CTNF 18/941,384 CTNF 83087 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nelson et al (2019/0188969) hereinafter, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa (2009/0181744) hereinafter, Yoshizawa . In regards to claim 1, Nelson teaches a craps gaming system comprising: a processor (fig. 2a (50) [0018]; and PNG media_image1.png 632 832 media_image1.png Greyscale a memory [0068] device that stores a plurality of instructions, that when executed by the processor cause the processor to [0068-0074]: create game state data for a play of a craps game at a physical craps table, the game state data comprising data corresponding to numbers on dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table (fig. 4 (210-240)), and send the game state data to a plurality of remote electronic gaming machines to cause each of the remote electronic gaming machines to (fig. 4 (250)[0099]) PNG media_image2.png 788 540 media_image2.png Greyscale PNG media_image3.png 780 542 media_image3.png Greyscale cause a display, by a display device of the electronic gaming machine, of the numbers on dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, (fig. 7c display of game)): PNG media_image4.png 550 876 media_image4.png Greyscale Nelson fails to teach cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one, and However, Yoshizawa teaches cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one, and (fig. 1 (500 and 407) [125-135]) [0130] Above the bonus payout receiver 404, a clear button 405, a Roll button 406, and a bonus chance screen 407 are disposed in this order from a lower side to an upper side . The clear button 405 has a function for cancelling all the bets in the current unit game . The Roll button 406 has a function for fixing one bet operation. On the bonus chance screen 407, a screen for executing a bonus chance game is displayed. More specifically, the bonus chance screen 407 displays two dice 408 and 409, and displays a game process for determining a bonus amount (bonus payout scale) based on values of the dice 408 and 409 . PNG media_image5.png 620 888 media_image5.png Greyscale It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Nelson to further include cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one as taught by Yoshizawa in order to enables a bet to be made on both of a regular payout and a bonus payout by one bet operation without making a bet on the regular payout and on the bonus payout, respectively.[0006-0010] Therefore, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa. cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, of an award amount determined based on the quantity of additional dice [0099,0113,131,161] Nelson and .((fig. 9 (404, 403, and 407) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 11, Nelson teaches a craps gaming system comprising: a game state data processing system comprising: (abstract) a processor; (fig. 2a (50) [0018]; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions [0068-0074]:, that when executed by the processor cause the processor to create game state data for a play of a craps game at a physical craps table(fig. 4 (210-240)), the game state data comprising data corresponding to numbers on dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table(fig. 4 (250)); and a plurality of remote electronic gaming machines each comprising (fig. 2b 80a-80n): PNG media_image6.png 536 548 media_image6.png Greyscale a processor; and a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions, that when executed by the processor cause the processor to (fig. 6 (1022) [175-182] receive the game state data from the game state data processing system for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, (fig. 4 (250))[175-185] cause a display, by a display device of the electronic gaming machine, of the numbers on dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table (fig. 7a-7c display [0058, 0099-100]), Nelson fails to teach cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one However, Yoshizawa teaches cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one (fig. 1 (500 and 407) [125-135]) Yoshizawa It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Nelson to further include cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one as taught by Yoshizawa in order to enables a bet to be made on both of a regular payout and a bonus payout by one bet operation without making a bet on the regular payout and on the bonus payout, respectively.[0006-0010] Therefore, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches and cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, of an award amount determined based on the additional dice. [0099,0113,131,161] Nelson and .((fig. 9 (404, 403, and 407) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 19, Nelson teaches a craps gaming system comprising(abstract): a processor; and (fig. 2a (50) [0018]; a memory device that stores a plurality of instructions, that when executed by the processor cause the processor to: [0068-0074]:, create game state data for a play of a craps game at a physical craps table, the game state data comprising data corresponding to numbers on dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table and a determination to provide an additional dice feature, and (fig. 4 (210-240)), send the game state data to a plurality of remote electronic gaming machines to cause each of the remote electronic gaming machines to: (fig. 4 (250)[0099]) cause a display, by a display device of the electronic gaming machine, of the numbers on the dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, (fig. 7c display of game)) Nelson fails to teach cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one, and However, Yoshizawa teaches cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one, and (fig. 1 (500 and 407) [125-135]) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Nelson to further include cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional die and a number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one as taught by Yoshizawa in order to enables a bet to be made on both of a regular payout and a bonus payout by one bet operation without making a bet on the regular payout and on the bonus payout, respectively.[0006-0010] Therefore, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches determine a quantity of additional dice and a number of each (fig. 5 (5 350)) of the additional device responsive to the game state data indicating a determination to provide the additional dice feature, wherein the quantity of additional dice is at least one, (fig. 1 (500 and 407) [125-135]) Yoshizawa cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, for each of a quantity of additional dice, of an indication of that additional dice and the numbers on that additional dice for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table (fig. 5 350-380) and (fig. 1 (500 and 407) [125-135]) Yoshizawa and cause a display, by the display device of the electronic gaming machine, of an outcome of the play of the craps game based on at least in part on the additional dice. [0099,0113,131,161] Nelson and .((fig. 9 (404, 403, and 407) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 2, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches the craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein the game state data for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table comprises the quantity of additional dice (fig. 5 (320, 360, 370) Nelson. In regards to claim 3, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein the game state data for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table comprises the quantity of additional dice and for each of the quantity of additional dice, the number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table (fig. 5 350-360)) Nelson. In regards to claim 4, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein the game state data for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table does not comprise the quantity of additional dice or any of the numbers on the additional dice for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table, and for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines (fig. 5 370) Nelson, that electronic gaming machine determines the quantity of additional dice and for each of the quantity of additional dice, the number on that additional die for the play of the craps game [139-140] Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 5, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein the quantity of additional dice is based on an event at the physical craps table. (fig. 1 408 and 409) [139-140] Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 6, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein the quantity of additional dice is based on the numbers on the dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table (fig. 5 (350 Nelson in view of fig. 1 (408 and 409)) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 7, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, that electronic gaming machine is configured to determine the quantity of additional dice and for each of the quantity of additional dice, the number on that additional die for the play of the craps game. (fig. 5 (350 Nelson in view of fig. 1 (408 and 409)) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 8, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, the quantity of additional dice displayed by that electronic gaming machine is based on a random determination separate from the numbers on the dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table.(fig. 1 (407 [139-140) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 9, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, that electronic gaming machine is configured to employ the additional dice instead of the rolled dice for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table (fig. 1 (407 for reach display) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 10, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 1, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, that electronic gaming machine is configured to employ the additional dice in addition to the rolled dice for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table (fig. 1 (30 Nelson) (fig. 1 (500) and 407) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 12, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 11, wherein the game state data for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table comprises the quantity of additional dice. (fig. 5 (320, 360, 370) Nelson. In regards to claim 13, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 11, wherein the game state data for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table comprises the quantity of additional dice and for each of the quantity of additional dice, the number on that additional die for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table. (fig. 5 350-360)) Nelson. In regards to claim 14, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 11, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, the plurality of instructions stored in the memory device of that electronic gaming machine, when executed by the processor of that electronic gaming machine(fig. 5 370) Nelson, causes that processor to determine the quantity of additional dice and for each of the quantity of additional dice, the number on that additional die for the play of the craps game. [139-140] Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 15, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 14, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, the quantity of additional dice displayed by the electronic gaming machine is based on an event at the physical craps table. (fig. 1 408 and 409) [139-140] Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 16, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 14, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, the quantity of additional dice displayed by the electronic gaming machine is based on the numbers on the dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table. (fig. 5 (350 Nelson in view of fig. 1 (408 and 409)) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 17, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 14, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, the quantity of additional dice displayed by the electronic gaming machine is based on a random determination separate from the numbers on the dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table. (fig. 1 (407 [139-140) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 18, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 14, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, the number on each of the quantity of additional dice displayed by the electronic gaming machine is based on a random determination separate from the numbers on the dice rolled for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table. (fig. 1 (407 [139-140) Yoshizawa. In regards to claim 20, Nelson in view of Yoshizawa teaches craps gaming system of claim 19, wherein for each of the plurality of remote electronic gaming machines, the memory device of that electronic stores a plurality of instructions, that when executed by the processor of that electronic gaming machine, causes the processor of that electronic gaming machine to employ the additional dice instead of the rolled dice for the play of the craps game at the physical craps table. (fig. 1 (407 for reach display) Yoshizawa. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GRANT SITTA whose telephone number is (571)270-1542. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30-4:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patrick Edouard can be reached at 571-272-6084. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GRANT SITTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 2 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 3 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 4 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 5 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 6 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 8 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 9 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 10 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 11 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 12 Art Unit: 2622 Application/Control Number: 18/941,384 Page 13 Art Unit: 2622