds to a single SS/PBCH block index and the transmission in the RO by the UE is an indication of the SS/PBCH block index.
Furthermore Cozzo has not been shown to teach or suggest that the first repetition factor is used to determine the first ROG from the at least two ROGs that are mapped to the same index of the first SS/PBCH block discussed previously.
The examiner respectfully disagrees the applicant’s claim doesn’t state that the repetition factor is used to determine the first ROG from the at least two ROGs that are mapped to the same index of the first SS/PBCH block. In paragraph 0111, wherein the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index and second, third and fourth repetitions are transmitted in valid ROs with consecutive time resource indexes and same frequency resources, and the second PRACH transmission associated to the second SS/PBCH block index is without repetitions, the paragraph disclose the first repetition is transmitted in the first RO associated to the first SS/PBCH block index.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON A HARLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468