DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 12/01/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202323282152.9 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 10/01/20205, has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "111" (elastic wrapping portion) and "311" (electrode through hole) have both been used to designate the same structure (as shown in Figure 3). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "310" (partition wall) and "313" (“wall” of the electrode through hole) have both been used to designate the same structure (as shown in Figure 7). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “wall abuts against a peripheral wall of the elastic sealing ring” (as recited in claim 1), must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
[Claim 1] The claim recites the limitation of “the electrode through hole comprises a wall” in the 8th and 9th lines of the claim. The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim, since it is unclear how a “hole” can comprise a “wall.” Specifically, it’s unclear if the limitation is describing the physical structure which creates the hole itself, or if another structure is being recited in addition to the boundaries of the “hole.” For purposes of examination, it is interpreted that either scenario meets the limitations of the claim.
[Claims 2-17] The claims are rejected based upon their dependency from independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 11, and 18-20, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (PGPub 2026/0284281).
[Claims 1 and 18-20] Chen teaches a breast pump (figure 1; paragraph [0057]), comprising:
a cover (figure 7, items 3/4/12) comprising a cover body (figure 6, item 12), a heating device (figure 2, item 3), and a first connector (figure 7, item 4), wherein the heating device (figure 2, item 3) and the first connector (figure 7, item 4) are arranged on the cover body (figure 6, item 12) (figures 2 and 7), and the first connector (figure 7, item 4) is electrically connected to the heating device (figure 2, item 3) (paragraph [0066]);
a milk bin (figure 6, item 211) connected to the cover (figure 7, items 3/4/12) (figure 6; paragraph [0059]); and
a controller (figure 4, item 21) (“the power supply device and the controller are arranged inside the casing 21 of the principal unit 2”), configured to control the heating device (figure 2, item 3) to heat the cover (figure 7, items 3/4/12) (paragraphs [0011], [0024]-[0027], [0063]), comprising a main body (see annotated figure below) and a second connector (figure 6, item 5) arranged on the main body (see annotated figure below), wherein:
the milk bin (figure 6, item 211) comprises an electrode through hole (see annotated figure below), and the electrode through hole (see annotated figure below) comprises a wall (see annotated figure below),
the first connector (figure 7, item 4) is in electrical contact with the second connector (figure 6, item 5) via the electrode through hole (see annotated figure below) (figures 6 and 7; paragraphs [0015]-[0019], [0066], [0067], [0071]),
the cover body (figure 6, item 12) comprises an elastic sealing ring (paragraphs [0066], [0067]) that wraps around a periphery of the first connector (figure 7, item 4) and the second connector (figure 6, item 5), and
the wall (see annotated figure below) abuts against a peripheral wall (see annotated figure below) of the elastic sealing ring (paragraphs [0066], [0067]).
[Claims 2 and 8] Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claims 2 and 8 depend. In addition, Chen discloses the milk bin (figure 6, item 211) comprises a partition wall (see annotated figure below) sandwiched between (as best shown in figure 4) the cover body (figure 6, item 12) and the main body (see annotated figure below), and
the partition wall (see annotated figure below) comprises the electrode through hole (see annotated figure below);
wherein the partition wall (see annotated figure below) comprises a milk outlet (figures 6 and 7, items 212/213), and
the milk outlet (figures 6 and 7, items 212/213) is spaced apart from the electrode through hole (see annotated figure below) along a centerline of the milk bin (figure 6, item 211).
[Claim 11] Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 11 depends. Chen also teaches the elastic sealing ring (paragraphs [0066], [0067]) comprises a through hole (see annotated figure below), and
the first connector (figure 7, item 4) is inserted into the through hole (see annotated figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (PGPub 2026/0284281), in view of Hu (PGPub 2017/0312410).
[Claim 3] Chen teaches the limitations of claim 1, upon which claim 3 depends. Chen does not specifically disclose the first connector comprises a copper column.
However, Hu teaches a breast pump (figure 1; paragraph [0028]) comprising copper column electrical connectors (figures 4 and 5, items 15 and 21) (figures 4 and 5; paragraph [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the first connector of Chen, to have utilized a copper column, as taught by Hu, in order to provide improved functionality and effectiveness, by allowing for a material which provides for excellent electrical conductivity (Hu; paragraph [0040]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9-10, and 12-17, would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JASON E FLICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 09/29/2026