CTNF 18/941,258 CTNF 101633 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8 November, 2024 is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 Claim 9 recites the limitation “ second heat exchange devices " but it refers to claim 1 which does not include a second heat exchange device, “ second heat exchange device ” is recited in claim 8, and therefore proper antecedent basis must be maintained. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes claim 9 will be read as if dependent of claim 8, which recites “ a second heat exchange device ”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim s 1- 2,7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (2) as being anticipated by Mc KELLAR et al. ( US 20190360763-A1-published 28 November, 2019 ) . As to claim 1 , Mc KELLAR discloses a heat storage system ( 200 ) comprising at least one heat source ( 202 ), a tank farm ( 204 ) with at least two tanks ( 204 A- E ), and at least one heat sink ( 212 ), wherein in the tanks fluid products and/or raw materials are stored ( Paragraph 22 ) and each tank comprises a heat exchange device ( See Annotated Figure McKellar, Under BRI conduit passing through the tanks are considered a heat exchange device ), wherein the at least one heat source, the at least one heat sink and the heat exchange devices are connected in one temperature control circuit ( 206 ), wherein the at least one heat source or the at least one heat sink is a process apparatus ( Paragraph 21 mentions heat source 202 as a nuclear reactor ). [AltContent: textbox (Tanks comprising second heat exchange device)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Tanks comprising heat exchange device)] [AltContent: textbox (Heat source)] [AltContent: textbox (Heat sink)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Temperature control circuit)] [AltContent: textbox (Tank farm)] PNG media_image1.png 379 475 media_image1.png Greyscale Annotated Figure (Mc KELLAR) As to claim 2 , Mc KELLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1, Mc KELLAR further teaches the heat storage system, wherein the fluid products and/or raw materials in the at least two tanks of the tank farm are stored at different temperatures ( Column 4, Paragraph 31 ). As to claim 7 , Mc KELLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1, Mc KELLAR further teaches the heat storage system, wherein the temperature control circuit comprises at least one additional heat exchanger for heat supply or heat dissipation ( Paragraph 25 mentions heat booster 216 may be coupled to a supplemental energy source 218, such as a source of electricity for electrical heating and/or a source of fuel for flame heating ). As to claim 8 , Mc KELLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1, Mc KELLAR further teaches the heat storage system, wherein each heat storage tank comprises a second heat exchange device ( See Annotated Figure Mc KELLAR ) is connected to a second temperature control circuit ( 210 ) and the heat transfer medium transports the heat from the storage tanks to the heat sink ( 212 ). As to claim 9, Mc KELLAR teaches the limitations of claim 8, Mc KELLER further teaches the heat storage system, wherein the second heat exchange devices are connected to the temperature control circuit ( 210, Paragraph 20 ). As to claim 10 , Mc KELLAR teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Mc KELLAR further teaches a process for operating a heat storage system, wherein for heating the fluid in at least one tank of the tank farm , heat released in the process apparatus is transferred to a heat transfer medium in the temperature control circuit ( Paragraph 19 mentions heat transfer fluid (HTF) using a conduit 206 to transfer heat from source 202 to the plurality of thermal energy storage tanks ), the heat transfer medium flows through the temperature control circuit to the heat exchange device of the tank in which the fluid is to be heated, or wherein for heating the process apparatus, heat is transferred from the fluid in at least one tank of the tank farm to the heat transfer medium in the temperature control circuit, the heat transfer medium flows to the process apparatus and transfers heat to the process apparatus ( Paragraph 19 mentions that the HTF circulates back to the source 202 for reheating ) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3- 5,13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mc KELLAR et al. ( US-20190360763-A1-published 28 November, 2019 ), and BERGAN et al ( US-20210172685-A1-published 10 June,2021 ) . As to claim 3, Mc KELLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1, Mc KELLAR, however does not teach the heat storage system, wherein at least two heat exchange devices are connected in parallel. BERGAN, however teaches the heat storage system, wherein at least two heat exchange devices are connected in parallel ( See Annotated Figure BERGAN ). PNG media_image2.png 264 619 media_image2.png Greyscale Annotated Figure (BERGAN) BERGAN teaches that this configuration provides thermal energy storage system designs and methods of operation to enhance the overall thermal energy storage capacity, efficiency, and rate of thermal energy charge and discharge, by way of expanding the dynamic temperature range, maintaining stable temperature of the heat transfer fluid, increasing versatility of operation and reducing size and thereby cost ( Paragraph 1 ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McKELLAR with the teachings of BERGAN and incorporate a heat storage system wherein the heat exchange devices are connected in parallel in order to increase the efficiency of the thermal energy storage and reduce size and cost of the system. As to claim 4, Mc KELLAR teaches the limitations of claim 1, Mc KELLAR and BERGAN both teaches the heat storage system, wherein the at least two heat exchange devices are connected in series ( See Annotated Figure McKELLAR, BERGAN 2 ). [AltContent: textbox (Bypass lines of the heat exchange devices connected in series)] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image3.png 414 780 media_image3.png Greyscale Annotated Figure (BERGAN 2) As to claim 5 , Mc KELLAR as modified by BERGAN teaches the limitations of claim 4, BERGAN further teaches the heat storage system, wherein the temperature control circuit comprises bypass lines so that each of the heat exchange devices being connected in series can be bypassed ( See Annotated Figure BERGAN 2 ). As to claim 13 , Mc KELLAR teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Mc KELLAR, however does not teach the process, wherein during heat generation in the process apparatus heat is transferred to the fluid in at least one tank of the tank farm and the heat exchange device of at least one tank in the tank farm is bypassed until the fluid has a predefined temperature, after the fluid has reached the predefined temperature, the heat exchange devices of each tank in which the fluid was heated are bypassed and the heat exchange device of at least one tank which was bypassed is opened to heat the fluid in this tank until a predefined temperature is reached. BERGAN, however teaches the process, wherein during heat transferred to the fluid in at least one heat exchange device is bypassed until the fluid has reached predefined temperature ( Paragraphs 42-43 ), and the after the fluid has reached the predefined temperature, the heat exchange devices of each block ( a,b,c,d,e ) in which the fluid was heated are bypassed and the heat exchange device of at least one block which was bypassed is opened to heat the fluid in this block until a predefined temperature is reached. The present invention provides a method and system configuration for a modular Thermal Energy Storage that results in an increased storage utilization factor (increased η) while at the same time satisfying requirements for temperature, mass flow and temperature stability of the HTF outflow during both charge and discharge phases. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McKELLAR with the teachings of BEGAN and incorporate the process of using bypasses in order to increase the overall storage utilization factor. [AltContent: textbox (Temperature of a tank with a heat exchange device being connected downstream to another heat exchange device is lower than the temperature of the tank with the heat exchange device being connected upstream )] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] As to claim 14 , Mc KELLAR teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Mc KELLAR as modified by BERGAN further teaches the process, wherein during heat generation in the process apparatus heat is transferred to the fluid in at least two tanks which are connected in series, wherein the temperature of a tank with a heat exchange device being connected downstream to another heat exchange device is lower than the temperature of the tank with the heat exchange device being connected upstream ( Paragraph 99, Figure 14, See Annotated Figure BERGAN 3 ). [AltContent: textbox (Temperature of upstream tank during charging)] . PNG media_image4.png 369 802 media_image4.png Greyscale Annotated Figure (BERGAN 3) [AltContent: textbox (Temperature of downstream tank in series during discharging )] As to claim 15 , Mc KELLAR teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Mc KELLAR as modified by BERGAN further teaches the process, wherein during heat discharge from the tank farm, heat is transferred to the heat transfer medium from at least two tanks which are connected in series, wherein the temperature of a tank with a heat exchange device connected downstream to another heat exchange device is higher than the temperature of the tank with the heat exchange device connected upstream ( Paragraph 100, Figure 15, See Annotated Figure BERGAN 4 ). [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Temperature of upstream tank in series during discharging )] PNG media_image5.png 388 797 media_image5.png Greyscale Annotated Figure (BERGAN 4) 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mc KELLAR et al. ( US-20190360763-A1-published 28 November, 2019 ), and GE et al. ( CN-114383457-A- published 22 April,2022 ) . As to claim 6 , Mc KELLAR teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Mc KELLAR as modified by GOLBS, however does not teach the heat storage system, wherein the process apparatus is a chemical reactor. GE, however teaches the heat storage system, wherein the process apparatus is a chemical reactor. GE teaches a heat storage system wherein the process apparatus is a chemical reactor ( 202 ) that is connected to heat exchangers and it upgrades system that captures intermittent, low-grade waste heat and upgrades it via a closed-loop, gas-solid chemical reaction which overcomes the instability of conventional waste heat recovery through multi-stage thermal process ( Beneficial Effects Section, See English Translated copy furnished with this Office Action ). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify McKELLAR with the teachings of GE and incorporate a heat storage system, wherein the process apparatus is a chemical reactor so that the instability of conventional waste heat recovery through multi-stage thermal process . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11- 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mc KELLAR et al. ( US-20190360763-A1-published 28 November, 2019 . As to claim 11 , Mc KELLAR teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Mc KELLAR further teaches the process, wherein heat is transferred from the fluid in the tank to the heat transfer medium in the heat exchange device, the heat transfer medium flows to the heat exchange device of another tank and transfers the heat to the fluid in the other tank. McKELLAR, however does not teach that the process is during emptying one tank of the tank farm, While, McKELLAR, as stated above, does not teach the process which is occurring during emptying the tank, it is entirely obvious to one having ordinary skill to understand that the process can be applied to McKELLAR while the tank is being emptied. The structure is capable of carrying out the intended process and therefore does not hold criticality to that level of material in the tank such as state of the tank being emptied or the tank being filled. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (See MPEP § 2112.02) . As such, McKELLAR, for the reasons previously discussed necessarily would provide the process required by the claim. As to claim 12 , Mc KELLAR teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Mc KELLAR further teaches the process, wherein heat is transferred from the fluid of at least one tank, to the heat transfer medium, the heat transfer medium flows to the other tank and transfers the heat to the fluid. McKELLAR, however does not teach that the process is during emptying one tank of the tank farm, heat is transferred from the fluid of at least one tank, which is not emptied, to the heat transfer medium, the heat transfer medium flows to the tank which is emptied and transfers the heat to the fluid being withdrawn from the tank to be emptied. While, McKELLAR, as stated above, does not teach the process which is occurring during emptying the tank, it is entirely obvious to one having ordinary skill to understand that the process can be applied to McKELLAR structure while the tank is being emptied. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (See MPEP § 2112.02) . As such, McKELLAR, for the reasons previously discussed necessarily would provide the process required by the claim. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BIGYAN BHATTACHAN whose telephone number is (571)272-8767. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 7:30 AM - 5 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Len Tran can be reached at (571) 272-1184. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BIGYAN BHATTACHAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 2 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 3 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 4 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 5 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 6 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 7 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 8 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 9 Art Unit: 3763 Application/Control Number: 18/941,258 Page 10 Art Unit: 3763