This document is responsive to applicant’s claims filed 11/8/2024.
Claim Objections
Claims 3, 4, 16, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims contain both the British spelling (centring) and the English spelling of centering. The words should be consistently spelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 9 introduces “the bearing seat”, which lacks antecedent basis. Claim 10 properly introduces the bearing seat. It appears the order of the claims is backwards. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 8-11, 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahlgren (US PG Pub 2021/0001967).
Regarding claim 1, Ahlgren discloses:
A rear cap (48) forming a component of a housing of a drive unit, the rear cap comprising: a cover section that closes the housing at a rear and includes a propeller shaft opening that defines an axial direction and through which a propeller shaft of the drive unit is guided out of the housing (see fig 15); and a hollow-cylindrical mounting section that, as seen in the axial direction, is arranged on a side facing away from the propeller shaft opening (see fig 15), wherein the mounting section has a cylindrical mounting surface with a mounting thread (see fig 15 – portion that contains the threads), such that the rear cap is configured to be screwed onto a corresponding housing-side thread of the housing (see fig 15).
Regarding claim 3, Ahlgren discloses:
The rear cap according to Claim 1, wherein the mounting section has, next to the mounting surface and as seen in the axial direction in the direction of the cover section, a cylindrical centring surface that is configured to ensure centring relative to the housing during the mounting of the rear cap, such that the centering surface enters into a form fit with a corresponding housing-side centring surface of the housing (see arrow below pointing to the portion of the mounting section to the left of the threads).
Regarding claim 8, Ahlgren discloses:
The rear cap according to Claim 1, wherein the propeller shaft opening has a seal seat configured to receive a shaft seal for sealing against the propeller shaft (see fig 15).
Regarding claim 9, Ahlgren discloses:
The rear cap according to Claim 8, wherein the seal seat has a smaller diameter than the bearing seat as seen in a cross section perpendicular to the axial direction (see fig 15).
Regarding claim 10, Ahlgren discloses:
The rear cap according to Claim 1, wherein the propeller shaft opening has a bearing seat configured to receive a bearing for rotatably mounting the propeller shaft (see fig 15).
Regarding claim 11, Ahlgren discloses:
The rear cap according to Claim 1, wherein the rear cap is constructed rotationally symmetrically (see figs 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 13, Ahlgren discloses:
The rear cap according to Claim 1, wherein the rear cap is formed of a singular piece (see figs 14 and 15).
Regarding claim 14, see the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, see the rejection of claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahlgren (US PG Pub 2021/0001967).
Regarding claim 13, Ahlgren discloses the device of claim 1, but does not specifically disclose the material. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize plastic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-7, 15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644