DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on 07/31/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention (Invention II, drawn to a method of manufacturing), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/31/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Del Biondi et al. (US 2017/0367438).
Regarding Claim 1, Del Biondi et al. teaches a footwear article (1) comprising: at least a portion of one or more of a sole, an insole, a midsole, an outsole, or an upper (fig. 1 shows the footwear article comprising at least a portion of an insole and an outsole); and at least one corrective feature (8) configured to stimulate a foot of a user to move and roll in accordance with a pattern based on a target center of pressure (COP) curve, wherein the at least the portion of the one or more of the sole, the insole, the midsole, the outsole, or the upper comprises the at least one corrective feature (fig. 1 shows the portion of the outsole having the corrective feature (8), wherein the corrective feature at least appears to be capable of stimulating a wearer’s foot to move in accordance with a pattern based on a target center of pressure curve, as the corrective features (8) are clearly arranged in a particular pattern. Additionally, or in the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Del Biondi et al. such that the corrective features were capable of performing this function, as humans will always ideally walk along the center of pressure curve (see extrinsic evidence: US 20140305008)) .
Regarding Claim 2, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the footwear article comprises a visible contour (20), in a surface texture of the footwear article, that follows a shape of a center of pressure curve or the target center of pressure curve (fig. 1 shows a visible contour that at least appears to follow a shape of a center of pressure curve. Examiner notes that as these are different for different wearers, this limitation is considered functional and as the contour follows a center of the sole, it would clearly follow the shape of at least one wearer’s center of pressure)
Regarding Claim 3, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the at least one corrective feature (8) comprises: a surface texture at least partially on at least one surface of the footwear article (fig. 8 shows the corrective feature (8) being sipes that clearly form a surface texture on at least one surface of the footwear article).
Regarding Claim 4, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 3, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the surface texture comprises a surface texture pattern configured to be deformed along one or more coordinates based on the target COP curve or another COP curve (fig. 1 shows the surface texture formed by corrective feature (8) being sipes, which are clearly capable of deforming by bending, and as the sipes transverse the sole the deformation coordinates clearly can occur based on a COP curve).
Regarding Claim 5, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the at least one corrective feature (8) comprises: a directional-stiffness layer that includes one or more of a series of bending lines, ribs, cuts, striations, waves, grooves, or other patterns (figs. 1 and 2B show the corrective feature being a series of cuts that form bending lines and therein create a directional stiffness layer).
Regarding Claim 6, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches a stability layer (see annotated Fig.) configured to flex or flatten in different regions (annotated fig. 1 shows the sipes (8) that cause the stability layer for flex or flatten in different regions in response to movement by the wearer).
Regarding Claim 7, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches a forefoot support (see annotated Fig.) (annotated fig. 1 shows a forefoot support).
Regarding Claim 8, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the at least one corrective feature (8) is selected from: one or more bending lines, ribs, cuts, striations, waves, or grooves (figs. 1 and 2B shows the corrective feature (8) being bending lines formed by cuts).
Regarding Claim 9, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches a groove (8), channel, rib, or visible break in a pattern, texture or tread of the footwear article that follows a shape of the target COP curve or another COP curve (fig. 1 shows a groove (20) that clearly follows a COP curve. Examiner notes that COP curves vary from person to person, therein the curve shown in fig. 1 could clearly be one wearer’s COP).
Regarding Claim 10, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the footwear article is configured to be less resistant to bending around an axis tangential to the target COP curve than around an axis perpendicular to a direction of the target COP curve (fig. 1 shows the groove following the COP curve being wide, therein allowing bending along a tangent to the curve that would clearly be less resistant to bending than along an axis perpendicular to the COP curve when the axis does not coincide with sipes (8)).
Regarding Claim 11, Del Biondi et al. teaches all of the limitations of the footwear article of Claim 1, as discussed in the rejections above. Del Biondi et al. further teaches wherein the footwear article comprises the insole (see annotated Fig.) (annotated fig. 1 shows the article comprising an insole).
Conclusion
/HALEY A SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732