DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the remarks filed on 7/23/2026.
The amendments filed on 7/23/2026 have been entered. Accordingly claims 1-21 remain pending. Claim 21 is newly added.
The objections to the claims have been withdrawn in light of the amendments and the applicant’s remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott et al (US20090109429A1).
Regarding claim 1, Scott teaches an examination device (100) for optical medical examinations, comprising a housing (e.g., “hand held housing 303”), a head region (e.g., see 114, head region in fig. 8, and the associated pars.), a grip region (e.g., handle 820), a processor (402), a camera (132), a screen (210) and a heat sink (926, 928), wherein the housing encloses an interior space, wherein the processor is located in the interior space (e.g., see 114, head region in fig. 8, and the associated pars.),,
wherein the camera and the screen are located in the head region (e.g., see 114, head region and the camera in figs. 1 and 8, and the associated pars.),
wherein the heat sink comprises a heat source section (926) and a heat sink section (928), wherein the heat source section is located in the interior space and is in thermal contact with the processor (e.g., see figs. 1 and 8, and the associated pars.), and wherein at least one side of the heat sink section is located outside of the interior space (e.g., see re-produced figs. 8-10 below, and the associated pars.).
As shown above, Scott in several embodiments teaches heat sink in the head region.
Scott, in other embodiments, further teaches wherein the heat sink section is located in the grip region (“[0065] In another aspect a heat sink assembly can be incorporated in the apparatus having separate heat sink paths for conducting heat from each of a first location and a second location within hand held housing 303”; “[0069] In another aspect the heat sink assembly incorporates heat sink member components that serve a function other than heat sinking. The heat sink assembly in the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 8-12 can incorporate components of elongated inspection tube 112 which like the remaining components of the heat sink assembly in the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 8-12 can extend forwardly from a major body 822 of handset 302 and from housing 303.”; “[0076] In another aspect of the heat sink assembly of the particular embodiment described, a cover nut 916 of insertion tube 112 shown extending forwardly of major body 822 and housing 303 can serve as a heat sink member of heat sink assembly 900.”).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified embodiments as outlined above with the heat sink section is located in the grip region as taught by Scott because by reducing heat absorption from electrical components of an inspection apparatus, performance and life expectancy of the electrical component can be expected to improve ([0043] of Scott).
Regarding claim 2, Scott teaches wherein the processor comprises at least one of a neural processing unit, graphics processing unit or floating-point unit (“processing circuitry 402 carried by one or more processing printed circuit boards 404 and 414. Processing circuitry 402 can include one or more of image processing circuitry and control signal processing circuitry. Regarding image processing circuitry of processing circuitry 402, image processing circuitry can include e.g., circuitry for receipt of analog or digital image signals representing light incident on image sensor, circuitry for formatting such signals for display on display 210 in the formation of a streaming video image, circuitry for storage of image data into memory, and circuitry for formatting image data into a standardized image or raw video format and circuitry for transmitting image data to an external computer. Regarding control signal processing circuitry of processing circuitry 402, such circuitry can include e.g., circuitry for reading signals presented by sensors of apparatus 100 and/or control input devices and responsively outputting control” [0033])
Regarding claim 3, Scott teaches wherein the thermal contact between the heat source section and the processor is produced through direct physical contact or indirect physical contact using only one thermal interface material (“Elements of such first and second sets of heat sink members are described with reference to the illustrative embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 8-12… multi-finned heat sink member 928 which has a portion facing an exterior of housing 303 which also extends forward from a major body of handset 302 and from housing 303 and has fins 950 exposed to an exterior of housing 303.” [0072]).
Regarding claim 4, Scott teaches wherein the heat sink section forms a part of an exterior surface of the examination device, or is located outside of the housing (see fig. 11 for 958, 950, and 928).
Regarding claim 6, Scott teaches wherein the examination device comprises a patient side and an operator side (as shown in e.g., fig. 1), wherein the heat sink section is at least one of not located on the patient side and/or not located on the operator side (see e.g., fig. 1 and the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 7, Scott teaches wherein the examination device has multiple lateral sides, wherein the heat sink section is located on at least one of the multiple lateral sides see e.g., fig. 1 and the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 8, Scott teaches wherein the heat sink is at least one of designed as a single piece or as a single-piece base with an insert; or made of metal (“a heat sink assembly of an exemplary embodiment, the heat sink member provided by flange 908 can be metallic and thermally conductive and can extend forwardly away from major body 822 and from housing 303” [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, Scott teaches wherein the examination device comprises a frame which forms a part of an exterior surface of the housing, wherein the heat sink section is part of the frame (see e.g., fig. 8 and the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 10, Scott teaches wherein the frame and the heat sink are designed together as a single piece (see e.g., fig. 1 and 8; and the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 11, Scott teaches wherein the heat sink comprises a thermal bridge which connects the heat source section to the heat sink section thermally, and wherein the thermal bridge physically contacts the frame at a contact point (“heat sink assembly as described herein with reference to the various views can be regarded to include thermally conductive components 928, 424, 936, 932, 916, 404, 940, 414, 938, 912, 908, 958.” [0081], also see figs. 1, 8-10 and re-produced fig. 11 below, along with the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 12, Scott teaches wherein the frame extends around a contour of the examination device on lateral sides (“As seen in the views of FIGS. 1 and 8-12, a heat spreader 940” [0079]; “heat sink assembly as described herein with reference to the various views can be regarded to include thermally conductive components 928, 424, 936, 932, 916, 404, 940, 414, 938, 912, 908, 958.” [0081]; also see figs. 1, 8-10 along with the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 13, Scott teaches wherein a grip zone is provided on the examination device (figs. 1, 8-10 along with the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 14, Scott teaches wherein the grip zone is located between a thermal break of a frame of the examination device and a contact point of the frame or is located between two thermal breaks (see figs. 1, 8-10 and re-produced fig. 11 above, along with the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 15, Scott teaches wherein the housing comprises two housing shells that are attached on the frame (see housing shells 303 on the head and the handle parts.).
Regarding claim 16, Scott teaches wherein the examination device comprises a contact zone on an exterior surface on a patient side (e.g., 112 as in “FIG. 4, a head assembly 114 of apparatus 100 at a distal end of inspection tube 112 comprises image sensor 132. Image sensor 132 of inspection apparatus 100 can, in one alternative embodiment, be located at a position spaced apart from head assembly 114 and disposed at a position rearward of a proximal end of inspection tube 112” [0046]), wherein the contact zone is thermally separated from at least one of the heat sink or a frame of the examination device (see heat sinks 928 and 958 separated from heat sink or frame as seen in figs. 1, 8-12 and the associated pars.).
Regarding claim 17, Scott teaches wherein the camera (114) is located on a patient side and/or the screen is located on an operator side (as seen in e.g., fig. 4 and the associated pars).
Regarding claim 18, Scott teaches wherein the camera comprises a macro lens (“FIG. 1. Inspection apparatus 100 can include a two dimensional sensor 132 and a lens 140 (optics) for focusing images of a target substrate onto image sensor 132. Lens 140 can include, e.g., a lens singlet, a lens doublet, or a lens triplet.” [0032]).
Regarding claim 19, Scott teaches wherein the examination device comprises a user interface located at least one of in the grip region or on an operator side (“FIG. 4, apparatus 100 can further include display 210, keyboard 214, and joystick 217, each of which can be interfaced to DSP 180.” [0050]).
Regarding claim 20, Scott teaches wherein the processor is configured to at least one of receive a recording captured by the camera, process the recording, to control the screen in order to display the recording, or to display the recording and results of an image analysis in real time (“camera head assembly 114 can receive and process image signals generated by image sensor 132.” [0048]; “DSP 180 can receive the formatted video output from DSP 152 for further processing. DSP 180 can be adapted to perform a variety of image processing tasks such as frame averaging, scaling, zooming, overlaying, merging, image capture, flipping, image enhancement and distortion correction.” [0049]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scott in view of Mullani et al (US 20210137633 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Scott teaches an examination device (100) for optical medical examinations, comprising a housing (e.g., “hand held housing 303”), a head region (e.g., see 114, head region in fig. 8, and the associated pars.), a grip region (e.g., handle 820), a processor (402), a camera (132), a screen (210) and a heat sink (926, 928), wherein the housing encloses an interior space, wherein the processor is located in the interior space (e.g., see 114, head region in fig. 8, and the associated pars.),,
wherein the camera and the screen are located in the head region (e.g., see 114, head region and the camera in figs. 1 and 8, and the associated pars.),
wherein the heat sink comprises a heat source section (926) and a heat sink section (928), wherein the heat source section is located in the interior space and is in thermal contact with the processor (e.g., see figs. 1 and 8, and the associated pars.), and wherein at least one side of the heat sink section is located outside of the interior space (e.g., see re-produced figs. 8-10 below, and the associated pars.).
As shown above, Scott in several embodiments teaches heat sink in the head region.
Scott, in other embodiments, further teaches wherein the heat sink section is located in the grip region (“[0065] In another aspect a heat sink assembly can be incorporated in the apparatus having separate heat sink paths for conducting heat from each of a first location and a second location within hand held housing 303”; “[0069] In another aspect the heat sink assembly incorporates heat sink member components that serve a function other than heat sinking. The heat sink assembly in the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 8-12 can incorporate components of elongated inspection tube 112 which like the remaining components of the heat sink assembly in the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 8-12 can extend forwardly from a major body 822 of handset 302 and from housing 303.”; “[0076] In another aspect of the heat sink assembly of the particular embodiment described, a cover nut 916 of insertion tube 112 shown extending forwardly of major body 822 and housing 303 can serve as a heat sink member of heat sink assembly 900.”).
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified embodiments as outlined above with the heat sink section is located in the grip region as taught by Scott because by reducing heat absorption from electrical components of an inspection apparatus, performance and life expectancy of the electrical component can be expected to improve ([0043] of Scott).
Scott does not point out the specifics of device being a dermatoscope.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Mullani teaches physicians, and medical practitioners make use of hand-held devices including dermatoscopes [0004]. The fins 164 may also be formed of a heat dissipating material and the fins 164 have surface areas to operate as a heat sink [0095]. The housing 20 may include a top component 20a and bottom component 20b. The top component 20a, bottom component 20b, and battery cover 22 may be formed from molded lightweight durable plastic. The plastic may be a PVC derivative material and may be formed from acrylic or lexan. Additionally, the housing may be formed from metal such as aluminum. Components 20a, 20b and cover 22 may be interconnected to form the outer housing 20 as shown in FIGS. 1 and 2 [0055].
It would have been obvious to an ordinary skilled in the art before the invention was made to modify the method and/or device of the modified combination of reference(s) as outlined above with dermatoscope as taught by Mullani because it would be desirable to view deeper structures of the skin ([0010] of Mullani).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the claim rejections under 35 USC 102, the applicant argues that Scott does not teach heat sink in grip section.
However, Scott specifically teaches (“[0065] In another aspect a heat sink assembly can be incorporated in the apparatus having separate heat sink paths for conducting heat from each of a first location and a second location within hand held housing 303”; “[0069] In another aspect the heat sink assembly incorporates heat sink member components that serve a function other than heat sinking. The heat sink assembly in the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 8-12 can incorporate components of elongated inspection tube 112 which like the remaining components of the heat sink assembly in the embodiment of FIGS. 1 and 8-12 can extend forwardly from a major body 822 of handset 302 and from housing 303.”; “[0076] In another aspect of the heat sink assembly of the particular embodiment described, a cover nut 916 of insertion tube 112 shown extending forwardly of major body 822 and housing 303 can serve as a heat sink member of heat sink assembly 900.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fett et al (US20250185915A1) teaches the digital dermatoscope has a housing frame enclosing the handle part and the head part. In one embodiment, the housing frame consists of aluminium, in particular of machined aluminium. According to one embodiment, the imaging unit housing consists of aluminium, in particular of machined aluminium. Preferably, the housing frame and/or the imaging unit housing is machined in one piece from aluminium. More preferably, the aluminium housing frame and/or the aluminium imaging unit housing has a glass-bead blasted and/or anodised surface. More preferable, the aluminium imaging unit housing has a glass-bead blasted and/or anodised surface. In a further embodiment, the housing frame is formed as a heat sink for the electronic components contained therein. In particular, the housing frame forms such a heat sink if it consists of aluminium, as aluminium has a relatively high thermal conductivity. Such a housing frame or such an imaging unit housing is particularly stable and at the same time requires little material. Additionally, aluminium is particularly aesthetically pleasing and resistant to environmental influences, especially when formed integrally and/or when it is glass-bead blasted/anodised. However, the housing frame and/or the imaging unit housing can also consist of magnesium, stainless steel or plastic [0025].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797