This document is responsive to applicant’s claims filed 11/8/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP3738105, hereinafter 105.
Regarding claim 1, 105 discloses:
A lure (1) for fishing comprising a main body portion having an interior portion provided with a cavity (5, 6) and having at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or at least one specular bead (3) capable of reflecting external light (see paragraph 0016), the cavity being partially or completely visible from outside (see paragraph 0013), the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead being disposed in an outer surface of the main body portion, in an inner surface of the main body portion, and/or inside the cavity (inside the cavity as shown in fig 4), and the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead disposed in the outer surface, in the inner surface, and/or inside the cavity being configured to reflect the external light (see paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 4, 105 discloses:
The lure according to claim 1, wherein in a case where the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is disposed inside the cavity, the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is enclosed in the cavity (see at least fig 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3738105, hereinafter 105 in view of Wilson et al. (US 4,862,631).
Regarding claim 2, 105 discloses the lure of claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein in a case where the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is disposed in the outer surface of the main body portion and/or the inner surface of the main body portion, a coating material containing the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is disposed in the outer surface and/or the inner surface.
Wilson teaches a lure having high refractive index glass beads (see at least col 4, lines 38-53) disposed in the outer surface of the main body portion (see fig 3, ref 20), a coating material containing the at least one high refractive index glass bead (see at least col 4, line 54 – col 5, line 28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the lure of 105 with the exterior glass beads of Wilson yielding the predictable result of providing a lure with a light-reflective exterior to attract game fish.
Regarding claim 6, 105 as modified discloses:
The lure according to claim 2, where in a case where a coating material containing the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is applied, the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is partially exposed on a resin layer of the coating material or embedded in the resin layer of the coating material (see at least col 4, line 54 – col 5, line 28).
Regarding claim 9, 105 discloses the lure of claim 1 and that the beads have a refractive index different from water, but does not disclose:
wherein the high refractive index glass bead is a spherical reflective bead having a refractive index of from 1.4 to 2.6.
Wilson teaches a lure having high refractive index glass bead is a spherical reflective bead having a refractive index of 1.8-2.3 (see col 4, lines 38-42). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the lure of 105 with the beads of Wilson yielding the predictable result of providing a specific desired range of refractive index for a fishing lure.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3738105, hereinafter 105 in view of Altman (US 3,614,199).
Regarding claim 3, 105 discloses the lure of claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein in a case where the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is disposed in the outer surface of the main body portion and/or the inner surface of the main body portion, a tape member containing the at least one high refractive index glass bead and/or the at least one specular bead is attached to the outer surface and/or the inner surface.
Altman teaches a tape of high refractive index glass beads (see at least col 2, lines 40-70). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine the lure of 105 with the reflective tape of Altman yielding the predictable result of providing an additional feature to the lure designed to return light without substantial diffusion when its angle of incidence is approximately normal and to return light with substantial diffusion when its angle of incidence is substantially oblique (see abstract).
Claim 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP3738105, hereinafter 105 in view of Obviousness.
Regarding claim 10, 105 discloses the lure of claim 1 and that the beads can be of shapes other than spheres, such as a triangular pyramid, but does not disclose the specific shapes of hexahedral, octahedral, dodecahedral, or icosahedral. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to select the shape of the bead to be tetrahedral because there is no invention in merely changing the shape or form of an article without changing its function except in a design patent. Eskimo Pie Corp. v. Levous et al., 3 USPQ 23 (CCPA 1956).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, 105 discloses the lure of claim 1 except for the bead being soda lime glass, heat-resistant glass, quartz glass, hard glass, borosilicate glass, titanium barium glass, ABS resin, or acrylic resin. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select one of the claimed materials, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of U.S. Patent No. 12,161,099. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims contain substantially the same limitations. The present claims are generally more broad versions of the parent claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644