DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitajima (JP 2005-168161 A) in view of Okamura et al. (hereinafter Okamura, US 2013/0002174 A1).
For claim 1, Kitajima discloses an electrified vehicle (Fig. 2 of Kitajima discloses motor control device, wherein an electrified vehicle equipped with the motor control device – see Kitajima, Fig, 1, paragraphs [0001] and [0013]) comprising:
a motor connected to a drive wheel (Fig. 8 of Kitajima discloses a motor 10 – see Kitajima, Fig. 8, paragraph [0015]);
an inverter that drives the motor (Figs. 2 and 8 of Kitajima disclose an inverter 8 that drives the motor 10 – see Kitajima, Figs. 2 and 8, paragraph [0016], lines 1-2);
a power storage device (Fig. 8 of Kitajima discloses a power storage device 16 – see Kitajima, Fig. 8, paragraph [0015]);
a boost converter provided between the power storage device and the inverter (Fig. 8 of Kitajima discloses a boost converter 15 provided between the power storage device 16 and the inverter 8 – see Kitajima, Fig. 8, paragraphs [0015]); and
a control device that controls the inverter and the boost converter based on a torque command of the motor, wherein the control device controls the inverter by a pulse width modulation control (Figs. 3 and 8 of Kitajima disclose a control device 130 that controls the inverter 8/120 and the boost converter 15/110 based on a torque command Te*of the motor 10, wherein the control device 130 which controls the inverter 8 by a pulse width modulation control – see Kitajima, Figs. 3 and 8, paragraphs [0014] and [0016]).
Kitajima discloses coordinated control (Fig. 3, 130) of the DC/DC converter (Fig. 3, 110) and the PWM inverter (Fig. 3, 120) such that the switching operation of the DC/DC converter is synchronized with the switching operation of the PWM inverter. Kitajima discloses the carrier frequency of the DC/DC converter and the carrier frequency of the inverter may be set to the same frequency, thereby providing corresponding identical switching/control cycles. Kitajima further discloses that synchronization of the DC/DC converter and PWM inverter reduces ripple current of the capacitor, thereby reducing capacitor loss, permitting reduction in capacitor size, and improving efficiency of the apparatus (see Kitajima, Figs. 3 and 8, paragraphs [0005], [0009], [0014], and [0017]-[0018]). Kitajima discloses a motor which is silent for connecting to a drive wheel. Further, Kitajima does not disclose, when the inverter is controlled by pulse width modulation control, and a predetermined condition in which an absolute value of the torque command is equal to or more than a threshold is established, the control device sets a control cycle of the boost converter to be identical to a control cycle of the inverter.
However, Okamura discloses a motor drive system which is similar as Kitajima’s control device for a vehicle comprising a motor connected to a drive wheel, an inverter that drives the motor, a power storage device, a boost converter and a control device (Fig. 1 of Okamura discloses a motor drive system 100 which is similar as Kitajima’s control device for a vehicle 10 comprising a motor MG1 connected to a drive wheel 180, an inverter 130 that drives the motor MG1, a power storage device 110, a boost converter 120 and a control device 200 – see Okamura, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0059]-[0070]). Okamura disclose controlling the boost converter and inverter based on a torque command value TR of the AC motor (see Okamura, Fig. 3, paragraphs [0094]-[0096]). Okamura determines whether an absolute value of the torque command is equal to or more than a threshold is established, the control device sets a control cycle of the boost converter to be identical to a control cycle of the inverter (Fig. 12 of Okamura discloses determining whether an absolute value of the torque command TR is equal to or more than a threshold TRth is established (see Okamura, Fig. 12, step S130, NO), the control device sets a control cycle of the boost converter to be identical to a control cycle of the inverter – see Okamura, Fig. 12, paragraphs [0125]-[0131]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kitajima’s coordinated control to select the synchronized control operation according to a predetermined motor operating region defined, at least in part, by whether the absolute value of the motor torque command is equal to or greater than a determined threshold, as taught by Okamura for purpose of obtaining the known benefit of synchronized converter/inverter operation.
For claim 2, Kitajima in view of Okamura disclose the electrified vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
the control device controls the inverter by the pulse width modulation control in a control cycle corresponding to twice a first carrier frequency and controls the boost converter in a control cycle corresponding to a second carrier frequency (Figs. 3 and 8 of Kitajima disclose the control device 130/18 which controls the inverter 120/ 8 by the pulse width modulation control in a control cycle corresponding to the carrier frequency of the inverter, read onto claimed recitation “first carrier frequency” and controls the boost converter 110/15 in a control cycle corresponding to the carrier frequency of the DC-DC converter, read onto claimed recitation “second carrier frequency”, wherein the second carrier frequency is set to twice the first carrier frequency – see Kitajima, Figs. 3 and 8, paragraphs [0007] and [0021]. Kitajima disclose the control device which does not specifically control the inverter by the pulse width modulation control in a control cycle corresponding to twice a first carrier frequency. However, Kitajima discloses coordinated control (Fig. 3, 130) of the DC/DC converter (Fig. 3, 110) and the PWM inverter (Fig. 3, 120) such that the switching operation of the DC/DC converter is synchronized with the switching operation of the PWM inverter. Kitajima discloses the control device which controls the frequency of the first carrier being equal to the frequency of the second carrier (see Kitajima, paragraph [0009]). Speak differently, the control device controls the inverter by the pulse width modulation control in a control cycle corresponding to twice a first carrier frequency which is equal to a second carrier frequency used to control the boost converter. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify control device of Kitajima in view of Okamura to control the inverter by the pulse width modulation control in a control cycle corresponding to twice a first carrier frequency which is equal to a second carrier frequency for purpose of reducing current loss due to ripple and the cost of capacitors);
when the predetermined condition is established, the control device sets the second carrier frequency to twice the first carrier frequency (see Kitajima, Fig. 9, paragraphs [0007] and [0021]).
For claim 3, Kitajima in view of Okamura disclose the electrified vehicle according to claim 1, wherein
the control device controls the inverter by the pulse width modulation control in a control cycle corresponding to a first carrier frequency and controls the boost converter in a control cycle corresponding to a second carrier frequency (Figs. 3 and 8 of Kitajima disclose the control device 130/18 which controls the inverter 120/ 8 by the pulse width modulation control in a control cycle corresponding to the carrier frequency of the inverter, read onto claimed recitation “first carrier frequency” and controls the boost converter 110/15 in a control cycle corresponding to the carrier frequency of the DC-DC converter, read onto claimed recitation “second carrier frequency” – see Kitalima, Figs. 3 and 8, paragraphs [0007]), and
when the predetermined condition is established, the control device sets the second carrier frequency to be identical to the first carrier frequency (see Kitalima, Figs. 3 and 8, paragraph [0009]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitajima (JP 2005-168161 A) in view of Okamura et al. (hereinafter Okamura, US 2013/0002174 A1), further in view of Yamada et al. (hereinafter Yamada, WO 2007/080728 A1).
For claim 4, Kitajima in view of Okamura disclose all limitations as applied to claim 1 above. Kitajima and Okamura does not disclose, when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel occurs, the control device which shortens a control cycle of the boost converter compared to when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel does not occur. However, Yamada discloses, when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel occurs, the control device which shortens a control cycle of the boost converter compared to when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel does not occur (Yamada discloses an electrified vehicle which similar as Kitajima’s electrified vehicle comprising a motor connected to a drive wheel, an inverter that drives the motor, a power storage device, a boost converter and a control device (Figs. 1-2 of Yamada discloses a vehicle 100 comprising a motor MG1/MG2 connected to a drive wheel 50L/50R, an inverter 14/31 that drives the motor MG1/MG2, a power storage device B, a boost converter 12 and a control device 15/30 – see Yamada, Figs. 1-2, paragraphs [0035]-[0037] and [0044]-[0047]). Yamada discloses, when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel occurs, the control device which shortens a control cycle of the boost converter compared to when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel does not occur (Yamada discloses when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel occurs, the control device 30 which shortens a control cycle of the boost converter 12 by increasing rapidly rotational speed of the motor-generator MG1/MG2 coupled to the drive wheel 50L/50R compared to when slippage due to idling of the drive wheel does not occur – see Yamada, paragraphs [0006], [0085]-[0086] and [0101]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of Kitajima in view of Okamura to incorporate teaching of Yamada for purpose of controlling motor control system efficiently.
Conclusion
/THAI T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837
Sep 19, 2026