This action is in response to the claims filed 9/01/2026. Claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 1 (a method), 11 (a machine), and 15 (a method) are independent. Claims 1-14, 20 and 21 are ALLOWED and claims 15-19 and 22 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the 112(b) rejection, the amendment of 9/01/2026 has overcome the rejection and the 112(b) rejection of claims 1-10 and 20 are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 16-18, filed 9/01/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 11 in view of Angel and Subramanian (US 2011/0286584 and “Exchange Server 2013 Operation Guide”) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The noted portions of Subramanian do not include “an entire content of each of the recorded communications comprising selected text messages.” The rejection of claims 1-14, 20 and 21 has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-14, 20 and 21 are now solely rejected based on double patenting issues. See below.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 14 Applicant asserts that claims 11 and 14 would not be interpreted to invoke 112(f) because p. 11 of Applicant’s specification states: “may be implemented via software”. This argument is not persuasive.
A potential embodiment described in the specification does not limit the claims and is therefore not determinative. Furthermore, a 112(f) software means must still correspond to an algorithm to transform the microprocessor into a particular means. See MPEP 2181.II.B: “if there is no corresponding structure disclosed in the specification (i.e., the limitation is only supported by software and does not correspond to an algorithm and the computer or microprocessor programmed with the algorithm), the limitation should be deemed indefinite as discussed above, and the claim should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)”.
On page 19 Applicant states: “Lambert does not overcome the deficiencies of Angel with respect to
assigning an initial first status of the communication for the first user and an initial second status of the communication for the second user, a "status" of a communication being a label associated with the communication for a particular user, and allowing modification of the first status in the event database by only the first user, and allowing modification of the second status in the event database by only the second user. Lambert does not disclose or suggest assigning respective statuses of a communication in the same event database, as recited in present claim 15.” This argument is not persuasive.
The ’tasks’ of Lambert are analogous to the claimed ‘status’ (Lambert p. 65) and are based on the user’s independent mailbox/credential (“can use Outlook to work with all the features of your Exchange account, including email, calendaring, contact tracking, task tracking, and notes.” Lambert p. 6). As noted in Lambert p. 70, the tasks can be updated after initially set.
An exchange account is analogous to the event database, and stores data for all enterprise/organization users.
Applicant further states: “In Lambert, Microsoft Outlook assigns the message flags in each of the respective users' versions of Outlook.”
Applicant appears to be implying that a “users’ versions of Outlook” means there is no central database. See Lambert p. 6 noting “exchange account”. Outlook connects to a central exchange server to update the account specific data. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,498,899. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently presented claims are anticipated or obvious variants of the features in claims 1-5 of ‘899.
Claim 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,388,290. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently presented claims are anticipated or obvious variants of the features in claims 1-12 of ‘290.
Claim 1-22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,143,538. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the presently presented claims are anticipated or obvious variants of the features in claims 1-17 of 12,143,538.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(claim 11) message recording module: See Applicants specification page 9 and figure 1.
(claim 11) recorded communication module: See Applicants specification page 14-15 and figure 1, discussing the message checking and retrieval module.
(claim 11) time-stamp module: See Applicants specification page 4 and figure 1.
(claim 11) master control module: See Applicants specification pages 12-13 and figure 1.
(claim 14) user control module: See Applicants specification pages 12-13 and figure 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Angel et al., US 2011/0286584 (filed 2010-05), in view of Hutson et al., US 2008/0065878 (filed 2006-09), and Lambert “Microsoft Outlook 2013: Step by Step” (published 2013, from IDS 11/08/224).
As to claim 15, Angel discloses a method comprising:
receiving a communication from a first user to a second user, the communication comprising a text message;
recording the communication in an event database of a communication logging system; (“Although the primary thrust of the inventive system is the recording of voice communications, the system is designed to capture all ancillary electronic documents, emails, IMs, SMS (text messages), or other electronic data exchanged” Angel ¶ 35. “The Certification System, in its primary form, uses a Trusted Third-Party Server (see FIG. 1, explained in detail later) coupled to the Comm Paths and the content (voice communication to be recorded) is carried over the Comm Paths and is managed and secured by the trusted third party server (TTPS) operated by Certification Call System or its licensee. The TTPS orchestrates the Communications, provides for User-Comm Party management and control via a System Management Interface (SMI). The SMI runs automatic procedures to ensure system fidelity and integrity; the voice communications and content is recorded, archived, and, where requested by the Comm Party, encrypted, compressed and otherwise secured by the Certification System to be tamper-resistant.” Angel ¶ 36. See also Angel ¶¶ 59, 60)
recording a first time stamp record in the event database comprising a time the communication was received; (“Log Detail—A database of collected information of a recorded session including, but not limited to time and date of the call, called to party name and telephone number, called from telephone number, length of call, length of recording, GPS location, and the ability to create a text note detailing a descriptive reference for the individual session. Ability to be able to label and place different folders in the user account for segregation of various phone calls (invoice folder, personal memo folder, conference calls folder, etc.” Angel ¶ 114)
receiving a log-in request from the second user to confirm an identity of the second user and to allow the second user to log in to the communication logging system; (“Access controls—The System will typically use user name and password and shared secret reset arrangements, although user specified access regimes may include access fobs, token key authentication, and IP dependent, or visual key identification or a credit card that can be waved or scanned to begin a Certification call. A web cam may be employed for visual confirmations. Other biometrics may be obtained and various biometric authentications (including, but not limited to voice, fingerprint, retinal, etc.)” Angel ¶ 78)
confirming the identity of the second user based on a second password or other form of security identification entered by the second user, and allowing the second user to log in to the communication logging system based upon the confirmation; (“Login—The SMA will allow registered subscribers (users) to log into the IVR and back office functions by entering certain information, such as account name, email address, and password.” Angel ¶ 18. “Ability to Login to individual account with Username (email address) or Account # and passcode;” Angel ¶ 140)
delivering the communication to the second user; (“Options—Once a user has been registered, authenticated, and has properly logged into to Certification Call's IVR system via the SMI, the user will be provided with certain options including, but not limited to: Make a Personal Recording; Make a 2 Party Call; Initiate or join a Conference; Access archived recordings stored in Certification Call's secure servers;” Angel ¶ 131 “Link to access recordings (“My Certification Calls”) archived on Certification Call server” Angel ¶ 140)
recording … the communication was delivered to the second user; and (“Also provides for determining and documenting that recipients received and accessed the recording.” Angel ¶ 227)
restricting access to the event database such that the communication, the first time stamp record and the second time stamp record cannot be modified or deleted, thereby providing an unalterable record of the communication and the first time stamp record and the second time stamp record. (See Angel ¶¶ 37, 46, and ¶¶ 4, 44, 160, 198, 218. discussing retention policies. “To provide a certified copy of the communication session, that copy has to be authenticated, the acquisition, custody and control over that recorded comm session must be maintained and logged and the identity of the communicating parties should be stored as an adjunct, all to authenticate the comm session. All these functions are accomplished under the control TTPS 20. The specific storage location of the data is less important than accurately documenting where the data is stored and confirming the content and replication accuracy of that data from acquisition through the custody and control and over the entire storage time up through the authentication and distribution time.” Angel ¶ 153. See also Angel ¶¶ 224+)
Angel does not explicitly disclose:
a second time stamp record in the event database comprising a time
assigning an initial first status of the communication for the first user in the event database and assigning an initial second status of the communication for the second user in the event database, a "status" of a communication being a label associated with the communication for a particular user, and allowing modification of the first status by only the first user, and allowing modification of the second status by only the second user; and
receiving a request from the first user to change the first status of the communication in the event database, and changing the first status of the communication in the event database in response to the request from the first user.
Hutson discloses:
a second time stamp record in the event database comprising a time
(“The transmission database 30 in an exemplary embodiment is used to record information regarding transmissions of encrypted messages 18 from a sender 30 to a recipient 34. The transmission database 30 in an exemplary embodiment comprises a transmission ID field 80, a sent timestamp field 82, a receive timestamp field 83, a signature values field 84, and a recipient field 86, a receipt request field 88 and a sender identifier field 89. ... The received timestamp is used to record a timestamp that is associated with when the encrypted message 18 is opened by the recipient 34.” Hutson ¶ 27)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have modified Angel with Hutson by including a timestamp to document that a recipient has accessed the recording. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a timestamp to document a recipient listening to the voice information of Angel in order to record information regarding the transmission of messages between parties (Hutson ¶ 27, Angel ¶¶ 65, 227), thereby allowing for auditing and verification of the sent messages (Hutson ¶ 43).
Angel in view of Hutson does not explicitly disclose:
assigning an initial first status of the communication for the first user in the event database and assigning an initial second status of the communication for the second user in the event database, a "status" of a communication being a label associated with the communication for a particular user, and allowing modification of the first status by only the first user, and allowing modification of the second status by only the second user; and
receiving a request from the first user to change the first status of the communication in the event database, and changing the first status of the communication in the event database in response to the request from the first user.
Lambert discloses:
a second time stamp record in the event database comprising a time
(“Tracking options . You can track messages by requesting delivery receipts and read receipts. These receipts are messages automatically generated by the
recipient’s email server when it delivers the message to the recipient and when the recipient opens the message.” Lambert p. 157, as printed.)
assigning an initial first status of the communication for the first user in the event database and assigning an initial second status of the communication for the second user in the event database, a "status" of a communication being a label associated with the communication for a particular user, and allowing modification of the first status by only the first user, and allowing modification of the second status by only the second user; and
(see Lambert p. 2 (as printed) and pp. 2-16 generally, as disclosing logging in to outlook 2013. Specifically, page 6 denotes that “tasks” are account specific:
“can use Outlook to work with all the features of your Exchange account, including email, calendaring, contact tracking, task tracking, and notes.”
See Lambert p. 66 (as printed) top figure showing a “follow-up flag” as compared to the figure on page 47 showing a grey follow-up flag that is initially provided.
See Lambert pp. 71-72 (as printed) discussing “Removing tasks and flagged items from task lists” where one method includes clicking the flag in the above noted views: “In views that include a colored flag, click the flag once.”
Thus, Lambert discloses that Microsoft outlook includes a message todo/flag feature that initializes to unchecked or grey and then may be assigned a red color and subsequently re-greyed to denote a pending task. The flags are user-specific and not viewable on a different outlook account even if that account is a member to the conversation.)
receiving a request from the first user to change the first status of the communication in the event database, and changing the first status of the communication in the event database in response to the request from the first user.
(“To transfer an existing email message to your task list without creating an individual task:” Lambert p. 65, as printed. An initial status being the email as a task. “Tasks generally appear on the Outlook task lists by start date or due date. You can change the details or dates of a task, or track the progress you’ve made on it.
To update the status of a task: ….” Lambert p. 70, as printed.)
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective would have combined Angel in view of Hutson with Lambert by including the account specific task feature of Lambert in the conversation logs of Angel in view of Hutson. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Angel in view of Hutson with Lambert in order to assign tasks to conversations in addition to the existing label feature in order to organize the stored conversations and remind themselves to follow up with important or time sensitive communications, thereby providing a more manageable system for users that may have an abundance of logged messages.
As to claim 16, Angel in view of Hutson and Lambert discloses the method of claim 15 and further discloses:
notifying the first user that the communication was delivered to the second user. (“(a) AU-ID the User setting up the call-out program; (b) record a message to the called parties; (c) list the to-be-called parties; and the system (d) calls the called parties, confirms the ID of these called parties, creates and delivery log of all Comm Sessions.” Angel ¶ 65).
As to claim 17, Angel in view of Hutson and Lambert discloses the method of claim 15 and further discloses:
prior to receiving the communication from the first user to the second user, verifying the communication as having been created by the first user and that the communication is intended for the second user based on information provided by the first user. (“Options—Once a user has been registered, authenticated, and has properly logged into to Certification Call's IVR system via the SMI, the user will be provided with certain options including, but not limited to: Make a Personal Recording; Make a 2 Party Call; Initiate or join a Conference; Access archived recordings stored in Certification Call's secure servers;” Angel ¶ 131 “Link to access recordings (“My Certification Calls”) archived on Certification Call server” Angel ¶ 140).
As to claim 18, Angel in view of Hutson and Lambert discloses the method of claim 17 and further discloses:
wherein verifying the communication as having been created by the first user and is intended for the second user based on information provided by the first user, comprises:
receiving a log-in request from the first user to confirm an identity of the first user and to allow the first user to log in to the communication logging system;
confirming the identity of the first user based on a first password or other form of security identification entered by the first user, and allowing the first user to log in to the communication logging system based upon the confirmation; and
receiving information from the first user indicating that the second user is the intended recipient of the communication. (“Options—Once a user has been registered, authenticated, and has properly logged into to Certification Call's IVR system via the SMI, the user will be provided with certain options including, but not limited to: Make a Personal Recording; Make a 2 Party Call; Initiate or join a Conference; Access archived recordings stored in Certification Call's secure servers;” Angel ¶ 131 “Link to access recordings (“My Certification Calls”) archived on Certification Call server” Angel ¶ 140).
As to claim 19, Angel in view of Hutson and Lambert discloses the method of claim 18 and further discloses:
notifying the first user that the communication was delivered to the second user. (“(a) AU-ID the User setting up the call-out program; (b) record a message to the called parties; (c) list the to-be-called parties; and the system (d) calls the called parties, confirms the ID of these called parties, creates and delivery log of all Comm Sessions.” Angel ¶ 65)
As to claim 22, Angel in view of Hutson and Lambert discloses the method of claim 15 and further discloses:
wherein the text message is addressed to a respective phone number. (“Although the primary thrust of the inventive system is the recording of voice communications, the system is designed to capture all ancillary electronic documents, emails, IMs, SMS (text messages), or other electronic data exchanged” Angel ¶ 35.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892, particularly:
Verona, US 2008/0172469, disclosing certified electronic messaging.
Errico, US 2010/0257352, discloses a method for secure and certified electronic messaging.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL W CHAO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492