DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11, 26-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et. al. (US 20220030440 A1) hereafter Park.
Regarding Claim 1:
Park Discloses:
A sensing node, comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: ( [¶0057] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a first wireless device 310 having components for wireless transmission. The wireless device 310 may be an RF sensing device configured to perform the aspects presented herein. In some examples, the wireless device 310 may be capable of communication with another wireless device 350, such as described in connection with FIG. 1. The wireless device 310 may include one or more antennas 320 may include a transmitter/receiver 318 with a corresponding transmit processor 316 and receive processor 370 that are configured to perform monostatic sensing or bi-static sensing, such as described in connection with FIG. 2A or FIG. 2B. The one or more antenna 320, transmitter/receiver 318, transmit processor 316, and receive processor 370 may transmit an RF sensing signal and receive reflections of the RF sensing signal. The controller/processor 375 may determine RF sensing information about a target based on the received signal.) transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a first set of one or more sensing reference signals over a first set of transmit beams during a first stage of a sensing session;( [¶0039] the RF sensing device 103 includes an RF sensing beam management component 198 that is configured to perform a first beamsweep of an RF signal and measure a reflection of the RF signal based on the first beamsweep. The RF sensing beam management component 198 is configured to perform a second beamsweep of the RF signal, where the first beamsweep is based on a different parameter than the second beamsweep and to measure the reflection of the RF signal based on the second beamsweep. [0061] Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358 from a reference signal or feedback transmitted by the wireless device may be used by the TX processor 368 to select the appropriate coding and modulation schemes, and to facilitate spatial processing. The spatial streams generated by the TX processor 368 may be provided to different antenna 352 via separate transmitters 354TX. Each transmitter 354TX may modulate an RF carrier with a respective spatial stream for transmission. [¶0066] In a first step 400, the transmission unit 403a of an RF sensing device may beamsweep an RF signal by transmitting the RF signal over multiple beams,) and transmit, via the one or more transceivers, a second set of one or more sensing reference signals over a second set of transmit beams during a second stage of the sensing session based on a plurality of criteria, wherein the plurality of criteria is based on one or more measurements of one or more sensing targets obtained by beamsweeping the first set of transmit beams, and wherein beamwidths of the second set of transmit beams are narrower than beamwidths of the first set of transmit beams. ([0067] In the second step 425, the transmission unit 403a beamsweeps 414 a set of narrower beams over a partial region. The partial region may be based on one or more beams identified in the first step 400. For example, the partial region in the second step 425 is based on the coarse beam (e.g., beam 405). The beams used to transmit the beam management signal in the second step 425 are narrower than the beams used to transmit the beam management signal in the first step 400. )
Regarding Claim 2:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the plurality of criteria includes a first criterion and one or more additional criteria, and wherein the first criterion includes one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets. ([¶0167] At 1510, the wireless device performs RF sensing on the beam using the first frequency. The performing of the RF sensing may be performed, for example, by an RF sensing component 1648 of the apparatus 1602 of FIG. 16. The wireless device may perform monostatic RF sensing including any of the aspects described in connection with FIG. 2A. After receiving the RF sensing signal, the receiver can estimate Doppler related metrics, for example, of the signal between the wireless device and a target object. The RF sensing may be used to obtain a distance, speed, direction, etc. of the target.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein transmitting the second set of one or more sensing reference signals over the second set of transmit beams is based at least in part on a determination that an estimated distance between a first sensing target of the one or more sensing targets and a second sensing target of the one or more sensing targets is within a threshold distance. ([¶0072] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform short range detection in a first step and may perform long range detection in a second step. FIG. 5C illustrates an example in which the RF sensing device 503 beam sweeps 516 a signal over a region using a set of wide beams (e.g., beams 522a, 522b, and 522c) in a first step 550 to perform a shorter range detection. In the second step 553, the RF sensing device 503 beam sweeps 518 over the region using a set of narrower beams 524 to perform a longer range detection. The beamsweep in the first step 550 and the second step 553 may cover substantially the same region, such as illustrated in FIG. 5C. The second step 553 may beam sweep over a larger number of narrower beams than the first step.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the one or more additional criteria include: one or more estimated velocities of the one or more sensing targets; one or more estimated angles of arrival of the one or more sensing targets;([¶0037] RF sensing may be employed to acquire contextual information, e.g., location detection, tracking, determining directions, range estimation, etc. [¶0155] In the illustrated examples 1300, 1320 of FIG. 13, the first frequency 1310 and the second frequency 1312 are associated with a similar bandwidth. For example, the first frequency 1310 and the second frequency 1312 may be each associated with an FR2 signal, an FR2x signal, or an FR4 signal. In some such examples, the first sensing steps (e.g., the first beam sweeps 1302a, 1304a, 1306a, 1322a, 1324a, 1326a) may be periodic sensing in all directions and provide coarse detection of targets in terms of angle detection. Additionally, the second sensing steps (e.g., the second beam sweeps 1302b, 1304b, 1322b, 1324b) may be event-driven sensing in specific directions and provide fine detection of targets in terms of angle detection.) estimated receiver power of the one or more sensing targets; one or more shapes of the one or more sensing targets; one or more dimensions of the one or more sensing targets; or any combination thereof. ([¶0037] A received signal is compared to the transmitted signal to determine information about the target or environment. RF sensing may be employed to provide health monitoring, such as heartbeat detection, respiration rate monitoring, etc. RF sensing may be employed for gesture recognition, e.g., a human activity recognition, a hand motion recognition, a facial expression recognition, a keystroke detection, sign language detection, etc. RF sensing may be employed to acquire contextual information, e.g., location detection, tracking, determining directions, range estimation, etc. RF sensing may be employed for automotive radar, e.g., detecting an environment around a vehicle, nearby vehicles or items, detecting information for smart cruise control, collision avoidance, etc. RF sensing may be employed to image an environment, e.g., to provide a 3-dimensional (3D) map for virtual reality (VR) applications. RF sensing may be employed to provide high resolution localization, e.g., for industrial Internet-of-things (IIoT) applications.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the plurality of criteria includes: one or more estimated velocities of the one or more sensing targets; one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets relative to one or more clutters; or any combination thereof. ([¶0037] RF sensing may be employed for gesture recognition, e.g., a human activity recognition, a hand motion recognition, a facial expression recognition, a keystroke detection, sign language detection, etc. RF sensing may be employed to acquire contextual information, e.g., location detection, tracking, determining directions, range estimation, etc. RF sensing may be employed for automotive radar, e.g., detecting an environment around a vehicle, nearby vehicles or items, detecting information for smart cruise control, collision avoidance, etc. RF sensing may be employed to image an environment, e.g., to provide a 3-dimensional (3D) map for virtual reality (VR) applications. RF sensing may be employed to provide high resolution localization, e.g., for industrial Internet-of-things (IIoT) applications. [¶0071] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform scanning using beam sweeping 510 or 514 over multiple beams in a first step and may perform tracking using one or more fixed beams in a second step (e.g., 551 or 552). For example, the RF sensing device 503 may perform scanning to scan an environment using beams that cover a region in the first step. In the second step, the RF sensing device 503 may transmit the signal using a subset of one or more beams that cover a portion of the region determined in step 1. The first, scanning step may help to determine a general region of a target, and the second step may be used to perform tracking of the target within the general region.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: determine one or more steering vectors for the second set of transmit beams based on one or more criteria of the plurality of criteria. ([¶0070] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform coarse beam detection followed by a fine beam detection. FIG. 5A illustrates example of a first step 500 of coarse beam detection followed by a second step 551 of fine beam detection. FIG. 5B illustrates another example of coarse beam detection 525 followed by fine beam detection 552. In the first step (e.g., 500 or 525) of coarse beam detection, the RF sensing device 503 uses beam sweeping 510 or 514 to transmit and monitor for a signal over multiple beams covering a region. The RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal and monitors for a reflection of the transmitted signal. In the second step of fine beam detection or beam refinement, e.g., 551 or 552, the RF sensing device 503 transmits a signal over a portion of the region using beam sweeping 512 or 514. The portion of the region may be determined based on measurements of the reflected signal in the first step (e.g., 500 or 525). For example, in FIG. 5A, the RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal using wider beams 502a, 502b, and 502c. Then, in the second step, the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 504a, 504b, 504c, 504d, and 504e that cover a region based on the beam 502b identified in the first step. In FIG. 5B, the RF sensing device 503 first transmits the signal using wider beams 506a, 506b, and 506c. Then, in the second step (e.g., 552), the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d, and 508e that cover a region based on the beam 506b identified in the first step.))
Regarding Claim 7:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the one or more steering vectors are based at least in part on one or more coarse estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets. ([¶0070] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform coarse beam detection followed by a fine beam detection. FIG. 5A illustrates example of a first step 500 of coarse beam detection followed by a second step 551 of fine beam detection. FIG. 5B illustrates another example of coarse beam detection 525 followed by fine beam detection 552. In the first step (e.g., 500 or 525) of coarse beam detection, the RF sensing device 503 uses beam sweeping 510 or 514 to transmit and monitor for a signal over multiple beams covering a region. The RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal and monitors for a reflection of the transmitted signal. In the second step of fine beam detection or beam refinement, e.g., 551 or 552, the RF sensing device 503 transmits a signal over a portion of the region using beam sweeping 512 or 514. The portion of the region may be determined based on measurements of the reflected signal in the first step (e.g., 500 or 525). For example, in FIG. 5A, the RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal using wider beams 502a, 502b, and 502c. Then, in the second step, the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 504a, 504b, 504c, 504d, and 504e that cover a region based on the beam 502b identified in the first step. In FIG. 5B, the RF sensing device 503 first transmits the signal using wider beams 506a, 506b, and 506c. Then, in the second step (e.g., 552), the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d, and 508e that cover a region based on the beam 506b identified in the first step.))
Regarding Claim 8:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the beamwidths of the second set of transmit beams are determined based on one or more criteria of the plurality of criteria. ([¶0070] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform coarse beam detection followed by a fine beam detection. FIG. 5A illustrates example of a first step 500 of coarse beam detection followed by a second step 551 of fine beam detection. FIG. 5B illustrates another example of coarse beam detection 525 followed by fine beam detection 552. In the first step (e.g., 500 or 525) of coarse beam detection, the RF sensing device 503 uses beam sweeping 510 or 514 to transmit and monitor for a signal over multiple beams covering a region. The RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal and monitors for a reflection of the transmitted signal. In the second step of fine beam detection or beam refinement, e.g., 551 or 552, the RF sensing device 503 transmits a signal over a portion of the region using beam sweeping 512 or 514. The portion of the region may be determined based on measurements of the reflected signal in the first step (e.g., 500 or 525). For example, in FIG. 5A, the RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal using wider beams 502a, 502b, and 502c. Then, in the second step, the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 504a, 504b, 504c, 504d, and 504e that cover a region based on the beam 502b identified in the first step. In FIG. 5B, the RF sensing device 503 first transmits the signal using wider beams 506a, 506b, and 506c. Then, in the second step (e.g., 552), the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d, and 508e that cover a region based on the beam 506b identified in the first step.))
Regarding Claim 9:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the one or more criteria include: a distance between a first sensing target of the one or more sensing targets and a second sensing target of the one or more sensing targets; a resolvability between a first estimated position of the first sensing target and a second estimated position of the second sensing target; a resolvability of one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets relative to one or more clutters; one or more estimated velocities of the one or more sensing targets; a desired accuracy of measuring the one or more sensing targets; one or more capabilities of the sensing node; or any combination thereof. ([¶0074] When multiple step beam management is performed to determine a transmission beam and reception beam for wireless communication, the measurements of the signal in the first step and the second step may be based on different minimum required reception signal-to-noise ratios (SNRs). For example, a lower beamforming gain may be used for beam management with wider beams, e.g., in a coarse beam detection, for a low data rate transmission or a highly reliably transmission. A higher beamforming gain may be used for beam management with the narrower beams, e.g., in a finer beam detection, for high rate data. For example, a two-step beam management such as for communication using the parameters in Table 1 would have a higher minimum received SNR (RxSNR.sub.2) for the second step 551 than the minimum received SNR (RxSNR.sub.1) for the first step 500. In table 1, P corresponds to the transmission power, G corresponds to the antenna gain, the effective isotropic radiate power (EIRP) is based on P+G, T corresponds to the signal duration, and R corresponds to the range or distance of signal.)
Regarding Claim 10:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the first set of transmit beams is transmitted at a first set of frequencies and the second set of transmit beams is transmitted at a second set of frequencies higher than the first set of frequencies. ([¶0104] FIG. 8C depicts an example of range resolution 880 that may be performed by the RF sensing device 803. For example, by employing the RF sensing techniques disclosed herein, the RF sensing device 803 may detect that a first target 882 is a first distance (R1) away from the RF sensing device 803 and may detect that a second target 884 is a second distance (R2) away from the RF sensing device 803. The example RF sensing device 803 (and/or a component of the RF sensing device 803) may apply Equation 1 (below) to determine the minimum range resolution that may be determined. min ΔR=c/(2B)Equation 1: [¶0105] In Equation 1 (above), the variable “ΔR” refers to the range (or distance) resolution and may be determined as the difference in the distances (e.g., R2−R1), the variable “c” refers to the speed of light, and the variable “B” refers to bandwidth. As shown in Equation 1, range resolution (ΔR) and bandwidth (B) are inversely related. By utilizing a higher bandwidth (B) for the RF signals used to perform the RF sensing, higher range resolution (ΔR) may be achieved. [¶0106] For example, FIG. 8D illustrates an example table 890 that depicts example range resolutions that may be achieved by applying different bandwidths to Equation 1. As shown in FIG. 8D, a first example row indicates that a minimum range resolution of 15 meters (m) may be achieved by utilizing a relatively small bandwidth (10 MHz) in frequency when performing RF sensing, while a second example row indicates that a minimum range resolution of 0.0375 m may be achieved by utilizing a relatively large bandwidth (4 GHz). Moreover, utilizing a smaller bandwidth (e.g., 10 MHz, 100 MHz, etc.) may be beneficial when performing the first step of the beam sweep over a region as part of the lower range resolution detection and utilizing a larger bandwidth (e.g., 900 MHz, 4 GHz, etc.) may be beneficial when performing the second step of the beam sweep over the portion of the region as part of the higher range resolution detection. The example bandwidths provided in the example table 890 of FIG. 8D are illustrative only and that other examples may utilize different bandwidths.)
Regarding Claim 11:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the sensing node is: a user equipment (UE); or a base station. ([¶0037] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless communications system and an access network 100 in which base stations 102 or 180 may wirelessly communicate with UEs 104. Some wireless devices may perform radio frequency (RF) sensing. [0053] The base station may include and/or be referred to as a gNB, Node B, eNB, an access point, a base transceiver station, a radio base station, a radio transceiver, a transceiver function, a basic service set (BSS), an extended service set (ESS), a transmit reception point (TRP), or some other suitable terminology. The base station 102 provides an access point to the EPC 160 or core network 190 for a UE 104. Examples of UEs 104 include a cellular phone, a smart phone, a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone, a laptop, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a satellite radio, a global positioning system, a multimedia device, a video device, a digital audio player (e.g., MP3 player), a camera, a game console, a tablet, a smart device, a wearable device, a vehicle, an electric meter, a gas pump, a large or small kitchen appliance, a healthcare device, an implant, a sensor/actuator, a display, or any other similar functioning device. Some of the UEs 104 may be referred to as IoT devices (e.g., parking meter, gas pump, toaster, vehicles, heart monitor, etc.). The UE 104 may also be referred to as a station, a mobile station, a subscriber station, a mobile unit, a subscriber unit, a wireless unit, a remote unit, a mobile device, a wireless device, a wireless communications device, a remote device, a mobile subscriber station, an access terminal, a mobile terminal, a wireless terminal, a remote terminal, a handset, a user agent, a mobile client, a client, or some other suitable terminology.)
Regarding Claim 26:
Park Discloses:
A method of wireless sensing performed by a sensing node, comprising: transmitting a first set of one or more sensing reference signals over a first set of transmit beams during a first stage of a sensing session; and transmitting a second set of one or more sensing reference signals over a second set of transmit beams during a second stage of the sensing session based on a plurality of criteria, wherein the plurality of criteria is based on one or more measurements of one or more sensing targets obtained by beamsweeping the first set of transmit beams, and wherein beamwidths of the second set of transmit beams are narrower than beamwidths of the first set of transmit beams.
Regarding Claim 27:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein the plurality of criteria includes a first criterion and one or more additional criteria, and wherein the first criterion includes one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets. ([¶0111] In the illustrated example of FIG. 9, the RF sensing device 903 may perform RF sensing to facilitate detection of targets, such as an example first target 907a and/or an example second target 907b. In some examples, the RF sensing device 903 may perform the RF sensing to facilitate target detection of targets, such as trees, buildings, etc., that are relatively static relative to the position of the RF sensing device 903. For example, the RF sensing device 903 may perform long-term (or occasional) scanning 910 and detect the first target 907a (e.g., a building). Performing such long-term scanning 910 may be beneficial for beam anticipation by enabling the RF sensing device 903 to consider aspects of the environment 900, for example, for communications. For example, machine-learning based beam management techniques may utilize such long-term scanning techniques to detect the presence of relatively static targets (e.g., the first target 907a) and determine beam path links for communication based on the detected presence of the relatively static targets. In some examples, such long-term scanning may be beneficial when establishing a self-organized network. For example, based on the detected relatively static targets, use of SSB beams may be optimized when establishing the self-organized network and/or for facilitating communication. [¶0112] In some examples, the RF sensing device 903 may perform the RF sensing to facilitate target detection of targets, such as vehicles, etc., that are moving relative to the position of the RF sensing device 903. For example, the RF sensing device 903 may perform short-term (or real-time) scanning 912 and detect the second target 907b (e.g., a vehicle). Performing such short-term scanning 912 may be beneficial for proactive beam management that includes proactively avoiding blocking events. For example, based on a detection of a moving target (e.g., the second target 907b), a wireless device may determine to avoid a line-of-sight connection for communication. In some examples, such short-term scanning 912 may be beneficial for application-dependent sensing, such as health monitoring, gesture recognition, etc.)
Regarding Claim 28:
Park Discloses the limitations of parent claims:
Park Discloses:
wherein transmitting the second set of one or more sensing reference signals over the second set of transmit beams is based at least in part on a determination that an estimated distance between a first sensing target of the one or more sensing targets and a second sensing target of the one or more sensing targets is within a threshold distance. ([¶0072] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform short range detection in a first step and may perform long range detection in a second step. FIG. 5C illustrates an example in which the RF sensing device 503 beam sweeps 516 a signal over a region using a set of wide beams (e.g., beams 522a, 522b, and 522c) in a first step 550 to perform a shorter range detection. In the second step 553, the RF sensing device 503 beam sweeps 518 over the region using a set of narrower beams 524 to perform a longer range detection. The beamsweep in the first step 550 and the second step 553 may cover substantially the same region, such as illustrated in FIG. 5C. The second step 553 may beam sweep over a larger number of narrower beams than the first step.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-25, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Bai et. al. (US 220220141677 A1) hereafter Bai.
Regarding Claim 12:
Park discloses:
A network node, comprising: one or more memories; one or more transceivers; and one or more processors communicatively coupled to the one or more memories and the one or more transceivers, the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, configured to: ( [¶0057] FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a first wireless device 310 having components for wireless transmission. The wireless device 310 may be an RF sensing device configured to perform the aspects presented herein. In some examples, the wireless device 310 may be capable of communication with another wireless device 350, such as described in connection with FIG. 1. The wireless device 310 may include one or more antennas 320 may include a transmitter/receiver 318 with a corresponding transmit processor 316 and receive processor 370 that are configured to perform monostatic sensing or bi-static sensing, such as described in connection with FIG. 2A or FIG. 2B. The one or more antenna 320, transmitter/receiver 318, transmit processor 316, and receive processor 370 may transmit an RF sensing signal and receive reflections of the RF sensing signal. The controller/processor 375 may determine RF sensing information about a target based on the received signal.)( [¶0039] the RF sensing device 103 includes an RF sensing beam management component 198 that is configured to perform a first beamsweep of an RF signal and measure a reflection of the RF signal based on the first beamsweep. The RF sensing beam management component 198 is configured to perform a second beamsweep of the RF signal, where the first beamsweep is based on a different parameter than the second beamsweep and to measure the reflection of the RF signal based on the second beamsweep. [0061] Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358 from a reference signal or feedback transmitted by the wireless device may be used by the TX processor 368 to select the appropriate coding and modulation schemes, and to facilitate spatial processing. The spatial streams generated by the TX processor 368 may be provided to different antenna 352 via separate transmitters 354TX. Each transmitter 354TX may modulate an RF carrier with a respective spatial stream for transmission. [¶0066] In a first step 400, the transmission unit 403a of an RF sensing device may beamsweep an RF signal by transmitting the RF signal over multiple beams,)wherein the plurality of criteria is based on one or more measurements of one or more sensing targets obtained by beamsweeping the first set of transmit beams, and wherein beamwidths of the second set of transmit beams are narrower than beamwidths of the first set of transmit beams. ([0067] In the second step 425, the transmission unit 403a beamsweeps 414 a set of narrower beams over a partial region. The partial region may be based on one or more beams identified in the first step 400. For example, the partial region in the second step 425 is based on the coarse beam (e.g., beam 405). The beams used to transmit the beam management signal in the second step 425 are narrower than the beams used to transmit the beam management signal in the first step 400. )
Park does not disclose:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing node, a first configuration… transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the sensing node, a second configuration
Bai discloses:
transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing node, a first configuration… transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to the sensing node, a second configuration ([0089] At 405, base station 105-c may transmit, and UE 115-c may receive, reference signal configuration information (e.g., SSB configuration information, CSI-RS configuration information, or the like). The configuration information may include configuration information for a first set of reference signals to be transmitted at 415 (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RSs to be transmitted at 415) and a second set of reference signals to be transmitted at 445 (e.g., CSI-RSs with repetition enabled in RRC signaling).)
Park and Bai are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park to transmit reference signal configurations as taught by Bai in order to improve RF sensing (Park [¶0039]).
Regarding Claim 13:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the plurality of criteria includes a first criterion and one or more additional criteria, and wherein the first criterion includes one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets. ([¶0167] At 1510, the wireless device performs RF sensing on the beam using the first frequency. The performing of the RF sensing may be performed, for example, by an RF sensing component 1648 of the apparatus 1602 of FIG. 16. The wireless device may perform monostatic RF sensing including any of the aspects described in connection with FIG. 2A. After receiving the RF sensing signal, the receiver can estimate Doppler related metrics, for example, of the signal between the wireless device and a target object. The RF sensing may be used to obtain a distance, speed, direction, etc. of the target.)
Regarding Claim 14:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the second configuration for transmitting the second set of one or more sensing reference signals over the second set of transmit beams is based at least in part on a determination that an estimated distance between a first sensing target of the one or more sensing targets and a second sensing target of the one or more sensing targets is within a threshold distance. ([¶0072] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform short range detection in a first step and may perform long range detection in a second step. FIG. 5C illustrates an example in which the RF sensing device 503 beam sweeps 516 a signal over a region using a set of wide beams (e.g., beams 522a, 522b, and 522c) in a first step 550 to perform a shorter range detection. In the second step 553, the RF sensing device 503 beam sweeps 518 over the region using a set of narrower beams 524 to perform a longer range detection. The beamsweep in the first step 550 and the second step 553 may cover substantially the same region, such as illustrated in FIG. 5C. The second step 553 may beam sweep over a larger number of narrower beams than the first step.)
Regarding Claim 15:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the one or more additional criteria include: one or more estimated velocities of the one or more sensing targets; one or more estimated angles of arrival of the one or more sensing targets; estimated receiver power of the one or more sensing targets; one or more shapes of the one or more sensing targets; one or more dimensions of the one or more sensing targets; or any combination thereof. ([¶0037] RF sensing may be employed to acquire contextual information, e.g., location detection, tracking, determining directions, range estimation, etc. [¶0155] In the illustrated examples 1300, 1320 of FIG. 13, the first frequency 1310 and the second frequency 1312 are associated with a similar bandwidth. For example, the first frequency 1310 and the second frequency 1312 may be each associated with an FR2 signal, an FR2x signal, or an FR4 signal. In some such examples, the first sensing steps (e.g., the first beam sweeps 1302a, 1304a, 1306a, 1322a, 1324a, 1326a) may be periodic sensing in all directions and provide coarse detection of targets in terms of angle detection. Additionally, the second sensing steps (e.g., the second beam sweeps 1302b, 1304b, 1322b, 1324b) may be event-driven sensing in specific directions and provide fine detection of targets in terms of angle detection.) estimated receiver power of the one or more sensing targets; one or more shapes of the one or more sensing targets; one or more dimensions of the one or more sensing targets; or any combination thereof. ([¶0037] A received signal is compared to the transmitted signal to determine information about the target or environment. RF sensing may be employed to provide health monitoring, such as heartbeat detection, respiration rate monitoring, etc. RF sensing may be employed for gesture recognition, e.g., a human activity recognition, a hand motion recognition, a facial expression recognition, a keystroke detection, sign language detection, etc. RF sensing may be employed to acquire contextual information, e.g., location detection, tracking, determining directions, range estimation, etc. RF sensing may be employed for automotive radar, e.g., detecting an environment around a vehicle, nearby vehicles or items, detecting information for smart cruise control, collision avoidance, etc. RF sensing may be employed to image an environment, e.g., to provide a 3-dimensional (3D) map for virtual reality (VR) applications. RF sensing may be employed to provide high resolution localization, e.g., for industrial Internet-of-things (IIoT) applications.)
Regarding Claim 16:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the plurality of criteria includes: one or more estimated velocities of the one or more sensing targets; one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets relative to one or more clutters; or any combination thereof. ([¶0037] RF sensing may be employed for gesture recognition, e.g., a human activity recognition, a hand motion recognition, a facial expression recognition, a keystroke detection, sign language detection, etc. RF sensing may be employed to acquire contextual information, e.g., location detection, tracking, determining directions, range estimation, etc. RF sensing may be employed for automotive radar, e.g., detecting an environment around a vehicle, nearby vehicles or items, detecting information for smart cruise control, collision avoidance, etc. RF sensing may be employed to image an environment, e.g., to provide a 3-dimensional (3D) map for virtual reality (VR) applications. RF sensing may be employed to provide high resolution localization, e.g., for industrial Internet-of-things (IIoT) applications. [¶0071] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform scanning using beam sweeping 510 or 514 over multiple beams in a first step and may perform tracking using one or more fixed beams in a second step (e.g., 551 or 552). For example, the RF sensing device 503 may perform scanning to scan an environment using beams that cover a region in the first step. In the second step, the RF sensing device 503 may transmit the signal using a subset of one or more beams that cover a portion of the region determined in step 1. The first, scanning step may help to determine a general region of a target, and the second step may be used to perform tracking of the target within the general region.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: determine one or more steering vectors for the second set of transmit beams based on one or more criteria of the plurality of criteria. ([¶0070] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform coarse beam detection followed by a fine beam detection. FIG. 5A illustrates example of a first step 500 of coarse beam detection followed by a second step 551 of fine beam detection. FIG. 5B illustrates another example of coarse beam detection 525 followed by fine beam detection 552. In the first step (e.g., 500 or 525) of coarse beam detection, the RF sensing device 503 uses beam sweeping 510 or 514 to transmit and monitor for a signal over multiple beams covering a region. The RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal and monitors for a reflection of the transmitted signal. In the second step of fine beam detection or beam refinement, e.g., 551 or 552, the RF sensing device 503 transmits a signal over a portion of the region using beam sweeping 512 or 514. The portion of the region may be determined based on measurements of the reflected signal in the first step (e.g., 500 or 525). For example, in FIG. 5A, the RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal using wider beams 502a, 502b, and 502c. Then, in the second step, the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 504a, 504b, 504c, 504d, and 504e that cover a region based on the beam 502b identified in the first step. In FIG. 5B, the RF sensing device 503 first transmits the signal using wider beams 506a, 506b, and 506c. Then, in the second step (e.g., 552), the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d, and 508e that cover a region based on the beam 506b identified in the first step.))
Regarding Claim 18:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the sensing node is a transmit sensing node, and wherein the transmit sensing node transmits the second set of one or more sensing reference signals over the second set of transmit beams based on the one or more steering vectors. ([¶0070] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform coarse beam detection followed by a fine beam detection. FIG. 5A illustrates example of a first step 500 of coarse beam detection followed by a second step 551 of fine beam detection. FIG. 5B illustrates another example of coarse beam detection 525 followed by fine beam detection 552. In the first step (e.g., 500 or 525) of coarse beam detection, the RF sensing device 503 uses beam sweeping 510 or 514 to transmit and monitor for a signal over multiple beams covering a region. The RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal and monitors for a reflection of the transmitted signal. In the second step of fine beam detection or beam refinement, e.g., 551 or 552, the RF sensing device 503 transmits a signal over a portion of the region using beam sweeping 512 or 514. The portion of the region may be determined based on measurements of the reflected signal in the first step (e.g., 500 or 525). For example, in FIG. 5A, the RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal using wider beams 502a, 502b, and 502c. Then, in the second step, the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 504a, 504b, 504c, 504d, and 504e that cover a region based on the beam 502b identified in the first step. In FIG. 5B, the RF sensing device 503 first transmits the signal using wider beams 506a, 506b, and 506c. Then, in the second step (e.g., 552), the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d, and 508e that cover a region based on the beam 506b identified in the first step.))
Regarding Claim 19:
Park does not disclose:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to one or more receive sensing nodes, one or more additional configurations for receiving the second set of one or more sensing reference signals over the second set of transmit beams during the second stage of the sensing session.
Bai discloses:
wherein the one or more processors, either alone or in combination, are further configured to: transmit, via the one or more transceivers, to one or more receive sensing nodes, one or more additional configurations for receiving the second set of one or more sensing reference signals over the second set of transmit beams during the second stage of the sensing session. ( [¶0020] after the first phase of the procedure, the base station may transmit configuration information for the second phase reference signals, )
Park and Bai are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park to transmit reference signal configurations as taught by Bai in order to improve RF sensing (Park [¶0039]).
Regarding Claim 20:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the one or more steering vectors are based at least in part on one or more coarse estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets. ([¶0070] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform coarse beam detection followed by a fine beam detection. FIG. 5A illustrates example of a first step 500 of coarse beam detection followed by a second step 551 of fine beam detection. FIG. 5B illustrates another example of coarse beam detection 525 followed by fine beam detection 552. In the first step (e.g., 500 or 525) of coarse beam detection, the RF sensing device 503 uses beam sweeping 510 or 514 to transmit and monitor for a signal over multiple beams covering a region. The RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal and monitors for a reflection of the transmitted signal. In the second step of fine beam detection or beam refinement, e.g., 551 or 552, the RF sensing device 503 transmits a signal over a portion of the region using beam sweeping 512 or 514. The portion of the region may be determined based on measurements of the reflected signal in the first step (e.g., 500 or 525). For example, in FIG. 5A, the RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal using wider beams 502a, 502b, and 502c. Then, in the second step, the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 504a, 504b, 504c, 504d, and 504e that cover a region based on the beam 502b identified in the first step. In FIG. 5B, the RF sensing device 503 first transmits the signal using wider beams 506a, 506b, and 506c. Then, in the second step (e.g., 552), the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d, and 508e that cover a region based on the beam 506b identified in the first step.))
Regarding Claim 21:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the beamwidths of the second set of transmit beams are determined based on one or more criteria of the plurality of criteria. ([¶0070] In some aspects, the RF sensing device 503 may perform coarse beam detection followed by a fine beam detection. FIG. 5A illustrates example of a first step 500 of coarse beam detection followed by a second step 551 of fine beam detection. FIG. 5B illustrates another example of coarse beam detection 525 followed by fine beam detection 552. In the first step (e.g., 500 or 525) of coarse beam detection, the RF sensing device 503 uses beam sweeping 510 or 514 to transmit and monitor for a signal over multiple beams covering a region. The RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal and monitors for a reflection of the transmitted signal. In the second step of fine beam detection or beam refinement, e.g., 551 or 552, the RF sensing device 503 transmits a signal over a portion of the region using beam sweeping 512 or 514. The portion of the region may be determined based on measurements of the reflected signal in the first step (e.g., 500 or 525). For example, in FIG. 5A, the RF sensing device 503 transmits the signal using wider beams 502a, 502b, and 502c. Then, in the second step, the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 504a, 504b, 504c, 504d, and 504e that cover a region based on the beam 502b identified in the first step. In FIG. 5B, the RF sensing device 503 first transmits the signal using wider beams 506a, 506b, and 506c. Then, in the second step (e.g., 552), the RF sensing device transmits a signal using narrower beams 508a, 508b, 508c, 508d, and 508e that cover a region based on the beam 506b identified in the first step.))
Regarding Claim 22:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the one or more criteria include: a distance between a first sensing target of the one or more sensing targets and a second sensing target of the one or more sensing targets; a resolvability between a first estimated position of the first sensing target and a second estimated position of the second sensing target; a resolvability of one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets relative to one or more clutters; one or more estimated velocities of the one or more sensing targets; a desired accuracy of measuring the one or more sensing targets; one or more capabilities of the at least one sensing node; or any combination thereof. ([¶0074] When multiple step beam management is performed to determine a transmission beam and reception beam for wireless communication, the measurements of the signal in the first step and the second step may be based on different minimum required reception signal-to-noise ratios (SNRs). For example, a lower beamforming gain may be used for beam management with wider beams, e.g., in a coarse beam detection, for a low data rate transmission or a highly reliably transmission. A higher beamforming gain may be used for beam management with the narrower beams, e.g., in a finer beam detection, for high rate data. For example, a two-step beam management such as for communication using the parameters in Table 1 would have a higher minimum received SNR (RxSNR.sub.2) for the second step 551 than the minimum received SNR (RxSNR.sub.1) for the first step 500. In table 1, P corresponds to the transmission power, G corresponds to the antenna gain, the effective isotropic radiate power (EIRP) is based on P+G, T corresponds to the signal duration, and R corresponds to the range or distance of signal.)
Regarding Claim 23:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the first set of transmit beams is transmitted at a first set of frequencies and the second set of transmit beams is transmitted at a second set of frequencies higher than the first set of frequencies. ([¶0104] FIG. 8C depicts an example of range resolution 880 that may be performed by the RF sensing device 803. For example, by employing the RF sensing techniques disclosed herein, the RF sensing device 803 may detect that a first target 882 is a first distance (R1) away from the RF sensing device 803 and may detect that a second target 884 is a second distance (R2) away from the RF sensing device 803. The example RF sensing device 803 (and/or a component of the RF sensing device 803) may apply Equation 1 (below) to determine the minimum range resolution that may be determined. min ΔR=c/(2B) Equation 1: [¶0105] In Equation 1 (above), the variable “ΔR” refers to the range (or distance) resolution and may be determined as the difference in the distances (e.g., R2−R1), the variable “c” refers to the speed of light, and the variable “B” refers to bandwidth. As shown in Equation 1, range resolution (ΔR) and bandwidth (B) are inversely related. By utilizing a higher bandwidth (B) for the RF signals used to perform the RF sensing, higher range resolution (ΔR) may be achieved. [¶0106] For example, FIG. 8D illustrates an example table 890 that depicts example range resolutions that may be achieved by applying different bandwidths to Equation 1. As shown in FIG. 8D, a first example row indicates that a minimum range resolution of 15 meters (m) may be achieved by utilizing a relatively small bandwidth (10 MHz) in frequency when performing RF sensing, while a second example row indicates that a minimum range resolution of 0.0375 m may be achieved by utilizing a relatively large bandwidth (4 GHz). Moreover, utilizing a smaller bandwidth (e.g., 10 MHz, 100 MHz, etc.) may be beneficial when performing the first step of the beam sweep over a region as part of the lower range resolution detection and utilizing a larger bandwidth (e.g., 900 MHz, 4 GHz, etc.) may be beneficial when performing the second step of the beam sweep over the portion of the region as part of the higher range resolution detection. The example bandwidths provided in the example table 890 of FIG. 8D are illustrative only and that other examples may utilize different bandwidths.)
Regarding Claim 24:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the sensing node is: a user equipment (UE); or a base station. ([¶0037] FIG. 1 is a diagram illustrating an example of a wireless communications system and an access network 100 in which base stations 102 or 180 may wirelessly communicate with UEs 104. Some wireless devices may perform radio frequency (RF) sensing. [0053] The base station may include and/or be referred to as a gNB, Node B, eNB, an access point, a base transceiver station, a radio base station, a radio transceiver, a transceiver function, a basic service set (BSS), an extended service set (ESS), a transmit reception point (TRP), or some other suitable terminology. The base station 102 provides an access point to the EPC 160 or core network 190 for a UE 104. Examples of UEs 104 include a cellular phone, a smart phone, a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone, a laptop, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a satellite radio, a global positioning system, a multimedia device, a video device, a digital audio player (e.g., MP3 player), a camera, a game console, a tablet, a smart device, a wearable device, a vehicle, an electric meter, a gas pump, a large or small kitchen appliance, a healthcare device, an implant, a sensor/actuator, a display, or any other similar functioning device. Some of the UEs 104 may be referred to as IoT devices (e.g., parking meter, gas pump, toaster, vehicles, heart monitor, etc.). The UE 104 may also be referred to as a station, a mobile station, a subscriber station, a mobile unit, a subscriber unit, a wireless unit, a remote unit, a mobile device, a wireless device, a wireless communications device, a remote device, a mobile subscriber station, an access terminal, a mobile terminal, a wireless terminal, a remote terminal, a handset, a user agent, a mobile client, a client, or some other suitable terminology.)
Regarding Claim 25:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the network node comprises: a sensing management function (SnMF); a location management function (LMF); an access and mobility management function (AMF); an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) function; an over-the-top (OTT) function; or an open radio access network (O-RAN) function. ([¶0052] The core network 190 may include an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) 192, other AMFs 193, a Session Management Function (SMF) 194, and a User Plane Function (UPF) 195. The AMF 192 may be in communication with a Unified Data Management (UDM) 196. The AMF 192 is the control node that processes the signaling between the UEs 104 and the core network 190. Generally, the AMF 192 provides QoS flow and session management. All user Internet protocol (IP) packets are transferred through the UPF 195. The UPF 195 provides UE IP address allocation as well as other functions. The UPF 195 is connected to the IP Services 197. The IP Services 197 may include the Internet, an intranet, an IP Multimedia Subsystem (IMS), a Packet Switch (PS) Streaming (PSS) Service, and/or other IP services.)
Regarding Claim 29:
Park discloses:
A method of wireless sensing performed by a network node, comprising: second set of one or more sensing reference signals over a second set of transmit beams during a second stage of the sensing session based on a plurality of criteria, ( [¶0039] the RF sensing device 103 includes an RF sensing beam management component 198 that is configured to perform a first beamsweep of an RF signal and measure a reflection of the RF signal based on the first beamsweep. The RF sensing beam management component 198 is configured to perform a second beamsweep of the RF signal, where the first beamsweep is based on a different parameter than the second beamsweep and to measure the reflection of the RF signal based on the second beamsweep. [0061] Channel estimates derived by a channel estimator 358 from a reference signal or feedback transmitted by the wireless device may be used by the TX processor 368 to select the appropriate coding and modulation schemes, and to facilitate spatial processing. The spatial streams generated by the TX processor 368 may be provided to different antenna 352 via separate transmitters 354TX. Each transmitter 354TX may modulate an RF carrier with a respective spatial stream for transmission. [¶0066] In a first step 400, the transmission unit 403a of an RF sensing device may beamsweep an RF signal by transmitting the RF signal over multiple beams,) wherein the plurality of criteria is based on one or more measurements of one or more sensing targets obtained by beamsweeping the first set of transmit beams, and wherein beamwidths of the second set of transmit beams are narrower than beamwidths of the first set of transmit beams. ([0067] In the second step 425, the transmission unit 403a beamsweeps 414 a set of narrower beams over a partial region. The partial region may be based on one or more beams identified in the first step 400. For example, the partial region in the second step 425 is based on the coarse beam (e.g., beam 405). The beams used to transmit the beam management signal in the second step 425 are narrower than the beams used to transmit the beam management signal in the first step 400. )
Park does not disclose:
transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing node, a first configuration… transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to the sensing node, a second configuration
Bai discloses:
transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to a sensing node, a first configuration… transmitting, via the one or more transceivers, to the sensing node, a second configuration ([0089] At 405, base station 105-c may transmit, and UE 115-c may receive, reference signal configuration information (e.g., SSB configuration information, CSI-RS configuration information, or the like). The configuration information may include configuration information for a first set of reference signals to be transmitted at 415 (e.g., SSBs or CSI-RSs to be transmitted at 415) and a second set of reference signals to be transmitted at 445 (e.g., CSI-RSs with repetition enabled in RRC signaling).)
Park and Bai are analogous as they both pertain to wireless communications. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Park to transmit reference signal configurations as taught by Bai in order to improve RF sensing (Park [¶0039]).
Regarding Claim 30:
Park in view of Bai discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Park discloses:
wherein the plurality of criteria includes a first criterion and one or more additional criteria, and wherein the first criterion includes one or more estimated positions of the one or more sensing targets. ([¶0111] In the illustrated example of FIG. 9, the RF sensing device 903 may perform RF sensing to facilitate detection of targets, such as an example first target 907a and/or an example second target 907b. In some examples, the RF sensing device 903 may perform the RF sensing to facilitate target detection of targets, such as trees, buildings, etc., that are relatively static relative to the position of the RF sensing device 903. For example, the RF sensing device 903 may perform long-term (or occasional) scanning 910 and detect the first target 907a (e.g., a building). Performing such long-term scanning 910 may be beneficial for beam anticipation by enabling the RF sensing device 903 to consider aspects of the environment 900, for example, for communications. For example, machine-learning based beam management techniques may utilize such long-term scanning techniques to detect the presence of relatively static targets (e.g., the first target 907a) and determine beam path links for communication based on the detected presence of the relatively static targets. In some examples, such long-term scanning may be beneficial when establishing a self-organized network. For example, based on the detected relatively static targets, use of SSB beams may be optimized when establishing the self-organized network and/or for facilitating communication. [¶0112] In some examples, the RF sensing device 903 may perform the RF sensing to facilitate target detection of targets, such as vehicles, etc., that are moving relative to the position of the RF sensing device 903. For example, the RF sensing device 903 may perform short-term (or real-time) scanning 912 and detect the second target 907b (e.g., a vehicle). Performing such short-term scanning 912 may be beneficial for proactive beam management that includes proactively avoiding blocking events. For example, based on a detection of a moving target (e.g., the second target 907b), a wireless device may determine to avoid a line-of-sight connection for communication. In some examples, such short-term scanning 912 may be beneficial for application-dependent sensing, such as health monitoring, gesture recognition, etc.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230370135 A1 discloses limitations found in both independent and dependent claim language.
US 20220022141 A1 discloses limitations found in both independent and dependent claim language.
US 20190394634 A1 discloses limitations found in both independent and dependent claim language.
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463