DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2024 was filed before the first Office action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “16” has been used to designate both an expansion system in Figure 2 and control valve in Figure 3. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant specification describes where the control circuitry 20 can activate the compressor and close the suction valve 58 to create suction from the expansion system 16, paragraph 0029, but later describes where opening the suction valve 58 isolates the expansion system to allow compressor 14 to draw the refrigerant from the expansion system, 00032.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 19 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 19, the recitation “carbon-dioxide refrigerant” should be - - a carbon dioxide refrigerant - - for clarity.
Regarding Claim 20, the recitation “the refrigerant carbon-dioxide” should be - - the carbon dioxide refrigerant - - for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN104534714) in view of Kataoka (AU2015224225B2)
Regarding Claim 1, Du teaches a heat pump [multiple heat pump systems, Figure 2; 0009], comprising:
a refrigeration circuit [Figure 2; 0009];
a compressor configured to move refrigerant through the refrigeration circuit [compressor 2, Figure 2];
an expansion system [expansion tank 9, Figure 2] fluidly coupled with the refrigeration circuit via a first valve [solenoid valve 8, Figure 2]; and
Du teaches where the first valve [solenoid valve 8] selectively provides fluid communication of the refrigerant between the refrigeration circuit and the expansion system [where by controlling the opening status of the solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank, the system can be maintained at the ideal exhaust pressure, and the safety of the system after shutdown can be guaranteed; 0021], implying electronic control, but Du does not explicitly teach control circuitry.
However, Kataoka teaches a CO2 water heater constituting a heat pump cycle using CO2 [0001] where control circuitry [control panel 86 having a built-in control device 88, Figure 2; 0032] is configured to control the first valve [valve 34, Figure 1] to selectively provide fluid communication of the refrigerant between the refrigeration circuit and the expansion system [where control system controls operation of the flow regulating valves 34, 35 based on detected values; 0033] where one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods and that in combination, each element would perform the same function as it did separately and one of ordinary skills would have recognized that the results of the combination, control circuitry and a solenoid valve arrangement, were predictable i.e., automating system operational modes by coordinating multiple valves with control circuitry.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Du to have control circuitry in view of the teachings of Katoaka where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results i.e., automating system operations by coordinating multiple valves with control circuitry.
Regarding Claim 2, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the expansion system includes an expansion tank [expansion tank 9, Figure 2] configured to store the refrigerant [where by controlling the opening status of the solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank the system can be maintained at idea pressure, Figure 2; 0021].
Regarding Claim 3, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 2 and further teaches where the first valve [solenoid valve 8, Figure 2] fluidly interposes the refrigeration circuit and the expansion tank [where the line between the outlet of coil heat exchanger 3 and suction inlet of compressor 1 is connected to expansion tank 9 via solenoid valve 8, Figure 2; 0036].
Regarding Claim 4, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches a sensor configured to detect a condition of the refrigeration circuit [intake pressure sensor 16, Figure 2], wherein the control circuitry [refer to Katoaka as applied to rejection of claim 1 above] is configured to control the first valve in response to the condition of the refrigeration circuit [where the opening status of the solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank are controlled to maintain ideal exhuast pressure; 0021; 0043].
Regarding Claim 5, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 4, and further teaches where the condition includes a pressure of the refrigeration circuit [an upper limit of the set value and a lower limit of the set value; 0017].
Regarding Claim 6, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 5 and further teaches where the control circuitry [see Katoaka as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above] is configured to communicate a signal to close the first valve when the pressure is below a pressure threshold [where the solenoid valve connected to high pressure in front, front solenoid valve 8, closes when it is at the lower limit of the set value, below the upper limit of the set value; 0017].
Regarding Claim 7, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 6 and further teaches where the control circuitry [refer to Katoaka as applied to claim 1 above] is configured to control the first valve to open when the pressure is at or above the pressure threshold [where when the system exhaust pressure exceeds the upper limit of the set value, the solenoid valve connected to the high pressure, solenoid valve 8, opens; 0017].
Regarding Claim 8, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 5 and further teaches a second valve [solenoid valve 11, Figure 2] in series with the first valve via an interposing conduit in fluid communication with the refrigeration circuit [where the line between the outlet of coil heat exchanger 3 and the suction inlet of compressor 1 is connected to the expansion tank 9 equipped with safety valve 10 via front solenoid valve 8 and rear solenoid valve 11; 0036].
Regarding Claim 9, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 and further teaches where the second valve [solenoid valve 11, Figure 2] is normally open [where when a system stops, all solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank in the corresponding system open; 0042].
Regarding Claim 10, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 9 and further teaches where the control circuitry [refer to Katoaka as applied to the rejection of claim 1 above] is configured to: control the first valve [solenoid valve 8, Figure 2] and the second valve [solenoid valve 11, Figure 2] based on the pressure of the refrigeration circuit [0043;0044].
Regarding Claim 11, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 8 and further teaches where the first valve [solenoid valve 8, Figure 2] is fluidly coupled with the refrigeration circuit upstream of the compressor [via the line between the outlet of coil heat exchanger 3 and the suction inlet of compressor 1, Figure 2; 0036].
Regarding Claim 12, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches a gas cooler heat exchanger [where a coil heat exchanger 3 downstream of compressor 1, Figure 2] for transferring heat from the refrigerant to a water supply [where coil heat exchanger 3 is configured to exchange heat with an external fluid line, seen in Figure 2].
Regarding Claim 13, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 12 and further teaches where the refrigerant is carbon dioxide [where the heat pump system includes two or more CO2 heat pump systems; 0009].
Regarding Claim 14, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 1 and further teaches where the first valve [solenoid valve 8, Figure 2] is normally open [where when a system stops, all solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank in the corresponding system open;0016].
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN104534714) in view of Shu (CN104534714A).
Regarding Claim 15, Du teaches a method for operating a heat pump [multiple heat pump systems, Figure 2; 0009] having an expansion system [expansion tank 9, Figure 2], comprising: operating a compressor [compressor 1, Figure 2] of a refrigeration circuit to draw refrigerant from the expansion system through a control valve [solenoid valve 11, Figure 2]; and closing fluid communication between the refrigeration circuit and the expansion system [where when the compressor starts, all solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank in the corresponding system close; 0042]
Du further teaches a suction valve upstream of the expansion system [charging valve 13, Figure 2] but does not teach closing a suction valve and opening the suction valve based on a pressure of the refrigeration circuit.
However, Shu teaches a method for controlling the refrigerant charge of an air conditioner [0002] including closing a suction valve [where charging switch 107 is closed when refrigerant is sufficient; 0047] and opening the suction valve based on a pressure of the refrigeration circuit [where in an embodiment, if the detected pressure is less than the preset maximum pressure, refrigerant charge is determined to be insufficient; 0051; where charging is performed by opening charging switch 107; 0047; 0049] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., maintaining optimal refrigerant charge by providing controlled refrigerant charging [Shu, 0015]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Du to have closing a suction valve and opening the suction valve based on a pressure of the refrigeration circuit in view of the teachings of Shu where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., maintaining optimal refrigerant charge by providing controlled refrigerant charging [Shu, 0015].
Regarding Claim 16, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 15 and does not teach where opening the suction valve is based further on the pressure of the refrigeration circuit being below a pressure threshold.
However, Shu teaches a method for controlling the refrigerant charge of an air conditioner [0002] opening the suction valve based further on the pressure of the refrigeration circuit being below a pressure threshold [where in an embodiment, if the detected pressure is less than the preset maximum pressure, refrigerant charge is determined to be insufficient; 0051; where charging is performed by opening charging switch 107; 0047; 0049] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., maintaining optimal refrigerant charge by providing controlled refrigerant charging [Shu, 0015]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Du to have opening the suction valve is based further on the pressure of the refrigeration circuit being below a pressure threshold in view of the teachings of Shu where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., maintaining optimal refrigerant charge by providing controlled refrigerant charging [Shu, 0015].
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du (CN104534714) in view of Shu (CN104534714A) as applied to claim 15 above and in further view of Houser (US4484452A).
Regarding Claim 17, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 15 and does not teach closing an expansion valve downstream of the compressor when the suction valve is closed.
However, Houser teaches a novel automated system for controlling the amount of refrigerant charge in a heat pump refrigerant circuit [col. 1, lines 5-8] including closing an expansion valve [EEV 17, Figure 1] downstream of the compressor when the suction valve [charge control valve 25, Figure 1] is closed [where in a stop subroutine, when suction pressure is below a predetermined PS, instruction 172 turns the compressor off, closes charge control valve 25 and both valves 17 and 18; col. 10, lines 1-21] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., preventing a charge from migrating to the compressor during an off cycle [Houser; col. 10, lines 1-21]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Du to have closing an expansion valve downstream of the compressor when the suction valve is closed in view of the teachings of Houser where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., preventing a charge from migrating to the compressor during an off cycle [Houser; col. 10, lines 1-21]
Regarding Claim 18, Du, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 15 and further teaches closing the control valve [where valve 11 is closed below a high-pressure threshold and above a low pressure threshold; 0042-0044] and opening the suction valve [refer to Shu as applied to the claim 15 above], but does not teach in response to the pressure being below a pressure threshold, deactivating the compressor.
However, Houser teaches a novel automated system for controlling the amount of refrigerant charge in a heat pump refrigerant circuit [col. 1, lines 5-8] including in response to the pressure being below a pressure threshold, deactivating the compressor [where in a stop subroutine, when suction pressure is below a predetermined PS, instruction 172 turns the compressor off; col. 10, lines 1-21] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., ensuring refrigerant is stored prior to shutdown [Houser; col. 10, lines 1-21].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Du to have, in response to the pressure being below a pressure threshold, deactivating the compressor, in view of the teachings of Houser where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., ensuring refrigerant is stored prior to shutdown [Houser; col. 10, lines 1-21].
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tilley (US20220373193A1) in view of Du (CN104534714).
Regarding Claim 19, Tilley teaches a heat pump water heater [where heat pump 140 heats utility water; 0004], comprising:
a refrigeration circuit [water heater heat pump 140, Figure 2];
carbon-dioxide refrigerant disposed in the refrigeration circuit [where the refrigerant can be carbon dioxide; 0011]; and does not teach
the heat pump water heater comprising an expansion tank configured to store the carbon-dioxide refrigerant in response to pressure of the refrigeration circuit exceeding a pressure threshold; and
a normally-open expansion circuit fluidly interposing the refrigeration circuit and the expansion tank.
However, Du teaches a CO2 heat pump system [0007] where an expansion tank [expansion tank 9, Figure 2] is configured to store the carbon-dioxide refrigerant in response to pressure of the refrigeration circuit exceeding a pressure threshold [where when the system exhaust pressure exceeds the upper limit of the set value, the solenoid valve connected to the high pressure in front of the expansion tank opens until it reaches the lower limit of the set value and then closes; 0017]; and
a normally-open expansion circuit [where when a system stops, all solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank in the corresponding system open; when the compressor starts, all solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank in the corresponding system close; 0016] fluidly interposing the refrigeration circuit and the expansion tank [where the line between the outlet of coil heat exchanger 3 and the suction inlet of compressor 1 is connected to the expansion tank 9 equipped with safety valve 10 via front solenoid valve 8 and rear solenoid valve 11; 0036] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., maintaining the ideal exhaust pressure where the safety of the system after shutdown can be guaranteed [Du; 0021].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Tilley to have where the heat pump water heater comprising an expansion tank configured to store the carbon-dioxide refrigerant in response to pressure of the refrigeration circuit exceeding a pressure threshold; and a normally-open expansion circuit fluidly interposing the refrigeration circuit and the expansion tank in view of the teachings of Du where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., maintaining the ideal exhaust pressure where the safety of the system after shutdown can be guaranteed [Du; 0021].
Regarding Claim 20, Tilley, as modified, teaches the invention of claim 19 and further teaches a compressor configured to pressurize the refrigerant carbon-dioxide [compressors 310A and 310B, Figure 2; 0011], and does not teach wherein the normally-open expansion circuit is coupled with the refrigeration circuit upstream of the compressor.
However, Du teaches a CO2 heat pump system [0007] where the normally-open expansion circuit [where when a system stops, all solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank in the corresponding system open; when the compressor starts, all solenoid valves before and after the expansion tank in the corresponding system close; 0016] is coupled with the refrigeration circuit upstream of the compressor [via the line between the outlet of coil heat exchanger 3 and the suction inlet of compressor 1; 0036] where one of ordinary skill in the art would have been capable of applying this known technique to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art i.e., maintaining the ideal exhaust pressure where the safety of the system after shutdown can be guaranteed [Du; 0021].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the assembly of Tilley to have where the normally-open expansion circuit is coupled with the refrigeration circuit upstream of the compressor in view of the teachings of Du where this known technique could have been applied to a known device that was ready for improvement and the results would have been predictable i.e., maintaining the ideal exhaust pressure where the safety of the system after shutdown can be guaranteed [Du; 0021].
Conclusion
/KEONA LAUREN BANKS/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763