DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 2, 4-12 and 14-22 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments / Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed 5/5/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2, 4-12 and 14-21 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn.
In response to the new claim 22, the claim is rejected by Grube (Pub. No.: US 2016/0090097 A1) in view of Alasry (Pat. No.: US 9,925,872 B1).
Grube teaches fatigue detection system is configured to use camera to monitor the blink rate and eyelid closure of the user but fail to expressly teach the camera is an infrared camera.
However, in the same field of drowsiness / fatigue detection, Alasry teaches the use of infrared camera to determine eye movements. See Col. 3, line 58 – Col. 4, line 4, “The DSM 60 can include any suitable number of sensors 62. The sensors 62 can be any suitable sensors to monitor the driver 22, such as the driver's eye position and movement, head position and movement, facial expressions, etc. For example, the sensors 62 can include a camera, infrared light-emitting diodes (LEDs) and infrared sensors. The DSM 60 includes a control module configured to receive facial data sensed by the sensors 62, including images of the driver's face, head, and/or eyes. The control module then analyzes the facial data to determine the face angle, head position, and/or eye position of the driver 22, as well as detect long-duration eye closure of the driver 22, and to estimate an alertness level of the driver 22.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grube’s camera with an infrared camera improve detection accuracy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grube (Pub. No.: US 2016/0090097 A1) in view of Alasry (Pat. No.: US 9,925,872 B1).
Regarding claim 22, Grube teaches an in-flight risk management system (Abstract, Fig. 1, fatigue detection for airline pilot 100) comprising:
an eye tracking sensor incorporated into a control panel of an aircraft
(Fig. 1, biometric sensors 108, para [0010], “The biometric sensors 108 can also include one or more digital cameras that can detect information about the eyes of the vehicle operator.”),
one or more in-flight risk management (IRM) computers in communication with the eye tracking sensor (Fig. 1, processor 110); and
one or more data stores in communication with the one or more IRM computers and storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more IRM computers to perform operations Fig. 1, memory 102 stores fatigue algorithm 106) comprising:
receiving sensor data from the eye tracking sensor (Fig. 3A, step 302, para [0017], “In block 302, during vehicle operation, the processor 110 can constantly or nearly-continuously monitor the biometric sensors 108 to detect biometric data related to the vehicle operator.”);
processing the sensor data to determine fatigue for a flight crew member (Fig. 3A, steps 304-308), wherein processing comprises:
analyzing one or more of:
number and duration of eyelid closures;
gaze fixation duration on specific cockpit instruments;
gaze scanning patterns across multiple instruments; and
pupil dilation (para [0010], “For example, the digital cameras can detect various eye metrics, such as eye blink rate (i.e., how often the vehicle operator blinks), eye movement (i.e., how much the vehicle operator is looking around rather than staring in one direction), and/or eye closure amount (e.g., how much of the vehicle operator's eyes are covered by his eye lids) of the vehicle operator. Deviations in blink rate and/or a change in blink rate from a vehicle operator's baseline measurements may indicate fatigue. Additional examples of fatigue indicators can include eyes fixing on one spot (e.g., not scanning the environment) more or less than a baseline amount and partially-closed eye lids more or less than a baseline amount.”. The system determines the eye blink rate and eye closure amount obtained from the camera.);
identifying, based on the analyzing, fatigue for the flight crew member;
comparing the analyzed sensor data to predetermined fatigue-indicating profiles (Fig. 3A, and para [0010], “For example, the digital cameras can detect various eye metrics, such as eye blink rate (i.e., how often the vehicle operator blinks ), eye movement (i.e., how much the vehicle operator is looking around rather than staring in one direction), and/or eye closure amount (e.g., how much of the vehicle operator’s eyes are covered by his eye lids) of the vehicle operator. Deviations in blink rate and/or a change in blink rate from a vehicle operator's baseline measurements may indicate fatigue.”. The system determines whether the eye movements deviate from the baseline); and
calculating a fatigue measurement based on the comparison (Fig. 3A, step 306, the system calculates the fatigue level);
generating, based on the fatigue measurement, a real-time fatigue assessment for the flight crew member (The system determines the pilot is fatigue or not based on the fatigue level); and
updating a predicted fatigue profile for the flight crew member based on the real- time fatigue assessment (Fig. 2, Fig. 3B, para [0014], “
Data points can be gathered in an initial step to create a statistical model and additional data points can be gathered periodically to update the vehicle operator's statistical model. For example, a pilot may perform an initial series of “flights” in a flight simulator, as discussed above, to create a statistical model. Periodically, the pilot may return to the simulator to update the model (e.g., by adding new data points and/or by replacing the original data points with new data points).” and para [0016], “In block 206, the gathered biometric data (from blocks 202a-n) and the determined fatigue levels (from blocks 204a-n) from the multiple operations can be statistically analyzed. For example, a linear regression analysis may be performed to determine which biometric data provide the maximum discriminatory capability between fatigue levels. As other examples, a non-linear regression analysis, a machine learning analysis, neural networks trained on known fatigue/non-fatigued instances from training data, or other statistical models can be used. In block 208, the method 200 can output the resulting statistical model for the vehicle operator to the vehicle operator profile 104.”. The system updates and tracks the pilot fatigue level over a period of time.).
Grube fails to teach the camera is an infrared camera.
However, in the same field of drowsiness / fatigue detection, Alasry teaches the use of infrared camera to determine eye movements. See Col. 3, line 58 – Col. 4, line 4, “The DSM 60 can include any suitable number of sensors 62. The sensors 62 can be any suitable sensors to monitor the driver 22, such as the driver's eye position and movement, head position and movement, facial expressions, etc. For example, the sensors 62 can include a camera, infrared light-emitting diodes (LEDs) and infrared sensors. The DSM 60 includes a control module configured to receive facial data sensed by the sensors 62, including images of the driver's face, head, and/or eyes. The control module then analyzes the facial data to determine the face angle, head position, and/or eye position of the driver 22, as well as detect long-duration eye closure of the driver 22, and to estimate an alertness level of the driver 22.”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Grube’s camera with an infrared camera improve detection accuracy.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-12 and 14-21 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHEN Y WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685