DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2024, 12/31/2024, 02/24/2025, and 05/21/2025 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first generation unit configured to”, “a second generation unit configured to” in claims 1, 4, “a combining unit configured to”, “a division unit configured to”, “a mixing unit configured to” in claim 1, “a third unit configured”, “a fourth unit configured to” in claim 4, “a shift unit configured to” in claim 5 and “a task execution unit configured to” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 7-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai et al (2023 IEEE/CVF), hereinafter Cai.
-Regarding Claim 1, Cai discloses an information processing apparatus, comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-4
): a first generation unit configured to generate first feature amounts from a first image (FIG.2(a), it & ht (bottom); FIG. 2(b),
v
i
t
,
k
i
t
,
q
i
t
;
v
h
t
,
k
h
t
,
q
h
t
;); a second generation unit configured to generate second feature amounts from a second image that is different from the first image (FIG.2(a), sr (bottom); FIG. 2(b),
s
r
i
t
,
s
r
i
t
,
s
r
i
t
); a combining unit configured to combine the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts (FIG. 2(a); FIG. 2(b) (left, bottom (input)), Rearrange & Concatenate); a division unit configured to divide the combined feature amounts into a plurality of groups (FIG. 2(b) (middle), Rearrange & Concatenate; equations (6)-(8)); and a mixing unit configured to mix feature amounts included in each of the plurality of groups on a group-by-group basis (FIG. 1; FIG. 2(b); equations (9)-(11); Page 9555, 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “… cross-attention (CA) … self-attention …”; Page 9558, 2nd Col., 1st paragraph), wherein at least one group included among the plurality of groups includes both of the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts (FIG. 2(b) (middle), Rearrange & Concatenate; equations (6)-(8)).
-Regarding claim 2, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Cai further discloses wherein the combining unit combines the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts alternately in a spatial direction (FIG. 2(b)).
-Regarding claim 3, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Cai further discloses wherein the combining unit combines the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts irregularly in a spatial direction (FIG. 2(b); equations (6)-(8); Cai has no restriction on combining features in spatial direction).
-Regarding claim 7, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Cai further disclose comprising a task execution unit configured to execute a predetermined task that uses a neural network (NN) based on the feature amounts obtained by the mixing unit (FIG.2(a); Page 9556, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph, “propose a robust object modeling framework for visual tracking (ROMTrack) …”).
-Regarding claim 8, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 7. Cai further disclose wherein the first image is a first frame image included in moving image data, the second image is a second frame image included in the moving image data, and the predetermined task is a tracking task (FIG. 2; Page 9556, 1st Col., 1st paragraph, “target’s motion during a short period is usually smooth but may be accompanied by large changes in appearance …”; 2nd paragraph, “propose a robust object modeling framework for visual tracking (ROMTrack) …”).
-Regarding Claim 11, Cai discloses a control method for information processing apparatus, the control method comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-4): generating first feature amounts from a first image (FIG.2(a), it & ht (bottom); FIG. 2(b),
v
i
t
,
k
i
t
,
q
i
t
;
v
h
t
,
k
h
t
,
q
h
t
;); generating second feature amounts from a second image that is different from the first image (FIG.2(a), sr (bottom); FIG. 2(b),
s
r
i
t
,
s
r
i
t
,
s
r
i
t
); combining the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts (FIG. 2(a); FIG. 2(b) (left, bottom (input)), Rearrange & Concatenate); dividing the combined feature amounts into a plurality of groups (FIG. 2(b) (middle), Rearrange & Concatenate; equations (6)-(8)); mixing feature amounts included in each of the plurality of groups on a group-by-group basis (FIG. 1; FIG. 2(b); equations (9)-(11); Page 9555, 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “… cross-attention (CA) … self-attention …”; Page 9558, 2nd Col., 1st paragraph), wherein at least one group included among the plurality of groups includes both of the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts (FIG. 2(b) (middle), Rearrange & Concatenate; equations (6)-(8)).
-Regarding Claim 12, Cai discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program that, when executed by a computer, causes the computer to perform a control method for an information processing apparatus (one or more memories and processors has to be used in order to implement Cai’s method in the FIG.2), the control method comprising (Abstract; FIGS. 1-4): generating first feature amounts from a first image (FIG.2(a), it & ht (bottom); FIG. 2(b),
v
i
t
,
k
i
t
,
q
i
t
;
v
h
t
,
k
h
t
,
q
h
t
;); generating second feature amounts from a second image that is different from the first image (FIG.2(a), sr (bottom); FIG. 2(b),
s
r
i
t
,
s
r
i
t
,
s
r
i
t
); combining the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts (FIG. 2(a); FIG. 2(b) (left, bottom (input)), Rearrange & Concatenate); dividing the combined feature amounts into a plurality of groups (FIG. 2(b) (middle), Rearrange & Concatenate; equations (6)-(8)); mixing feature amounts included in each of the plurality of groups on a group-by-group basis (FIG. 1; FIG. 2(b); equations (9)-(11); Page 9555, 2nd Col., 1st paragraph, “… cross-attention (CA) … self-attention …”; Page 9558, 2nd Col., 1st paragraph), wherein at least one group included among the plurality of groups includes both of the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts (FIG. 2(b) (middle), Rearrange & Concatenate; equations (6)-(8)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (2023 IEEE/CVF), hereinafter Cai in view of Lin et al (arXiv:2112.00995v3 2022), hereinafter Song et al (2022 CVPR).
-Regarding claim 5, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Cai does not disclose comprising a shift unit configured to cyclically shift, in a spatial direction, at least one of the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts before or after the combining by the combining unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Song teaches a transformer tracking method with cyclic shifting window attention (Abstract; FIGS. 1-5). Song further teaches comprising a shift unit configured to cyclically shift, in a spatial direction, at least one of the first feature amounts and the second feature amounts before or after the combining by the combining unit (Song: FIGS. 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cai with the teaching of Song by using cyclic shifting window attention in order to improve tracking accuracy (Song: page 8782, 1st Col., 2nd paragraph).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (2023 IEEE/CVF), hereinafter Cai in view of Lin et al (arXiv:2112.00995v3 2022), hereinafter Lin.
-Regarding claim 6, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
Cai does not disclose wherein the mixing unit includes a fully-connected layer or multi-head self-attention (MSA).
In the same field of endeavor, Lin teaches a method for tracking target from a search range using Swin Transformer (Lin: Abstract; FIG. 2) . Lin further teaches wherein the mixing unit includes a fully-connected layer or MSA (Lin: equation (1); Page 4, Sec. 3.2., 2nd – 3rd paragraphs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cai with the teaching of Lin by using MSA in order to more efficient conduct self-attention and cross-attention (Lin: Page 4, Sec. 3.2., 3rd paragraph).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (2023 IEEE/CVF), hereinafter Cai in view of Gonzalez-Aguirre (US 20240214694 A1), hereinafter Gonzalez-Aguirre.
-Regarding claim 9, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 7.
Cai does not disclose wherein the first image is an image for a right eye obtained by a stereo camera, the second image is an image for a left eye obtained by the stereo camera, and the predetermined task is a parallax estimation task.
In the same field of endeavor, Gonzalez-Aguirre teaches a method for our-dimensional event detection and identification (Gonzalez-Aguirre: Abstract; 1-12). Gonzalez-Aguirre further teaches wherein the first image is an image for a right eye obtained by a stereo camera, the second image is an image for a left eye obtained by the stereo camera, and the predetermined task is a parallax estimation task (Gonzalez-Aguirre: FIGS. 1-3; [0017]; [0020], “enabling the pairs of scan lines of the left and right images to be processed in parallel”; [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cai with the teaching of Gonzalez-Aguirre by performing parallax estimation task in order to provide a real-world application.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (2023 IEEE/CVF), hereinafter Cai in view of Tate et al (US 20240087364 A1), hereinafter Tate.
-Regarding claim 10, Cai discloses the apparatus of claim 7.
Cai does not disclose wherein the first image is a first face image obtained at a time of authentication processing by an authentication system, the second image is a second face image that has been pre-registered with the authentication system, and the predetermined task is a face authentication task.
In the same field of endeavor, Tate teaches a verification method to determine, based on the first feature amount and the second feature amount, whether an object in the first image and an object in the second image are the same (Tate: FIGS. 1-21). Tate further teaches wherein the first image is a first face image obtained at a time of authentication processing by an authentication system, the second image is a second face image that has been pre-registered with the authentication system, and the predetermined task is a face authentication task (Tate: FIGS. 13A-3B, 4; [0048], “transformer network”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Cai with the teaching of Tate by performing a face authentication task in order to provide a real-world application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/XIAO LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2664