DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to Preliminary Amendment made to an Application No. 18/941,245 filed on 11/08/2024 in which claims 4, 6, 7, 10, 14-16, and 19 are amended and no claims are canceled nor added.
Accordingly, Claims 1-20 are currently pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 11/08/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Objections
Claim 2-10 and 12-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2-10 recite “An apparatus according to claim 1” in the preamble. For formality, it is suggested to change to -- The apparatus -- since claims 2-10 are dependent upon claim 1.
Claims 12-19 recite “An apparatus according to claim 11” in the preamble. For formality, it is suggested to change to -- The apparatus -- since claims 12-19 are dependent upon claim 11.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by NAIK et al. (US 2025/0113339 A1) hereinafter “Naik”.
Regarding claim 1, Naik discloses an apparatus (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0230-32], AP), comprising:
at least one processor (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0230-32], AP includes processor); and
at least one memory storing instructions that (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0230-32], AP includes memory), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
transmit a first message via a first primary channel associated with a basic service set, the first message comprising first information indicating a first capability of the apparatus to communicate via non-primary channel access (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0041] [0046] [0083-84] [0131], a single AP and an associated set of STAs may be referred to as a basic service set (BSS) and the AP may transmit DSO (dynamic subchannel operation) capability information of the AP to the STA, in which DSO is to support non-primary channel access); and
receive a second message from a second apparatus via the first primary channel in response to the first message, the second message comprising second information indicating a second capability of the second apparatus to communicate via the non-primary channel access (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0041] [0083-84] [0131], the STA may report DSO capability information of the STA to the AP, in which DSO is to support non-primary channel access).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Naik discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to:
transmit third information indicating enablement of the first capability at the apparatus (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0083-84] [0132], exchange DSO mode enablement signaling).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Naik discloses wherein, to transmit the third information, the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to:
transmit a message comprising the third information over a plurality of time-domain resources, wherein a first one or more time-domain resources of the plurality of time-domain resources are associated with the transmission of the third information, and wherein a second one or more time-domain resources of the plurality of time-domain resources are associated with a switch from the first primary channel to at least one primary channel associated with the non-primary channel access (see ¶ [0070] [0096], Different RUs may be allocated or assigned by an AP to different STAs at particular times, the control frame may indicate one or more time occasions and switching operating bands according to the control frame indicating the one or more time occasions for switching).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Naik discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to:
based at least in part on the second capability, transmit a third message indicating activation of the non-primary channel access for communication between the apparatus and the second apparatus (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0083-84] [0132], exchange DSO mode enablement signaling).
Regarding claim 5, Naik discloses wherein the third message is indicative of at least one of the following: an indication of a second primary channel for the non-primary channel access (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0088] [0134], a control frame assigning, to the STA for the DSO, a frequency resource included in at least one secondary subchannel of the set of secondary subchannels).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Naik discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to:
based at least in part on the first capability, perform at least one of carrier sensing or packet detection on the first primary channel and at least one primary channel associated with the non-primary channel access (see ¶ [0058] [0174], perform carrier sensing).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Naik discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to:
based at least in part on the second capability, transmit a fourth message to the second apparatus via a second primary channel associated with the non-primary channel access (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0135], the STA and the AP may exchange PPDUs via the assigned frequency resource of the at least one secondary subchannel).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Naik discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to:
select a transmission bandwidth for the transmission of the fourth message via the second primary channel based at least in part on one or more criteria (see ¶ [0091] [0099] [0140], The frame contents may indicate a bandwidth for one or more supported subchannels and the secondary subchannels signaling may indicate location and bandwidth information for the subchannels to which the STA may switch for DSO).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Naik discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to: transmit third information indicating disablement of the first capability at the apparatus; and transmit a message over the first primary channel based at least in part on the disablement (see FIG. 9; see ¶ [0098] [0136], exchange DSO mode disablement signaling).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Naik discloses wherein the first capability comprises a capability of the apparatus to perform packet detection concurrently on the first primary channel and at least one channel associated with the non-primary channel access, and wherein the second capability comprises a capability of the second apparatus to perform packet detection concurrently on the first primary channel and the at least one channel associated with the non-primary channel access (see ¶ [0088] [0090], the capability signaling may additionally, or alternatively, indicate a set of subchannels supported for DSO for concurrent transmissions and the STA may indicate, via the capability signaling,, a threshold quantity of subchannels for which the STA supports concurrent communications).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Naik discloses Claim 11 of an apparatus (see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0181-83], STA), and Claim 20 of a method, comprising:
at least one processor (see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0181-83], STA includes processor); and
at least one memory storing instructions that (see FIG. 14; see ¶ [0181-83], STA includes memory), when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from a second apparatus, a first message via a first primary channel associated with a basic service set, the first message comprising first information indicating a first capability of the apparatus to communicate via non-primary channel access (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0041] [0046] [0083-84] [0131], a single AP and an associated set of STAs may be referred to as a basic service set (BSS) and the AP may transmit DSO (dynamic subchannel operation) capability information of the AP to the STA, in which DSO is to support non-primary channel access); and
transmit a second message to the second apparatus via the first primary channel in response to the first message, the second message comprising second information indicating a second capability of the second apparatus to communicate via the non-primary channel access (see FIG. 5 and 9; see ¶ [0041] [0083-84] [0131], the STA may report DSO capability information of the STA to the AP, in which DSO is to support non-primary channel access).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HASABELNABY et al. (US 2026/0101369 A1) teaches methods, systems and apparatus for coordinated non-primary channel access (Co-NPCA) are provided. In one aspect, a method involves inter-BSS coordination, where a first AP communicates with a second AP to synchronize NPCA parameters, such as the NPCA primary channel and channel switching delays. In another aspect, a method for intra-BSS coordination allows an AP to inform an associated STA of the NPCA primary channel and receive feedback on channel switching delays (see Abstract).
HELWA et al. (US 2026/0129677 A1) teaches methods, components, devices and systems for non-primary channel access (NPCA) conditions for joint operation with coordinated access point (AP) procedures. Some aspects more specifically relate to preventing an NPCA-enabled station from switching to the secondary primary channel during a coordinated transmission messaging sequence. In some examples, a first AP may transmit, to the NPCA-enabled station, a first frame that indicates one or more parameters associated with a determination of whether to transition from the first primary channel to a secondary primary channel (see Abstract).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462