DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 6 (directed to non-elected Figure 4), 7 (directed to non-elected Figure 4), 15 and 18 (directed to non-elected Figure 4) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected embodiments of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/05/26.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the perforations in the spacer pads of claims 10 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the mesh fabric of claims 12 and 16 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The use of the terms KEVLAR (page 3, lines 2 and lin3 28 and page 9, line 25), NOMEX (page 11, line 12 and line 27), and VELCRO (page 11, line 23), which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the use of the acronyms “TPP” and “THL” are used throughout the specification, but no mention of what it is abbreviation of.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12, 13, 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 12 and 16, it is unclear what “TPP” and “THL” are abbreviations of and the specification is silent as to what these acronyms represent. Therefore, it is unclear what is required of the structure of the garment to read on these limitations. For Examination purposes, the examiner is interpreting the “TPP” and “THL” limitations to be met based upon it being a mesh layer as detailed in applicants specification.
Regarding Claims 13 and 19, it is unclear what is required structurally of the gap since its location is based upon variable human anatomy, variable high rates of perspiration and metabolic heat transfer of a human body and not garment structure.
Any remaining claims are rejected depending from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The limitation “wherein the gap is aligned with areas of high rates of perspiration and metabolic heat transfer of a firefighter’s body” should include the language “configured to”, “adapted to”, “when worn” or other similar language to get around this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aldridge (US 5,860,163).
In regard to claim 20, Aldridge teaches an outer shell for a firefighter protective garment (figures 1-6, outer shell layer: 12 or 52), the firefighter protective garment comprising at least one liner (liner: 16 or 54), the outer shell comprising: an inner surface contacting said at least one liner when the outer shell is attached to said at least one liner (see figure 1 and 6 show liner and shell contacting each other at attachments); an outer surface defining an outermost surface of the firefighter protective garment (see outer shell 12 or 52 outer surface: figures 1 and 6); and an array of spacer pads distributed across the inner surface of the outer shell (spacer pads/insulating beads: 18 or 60, column 4, lines 60-65 and column 5, lines 29-39), the array of spacer pads being positioned to maintain a gap between said at least one liner and the outer shell (see figures 1, 5 and 6; column 3, lines 38-43), each spacer pad of the array of spacer pads being separated one from another by at least one air circulation channel (column 3, lines 38-43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-14, 16-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbeau et al. (US 10,245,454) in view of Aldridge (US 5, 860,163).
In regard to claim 1, Barbeau et al. teaches a firefighter protective garment (see abstract), comprising: a first liner defining an innermost layer of the firefighter protective garment (thermal barrier: 16); a second liner extending over the first liner (moisture barrier: 14); an outer shell defining an outermost layer of the firefighter protective garment and extending over the second liner (outer shell: 12), the outer shell having an inner surface and an outer surface (outer shell: 12 has inner and outer surface); and an array of spacer pads distributed across the inner surface of the first liner (spacer elements: 18), the array of spacer pads being positioned to maintain a gap between the first liner and the user’s body (column 3, lines 39-42), each spacer pad of the array of spacer pads being separated one from another by at least one air circulation channel (column 4, lines 50-58).
However, Barbeau et al. fails to teach the spacer pads being distributed across an inner surface of the outer shell to maintain a gap between the second liner and the outer shell.
Aldridge teaches placing spacer pads distributed across an inner surface of an outer shell to maintain a gap between the second liner and the outer shell (spacer pads/insulating beads: 18 or 16, figures 1, 5 or 6 and column 4, lines 62-65).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the spacer pads of Barbeau et al. positioned between the outer shell and middle/second liner or additionally positioned between the outer shell and middle/second liner as taught by Aldridge, since the firefighters coat of Barbeau et al. provided with the spacer pads additionally or alternatively between the outer shell and second liner/middle layer would provide a firefighter’s coat that has a ventilation zone between the outer layer and middle layer to assist with moisture vapor transport from the wearer and promotes breathability of the garment.
In regard to claim 2, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the first liner is a thermal barrier (thermal barrier: 16).
In regard to claim 3, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the second liner is a moisture barrier (moisture barrier: 14).
In regard to claim 4, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the array of spacer pads is distributed into first and second neighboring columns in a back region of the firefighter's body (see figure 4, spacer elements: 18 are in first and second neighboring columns in the back).
In regard to claim 5, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the first and second neighboring columns each comprises 6 spacer pads (see figure 4, spacer pads: 18 is first and second columns have 6 spacer pads along the back of the garment).
In regard to claim 8, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the array of spacer pads is permeable to air, water vapor and liquid water (column 5, lines 16-17).
In regard to claim 9, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein each spacer pad is made of closed cell foam (column 5, lines 9-12).
In regard to claim 10, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the closed cell foam of said spacer pads comprises at least one perforation therein (column 5, lines 9-12).
In regard to claim 11, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein said at least one perforation has a diameter of about 0.5 inch (column 5, lines 9-12).
In regard to claim 12, Barbeau et al. teaches further comprising a mesh fabric at least partially covering each spacer pad (mesh: column 4, lines 54-56 and column 5, lines 21-22), the mesh fabric decreasing the THL value of the firefighter protective garment and increasing the TPP value of the firefighter protective coat (see column 2, lines 4-10, mesh fabric meets this as stated in applicant’s specification in page 12, lines 16-18).
In regard to claim 13, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the gap is aligned with areas of high rates of perspiration and metabolic heat transfer of a firefighter's body (column 4, lines 62-64).
In regard to claim 14, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the firefighter protective garment comprises a firefighter protective coat (claims detail garment being a firefighter coat).
In regard to claim 16, Barbeau et al. teaches a firefighter protective garment (see abstract), comprising: a first liner defining an innermost layer of the firefighter protective garment (thermal barrier: 16); a second liner extending over the first liner (moisture barrier: 14); an outer shell defining an outermost layer of the firefighter protective garment and extending over the second liner (outer shell: 12), the outer shell having an inner surface and an outer surface (outer shell: 12 has inner and outer surface); and an array of spacer pads distributed across the inner surface of the first liner (spacer elements: 18), the array of spacer pads being positioned to maintain a gap between the first liner and the user’s body (column 3, lines 39-42), each spacer pad of the array of spacer pads being separated one from another by at least one air circulation channel (column 4, lines 50-58); and a mesh fabric at least partially extending over the array of spacer pads(mesh: column 4, lines 54-56 and column 5, lines 21-22), said at least one portion being aligned with areas of high rates of perspiration and metabolic heat transfer of a firefighter's body when the firefighter protective garment is worn by the firefighter (column 4, lines 62-64), wherein the areas of high rates of perspiration and metabolic heat transfer comprise at least one of the front torso of the firefighter, the back of the firefighter (see figure 1 and 4, back of firefighter: column 4, lines 62-64), a side torso of the firefighter, arms of the firefighter, or upper legs of the firefighter, the mesh fabric decreasing the THL value of the firefighter protective garment and increasing the TPP value of the firefighter protective coat (see column 2, lines 4-10, mesh fabric meets this as stated in applicant’s specification in page 12, lines 16-18).
However, Barbeau et al. fails to teach the spacer pads being distributed across an inner surface of the outer shell to maintain a gap between the second liner and the outer shell and the mesh that extends over the spacer pads being over the inner surface of the outer shell.
Aldridge teaches placing spacer pads distributed across an inner surface of an outer shell to maintain a gap between the second liner and the outer shell (spacer pads/insulating beads: 18 or 16, figures 1, 5 or 6 and column 4, lines 62-65); the spacer pads being located between the second liner and the outer shell would provide the mesh of Barbeau et al. to be located along an inner surface of the outer shell (see column 4, lines 62-65 of Aldridge and figure 1, mesh: 22).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one having ordinary skill in the art to have provided the spacer pads of Barbeau et al. positioned between the outer shell and middle/second liner or additionally positioned between the outer shell and middle/second liner as taught by Aldridge, since the firefighters coat of Barbeau et al. provided with the spacer pads additionally or alternatively between the outer shell and second liner/middle layer would provide a firefighter’s coat that has a ventilation zone between the outer layer and middle layer to assist with moisture vapor transport from the wearer and promotes breathability of the garment.
In regard to claim 17, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the first liner is a thermal barrier and the second liner is a moisture barrier (thermal barrier: 16 and moisture barrier: 14).
In regard to claim 19, Barbeau et al. teaches wherein the gap is aligned with areas of high rates of perspiration and metabolic heat transfer of a firefighter's body (column 4, lines 62-64).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and can be found cited in PTO-892 form submitted herewith. The cited prior art to Holdsworth-Layton (US 2013/0298589) is of particular relevance to the claimed invention.
ALISSA L. HOEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/ALISSA L HOEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732