DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) to foreign application KR10-2024-0035431 filed on 03/13/2024 and foreign application KR10-2024-0059409 filed on 05/03/2024. The foreign applications are not in English. The certified copy of the foreign priority application KR10-2024-0035431 and foreign application KR10-2024-0059409 have been received.
Filing Dates for the Claims — All Claims Not Entitled to Priority Date
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2024-0035431 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2024-0035431 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
To be entitled to the filing date of the foreign priority application KR10-2024-0059409 that is not in English, an English translation of the non-English language foreign application KR10-2024-0059409 and a statement that the translation is accurate in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55 is required to perfect the claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
The foreign application must adequately support the claimed subject matter, meaning satisfy the written description and enablement requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a). See MPEP §§ 215 and 216. 37 C.F.R. 1.55(g)(3)(ii)-(iii). To demonstrate compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112(a), applicant should point to support for their claimed subject matter in their translations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 18, claim 10 and claim 18 each recite the limitation "the insulating protective structure" in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For this Action, the above limitation of claims 10 and 18 will be interpreted and examined as -- the lower insulating protective structure--.
Claims depending on the rejected claims noted above are rejected at least on the same basis as the claim(s) from which the dependent claims depend.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang (US Pub. 20230187212) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. 20060276027).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang discloses in Fig. 2 an integrated circuit device, comprising:
a lower insulating film [132] on a substrate [101];
a lower metal wiring layer [136] extending in the lower insulating film [132] in a vertical direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate [101];
an insulating protective structure [240] on a top surface of each of the lower metal wiring layer [136] and the lower insulating film [132];
an upper insulating film [143] on the insulating protective structure [240];
an upper metal wiring layer [146] on the upper insulating film [143]; and
a conductive contact plug [145] extending in the upper insulating film [143] and the insulating protective structure [240] in the vertical direction, the conductive contact plug [145] contacting each of the lower metal wiring layer [136] and the upper metal wiring layer [146],
wherein the insulating protective structure [240] comprises a plurality of first films [241 and 243] and at least one first thin film [242], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first films [241 and 243].
Hwang fails to disclose
wherein the insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films and at least one first oxide thin film, each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films.
Lu et al. discloses in Fig. 6, paragraph [0016]
wherein the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b] comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films [106a and 106b] and at least one first oxide thin film [104], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films [106a and 106b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. into the method of Hwang to include wherein the insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films and at least one first oxide thin film, each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Hwang in the above manner for the purpose of preventing bowing or deformation of the insulating protective structure thus reducing cracking, peeling, or formation of voids in the insulating protective structure [paragraph [0016] of Lu et al.].
Regarding claim 2, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein in the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b], a thickness [100 Å] of the at least one first oxide thin film [104] in the vertical direction is less than a thickness [200 Å] of each of the plurality of first SiCN films [106a, b] in the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 3, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein in the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b], the at least one first oxide thin film comprises a silicon oxide film [carbon-doped silicon dioxide, fluorine doped silicon oxide].
Regarding claim 9, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein each of the plurality of first SiCN films included in the insulating protective structure comprises about 40 atomic percent (at%) to about 60 at% of silicon (Si) atoms, about 20 at% to about 30 at% of carbon (C) atoms, and about 20 at% to about 30 at% of nitrogen (N) atoms.
[The stress-harmonizing layer 106 may comprise dielectric materials such as … silicon carbine containing nitrogen (SixCyNz), wherein x, y, z are formed at about …0.8-1.2, 0.8-1.2, and 0-0.6, respectively]”.
In addition, Applicant has not provided criticality of the claimed range. It would have been obvious to modify Lu et al. to provide the claimed ranges for at least the purpose of optimization and routine experimentation to provide SiCN films having desired properties. The claimed ranges are merely optimizations, and as such are not patentable over the prior art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 20220102203) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. 20060276027).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses in Fig. 7 an integrated circuit device, comprising:
a lower insulating film [117 and 111] on a substrate [101];
a lower metal wiring layer [112 and 116] extending in the lower insulating film [117 and 111] in a vertical direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate [101];
an insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123] on a top surface of each of the lower metal wiring layer [112 and 116] and the lower insulating film [117 and 111];
an upper insulating film [127 and 137] on the insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123];
an upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146] on the upper insulating film [127 and 137]; and
a conductive contact plug [138] extending in the upper insulating film [127 and 137] and the insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123] in the vertical direction, the conductive contact plug [138] contacting each of the lower metal wiring layer [112 and 116] and the upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films and at least one first oxide thin film, each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films.
Lu et al. discloses in Fig. 6, paragraph [0016]
wherein the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b] comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films [106a and 106b] and at least one first oxide thin film [104], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films [106a and 106b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein the insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films and at least one first oxide thin film, each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing an insulating protective structure with reduced cracking, peeling, or formation of voids [paragraph [0016] of Lu et al.].
Regarding claim 2, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein in the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b], a thickness [100 Å] of the at least one first oxide thin film [104] in the vertical direction is less than a thickness [200 Å] of each of the plurality of first SiCN films [106a, b] in the vertical direction.
Regarding claim 3, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein in the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b], the at least one first oxide thin film comprises a silicon oxide film [carbon-doped silicon dioxide, fluorine doped silicon oxide].
Regarding claim 5, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0049]
a capping insulating film [125] between the insulating protective structure [119, 121 and 123] and the upper insulating film [127], wherein the capping insulating film [125] comprises a silicon oxide film, an aluminum oxide film, or a combination thereof [aluminum oxide].
Regarding claim 6, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0061]-[0062]
an upper insulating protective structure [139, 141, 143] on a top surface of each of the upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146] and the upper insulating film [127 and 137].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the upper insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of second SiCN films and at least one second oxide thin film, each of the at least one second oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of second SiCN films.
Wang et al. discloses in paragraph [0061] the upper insulating protective structure be formed of a same or similar material(s) using the same or similar formation method as the (lower) insulating protective structure.
Lu et al. discloses in Fig. 6, paragraph [0016]
wherein an insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b] comprises a plurality of silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films [106a and 106b] and at least one oxide thin film [104], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of SiCN films [106a and 106b].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein the upper insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of second SiCN films and at least one second oxide thin film, each of the at least one second oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of second SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing an upper insulating protective structure with reduced cracking, peeling, or formation of voids [paragraph [0016] of Lu et al.].
Regarding claim 7, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0049], [0061]-[0062]
an interlayer insulating film [additional IMD layer] on the upper insulating protective structure [139, 141, 143]; and
an upper capping insulating film [145] between the upper insulating protective structure [139, 141, 143] and the interlayer insulating film [additional IMD layer], wherein the upper capping insulating film [145] comprises a silicon oxide film, an aluminum oxide film, or a combination thereof [aluminum oxide].
Regarding claim 9, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein each of the plurality of first SiCN films included in the insulating protective structure comprises about 40 atomic percent (at%) to about 60 at% of silicon (Si) atoms, about 20 at% to about 30 at% of carbon (C) atoms, and about 20 at% to about 30 at% of nitrogen (N) atoms.
[The stress-harmonizing layer 106 may comprise dielectric materials such as … silicon carbine containing nitrogen (SixCyNz) , wherein x, y, z are formed at about …0.8-1.2, 0.8-1.2, and 0-0.6, respectively]”.
In addition, Applicant has not provided criticality of the claimed range. It would have been obvious to modify Lu et al. to provide the claimed ranges for at least the purpose of optimization and routine experimentation to provide SiCN films having desired properties. The claimed ranges are merely optimizations, and as such are not patentable over the prior art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses in Fig. 7 an integrated circuit device, comprising:
a lower insulating film [117 and 111] on a substrate [101];
a plurality of lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] extending in the lower insulating film [117 and 111] in a vertical direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate [101], the plurality of lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] being spaced apart from each other in a lateral direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate [101];
a lower insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123] on a top surface of each of the lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] and the lower insulating film [117 and 111];
an upper insulating film [127 and 137] on the lower insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123];
an upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146] on the upper insulating film [127 and 137];
a conductive contact plug [138] extending in the upper insulating film [127 and 137] and the lower insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123] in the vertical direction, the conductive contact plug [138] contacting each of a corresponding one of the plurality of lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] and the upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146]; and
an upper insulating protective structure [139, 141, 143] on a top surface of each of the upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146] and the upper insulating film [137 and 127].
Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of SiCN films and at least one oxide thin film, each of the at least one oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of SiCN films.
Lu et al. discloses in Fig. 6, paragraph [0016]
wherein an insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b] comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films [106a and 106b] and at least one first oxide thin film [104], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films [106a and 106b].
Thus, the insulating protective structure disclosed by Lu et al. is suitable for use as the lower insulating resistor protective structure and the upper insulating resistor protective structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure comprises a plurality of SiCN films and at least one oxide thin film, each of the at least one oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing insulating protective structures with reduced cracking, peeling, or formation of voids [paragraph [0016] of Lu et al.].
Regarding claim 11, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein in each of the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b], a thickness [1000 Å] of each of the plurality of SiCN films [106a, b] in the vertical direction is about 4 times to about 40 times a thickness [100 Å] of the at least one oxide thin film [104] in the vertical direction.
As stated above, the insulating protective structure disclosed by Lu et al. is suitable for use as the lower insulating resistor protective structure and the upper insulating resistor protective structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus the combination of Lu et al. and Wang et al. result to “wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, a thickness of each of the plurality of SiCN films in the vertical direction is about 4 times to about 40 times a thickness of the at least one oxide thin film in the vertical direction.”
Regarding claim 12, Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016]
wherein in each of the insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b], the at least one first oxide thin film comprises a silicon oxide film [carbon-doped silicon dioxide, fluorine doped silicon oxide].
As stated above, the insulating protective structure disclosed by Lu et al. is suitable for use as the lower insulating resistor protective structure and the upper insulating resistor protective structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
Thus the combination of Lu et al. and Wang et al. result to “wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, the at least one oxide thin film comprises a silicon oxide film.”
Regarding claims 13-14, Lu et al. and Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, the plurality of SiCN films have a same content ratio of carbon (C) atoms;
wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, a content ratio of carbon (C) atoms in a first one of the plurality of SiCN films is different from a content ratio of carbon atoms in a second one of the plurality of SiCN films.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for a content ratio of carbon (C) atoms in the plurality of SiCN films: the plurality of SiCN films have a same content ratio of carbon (C) atoms or have different content ratios of carbon (C) atoms. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, the plurality of SiCN films have a same content ratio of carbon (C) atoms; or wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, a content ratio of carbon (C) atoms in a first one of the plurality of SiCN films is different from a content ratio of carbon atoms in a second one of the plurality of SiCN films to yield a composite insulating protective structure having desired properties.
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 7, paragraph [0049], [0061]-[0062]
a lower capping insulating film [125] contacting a top surface of the lower insulating protective structure [119, 121 and 123];
an upper capping insulating film [145] contacting a top surface of the upper insulating protective structure [139, 141, 143], wherein each of the lower capping insulating film [125] and the upper capping insulating film [145] comprises a silicon oxide film, an aluminum oxide film, or a combination thereof [aluminum oxide]
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 20220102203) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. 20060276027) as applied to claim 1 and claim 10 above and further in view of Andideh et al. (US Pub. 20020068469).
Regarding claim 4, Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein the insulating protective structure comprises three first SiCN films and two silicon oxide films, each of the two silicon oxide films is between two adjacent ones of the three first SiCN films.
Andideh et al. discloses in Fig. 2a-2b, paragraph [0015]-[0017], [0024]-[0025]
wherein the insulating protective structure comprises three compressive stress layers [402, 404, 406] and two low-k dielectric layers [403 and 405], each of the two low-k dielectric layers [403 and 405] is between two adjacent ones of the three compressive stress layers [402, 404, 406].
Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016] the low-k dielectric layers [104] comprise silicon oxide films and the compressive stress layers [106a, b] comprise first SiCN films.
Thus, the combination of Lu et al. and Andideh et al. result to
“wherein the insulating protective structure comprises three first SiCN films and two silicon oxide films, each of the two silicon oxide films is between two adjacent ones of the three first SiCN films.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. and Andideh et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein the insulating protective structure comprises three first SiCN films and two silicon oxide films, each of the two silicon oxide films is between two adjacent ones of the three first SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing an insulating protective structure having desired mechanical properties [paragraph [0024], [0026] of Andideh et al. and paragraph [0016] of Lu et al.].
Regarding claim 15, Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure comprises three SiCN films and two silicon oxide films, each of the two silicon oxide films is between two adjacent ones of the three SiCN films. Andideh et al. discloses in Fig. 2a-2b, paragraph [0015]-[0017], [0024]-[0025]
wherein each of the insulating protective structure comprises three compressive stress layers [402, 404, 406] and two low-k dielectric layers [403 and 405], each of the two low-k dielectric layers [403 and 405] is between two adjacent ones of the three compressive stress layers [402, 404, 406].
Lu et al. discloses in paragraph [0016] the low-k dielectric layers [104] comprise silicon oxide films and the compressive stress layers [106a, b] comprise first SiCN films.
Thus, the combination of Lu et al. and Andideh et al. result to
“wherein each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure comprises three SiCN films and two silicon oxide films, each of the two silicon oxide films is between two adjacent ones of the three SiCN films.”
It would be obvious that the insulating protective structure disclosed by the combination of Lu et al. and Andideh et al. is suitable for use as the lower insulating resistor protective structure and the upper insulating resistor protective structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. and Andideh et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include wherein each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure comprises three SiCN films and two silicon oxide films, each of the two silicon oxide films is between two adjacent ones of the three SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing an insulating protective structure having desired mechanical properties [paragraph [0024], [0026] of Andideh et al. and paragraph [0016] of Lu et al.].
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 20220102203) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. 20060276027) as applied to claim 6 and claim 10 above and further in view of Lim et al. (US Pub. 20220068810).
Regarding claim 8, Wang fails to disclose
a thin film resistor on the upper insulating protective structure, the thin film resistor being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer in the vertical direction with the upper insulating protective structure therebetween; and
an insulating resistor protective structure on a top surface of the thin film resistor,
wherein the insulating resistor protective structure comprises a plurality of third SiCN films and at least one third oxide thin film, each of the at least one third oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of third SiCN films.
Lim et al. discloses in Fig. 2D, paragraph [0046], [0052]-[0054]
a thin film resistor [RM] on the upper insulating protective structure [DL1], the thin film resistor [RM] being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer [LIL1 and LIL2] in the vertical direction with the upper insulating protective structure [DL1] therebetween; and
an insulating resistor protective structure [Dl2] on a top surface of the thin film resistor [RM].
Lim et al. discloses the insulating resistor protective structure is the same as the upper insulating protective structure.
Lu et al. discloses in Fig. 6, paragraph [0016]
an insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b] comprises a plurality of silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films [106a and 106b] and at least one oxide thin film [104], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of SiCN films [106a and 106b].
Thus, it would be obvious that the insulating protective structure disclosed by Lu et al. is suitable for use as the insulating resistor protective structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. and Lim et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include a thin film resistor on the upper insulating protective structure, the thin film resistor being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer in the vertical direction with the upper insulating protective structure therebetween; and an insulating resistor protective structure on a top surface of the thin film resistor, wherein the insulating resistor protective structure comprises a plurality of third SiCN films and at least one third oxide thin film, each of the at least one third oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of third SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a semiconductor device with improved reliability and providing an insulating resistor protective structure with reduced cracking, peeling, or formation of voids [paragraph [0016] of Lu et al, paragraph [0131]-[0134] of Lim et al.].
Regarding claim 17, Wang fails to disclose
a thin film resistor on the upper insulating protective structure, the thin film resistor being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer with the upper insulating protective structure therebetween in the vertical direction; and
an insulating resistor protective structure contacting a top surface of the thin film resistor, wherein at least a portion of the insulating resistor protective structure has a same configuration as a portion of the lower insulating protective structure or a portion of the upper insulating protective structure.
Lim et al. discloses in Fig. 2D, paragraph [0046], [0052]-[0054]
a thin film resistor [RM] on the upper insulating protective structure [DL1], the thin film resistor [RM] being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer [LIL1 and LIL2] with the upper insulating protective structure [DL1] therebetween in the vertical direction; and
an insulating resistor protective structure [Dl2] contacting a top surface of the thin film resistor [RM], wherein at least a portion of the insulating resistor protective structure [DL2] has a same configuration as a portion of the upper insulating protective structure [DL1].
Lu et al. discloses in Fig. 6, paragraph [0016]
an insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b] comprises a plurality of silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films [106a and 106b] and at least one oxide thin film [104], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of SiCN films [106a and 106b].
Thus, it would be obvious that the insulating protective structure disclosed by Lu et al. is suitable for use as the insulating resistor protective structure as well as the lower insulating protective structure and/or the upper insulating protective structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. and Lim et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include a thin film resistor on the upper insulating protective structure, the thin film resistor being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer with the upper insulating protective structure therebetween in the vertical direction; and an insulating resistor protective structure contacting a top surface of the thin film resistor, wherein at least a portion of the insulating resistor protective structure has a same configuration as a portion of the lower insulating protective structure or a portion of the upper insulating protective structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a semiconductor device with improved reliability and providing an insulating resistor protective structure with reduced cracking, peeling, or formation of voids [paragraph [0016] of Lu et al, paragraph [0131]-[0134] of Lim et al.].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 20220102203) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. 20060276027) and Lim et al. (US Pub. 20220068810).
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses in Fig. 7 an integrated circuit device, comprising:
a lower insulating film [117 and 111] on a substrate [101];
a plurality of lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] extending in the lower insulating film [117 and 111] in a vertical direction perpendicular to an upper surface of the substrate [101], the plurality of lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] being spaced apart from each other in a lateral direction parallel to the upper surface of the substrate [101];
a lower insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123] on a top surface of each of the lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] and the lower insulating film [117 and 111];
an upper insulating film [127 and 137] on the lower insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123];
an upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146] on the upper insulating film [127 and 137];
a conductive contact plug [138] extending in the upper insulating film [127 and 137] and the lower insulating protective structure [119, 121, 123] in the vertical direction, the conductive contact plug [138] contacting each of a corresponding one of the plurality of lower metal wiring layers [112 and 116] and the upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146]; and
an upper insulating protective structure [139, 141, 143] on a top surface of each of the upper metal wiring layer [136 and 146] and the upper insulating film [137 and 127].
Wang fails to disclose
a thin film resistor on the upper insulating protective structure, the thin film resistor being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer with the upper insulating protective structure therebetween in the vertical direction; and
an insulating resistor protective structure contacting a top surface of the thin film resistor.
Lim et al. discloses in Fig. 2D, paragraph [0046], [0052]-[0054]
a thin film resistor [RM] on the upper insulating protective structure [DL1], the thin film resistor [RM] being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer [LIL1 and LIL2] with the upper insulating protective structure [DL1] therebetween in the vertical direction; and
an insulating resistor protective structure [Dl2] contacting a top surface of the thin film resistor [RM].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lim et al. into the method of Wang et al. to include a thin film resistor on the upper insulating protective structure, the thin film resistor being spaced apart from the upper metal wiring layer with the upper insulating protective structure therebetween in the vertical direction; and an insulating resistor protective structure contacting a top surface of the thin film resistor. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing a semiconductor device with improved reliability [paragraph [0131]-[0134] of Lim et al.].
Wang et al. and Lim et al. fails to disclose
wherein each of the lower insulating protective structure, the upper insulating protective structure, and the insulating resistor protective structure comprises a plurality of SiCN films and at least one oxide thin film, each of the at least one oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of SiCN films.
Lu et al. discloses in Fig. 6, paragraph [0016]
wherein an insulating protective structure [104, 106a, 106b] comprises a plurality of first silicon carbonitride (SiCN) films [106a and 106b] and at least one first oxide thin film [104], each of which is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of first SiCN films [106a and 106b].
Wang discloses the upper insulating protective structure has a same configuration as the lower insulating protective structure.
Lim et al. discloses in Fig. 2D, paragraph [0046], [0052]-[0054]
the insulating resistor protective structure [DL2] has a same configuration as the upper insulating protective structure [DL1].
Thus, it would be obvious that the insulating protective structure disclosed by Lu et al. is suitable for use as the insulating resistor protective structure as well as the lower insulating protective structure and/or the upper insulating protective structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Lu et al. into the method of Wang et al. and Lim et al. to include wherein each of the lower insulating protective structure, the upper insulating protective structure, and the insulating resistor protective structure comprises a plurality of SiCN films and at least one oxide thin film, each of the at least one oxide thin film is between two adjacent ones of the plurality of SiCN films. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing insulating protective structures with reduced cracking, peeling, or formation of voids [paragraph [0016] of Lu et al.].
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US Pub. 20220102203) in view of Lu et al. (US Pub. 20060276027) and Lim et al. (US Pub. 20220068810) as applied to claim 18 above and further in view of Changchien et al. (US Pub. 20150255303).
Regarding claims 19-20, Wang et al., Lim et al. and Lu et al. fails to disclose
wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure, the upper insulating protective structure, and the insulating resistor protective structure, a thickness of each of the plurality of SiCN films in the vertical direction is in a range of about 2 nm to about 10 nm, and a thickness of the at least one oxide thin film in the vertical direction is in a range of about 0.3 nm to about 0.5 nm.
Changchien et al. discloses in paragraph [0013]
a thickness of a SiCN film in the vertical direction is in a range of about 2 nm to about 10 nm, and a thickness of an oxide thin film in the vertical direction is in a range of about 0.3 nm to about 0.5 nm [0.5 nm and about 100 nm].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Changchien et al. into the method of Wang et al., Lim et al. and Lu et al. to include wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure, the upper insulating protective structure, and the insulating resistor protective structure, a thickness of each of the plurality of SiCN films in the vertical direction is in a range of about 2 nm to about 10 nm, and a thickness of the at least one oxide thin film in the vertical direction is in a range of about 0.3 nm to about 0.5 nm. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Wang et al., Lim et al. and Lu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable thickness of each of the plurality of SiCN films and suitable thickness of an oxide thin film in the vertical direction to yield a composite insulating protective structure having desired thickness and mechanical properties.
In addition, Applicant has not provided any criticality of the claimed range. It would have been obvious to modify Wang et al., Lim et al. and Lu et al. to provide the claimed ranges for at least the purpose of optimization and routine experimentation to provide a composite insulating protective structure having desired thickness and mechanical properties. The claimed ranges are merely optimizations, and as such are not patentable over the prior art. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages." Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382.
Lu et al. and Wang et al. fails to disclose
wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, the plurality of SiCN films have a same content ratio of carbon (C) atoms;
wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, a content ratio of carbon (C) atoms in a first one of the plurality of SiCN films is different from a content ratio of carbon atoms in a second one of the plurality of SiCN films.
However, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for a content ratio of carbon (C) atoms in the plurality of SiCN films: the plurality of SiCN films have a same content ratio of carbon (C) atoms or have different content ratios of carbon (C) atoms. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, the plurality of SiCN films have a same content ratio of carbon (C) atoms; or wherein in each of the lower insulating protective structure and the upper insulating protective structure, a content ratio of carbon (C) atoms in a first one of the plurality of SiCN films is different from a content ratio of carbon atoms in a second one of the plurality of SiCN films to yield a composite insulating protective structure having desired mechanical properties.
Conclusion
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893