DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al. (Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 2002160104 A) in view of Tamigniaux et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0284625 A1).
For claim 1, Morikawa et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a magnet receiving portion (portion of base 16 in which magnet 20 is received, see figures 1, 2) adapted to fixedly receive permanent magnets (reference numeral 20, see figures 1, 2); rail receiving portions (i.e. portion of base 16 having track rails 17, see figures 1, 2) adapted to fixedly receive rails along both sides of the magnets receiving portion (i.e. track rails 17 received along both sides of magnet 20, see figures 1, 2); and an encoder scale support receiving portion (i.e. portions on which linear scales 23, 24 are disposed, see figures 1, 2) adapted to fixedly receive an encoder scale support (i.e. support of scales 23, 24 on base 16, see figures 1, 2). Morikawa et al. however do not specifically disclose the encoder scale support receiving portion including a plurality of decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and adapted to receive a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces.
Tamigniaux et al. disclose a plurality of decoupled tabs (reference numerals 30, 30.1-30.4, see figures 3, 10), which when applied to the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. would disclose decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and adapted to receive a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the decoupled tabs as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]).
For claim 2, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the decoupled tabs including a corresponding plurality of fixation tabs and decoupling members mechanical decoupling between each fixation tab and the rest of the magnetic track base. Tamigniaux et al. further disclose attachment portions and cutout portions (reference numerals 50, 40, see figure 10) which can be considered fixation tabs and decoupling members which when applied to the decoupled tabs of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. would disclose mechanical decoupling between each fixation tab and the rest of the magnetic track base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fixation tabs and decoupling members as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the decoupled tabs of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]).
For claim 3, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each decoupling member including a cut-out part arranged around a corresponding fixation tab. Tamigniaux et al. further disclose a cut-out part (reference numeral 40, figure 10) arranged around a corresponding fixation tab (reference numeral 50, figure 10), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the cut-out part arranged around a fixation tab as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the decoupling member of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]).
For claim 4, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the cut-out part being arranged as a U-shaped through-groove extending from a top side of the magnetic track base to a bottom side of the magnetic track base. Tamigniaux et al. further disclose the cut-out part (reference numeral 40, figure 10) arranged as a U-shaped through-groove (see figure 10) which when applied to the base of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. would disclose the cut-out part being arranged as a U-shaped through-groove extending from a top side of the magnetic track base to a bottom side of the magnetic track base. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the U-shaped through-groove as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the cut-out part of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]).
For claim 5, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for each fixation tab having a top flat surface including a fixation hole, the top flat surface being raised above a surface of the magnet receiving portion. Tamigniaux et al. disclose the fixation tab (reference numeral 50) having a top flat surface including a fixation hole (reference numeral 50.1, see figure 10), and Morikawa et al. already disclose the encoder scale support (i.e. support for scales 23, 24, see figure 2 of Morikawa et al.) being above a surface of the magnet receiving portion (i.e. surface on which magnet 20 is disposed, see figure 2 of Morikawa et al.), therefore the combination of the top flat surface of Tamigniaux et al. with the decoupled tabs of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. would disclose the top flat surface being raised above a surface of the magnet receiving portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the top flat surface including a fixation hole as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the fixation tab of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]).
For claim 6, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the fixation tabs being arranged along a longitudinal direction between the magnet receiving portion and one of the rail receiving portions. Tamigniaux et al. already disclose the decoupled tabs (reference numerals 30, 30.1-30.4, see figures 3, 10) being arranged in a longitudinal direction (see figure 3), and when applied to the encoder scale support of Morikawa et al. (i.e. support for scales 23, 24, see figure 2 of Morikawa et al.) which is between the magnet receiving portion (i.e. magnet 20 in figure 1 of Morikawa et al.) and the rail receiving portions (i.e. rails 17 in figure 1 of Morikawa et al.) this would disclose the fixation tabs being arranged along a longitudinal direction between the magnet receiving portion and one of the rail receiving portions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fixation tabs arranged in a longitudinal direction as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. in between the magnet receiving portion and rail receiving portion of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper support of the components within the device.
For claim 16, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the encoder scale support being arranged on the top flat surface and being raised above the surface of the magnet receiving portion. Tamigniaux et al. already disclose the fixation tab (reference numeral 50) having a top flat surface (see figure 10), and when applied to the encoder scale support of Morikawa et al. (i.e. support for scales 23, 24, see figure 2 of Morikawa et al.) which is already above the surface of the magnet receiving portion of Morikawa et al. (reference numeral 20, figure 2 of Morikawa et al.) this would disclose the encoder scale support being arranged on the top flat surface and being raised above the surface of the magnet receiving portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the top flat surface as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. with the encoder scale support being raised above the surface of the magnet receiving portion of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper support of the components within the device.
For claim 17, Morikawa et al. disclose the rails (reference numeral 17, figures 1, 2) being adapted to slidably engage with sliders (reference numerals 18, 19) of a movable part that includes a coil assembly (reference numerals 21, 22, see figures 1, 2).
For claim 18, Morikawa et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a magnetic track base (reference numeral 16, figures 1, 2) including a magnet receiving portion (portion of base 16 in which magnet 20 is received, see figures 1, 2), rail receiving portions (i.e. portion of base 16 having track rails 17, see figures 1, 2), and an encoder scale support receiving portion (i.e. portions on which linear scales 23, 24 are disposed, see figures 1, 2); magnets (reference numeral 20, see figures 1, 2) fixed to the magnet receiving portion (see figures 1, 2); rails (reference numeral 17, see figures 1, 2) fixed on the rail receiving portions (i.e. portion of base 16 having track rails 17, see figures 1, 2) on both sides of the magnets (see figures 1, 2); an encoder scale support (i.e. support of scales 23, 24 on base 16, see figures 1, 2) fixed to the encoder scale support receiving portion (i.e. portions on which linear scales 23, 24 are disposed, see figures 1, 2); and an encoder scale (reference numerals 23, 24) fixed to the encoder scale support (see figures 1, 2). Morikawa et al. however do not specifically disclose the encoder scale support receiving portion including a plurality of decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and receiving a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces.
Tamigniaux et al. disclose a plurality of decoupled tabs (reference numerals 30, 30.1-30.4, see figures 3, 10), which when applied to the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. would disclose decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and adapted to receive a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the decoupled tabs as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]).
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US Patent No.: 10476364) and Katayama et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 113557205 A).
For claims 7 and 8, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the magnet receiving portion including a plurality of pairs of threaded holes adapted to fix the permanent magnets with screws and a plurality of pairs of through-holes adapted to fix the magnetic track base to a magnet track base support. Having holes for fixing magnets with screws is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Zhang et al. (i.e. screws 21 for fixing magnets 12, see figure 2B), and fixing a track base to a base support is a known skill as exhibited by Katayama et al. which discloses fastening members (reference numeral 105, figure 13) for fixing base components (reference numeral 104, see figure 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fixing means for the magnets as disclosed by Zhang et al. and also to have the fixing means for the track components as disclosed by Katayama et al. for the magnet receiving portion and the magnetic track base of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper support of the components within the device.
Claim(s) 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jenny (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2006/0279140 A1).
For claim 10, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the magnetic track base being arranged as a monobloc. Forming a monobloc for a track base is a known skill as exhibited by Jenny (reference numeral 4, see figures 1-4, and paragraph [0019]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the monobloc as disclosed by Jenny for the magnetic track base of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper support of the components within the device.
For claim 12, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the magnetic track base being arranged as a monolithic piece of aluminum. Jenny discloses a base (reference numeral 4) being arranged as a monolithic piece of aluminum (see claim 7 of Jenny, and figures 1-4 of Jenny), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the monolithic piece of aluminum as disclosed by Jenny for the magnetic track base of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the proper support of the components within the device.
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al. (Japanese Patent Document No.: JP 2002160104 A) in view of Tamigniaux et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2020/0284625 A1) and Teramachi et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2006/0232141 A1).
For claim 19, Morikawa et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a stationary part (i.e. base 16 can be considered a stationary part, see figures 1, 2) including: a magnetic track base (reference numeral 16, figures 1, 2) including a magnet receiving portion (portion of base 16 in which magnet 20 is received, see figures 1, 2), rail receiving portions (i.e. portion of base 16 having track rails 17, see figures 1, 2), and an encoder scale support receiving portion (i.e. portions on which linear scales 23, 24 are disposed, see figures 1, 2); magnets (reference numeral 20, see figures 1, 2) fixed to the magnet receiving portion (see figures 1, 2); rails (reference numeral 17, see figures 1, 2) fixed on the rail receiving portions (i.e. portion of base 16 having track rails 17, see figures 1, 2) on both sides of the magnets (see figures 1, 2); an encoder scale support (i.e. support of scales 23, 24 on base 16, see figures 1, 2) fixed to the encoder scale support receiving portion (i.e. portions on which linear scales 23, 24 are disposed, see figures 1, 2); and an encoder scale (reference numerals 23, 24) fixed to the encoder scale support (see figures 1, 2); and a mobile part including a coil assembly (coils 21, 22 being mobile, see figures 1, 2), and sliders (reference numerals 18, 19) slidably engaged with respective rails of the stationary part (see figures 1, 2). Morikawa et al. however do not specifically disclose an optical reader movable along the encoder scale; wherein the encoder scale support receiving portion includes a plurality of decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and receiving a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces.
Tamigniaux et al. disclose a plurality of decoupled tabs (reference numerals 30, 30.1-30.4, see figures 3, 10), which when applied to the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. would disclose decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and adapted to receive a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces. Teramachi et al. disclose an optical reader (i.e. encoder 81, figure 2) movable along the encoder scale (reference numeral 80, see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the decoupled tabs as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]); and also to have the optical reader as disclosed by Teramachi et al. for the scale of Morikawa et al. for predictably providing desirable detecting means for positioning of the components within the device.
For claim 20, Morikawa et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a linear motor (see figures 1, 2), including: a stationary part including: a magnetic track base (reference numeral 16, figures 1, 2) including a magnet receiving portion (portion of base 16 in which magnet 20 is received, see figures 1, 2), rail receiving portions (i.e. portion of base 16 having track rails 17, see figures 1, 2), and an encoder scale support receiving portion (i.e. portions on which linear scales 23, 24 are disposed, see figures 1, 2); magnets (reference numeral 20, see figures 1, 2) fixed to the magnet receiving portion (see figures 1, 2); rails (reference numeral 17, see figures 1, 2) fixed on the rail receiving portions (i.e. portion of base 16 having track rails 17, see figures 1, 2) on both sides of the magnets (see figures 1, 2); an encoder scale support (i.e. support of scales 23, 24 on base 16, see figures 1, 2) fixed to the encoder scale support receiving portion (i.e. portions on which linear scales 23, 24 are disposed, see figures 1, 2); and an encoder scale (reference numerals 23, 24) fixed to the encoder scale support (see figures 1, 2); and a mobile part including a coil assembly (coils 21, 22 being mobile, see figures 1, 2), and sliders (reference numerals 18, 19) slidably engaged with respective rails of the stationary part (see figures 1, 2). Morikawa et al. however do not specifically disclose an optical reader movable along the encoder scale; wherein the encoder scale support receiving portion includes a plurality of decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and receiving a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces.
Tamigniaux et al. disclose a plurality of decoupled tabs (reference numerals 30, 30.1-30.4, see figures 3, 10), which when applied to the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. would disclose decoupled tabs mechanically decoupled from the rest of the magnet track base and adapted to receive a bottom side of the encoder scale support to prevent or at least reduce deformation of the encoder scale support receiving portion caused from deformation of the rest of the magnetic track base in response to the track base being subjected to external forces. Teramachi et al. disclose an optical reader (i.e. encoder 81, figure 2) movable along the encoder scale (reference numeral 80, see figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the decoupled tabs as disclosed by Tamigniaux et al. for the encoder scale support receiving portion of Morikawa et al. for providing additional support for the components (see Tamigniaux et al.'s paragraph [0033]); and also to have the optical reader as disclosed by Teramachi et al. for the scale of Morikawa et al. for predictably providing desirable detecting means for positioning of the components within the device.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. and Teramachi et al. as applied to claim 20 above, and further in view of Hanaka et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2018/0236895 A1).
For claim 21, Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. and Teramachi et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the motion-positioning system being arranged as a wafer positioning system. Hanaka et al. disclose the wafer positioning system (see paragraph [0136]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the wafer positioning system as disclosed by Hanaka et al. for the motion-positioning system of Morikawa et al. in view of Tamigniaux et al. and Teramachi et al. for predictably providing desirable detecting means for positioning of the components within the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 and 14 are also objected to for their dependency upon aforementioned claim 11.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: While the prior art discloses some of the claimed invention as explained above in the present action, the prior art of record do not sufficiently disclose the combination of features including each of the cut-out parts surrounding a corresponding one of the through-holes of the pairs of through-holes, the fixation tabs being rigidly fixed to the magnet track base support as recited in claim 9; and the encoder scale support having a substantially constant L-shaped cross-section along a length of the encoder scale support to form a stand that is fixed onto the encoder scale support receiving portion as recited in claims 11 and 15.
Claims 13 and 14 are dependent upon claim 11.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of linear actuators/positioning mechanisms: US 6949844 B2 (Cahill; Steven P. et al.), US 6781138 B2 (Novak; W. Thomas et al.), US 6441515 B1 (Shimura; Yoshiki), US 20150061414 A1 (URATA; Satoshi).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834