DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites in brackets “[Possible European Claim: Claim 1:….]” Words and/or phrases in brackets are not considered part of the claim and should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 and 5 recites: “wherein the computer downloads the at least one of the current data, crimp completion determinations and error determinations stored in the memory… wherein the computer generates a report based on the at least one of the current data, crimp completion determinations and error determinations.” Wherein statements are used to further define previously set forth elements. In this case, a wherein statement is used to further define an element that was not previously, positively set forth, which makes it unclear if the recited element is required by the claimed apparatus. Claim 3 recites “a computer” when further defining the crimping tool’s capabilities but does not recite that a computer is part of the claimed device of a crimping tool.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,108,205.
Claims 1-2 and 6-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,170,432.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the differences which exist between the claims would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art upon review of the accompanying claims and disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barezzani (WO 2016005838 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Barezzani discloses a crimping tool (figure 7, element 1) comprising:
a housing (2),
a motor (figure 11, element 6) disposed within the housing (paragraph 0017, i.e., “the housing 2 houses an electric motor 6”),
a switch (figure 7, element 7) connected to the motor for activating the motor (figure 11 and paragraph 0017, i.e. the switch (7) control the motor through a control circuit (9) and battery (5)),
a pump driven by the motor (figure 11, i.e. a hydraulic pump (11) driven by the motor (6)),
a piston driven by the pump (figure 11, i.e. a piston (12) driven by the pump (11)),
an indenter (figure 7A, i.e. a jaw (14’) create dents in a workpiece) operably connected to the piston (figures 11),
a tool head connected to the housing (figure 7 and page 5, lines 1-3, i.e. a compression head where the jaws are located),
wherein a workpiece can be disposed between the tool head and the indenter (figure 7A, i.e. a workpiece is crimped using an indenter in the form of a jaw (14’)),
a current sensor (figure 11, element 23 and paragraph 0051) connected to the motor for sensing current flowing through the motor (figure 11, i.e. the current sensor (23) is connected to the motor via the control circuit (9); paragraph 0031, i.e. the current sensor reads the current drawn by the motor (6)),
a processor (paragraph 0054, i.e. the control circuit (9) contains a processor in the form of a CPU) configured to receive current data from the current sensor (paragraph 0054, i.e. the control circuit (9) with the CPU receives signals from the current sensor (23)),
the processor is configured to analyze the current data (paragraph 0054, i.e. the control circuit (9) with the CPU processes the signals from the current sensor (23)) to determine at least one of completion of a crimping operation and an error condition (paragraph 0056, i.e. the control circuit (9) with the CPU determines and displays a confirmation of the outcome of the compression process, where the confirmation of a crimping outcome includes at least the indication of a successful and unsuccessful crimping of the workpiece; unsuccessful crimping is a form of an error), and
a display (figure 11, element 18) connected to the processor for indicating at least one of completion of a crimping operation and an error condition (paragraph 0056, i.e. a confirmation of the outcome of the compression process is displayed, where the outcome of compression processes include the successful or unsuccessful crimping of the workpiece).
With regards to claim 6, Barezzani further discloses the crimping tool further comprising a battery (figure 7, element 5) pack attachable to the housing (2) for providing power to the motor (paragraph 0017, i.e. the battery (5) powers the motor (6)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barezzani in view of Miyamoto et al. (hereinafter “Miyamoto”) (US 20030079513 A1).
With regards to claim 2, Barezzani discloses the tool further comprising a memory connected to the processor (paragraph 0054, i.e. the control circuit (9) that includes the process (CPU) also includes an internal memory) for processing at least one of the current data, crimp completion determinations and error determinations (paragraphs 0054 and 0056). Barezzani does not explicitly disclose the memory storing the data. However, in the same field of endeavor, Miyamoto teaches a crimping tool (figure 9) having a memory that stores the normal or abnormal state of the crimping operations, in order to prevent future abnormal crimping operations (paragraph 0071, i.e. a normal crimping operation is a completion of a crimping operation, and an abnormal crimping operation is an error condition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the memory of Barezzani’s crimping tool to store the crimping operation outcomes as taught by Miyamoto, in order to prevent future abnormal crimping operations (paragraph 0071).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barezzani in view of Miyamoto, and further in view of Bungter et al. (hereinafter “Bungter”) (US 20160016222 A1).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, the combination of Barezzani and Miyamoto teaches the invention substantially as claimed, except for the crimping tool being capable of connecting to a computer, but Barezzani recognizes that the crimping tool is capable of connecting to an external memory to upload saved data (paragraph 0054). However, in the same field of endeavor, Bungter teaches a pressing tool (paragraph 0001, i.e. the pressing tool also performs crimping) having an internal memory that stores current data (paragraphs 0009), crimping processes completion and error data (paragraphs 0006, 0027), where the captured and stored data are transferred to a computer in order to analyze and read the data at a later time (paragraphs 0019, 0032, and 0033). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to modify the crimping tool of Barezzani to be capable of transferring saved data as taught by Bungter, in order to analyze and read the data at a later time (paragraph 0019).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and further show the state of the art: US Patent 5,657,417.
/TERESA M EKIERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725