DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 cancelled
Claims 18-35 new and pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 34-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morris (PG Pub 2008/0138634 A1) in view of Wakamatsu (PG Pub 2011/0159301 A).
Consider Claim 34, Morris teaches the process of coating substrate from wooden roofing material [0076], where the surfaces are coating with tie coat having polysiloxane polymer [0008] and figures 1-2, as the polysiloxane film material is polysiloxane polymer has a terminal reactive group, that is hydroxyl [0011].
Morris does not teach salting out a substrate having a polysiloxane/silicone film.
However, Wakamatsu is in the prior art of coating wood with silicone film (abstract), process of coating includes coating the silicone (A) to (F), then treating the wood with a dispersion containing the silicone emulsion composition [I] and the di- or trivalent metal salt (G) by immersion, as immersing in metal salt bath (Claim 8).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention would combine Morris with Wakamatsu to salt out the substrate coated with silicone/polysiloxane film, to provide with water repellency, water absorption prevention, dimensional stability, termite control and antifungal properties without altering the appearance and quality of wood (abstract).
Consider Claim 35, is product-by-process claim, which is a product claim that defines the claimed product in terms of the process by which it is made. As such, "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by- process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted) [MPEP 2113]. Furthermore, "[t]he Patent Office bears a lesser burden of proof in making out a case of prima facie obviousness for product by process claims because of their peculiar nature" than when a product is claimed in the conventional fashion. In re Fessmann, 489 F.2d 742, 744, 180 USPQ 324, 326 (CCPA 1974). Once the examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product. In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983). The combined Morris (with Wakamatsu) teaches a silicone roofing membrane prepared by salting out a substrate having coated thereon a hydroxyl-terminated polysiloxane, as product-by-process.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-20, 22, 24-25, 28-35 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,577,801 B2 in view of Morris (PG Pub 2008/0138634 A1).
Claim 18 state “A method for preparing a silicone roofing membrane, the method comprising:
(i) providing an emulsion comprising of a hydroxyl-terminated polysiloxane, a crosslinker, and a catalyst;
(ii) applying the emulsion to a substrate to form an emulsion soaked substrate;
(iii) contacting the emulsion soaked substrate with an aqueous salt bath to form a cured substrate; and
(iv) drying the cured substrate.”
This disclose in claims 1 and 6 of Pat ‘801.
As Morris disclose the process of coating substrate from roofing material [0076], where the surfaces are coating with tie coat having polysiloxane polymer [0008] and figures 1-2, as the polysiloxane film material is polysiloxane polymer has a terminal reactive group, that is hydroxyl [0011].
Claim 34 “A method of forming a silicone roofing membrane, the method comprising: salting out a substrate having coated thereon a hydroxyl-terminated polysiloxane.
This disclose in claims 1 and 6 of Pat ‘801.
As Morris disclose the process of coating substrate from roofing material [0076], where the surfaces are coating with tie coat having polysiloxane polymer [0008] and figures 1-2, as the polysiloxane film material is polysiloxane polymer has a terminal reactive group, that is hydroxyl [0011].
Claim 35 “A silicone roofing membrane prepared by a process comprising: salting out a substrate having coated thereon a hydroxyl-terminated polysiloxane.”
This disclose in claims 1 and 6 of Pat ‘801.
As Morris disclose the process of coating substrate from roofing material [0076], where the surfaces are coating with tie coat having polysiloxane polymer [0008] and figures 1-2, as the polysiloxane film material is polysiloxane polymer has a terminal reactive group, that is hydroxyl [0011].
Claims 19-20, 22, 24-25, 28-33 are disclosed in claims 2-17 of Pat ‘801.
Conclusion
/Mohammad Mayy/
Art Unit 1718
/GORDON BALDWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1718