DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 02/03/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-11 and 21-28 remain pending in the application, with Claims 12-20 being newly canceled, Claims 21-28 being newly added, and Claims 1, 2, 4, and 9 being newly amended.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the corrective feature comprises a subdivision of one or more of the sole, the insole, the midsole, the outsole, or the upper into discrete areas” which lacks antecedent basis in the written specification. The written specification does teach that the insole may be subdivided into discrete areas (paragraph [0115] of instant specification teaches “where the insole is subdivided into discrete areas,”), but there is no teaching or suggestion that each of the corrective features comprises a subdivision. For at least these reasons, the limitation of Claim 22 as cited above is considered as lacking antecedent basis in the written specification.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the thickness is a surface thickness” which lacks antecedent basis in the written specification. There is no teaching or suggestion of a surface thickness in the written specification. The specification does discuss the thickness of various portions of the footwear article, however there is no further clarification or discussion of a surface thickness specifically. For at least these reasons, Claim 23 is considered as lacking antecedent basis in the written specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 22-24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the corrective feature comprises a subdivision of one or more of the sole, the insole, the midsole, the outsole, or the upper into discrete areas” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. There is no teaching or suggestion of the corrective feature comprising a subdivision, in the written specification or the drawings. Paragraph [0115] does teach “the insole is subdivided into discrete areas, each with a specific insole thickness,” however this specific example of an insole having discrete areas with specific thicknesses is not sufficient to support the limitation that all corrective features comprising a subdivision in any one of the sole, insole, midsole, outsole, or upper. For at least these reasons, Claim 22 is considered as failing to comply with the written description requirement by including new matter.
Claims 23 and 24 depend from Claim 22 and are likewise rejected due to dependency.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the thickness is a surface thickness” which fails to comply with the written description requirement. There is no teaching or suggestion of a surface thickness in the written specification. The specification does discuss the thickness of various portions of the footwear article, however there is no further clarification or discussion of a surface thickness specifically. For at least these reasons, Claim 23 is considered as failing to comply with the written description requirement by including new matter.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites the limitation “the corrective feature comprises a subdivision of one or more of the sole, the insole, the midsole, the outsole, or the upper into discrete areas” which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how a corrective feature can “comprise” or include a subdivision into discrete areas. It is not clear what is required by the claims, for example if the corrective feature is required to subdivide the sole structure into the discrete areas by forming the boundaries of the discrete areas, or if the corrective feature is in itself required to be subdivided into several discrete areas. For purposes of examination, the corrective feature will be interpreted as being required to form the boundary between discrete areas of the sole.
Claims 23 and 24 depend from Claim 22 and are likewise rejected due to dependency.
Claim 23 recites the limitation “wherein the thickness is a surface thickness” which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear what a surface thickness is or how a surface thickness is measured. Examiner notes that a surface is defined as “A portion of space having length and breadth but no thickness” or “the outer or the topmost boundary of an object” (Noun Defn. Nos. 2c and 1a of "American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fifth Edition" entry via TheFreeDictionary.com). Both of these definitions suggest a surface does not have a thickness, and further the instant specification does not provide an alternative definition that suggests the surface as claimed has a thickness. For purposes of examination, a surface thickness will be interpreted as referring to the thickness from the top to the bottom surface of the portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11, 22-23, and 25-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Del Biondi et al. (US 2017/0367438).
Regarding Claim 1, Del Biondi et al. teaches a footwear article (1) comprising: at least one customized portion of one or more of a sole, an insole, a midsole, an outsole, or an upper (fig. 1 shows the footwear article comprising at least a portion of an insole and an outsole. Examiner notes that the limitation “customized” is being treated as a product-by-process limitation. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art (see MPEP § 2113). In the instant case, this data could clearly be taken and integrated into the process of manufacturing the sole of Del Biondi, as Del Biondi does not teach away from positioning the structures in any minutely different manner that would allow the sole to be custom created.); and at least one corrective feature (8) configured to stimulate a foot of a user to move and roll in accordance with a pattern based on a center of pressure (COP) curve, wherein the at least the one customized portion of the one or more of the sole, the insole, the midsole, the outsole, or the upper comprises the at least one corrective feature (fig. 1 shows the portion of the outsole having the corrective feature (8), wherein the corrective feature at least appears to be capable of stimulating a wearer’s foot to move in accordance with a pattern based on a center of pressure curve, as the corrective features (8) are clearly arranged in a particular pattern. Additionally, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Del Biondi et al. such that the corrective features were capable of performing this function, as humans will always ideally walk along the center of pressure curve (see extrinsic evidence: US 20140305008)) .
Regarding Claim 2, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the footwear article comprises a visible contour (20), in a surface texture of the footwear article, that follows a shape of the COP curve or a target COP curve (fig. 1 shows a visible contour that at least appears to follow a shape of a center of pressure curve. Examiner notes that as these are different for different wearers, this limitation is considered functional and as the contour follows a center of the sole, it would clearly follow the shape of at least one wearer’s center of pressure)
Regarding Claim 3, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the at least one corrective feature (8) comprises: a surface texture at least partially on at least one surface of the footwear article (fig. 8 shows the corrective feature (8) being sipes that clearly form a surface texture on at least one surface of the footwear article).
Regarding Claim 4, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 3, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the surface texture comprises a surface texture pattern configured to be deformed along one or more coordinates based on the COP curve, a target COP curve or another COP curve (fig. 1 shows the surface texture formed by corrective feature (8) being sipes, which are clearly capable of deforming by bending, and as the sipes transverse the sole the deformation coordinates clearly can occur based on a COP curve).
Regarding Claim 5, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the at least one corrective feature (8) comprises: a directional-stiffness layer that includes one or more of a series of bending lines, ribs, cuts, striations, waves, grooves, or other patterns (figs. 1 and 2B show the corrective feature being a series of cuts that form bending lines and therein create a directional stiffness layer).
Regarding Claim 6, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches a stability layer (see annotated Fig.) configured to flex or flatten in different regions (annotated fig. 1 shows the sipes (8) that cause the stability layer for flex or flatten in different regions in response to movement by the wearer).
Regarding Claim 7, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches a forefoot support (see annotated Fig.) (annotated fig. 1 shows a forefoot support).
Regarding Claim 8, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the at least one corrective feature (8) is selected from: one or more bending lines, ribs, cuts, striations, waves, or grooves (figs. 1 and 2B shows the corrective feature (8) being bending lines formed by cuts).
Regarding Claim 9, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches a groove (8), channel, rib, or visible break in a pattern, texture or tread of the footwear article that follows a shape of the COP curve, a target COP curve or another COP curve (fig. 1 shows a groove (20) that clearly follows a COP curve. Examiner notes that COP curves vary from person to person, therein the curve shown in fig. 1 could clearly be one wearer’s COP).
Regarding Claim 10, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the footwear article is configured to be less resistant to bending around a first axis tangential to the target COP curve than around a second axis perpendicular to a direction of the target COP curve (fig. 1 shows the groove following the COP curve being wide, therein allowing bending along a first axis tangent to the curve that would clearly be less resistant to bending than along a second axis perpendicular to the COP curve when the axis does not coincide with sipes (8)).
Regarding Claim 11, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the footwear article comprises the insole (see annotated Fig.) (annotated fig. 1 shows the article comprising an insole).
Regarding Claim 22 in view of the indefiniteness as explained above, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein: the corrective feature (8) comprises a subdivision of one or more of the sole, the insole, the midsole, the outsole, or the upper into discrete areas (fig. 1 shows the corrective feature (8) subdividing the insole into discrete areas); and each discrete area has a thickness that is based on a required local resistance to bending (fig. 1 shows each discrete area having a thickness, wherein the thickness can clearly function to and therein be based on a required local resistance to bending).
Regarding Claim 23 in view of the indefiniteness as explained above, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the thickness is a surface thickness (fig. 1 shows the thickness being a surface thickness, as best understood in view of the indefiniteness rejection above).
Regarding Claim 25, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above.
Del Biondi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the COP curve is a measured COP curve determined from dynamic user-specific data. However, Examiner notes that this limitation (“determined from dynamic user-specific data”) is being treated as a product-by-process limitation. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art (see MPEP § 2113). As the COP curve of Del Biondi is clearly capable of being determined from user specific data, the COP curve clearly is capable of being determined from dynamic user specific data.
Regarding Claim 26, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 25, as discussed in the rejections above.
Del Biondi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the measured COP curve is based on a dynamic foot pressure measurement of the user. However, Examiner notes that this limitation (“based on a dynamic foot pressure measurement of the user”) is being treated as a product-by-process limitation. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art (see MPEP § 2113). As the COP curve of Del Biondi is clearly capable of being determined from user specific data, the COP curve clearly is capable of being based on dynamic foot pressure measurement of the user.
Regarding Claim 27, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above.
Del Biondi et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one customized portion of the one or more of the sole, the insole, the midsole, the outsole, or the upper is manufactured using additive manufacturing techniques. However, Examiner notes that this limitation (“manufactured using additive manufacturing techniques”) is being treated as a product-by-process limitation. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art (see MPEP § 2113). As the at least one customized portion of Del Biondi et al. is clearly capable of being manufactured using additive manufacturing techniques (paragraph [0022] teaches “By way of example, the first portion 9 of an incision 8 having a laminar formation can be obtained with a laser cutter,” wherein as the customized portion is capable of being laser cut, it can clearly be manufactured using additive manufacturing techniques), this limitation is considered as being met.
Regarding Claim 28, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the at least one corrective feature (8) comprises directional-stiffness features (fig. 1 shows the corrective feature (8) being incisions that would clearly affect the directional stiffness in that they allow bending more freely in one direction as opposed to another direction, and are therein considered to be directional stiffness features) that are substantially perpendicular to the COP curve, a target COP curve, or another COP curve (fig. 3A shows the correct feature (8) extending transversely across the insole, and therein are clearly capable of being substantially perpendicular to at least one of the COP curve, a target COP curve, or another COP curve, as COP curves extend longitudinally)
Claim(s) 21 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Del Biondi et al. (US 2017/0367438) in view of Gallegos (US 2004/0194351).
Regarding Claim 21, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 6, as discussed in the rejections above.
Del Biondi et al. does not teach wherein the stability layer comprises an open- pore foam structure or a closed-pore foam structure. However, it is known in the art from Gallegos that open- or closed-pore foam structures are suitable for forming a layer of a sole (paragraph [0022] teaches “The padding 13 may be constructed of a closed-cell foam material, having a density in the range of about 0.08 g/cm.sup.3 to 0.50 g/cm.sup.3, or of other suitable densities known to one-skilled in the art. Alternatively, open closed-cell foam material, having a density in the range of about 0.08 g/cm.sup.3 to 0.40 g/cm.sup.3 may be used”).
As such, since the use of plastic is known in the art for this intended use and would only produce the typical results of a sole layer with greater wear resistance (for closed cell foam) or greater cushioning and softness (for open cell foam) (paragraph [0023] “Closed-cell foam material, in general, may demonstrate a greater resistance to wear as compared to open-cell foams. Open cell foam is a material where the open-air chambers in the foam are interconnected. This makes for extremely soft and highly compressible foam.”), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Del Biondi et al.. Further, it has been held that when the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the provision of a specific material recognized in the art as being suitable for the intended use of the claimed component a finding of prima facie obviousness is appropriate (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 24, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 22, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches a stability layer (see annotated Fig.) (annotated fig. 1 shows a stability layer).
Del Biondi et al. does not teach wherein the stability layer comprises an open- pore foam structure or a closed-pore foam structure. However, it is known in the art from Gallegos that open- or closed-pore foam structures are suitable for forming a layer of a sole (paragraph [0022] teaches “The padding 13 may be constructed of a closed-cell foam material, having a density in the range of about 0.08 g/cm.sup.3 to 0.50 g/cm.sup.3, or of other suitable densities known to one-skilled in the art. Alternatively, open closed-cell foam material, having a density in the range of about 0.08 g/cm.sup.3 to 0.40 g/cm.sup.3 may be used”).
As such, since the use of plastic is known in the art for this intended use and would only produce the typical results of a sole layer with greater wear resistance (for closed cell foam) or greater cushioning and softness (for open cell foam) (paragraph [0023] “Closed-cell foam material, in general, may demonstrate a greater resistance to wear as compared to open-cell foams. Open cell foam is a material where the open-air chambers in the foam are interconnected. This makes for extremely soft and highly compressible foam.”), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Del Biondi et al.. Further, it has been held that when the only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is the provision of a specific material recognized in the art as being suitable for the intended use of the claimed component a finding of prima facie obviousness is appropriate (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 21-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendment. Therefore, see aforementioned rejections for the argued missing limitations.
Regarding independent Claim 1, Applicant submits that Del Biondi does not teach a customized portion comprising the corrective feature. Examiner disagrees, and submits that Del Biondi teaches all of the limitations of Claim 1 as set forth in the rejections above. Examiner further submits that while Del Biondi does not explicitly teach the portion being customized, “customizing” is considered to be a product by process limitation. MPEP 2113 teaches “If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” While Del Biondi does not teach the process step of customizing, Del Biondi does teach all of the structural limitations of the footwear article as recited in Claim 1. For at least these reasons, the 35 U.S.C. 102/35 U.S.C. 103 rej3ection over Del Biondi is maintained. Examiner respectfully suggests adding further structure to Claim 1 to overcome the teachings of Del Biondi.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HALEY A SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732