DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending and have been examined. Claims 1-12 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“connecting device” (claims 1, 4, 5, and 10)
“pressing device” (claims 5 and 9)
The corresponding structure for the “connecting device” is identified in the specification as the two clamping screws (14, 15) and/or the system of stops (12, 13, 16, 17) together with the pressing device (FIGS. 4-5); the corresponding structure for the “pressing device” is a lateral pressure piece / spring (element 23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the linear shafts” (and “the cylindrical pins”) in line 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 6 recites that “the first stop and the third stop are each a linear shaft or a cylindrical pin” (i.e., each stop is, in the alternative, a single linear shaft or a single cylindrical pin); it is therefore unclear whether the claimed structure includes plural “linear shafts” or plural “cylindrical pins,” and to which elements “the linear shafts” and “the cylindrical pins” refer.
Claim 10 is indefinite because it recites that the object manipulator “includes both a connecting device that has two screws … and a connecting device that has a first stop and a third stop …,” whereas claim 1, from which claim 10 depends, recites only “a connecting device.” It is unclear whether the two connecting devices recited in claim 10 are the same as, or are in addition to, the “connecting device” of claim 1, rendering the metes and bounds of the claim unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PRICE et al. (US 10365233 B2) in view of BOKSEM et al. (US 20220187224 A1).
Regarding claim 1, PRICE discloses an object manipulator for an X-ray inspection system (manipulator stage for an X-ray apparatus) comprising:
an object stage on which a test object is configured to be secured (col. 9, ll. 45-47, “[s]ample stage 220 includes platform 221, which provides a sufficiently large, flat surface so as to support the sample”);
a first linear guide along which the object stage is movable in a first direction (col. 9, ll. 51-53, “x-translation carriage 223 allows translation of rotary drive 222 together with platform 221 in the x-direction along with a first support member 230”);
a second linear guide along which the object stage is movable in a second direction having a perpendicular component relative to the first direction (col. 9, ll. 40-44, “the third support member 250 is supported on a z-carriage 258 which runs on t-rails 259 mounted to reference plate 210”); and
an object stage interface formed on the first linear guide (col. 9, ll. 43-45, “manipulator stage 200 has a first support member 230 which supports, at a position along its length, sample stage 220”).
FIG. 4 of PRICE – manipulator stage with the sample stage supported on linear carriages and support members.
PRICE does not disclose that the object stage has an interface region in which it is detachably connected to the object stage interface via a connecting device, or a support region, spatially separated from the interface region, in which the object stage is arranged on the first linear guide so as to be positionally movable thereon. In the same field of endeavor, BOKSEM discloses a sample mounting system for an X-ray analysis apparatus having an interchangeable object stage (sample holder) that is detachably connected to the sample stage by cooperating reference portions for positioning ([0079], “an automatic sample changer for removing and replacing the sample holder on the sample stage”; [0083], “the stage reference portion and the sample holder are pressed together, causing the stage reference portion and holder reference portion to self-align”), and discloses a platform that supports the holder separately from the reference assembly carrying the locating reference portion ([0019], “a base comprising the platform; and a reference assembly comprising the stage reference portion”), with the benefit of providing a detachable interface for consistent replacement for reference and/or sample x-ray inspection ([0004]). In light of the teachings of BOKSEM, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine with the teachings of PRICE.
Figure 1 of BOKSEM shows a removably attached sample stage platform.
Regarding claim 2, PRICE discloses a linear guide with guide rails running on supported carriages ([0082], “a Z-carriage 258 which runs on t-rails 259”). Providing the first linear guide with two parallel guide rails in the form of round or rectangular linear shafts is a well-known linear-guide construction and an obvious design choice that yields the predictable result of guiding the object stage along the first direction.
Regarding claim 3, for the reasons given for claim 2, it would have been obvious that the second linear guide likewise has two parallel guide rails that are round or rectangular linear shafts (PRICE, [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references do not expressly recite two screws. However, fastening the object stage to the object stage interface with two screws that interact with the object stage interface and the interface region would be a well-known and conventional mechanical expedient for a secure yet detachable connection, and would have been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 5, BOKSEM discloses a connecting device having cooperating reference portions (stops/seats) on each of the two parts that engage and can be pressed together ([0016], “either the holder reference portion is a projection and the stage reference portion is a recess for receiving the projection, or the stage reference portion is a projection and the holder reference portion is a recess for receiving the projection”; [0083], “the stage reference portion and the sample holder are pressed together”). The combination makes obvious a first stop and a third stop on the object stage interface and a second stop and a fourth stop on the interface region, the second stop pressed against the first stop and the fourth stop against the third stop by a pressing device.
Regarding claim 6, the recited geometry (cylindrical pins extending perpendicular to the first and second directions, a straight stop edge, and a body presenting two stop surfaces oriented at positive and negative angles relative to the second direction) is an obvious implementation of BOKSEM’s cooperating reference portions, which BOKSEM teaches may be projections received in recesses with inclined, self-aligning walls, or a bearing received in a notch ([0016], [0023]), thus providing a precise and repeatable location.
Regarding claim 7, providing at least one of the stop elements so as to be movable relative to the object stage interface in a direction having a component in the second direction (i.e., adjustable) is an obvious design choice that allows the locating engagement of BOKSEM to be set/adjusted, yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, for the reasons given for claim 7, making the straight stop edge movable in a direction having a component in the second direction would have been an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 9, BOKSEM discloses that the reference portions are seated by a pressing force ( [0083], “the stage reference portion and the sample holder are pressed together”; [0042], “applying a force to the stage reference portion via the holder reference portion to cause the sample holder to move to the aligned configuration”). Implementing the pressing device as a spring having a force component along the second direction, embodied as a lateral pressure piece, is a well-known mechanical equivalent and an obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 10, providing the object manipulator with both a screw-type connecting device (see claim 4) and a stop/pressing-device connecting device (see claims 5-6) is an obvious combination of known fastening and locating devices, used together to both secure and precisely locate the object stage, yielding predictable results. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 11, PRICE discloses support members/carriages that bear and support movement of the stage ( [0078], “first support member 230 … supported at one end by a vertical second support member 240 and at the other end by a vertical third support member 250”) and provides translation in a further, vertical direction ( [0028], the first support structure “may be translated in a vertical direction”). The combination renders obvious two bearing bodies arranged on the object stage interface that support movement along the first direction, at least one of which is movable in a third direction having a perpendicular component relative to both the first and second directions.
Regarding claim 12, making at least one of the two bearing bodies movable via an eccentric device is the use of a well-known mechanical adjustment mechanism (an eccentric) to effect a small, controllable displacement, and would have been an obvious design choice yielding predictable results.
Related Art
PINEAULT et al. (US 20220034826 A1) discloses a ball-mapping system connectable to an x-ray diffraction apparatus having a stage with 2 degrees of translation.
Conclusion
CASEY BRYANT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2884
/CASEY BRYANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884