DETIALED ACTION
This is a Non-Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-9 and 14-24 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group A Species (ii) and Group B Species (ii) in the reply filed on March 30th, 2026 in response to the Office Action dated on January 28th, 2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 15 and 21-22 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1-9, 14, 16-20 and 23-24 are currently pending and are examined below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 8th, 2024, March 19th, 2025, and January 15th, 2026 have been considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pangels (US 6336051 B1) (“Pangels”) in view of Sawada (US 20100185335 A1) (“Sawada”) in view of Jager (DE 102020200122 A1) (“Jager”) (Translation Attached).
With respect to claim 1, Pangels teaches a planning portal for a farmer to plan and initiate an agricultural use of an autonomous agricultural work machine on an agricultural field, wherein the autonomous agricultural work machine is configured to detect a surrounding area during the agricultural use using a sensor-based system, the planning portal comprising: a database configured to store information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of one or more attachments (See at least Pangels Col. 9 “As previously mentioned, the Field Coverage Planner 116 module plans a path for the harvester to follow. The path may be either a Path To Land path to move the harvester (1) from its current position to the end of the first row, (2) from the end of the last row of one land section to the first row of another land Section, or (3) a coverage path Such as an S-type path. In order to plan a path, the FCP requires, as input data, the type of plan it is to construct, Surveyed GPS points which define both the geometry of the field and the location of known obstacles, including irrigation ditches within the field, the dimensions of the harvester and its cutting instrument, the maximum range of the cameras 42 and 44 and the current position of the harvester in global coordinates. From this data the FCP 116 constructs a path made of points which are tagged with position, Velocity, curvature, trigger and other information, the points being with respect to the global reference frame”);
a communication device configured to communicate with at least one external electronic device; and at least one processor in communication with the database and the communication device, the at least one processor (See at least Pangels Cols. 4-5 “Also shown in FIG. 2 are an optional base Station computer 70 communicating with computers 48, 50 and 52 via a radio ethernet link, an optional operator display 72, and a safety monitor board 74. In one embodiment, a harvester according to the invention may be completely robotically controlled and need not even have an operator's cab. All control is exercised from the computer 70 and the operator controls 40 and display 72 are not provided. In a Second embodiment, the invention may be implemented in an on-board System which permits automated control of Some operations and manual control of other operations by an operator. For example, an operator may manually Steer the harvester to the beginning of a crop row and initiate robotic control of crop line tracking, the operator resuming manual control when the end of a row is reached. In this case computer 70 is not required but the operator display 72 and operator controls are provided in the opera tor's cab.”).
Pangels, however, fails to explicitly disclose that responsive to a selection of a respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine: automatically access the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected; automatically determine whether the respective attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and responsive to determining that the use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted: automatically transmit at least one communication in order for the autonomous agricultural work machine when coupled to the respective attachment to perform at least partly automatic operations for the agricultural use.
Sawada, however, teaches receiving a selection of a respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine (See at least Sawada FIG. 9 and Paragraphs 45-46 “If the switch 53 is not at the unlocking position, it means that an attachment is already attached so that the lever 54 has returned to its default position. Therefore, whether or not operation for selecting an attachment has been carried out is determined. At that time, the screen of the monitor 52 is automatically switched to the attachment display screen illustrated in FIG. 1, in other words to a screen for prompting the operator to select an attachment, in other words designate the attachment mounted, from among a plurality of available attachments, such as, for example, the hydraulic operated breaker 55, the hydraulic operated crusher 56, the hydraulic operated grappler 57, and the bucket 19. As selecting an attachment can be performed by means of such a component of the monitor 52 as a touch panel, the button switches 58 assigned for respective attachments, or the aforementioned combination of the selection button unit and the “enter” button, whether or not an attachment has been selected can be determined.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Pangels to include receiving a selection of a respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine, as taught by Sawada as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle control (Sawada Paragraph 11 “In order to solve the above problems, the present invention has been made and an object of the invention is to provide a work machine control device that enables reliable switching of settings for an attachment fluid pressure circuit in accordance with the attachment mounted, without requiring each attachment to be provided with identification information thereof.”).
Pangels in view of Sawada, however, fail to explicitly disclose automatically access the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected; automatically determine whether the respective attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and responsive to determining that the use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted: automatically transmit at least one communication in order for the autonomous agricultural work machine when coupled to the respective attachment to perform at least partly automatic operations for the agricultural use.
Jager teaches automatically access the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected; automatically determine whether the respective attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and responsive to determining that the use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted: automatically transmit at least one communication in order for the autonomous agricultural work machine when coupled to the respective attachment to perform at least partly automatic operations for the agricultural use (See at least Jager Paragraph 28 “The assistance system allows the work machine to automatically pick up the respective attachments, for example. The evaluation device can be used to check beforehand whether coupling the attachment is permissible based on its properties. The evaluation device can also be used to check beforehand, either alternatively or additionally, whether the use of the attachment is permissible based on its properties. For example, the attachment may have impermissible geometric dimensions, be too heavy, or a mounting for attachments of the working machine may not fit a coupling element of the attachment.” | Paragraph 61 “In step S2, environmental information of the environment of the compact loader 10 is optically captured, in this case by means of the capture device. In step S3, at least one property of an attachment 14 , 18 , 20 , 22 , 24 in the vicinity of the compact loader 10 is determined depending on the recorded environmental information, in this case by means of the evaluation device 30 . In step S4, at least one machine function of the compact loader 10 is controlled depending on at least one specific property of the attachment. In the described example, this refers to the bucket picked up by the compact loader 10. In this embodiment, control is effected by means of the control device 32 .”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Pangels in view of Sawada to include automatically access the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected; automatically determine whether the respective attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and responsive to determining that the use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted: automatically transmit at least one communication in order for the autonomous agricultural work machine when coupled to the respective attachment to perform at least partly automatic operations for the agricultural use, as taught by Jager as disclosed above, in order to ensure efficient and safe work by the agricultural work machine (Jager Paragraph 1 “The present application relates to an assistance system for a working machine and a method for operating an assistance system”).
With respect to claim 2, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager teach that the at least one processor, responsive to determining that the agricultural use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is not permitted, is further configured to: automatically send one or more communications to a farmer of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to indicate the selection of the respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine is not permitted (See at least Jager Paragraphs 22-23 “”The assignment can be a link between a specific property and only one of the attachments. For example, it may be determined that one of the two attachments is not suitable for mounting on the working machine. The assistance system can then prevent accidental use of this attachment by the work machine. The other attachment can be characterized by its suitability for mounting on the working machine. Its recording and use will then be permitted accordingly. The specific characteristics of each attachment can be displayed to the operator so that he can make a selection. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on at least one specific property of both attachments. For example, it can be taken into account that a different control system is useful when two attachments are mounted simultaneously. For example, two attachments can each have a collision-free full range of motion when mounted individually. If both attachments are mounted on the machine at the same time, they can collide when the full range of motion is used. By determining their respective geometries, the assistance system can control the movements of the two attachments as a machine function in such a way that a collision is automatically excluded, even in the event of incorrect operation. | Paragraph 33 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an input device by means of which an attachment in the vicinity of the working machine can be selected for use by the working machine. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on the selected attachment. The assistance system may include a means of capturing operator input, such as a touchscreen, a keyboard, or a mouse. The selection can be a user input. This allows a user of the machine to select an attachment to be used. For example, the assistance system can identify all attachments in the vicinity of the machine that can be picked up by the machine. The machine function then enables the attachment of these implements. The selection then allows autonomous recording to be initiated, whereby the recording is also a machine function that is controlled by the control device depending on the respective properties assigned to the selected attachment. For autonomous recording, the evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the environmental information to calculate a trajectory for maneuvering the working machine to the attachment for recording. The control device can be designed to control the working machine along this trajectory as a machine function. The control device can be designed to control the position of a coupling element of the working machine for receiving the attachment.”).
With respect to claim 3, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager teach that the at least one processor, responsive to determining that the use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is not permitted, is further configured to: automatically determine an alternate attachment different from the respective attachment that was selected for the agricultural use; and automatically transmit the one or more communications for receipt by the farmer of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order for the autonomous agricultural work machine to be coupled to the alternative attachment in performing at least partly automatic operations for the agricultural use (See at least Jager Paragraphs 22-23 “The assignment can be a link between a specific property and only one of the attachments. For example, it may be determined that one of the two attachments is not suitable for mounting on the working machine. The assistance system can then prevent accidental use of this attachment by the work machine. The other attachment can be characterized by its suitability for mounting on the working machine. Its recording and use will then be permitted accordingly. The specific characteristics of each attachment can be displayed to the operator so that he can make a selection. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on at least one specific property of both attachments. For example, it can be taken into account that a different control system is useful when two attachments are mounted simultaneously. For example, two attachments can each have a collision-free full range of motion when mounted individually. If both attachments are mounted on the machine at the same time, they can collide when the full range of motion is used. By determining their respective geometries, the assistance system can control the movements of the two attachments as a machine function in such a way that a collision is automatically excluded, even in the event of incorrect operation.” | Paragraph 25 “The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the captured environmental information to determine at least one property of an object to be processed, such as a substrate. For example, the density and strength of the substrate can also be determined, which is then also taken into account in the control system. For example, this can improve optimization when calculating operating parameters. The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate at least one property of the object to be processed in order to determine the suitability of the attachment for processing.” | Paragraphs 30-33 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has a database device on which usage conditions for the respective different attachments are stored. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on a user instruction which is assigned to an attachment mounted on the machine. The database device can be integrated into the machine or installed externally. The database device can be designed together with the database device in which optical data for evaluating the captured environmental information is stored. The terms of use can, for example, be stored electronically. The terms of use may include, for example, a maximum payload and other operating and safety regulations for specific attachments. The terms of use may concern an approved use and, alternatively or additionally, boundary conditions for the use of a respective attachment. The terms of use can, for example, be assigned to a type of attachment and, alternatively or additionally, to the working machine. For example, one machine may use a specific attachment differently than another machine. This can also be taken into account. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an output device which is designed to output the specific property of the attachment. For multiple attachments, their respective properties can also be assigned and displayed. The output device can be designed to provide a signal perceptible to an operator. The output can be visual, and alternatively or additionally acoustic. The output device can, for example, include at least one screen, such as a touchscreen, a lamp, or a speaker. For example, a signal tone can indicate whether an attachment is suitable for use by the construction machine or not. The operator can also be shown technical specifications of one or more attachments. Damage can also be reported. The currently applied usage conditions of the control device can also be displayed. The output device can be configured to output all results of evaluations performed by the evaluation device. The output can assist the operator of the machine in controlling it. The output can also assist the operator in monitoring the correct functioning of the assistance system. Furthermore, the operator can be informed to what extent the control of machine functions has been adapted by the control device. The output device can also be designed to indicate the control of respective machine functions by the control device depending on at least one specific property of the attachment. A warning may also be issued if manual control is performed by an operator that deviates from automatic control of a machine function by the control device depending on at least one specific characteristic of the attachment. This can reduce the likelihood of manual, overriding operator error. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an input device by means of which an attachment in the vicinity of the working machine can be selected for use by the working machine. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on the selected attachment. The assistance system may include a means of capturing operator input, such as a touchscreen, a keyboard, or a mouse. The selection can be a user input. This allows a user of the machine to select an attachment to be used. For example, the assistance system can identify all attachments in the vicinity of the machine that can be picked up by the machine. The machine function then enables the attachment of these implements. The selection then allows autonomous recording to be initiated, whereby the recording is also a machine function that is controlled by the control device depending on the respective properties assigned to the selected attachment. For autonomous recording, the evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the environmental information to calculate a trajectory for maneuvering the working machine to the attachment for recording. The control device can be designed to control the working machine along this trajectory as a machine function. The control device can be designed to control the position of a coupling element of the working machine for receiving the attachment.”).
With respect to claim 4, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager teach that the at least one processor is configured to automatically determine an alternate attachment different from the respective attachment that was selected for the agricultural use by determining an optimum attachment responsive to the selection of the respective attachment is not permitted; and wherein the at least one processor is configured to automatically transmit, in the one or more communications, the optimum attachment (See at least Jager Paragraphs 22-23 “The assignment can be a link between a specific property and only one of the attachments. For example, it may be determined that one of the two attachments is not suitable for mounting on the working machine. The assistance system can then prevent accidental use of this attachment by the work machine. The other attachment can be characterized by its suitability for mounting on the working machine. Its recording and use will then be permitted accordingly. The specific characteristics of each attachment can be displayed to the operator so that he can make a selection. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on at least one specific property of both attachments. For example, it can be taken into account that a different control system is useful when two attachments are mounted simultaneously. For example, two attachments can each have a collision-free full range of motion when mounted individually. If both attachments are mounted on the machine at the same time, they can collide when the full range of motion is used. By determining their respective geometries, the assistance system can control the movements of the two attachments as a machine function in such a way that a collision is automatically excluded, even in the event of incorrect operation.” | Paragraph 25 “The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the captured environmental information to determine at least one property of an object to be processed, such as a substrate. For example, the density and strength of the substrate can also be determined, which is then also taken into account in the control system. For example, this can improve optimization when calculating operating parameters. The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate at least one property of the object to be processed in order to determine the suitability of the attachment for processing.” | Paragraphs 30-33 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has a database device on which usage conditions for the respective different attachments are stored. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on a user instruction which is assigned to an attachment mounted on the machine. The database device can be integrated into the machine or installed externally. The database device can be designed together with the database device in which optical data for evaluating the captured environmental information is stored. The terms of use can, for example, be stored electronically. The terms of use may include, for example, a maximum payload and other operating and safety regulations for specific attachments. The terms of use may concern an approved use and, alternatively or additionally, boundary conditions for the use of a respective attachment. The terms of use can, for example, be assigned to a type of attachment and, alternatively or additionally, to the working machine. For example, one machine may use a specific attachment differently than another machine. This can also be taken into account. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an output device which is designed to output the specific property of the attachment. For multiple attachments, their respective properties can also be assigned and displayed. The output device can be designed to provide a signal perceptible to an operator. The output can be visual, and alternatively or additionally acoustic. The output device can, for example, include at least one screen, such as a touchscreen, a lamp, or a speaker. For example, a signal tone can indicate whether an attachment is suitable for use by the construction machine or not. The operator can also be shown technical specifications of one or more attachments. Damage can also be reported. The currently applied usage conditions of the control device can also be displayed. The output device can be configured to output all results of evaluations performed by the evaluation device. The output can assist the operator of the machine in controlling it. The output can also assist the operator in monitoring the correct functioning of the assistance system. Furthermore, the operator can be informed to what extent the control of machine functions has been adapted by the control device. The output device can also be designed to indicate the control of respective machine functions by the control device depending on at least one specific property of the attachment. A warning may also be issued if manual control is performed by an operator that deviates from automatic control of a machine function by the control device depending on at least one specific characteristic of the attachment. This can reduce the likelihood of manual, overriding operator error. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an input device by means of which an attachment in the vicinity of the working machine can be selected for use by the working machine. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on the selected attachment. The assistance system may include a means of capturing operator input, such as a touchscreen, a keyboard, or a mouse. The selection can be a user input. This allows a user of the machine to select an attachment to be used. For example, the assistance system can identify all attachments in the vicinity of the machine that can be picked up by the machine. The machine function then enables the attachment of these implements. The selection then allows autonomous recording to be initiated, whereby the recording is also a machine function that is controlled by the control device depending on the respective properties assigned to the selected attachment. For autonomous recording, the evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the environmental information to calculate a trajectory for maneuvering the working machine to the attachment for recording. The control device can be designed to control the working machine along this trajectory as a machine function. The control device can be designed to control the position of a coupling element of the working machine for receiving the attachment.”).
With respect to claim 9, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager teach that the at least one processor is configured to receive the selection of the respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine from the farmer via an electronic device; and wherein the selection received from the electronic device is selected by the farmer from a plurality of attachments displayed on a screen of the electronic device (See at least Jager Paragraph 23 “The other attachment can be characterized by its suitability for mounting on the working machine. Its recording and use will then be permitted accordingly. The specific characteristics of each attachment can be displayed to the operator so that he can make a selection. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on at least one specific property of both attachments. For example, it can be taken into account that a different control system is useful when two attachments are mounted simultaneously. For example, two attachments can each have a collision-free full range of motion when mounted individually. If both attachments are mounted on the machine at the same time, they can collide when the full range of motion is used. By determining their respective geometries, the assistance system can control the movements of the two attachments as a machine function in such a way that a collision is automatically excluded, even in the event of incorrect operation.”).
With respect to claim 16, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager teach that the autonomous agricultural work machine includes a driver’s cab (See at least Sawada Paragraph 28 “As illustrated in FIG. 2, a work machine 11 includes a lower structure 12, an upper structure 13, a cab 14 constituting an operator's cabin”).
With respect to claim 17, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager teach that the dimension of the respective attachment is wider than a width of the autonomous agricultural work machine; and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the respective attachment is not permitted by comparing the dimension of the respective attachment with the width of the autonomous agricultural work machine (See at least Jager Paragraph 28 “The assistance system allows the work machine to automatically pick up the respective attachments, for example. The evaluation device can be used to check beforehand whether coupling the attachment is permissible based on its properties. The evaluation device can also be used to check beforehand, either alternatively or additionally, whether the use of the attachment is permissible based on its properties. For example, the attachment may have impermissible geometric dimensions, be too heavy, or a mounting for attachments of the working machine may not fit a coupling element of the attachment.”)
With respect to claim 18, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager teach that the at least one processor comprises at least one server (See at least Jager Paragraph 12 “The database device can, for example, be part of a central server, which is located externally to the working machine. This allows for easy addition and modification of stored optical data. Furthermore, the data set can then be used jointly by several assistance systems. The optical data can be retrieved by the evaluation device via the database device, for example via the Internet, and alternatively or additionally via a mobile connection.”).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pangels (US 6336051 B1) (“Pangels”) in view of Sawada (US 20100185335 A1) (“Sawada”) in view of Jager (DE 102020200122 A1) (“Jager”) (Translation Attached) further in view of Hoff (US 2006009233 A1) (“Hoff”).
With respect to claim 5, Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager teach the at least one processor is configured to automatically transmit, in the one or more communications, the optimum attachment with a request for approval by the farmer to use the optimum attachment; responsive to receiving approval from the farmer to use the optimum attachment, the at least one processor is configured to send at least one communication in order to at least partly automatically use the optimum attachment for the agricultural use (See at least Jager Paragraphs 22-23 “The assignment can be a link between a specific property and only one of the attachments. For example, it may be determined that one of the two attachments is not suitable for mounting on the working machine. The assistance system can then prevent accidental use of this attachment by the work machine. The other attachment can be characterized by its suitability for mounting on the working machine. Its recording and use will then be permitted accordingly. The specific characteristics of each attachment can be displayed to the operator so that he can make a selection. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on at least one specific property of both attachments. For example, it can be taken into account that a different control system is useful when two attachments are mounted simultaneously. For example, two attachments can each have a collision-free full range of motion when mounted individually. If both attachments are mounted on the machine at the same time, they can collide when the full range of motion is used. By determining their respective geometries, the assistance system can control the movements of the two attachments as a machine function in such a way that a collision is automatically excluded, even in the event of incorrect operation.” | Paragraph 25 “The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the captured environmental information to determine at least one property of an object to be processed, such as a substrate. For example, the density and strength of the substrate can also be determined, which is then also taken into account in the control system. For example, this can improve optimization when calculating operating parameters. The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate at least one property of the object to be processed in order to determine the suitability of the attachment for processing.” | Paragraphs 30-33 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has a database device on which usage conditions for the respective different attachments are stored. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on a user instruction which is assigned to an attachment mounted on the machine. The database device can be integrated into the machine or installed externally. The database device can be designed together with the database device in which optical data for evaluating the captured environmental information is stored. The terms of use can, for example, be stored electronically. The terms of use may include, for example, a maximum payload and other operating and safety regulations for specific attachments. The terms of use may concern an approved use and, alternatively or additionally, boundary conditions for the use of a respective attachment. The terms of use can, for example, be assigned to a type of attachment and, alternatively or additionally, to the working machine. For example, one machine may use a specific attachment differently than another machine. This can also be taken into account. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an output device which is designed to output the specific property of the attachment. For multiple attachments, their respective properties can also be assigned and displayed. The output device can be designed to provide a signal perceptible to an operator. The output can be visual, and alternatively or additionally acoustic. The output device can, for example, include at least one screen, such as a touchscreen, a lamp, or a speaker. For example, a signal tone can indicate whether an attachment is suitable for use by the construction machine or not. The operator can also be shown technical specifications of one or more attachments. Damage can also be reported. The currently applied usage conditions of the control device can also be displayed. The output device can be configured to output all results of evaluations performed by the evaluation device. The output can assist the operator of the machine in controlling it. The output can also assist the operator in monitoring the correct functioning of the assistance system. Furthermore, the operator can be informed to what extent the control of machine functions has been adapted by the control device. The output device can also be designed to indicate the control of respective machine functions by the control device depending on at least one specific property of the attachment. A warning may also be issued if manual control is performed by an operator that deviates from automatic control of a machine function by the control device depending on at least one specific characteristic of the attachment. This can reduce the likelihood of manual, overriding operator error. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an input device by means of which an attachment in the vicinity of the working machine can be selected for use by the working machine. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on the selected attachment. The assistance system may include a means of capturing operator input, such as a touchscreen, a keyboard, or a mouse. The selection can be a user input. This allows a user of the machine to select an attachment to be used. For example, the assistance system can identify all attachments in the vicinity of the machine that can be picked up by the machine. The machine function then enables the attachment of these implements. The selection then allows autonomous recording to be initiated, whereby the recording is also a machine function that is controlled by the control device depending on the respective properties assigned to the selected attachment. For autonomous recording, the evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the environmental information to calculate a trajectory for maneuvering the working machine to the attachment for recording. The control device can be designed to control the working machine along this trajectory as a machine function. The control device can be designed to control the position of a coupling element of the working machine for receiving the attachment.”).
Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager, however, fails to explicitly disclose, that responsive to receiving a rejection from the farmer to use the optimum attachment, the at least one processor is configured to determine a different attachment to use with the autonomous agricultural work machine
Hoff teaches determining multiple recommendations to a user (See at least Hoff Paragraph 46 “Processor 302 may also determine one or more corrective actions corresponding to the abnormal condition that initiated the warning (step 510). In order to determine the corrective actions, processor 302 may execute certain analysis programs or access data stored in database 310. If processor 302 determines multiple corrective actions can be performed in response to the warning, processor 302 further determines the appropriate corrective action based on predetermined criteria, such as the most fuel efficient, the lowest risk, or any types of criteria predefined by work machine manufactures or operators. Processor 302 may then display the appropriate corrective action as a recommended action on display area 408 (step 512). After processor 302 recommends the appropriate corrective action, processor 302 may also list any other corrective actions available to the operator on display area 406 (step 514). The operator can either perform the recommended corrective action or choose an optional corrective action to handle the abnormal condition.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager to include determining multiple recommendations to a user, as taught by Hoff as disclosed above, such that the at least one processor is configured to determine a different attachment to use with the autonomous agricultural work machine in response to receiving a rejection from the farmer to use the optimum attachment, in order to ensure optimal vehicle control (Hoff Paragraph 1 “This disclosure relates generally to work machine control consoles, and more particularly to systems and methods for providing recommended corrective actions and troubleshooting interfaces for work machine operators.”).
Claims 6-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pangels (US 6336051 B1) (“Pangels”) in view of Sawada (US 20100185335 A1) (“Sawada”) in view of Jager (DE 102020200122 A1) (“Jager”) (Translation Attached) further in view of Mahler (US 20230350426 A1) (“Mahler”).
With respect to claim 6, Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager teach that the database is further configured to store the information relating the detectable surrounding areas of an autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of a plurality of attachments (See at least Pangels Col. 9 “As previously mentioned, the Field Coverage Planner 116 module plans a path for the harvester to follow. The path may be either a Path To Land path to move the harvester (1) from its current position to the end of the first row, (2) from the end of the last row of one land section to the first row of another land Section, or (3) a coverage path Such as an S-type path. In order to plan a path, the FCP requires, as input data, the type of plan it is to construct, Surveyed GPS points which define both the geometry of the field and the location of known obstacles, including irrigation ditches within the field, the dimensions of the harvester and its cutting instrument, the maximum range of the cameras 42 and 44 and the current position of the harvester in global coordinates. From this data the FCP 116 constructs a path made of points which are tagged with position, Velocity, curvature, trigger and other information, the points being with respect to the global reference frame”) (See at least Jager Paragraph 31 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an output device which is designed to output the specific property of the attachment. For multiple attachments, their respective properties can also be assigned and displayed. The output device can be designed to provide a signal perceptible to an operator. The output can be visual, and alternatively or additionally acoustic. The output device can, for example, include at least one screen, such as a touchscreen, a lamp, or a speaker. For example, a signal tone can indicate whether an attachment is suitable for use by the construction machine or not. The operator can also be shown technical specifications of one or more attachments. Damage can also be reported. The currently applied usage conditions of the control device can also be displayed”).
Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager, however, fail to explicitly disclose storing information relating to the detectable surrounding areas of a plurality of autonomous agricultural work machine.
Mahler teaches storing information relating to a plurality of autonomous agricultural work machines (See at least Mahler Paragraph 16 “In particular, the management system may be supplied with planning data, which may be provided by one or both of: autonomous work vehicle(s) (e.g., the planning data being generated, recorded and/or determined by the autonomous, agricultural work vehicles); or external data sources. For example, the planning data supplied by the agricultural work vehicles and/or the external data sources may correlate with one another in time or be independent of one another in time. In this case, the circumstance may be exploited that the agricultural work vehicles may be equipped with at least one sensor apparatus (such as a plurality of different sensor apparatuses), in order to record, evaluate and store measurement data while performing individual work steps of a work process.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager to include storing information relating to a plurality of autonomous agricultural work machines, as taught by Mahler as disclosed above, such that information relating to the detectable surrounding areas of a plurality of autonomous agricultural work machine is stored, in order to ensure efficiency of the plurality of agricultural work machines (Mahler Paragraph 2 “The present invention relates to a method for deployment planning and coordination of a vehicle fleet and to a database-driven management system.”).
With respect to claim 7, Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager in view of Mahler teach that each respective autonomous agricultural work machine of the plurality of autonomous agricultural work machines has respective detectable surrounding area correlated to the respective autonomous agricultural work machine; wherein each respective attachment of the plurality of attachments has respective dimensional information relating to the dimensions correlated to the respective attachment; wherein the at least one processor is configured to automatically access the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and the dimensional information relating to the dimensions of the respective attachment that is selected by: access the respective detectable surrounding area correlated to the respective autonomous agricultural work machine selected to perform the agricultural use; and access the respective dimensional information relating to the dimensions to the respective attachment (See at least Mahler Paragraph 16 “In particular, the management system may be supplied with planning data, which may be provided by one or both of: autonomous work vehicle(s) (e.g., the planning data being generated, recorded and/or determined by the autonomous, agricultural work vehicles); or external data sources. For example, the planning data supplied by the agricultural work vehicles and/or the external data sources may correlate with one another in time or be independent of one another in time. In this case, the circumstance may be exploited that the agricultural work vehicles may be equipped with at least one sensor apparatus (such as a plurality of different sensor apparatuses), in order to record, evaluate and store measurement data while performing individual work steps of a work process.”) (See at least Pangels Col. 9 “As previously mentioned, the Field Coverage Planner 116 module plans a path for the harvester to follow. The path may be either a Path To Land path to move the harvester (1) from its current position to the end of the first row, (2) from the end of the last row of one land section to the first row of another land Section, or (3) a coverage path Such as an S-type path. In order to plan a path, the FCP requires, as input data, the type of plan it is to construct, Surveyed GPS points which define both the geometry of the field and the location of known obstacles, including irrigation ditches within the field, the dimensions of the harvester and its cutting instrument, the maximum range of the cameras 42 and 44 and the current position of the harvester in global coordinates. From this data the FCP 116 constructs a path made of points which are tagged with position, Velocity, curvature, trigger and other information, the points being with respect to the global reference frame”) (See at least Jager Paragraphs 22-23 “The assignment can be a link between a specific property and only one of the attachments. For example, it may be determined that one of the two attachments is not suitable for mounting on the working machine. The assistance system can then prevent accidental use of this attachment by the work machine. The other attachment can be characterized by its suitability for mounting on the working machine. Its recording and use will then be permitted accordingly. The specific characteristics of each attachment can be displayed to the operator so that he can make a selection. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on at least one specific property of both attachments. For example, it can be taken into account that a different control system is useful when two attachments are mounted simultaneously. For example, two attachments can each have a collision-free full range of motion when mounted individually. If both attachments are mounted on the machine at the same time, they can collide when the full range of motion is used. By determining their respective geometries, the assistance system can control the movements of the two attachments as a machine function in such a way that a collision is automatically excluded, even in the event of incorrect operation.” | Paragraph 25 “The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the captured environmental information to determine at least one property of an object to be processed, such as a substrate. For example, the density and strength of the substrate can also be determined, which is then also taken into account in the control system. For example, this can improve optimization when calculating operating parameters. The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate at least one property of the object to be processed in order to determine the suitability of the attachment for processing.” | Paragraphs 30-33 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has a database device on which usage conditions for the respective different attachments are stored. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on a user instruction which is assigned to an attachment mounted on the machine. The database device can be integrated into the machine or installed externally. The database device can be designed together with the database device in which optical data for evaluating the captured environmental information is stored. The terms of use can, for example, be stored electronically. The terms of use may include, for example, a maximum payload and other operating and safety regulations for specific attachments. The terms of use may concern an approved use and, alternatively or additionally, boundary conditions for the use of a respective attachment. The terms of use can, for example, be assigned to a type of attachment and, alternatively or additionally, to the working machine. For example, one machine may use a specific attachment differently than another machine. This can also be taken into account. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an output device which is designed to output the specific property of the attachment. For multiple attachments, their respective properties can also be assigned and displayed. The output device can be designed to provide a signal perceptible to an operator. The output can be visual, and alternatively or additionally acoustic. The output device can, for example, include at least one screen, such as a touchscreen, a lamp, or a speaker. For example, a signal tone can indicate whether an attachment is suitable for use by the construction machine or not. The operator can also be shown technical specifications of one or more attachments. Damage can also be reported. The currently applied usage conditions of the control device can also be displayed. The output device can be configured to output all results of evaluations performed by the evaluation device. The output can assist the operator of the machine in controlling it. The output can also assist the operator in monitoring the correct functioning of the assistance system. Furthermore, the operator can be informed to what extent the control of machine functions has been adapted by the control device. The output device can also be designed to indicate the control of respective machine functions by the control device depending on at least one specific property of the attachment. A warning may also be issued if manual control is performed by an operator that deviates from automatic control of a machine function by the control device depending on at least one specific characteristic of the attachment. This can reduce the likelihood of manual, overriding operator error. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an input device by means of which an attachment in the vicinity of the working machine can be selected for use by the working machine. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on the selected attachment. The assistance system may include a means of capturing operator input, such as a touchscreen, a keyboard, or a mouse. The selection can be a user input. This allows a user of the machine to select an attachment to be used. For example, the assistance system can identify all attachments in the vicinity of the machine that can be picked up by the machine. The machine function then enables the attachment of these implements. The selection then allows autonomous recording to be initiated, whereby the recording is also a machine function that is controlled by the control device depending on the respective properties assigned to the selected attachment. For autonomous recording, the evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the environmental information to calculate a trajectory for maneuvering the working machine to the attachment for recording. The control device can be designed to control the working machine along this trajectory as a machine function. The control device can be designed to control the position of a coupling element of the working machine for receiving the attachment.”).
With respect to claim 8, Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager in view of Mahler teach that the respective attachment is selected by the farmer for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine; wherein the at least one processor is configured to, responsive to determining that the use of the respective attachment selected by the farmer for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine is not permitted, automatically determine the alternate attachment different from the respective attachment that was selected for the agricultural by: selecting a different attachment from the plurality of attachments; automatically determining whether the different attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the different attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and responsive to determining that the different attachment is permitted, automatically transmit the at least one communication in order for the autonomous agricultural work machine when coupled to the different attachment to perform at least partly automatic operations for the agricultural use (See at least Mahler Paragraph 16 “In particular, the management system may be supplied with planning data, which may be provided by one or both of: autonomous work vehicle(s) (e.g., the planning data being generated, recorded and/or determined by the autonomous, agricultural work vehicles); or external data sources. For example, the planning data supplied by the agricultural work vehicles and/or the external data sources may correlate with one another in time or be independent of one another in time. In this case, the circumstance may be exploited that the agricultural work vehicles may be equipped with at least one sensor apparatus (such as a plurality of different sensor apparatuses), in order to record, evaluate and store measurement data while performing individual work steps of a work process.”) (See at least Pangels Col. 9 “As previously mentioned, the Field Coverage Planner 116 module plans a path for the harvester to follow. The path may be either a Path To Land path to move the harvester (1) from its current position to the end of the first row, (2) from the end of the last row of one land section to the first row of another land Section, or (3) a coverage path Such as an S-type path. In order to plan a path, the FCP requires, as input data, the type of plan it is to construct, Surveyed GPS points which define both the geometry of the field and the location of known obstacles, including irrigation ditches within the field, the dimensions of the harvester and its cutting instrument, the maximum range of the cameras 42 and 44 and the current position of the harvester in global coordinates. From this data the FCP 116 constructs a path made of points which are tagged with position, Velocity, curvature, trigger and other information, the points being with respect to the global reference frame”) (See at least Jager Paragraphs 22-23 “The assignment can be a link between a specific property and only one of the attachments. For example, it may be determined that one of the two attachments is not suitable for mounting on the working machine. The assistance system can then prevent accidental use of this attachment by the work machine. The other attachment can be characterized by its suitability for mounting on the working machine. Its recording and use will then be permitted accordingly. The specific characteristics of each attachment can be displayed to the operator so that he can make a selection. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on at least one specific property of both attachments. For example, it can be taken into account that a different control system is useful when two attachments are mounted simultaneously. For example, two attachments can each have a collision-free full range of motion when mounted individually. If both attachments are mounted on the machine at the same time, they can collide when the full range of motion is used. By determining their respective geometries, the assistance system can control the movements of the two attachments as a machine function in such a way that a collision is automatically excluded, even in the event of incorrect operation.” | Paragraph 25 “The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the captured environmental information to determine at least one property of an object to be processed, such as a substrate. For example, the density and strength of the substrate can also be determined, which is then also taken into account in the control system. For example, this can improve optimization when calculating operating parameters. The evaluation device can be designed to evaluate at least one property of the object to be processed in order to determine the suitability of the attachment for processing.” | Paragraphs 30-33 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has a database device on which usage conditions for the respective different attachments are stored. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on a user instruction which is assigned to an attachment mounted on the machine. The database device can be integrated into the machine or installed externally. The database device can be designed together with the database device in which optical data for evaluating the captured environmental information is stored. The terms of use can, for example, be stored electronically. The terms of use may include, for example, a maximum payload and other operating and safety regulations for specific attachments. The terms of use may concern an approved use and, alternatively or additionally, boundary conditions for the use of a respective attachment. The terms of use can, for example, be assigned to a type of attachment and, alternatively or additionally, to the working machine. For example, one machine may use a specific attachment differently than another machine. This can also be taken into account. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an output device which is designed to output the specific property of the attachment. For multiple attachments, their respective properties can also be assigned and displayed. The output device can be designed to provide a signal perceptible to an operator. The output can be visual, and alternatively or additionally acoustic. The output device can, for example, include at least one screen, such as a touchscreen, a lamp, or a speaker. For example, a signal tone can indicate whether an attachment is suitable for use by the construction machine or not. The operator can also be shown technical specifications of one or more attachments. Damage can also be reported. The currently applied usage conditions of the control device can also be displayed. The output device can be configured to output all results of evaluations performed by the evaluation device. The output can assist the operator of the machine in controlling it. The output can also assist the operator in monitoring the correct functioning of the assistance system. Furthermore, the operator can be informed to what extent the control of machine functions has been adapted by the control device. The output device can also be designed to indicate the control of respective machine functions by the control device depending on at least one specific property of the attachment. A warning may also be issued if manual control is performed by an operator that deviates from automatic control of a machine function by the control device depending on at least one specific characteristic of the attachment. This can reduce the likelihood of manual, overriding operator error. In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an input device by means of which an attachment in the vicinity of the working machine can be selected for use by the working machine. The control device can be designed to control at least one machine function depending on the selected attachment. The assistance system may include a means of capturing operator input, such as a touchscreen, a keyboard, or a mouse. The selection can be a user input. This allows a user of the machine to select an attachment to be used. For example, the assistance system can identify all attachments in the vicinity of the machine that can be picked up by the machine. The machine function then enables the attachment of these implements. The selection then allows autonomous recording to be initiated, whereby the recording is also a machine function that is controlled by the control device depending on the respective properties assigned to the selected attachment. For autonomous recording, the evaluation device can be designed to evaluate the environmental information to calculate a trajectory for maneuvering the working machine to the attachment for recording. The control device can be designed to control the working machine along this trajectory as a machine function. The control device can be designed to control the position of a coupling element of the working machine for receiving the attachment.”).
With respect to claim 14, Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager teach dimensional information relating to the dimensions of the one or more attachments (See at least Jager Paragraph 31 “In a further developed embodiment of the assistance system, it may be provided that the assistance system has an output device which is designed to output the specific property of the attachment. For multiple attachments, their respective properties can also be assigned and displayed. The output device can be designed to provide a signal perceptible to an operator. The output can be visual, and alternatively or additionally acoustic. The output device can, for example, include at least one screen, such as a touchscreen, a lamp, or a speaker. For example, a signal tone can indicate whether an attachment is suitable for use by the construction machine or not. The operator can also be shown technical specifications of one or more attachments. Damage can also be reported. The currently applied usage conditions of the control device can also be displayed”).
Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager, however, fail to explicitly disclose a future planned coupling state of a respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine.
Mahler teaches a future planned state of control for the autonomous agricultural work machine (See at least Mahler Paragraph 1 “In one or some embodiments, the particular agricultural workflow may be planned through the management system 1 based on at least one predefined objective 20 and/or optimization strategy 21. An objective 20 may, for example, be a defined time window within which a work process, such as harvesting a field, is to be completely finished”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager to include a future planned state of control for the autonomous agricultural work machine, as taught by Mahler as disclosed above, such that a future planned coupling state of a respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is determined, in order to ensure efficiency of the plurality of agricultural work machines (Mahler Paragraph 2 “The present invention relates to a method for deployment planning and coordination of a vehicle fleet and to a database-driven management system.”).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada (US 20100185335 A1) (“Sawada”) in view of Jager (DE 102020200122 A1) (“Jager”) (Translation Attached) in view of Pangels (US 6336051 B1) (“Pangels”).
With respect to claim 1, Sawada teaches a communication device configured to communicate with a planning portal, the communication device comprising: a display; at least one communication interface configured to communicate with the planning portal; and at least one processor in communication with the display and the communication interface and configured to: input, via the display, a selection for a respective attachment for use with an autonomous agricultural work machine; transmit, via the at least one communication interface, the selection for a respective attachment (See at least Sawada FIG. 9 and Paragraphs 45-46 “If the switch 53 is not at the unlocking position, it means that an attachment is already attached so that the lever 54 has returned to its default position. Therefore, whether or not operation for selecting an attachment has been carried out is determined. At that time, the screen of the monitor 52 is automatically switched to the attachment display screen illustrated in FIG. 1, in other words to a screen for prompting the operator to select an attachment, in other words designate the attachment mounted, from among a plurality of available attachments, such as, for example, the hydraulic operated breaker 55, the hydraulic operated crusher 56, the hydraulic operated grappler 57, and the bucket 19. As selecting an attachment can be performed by means of such a component of the monitor 52 as a touch panel, the button switches 58 assigned for respective attachments, or the aforementioned combination of the selection button unit and the “enter” button, whether or not an attachment has been selected can be determined.”).
Sawada, however fails to explicitly disclose to receive an indication of whether the selection is at least one of permissible or not permissible for use with the autonomous agricultural work machine, the indication being generated by the planning portal by: responsive to the planning portal receiving the selection of the respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine: automatically access information from a database, the database configured to store the information relating to a detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of one or more attachments, the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected; automatically determine whether the respective attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and send the indication of whether the selection is at least one of permissible or not permissible for use with the autonomous agricultural work machine.
Jager teaches to receive an indication of whether the selection is at least one of permissible or not permissible for use with the autonomous agricultural work machine, the indication being generated by the planning portal by: responsive to the planning portal receiving the selection of the respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine; automatically determine whether the respective attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and send the indication of whether the selection is at least one of permissible or not permissible for use with the autonomous agricultural work machine (See at least Jager Paragraph 28 “The assistance system allows the work machine to automatically pick up the respective attachments, for example. The evaluation device can be used to check beforehand whether coupling the attachment is permissible based on its properties. The evaluation device can also be used to check beforehand, either alternatively or additionally, whether the use of the attachment is permissible based on its properties. For example, the attachment may have impermissible geometric dimensions, be too heavy, or a mounting for attachments of the working machine may not fit a coupling element of the attachment.” | Paragraph 61 “In step S2, environmental information of the environment of the compact loader 10 is optically captured, in this case by means of the capture device. In step S3, at least one property of an attachment 14 , 18 , 20 , 22 , 24 in the vicinity of the compact loader 10 is determined depending on the recorded environmental information, in this case by means of the evaluation device 30 . In step S4, at least one machine function of the compact loader 10 is controlled depending on at least one specific property of the attachment. In the described example, this refers to the bucket picked up by the compact loader 10. In this embodiment, control is effected by means of the control device 32 .”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Sawada to include to receive an indication of whether the selection is at least one of permissible or not permissible for use with the autonomous agricultural work machine, the indication being generated by the planning portal by: responsive to the planning portal receiving the selection of the respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine; automatically determine whether the respective attachment that is selected, when coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, is positioned within the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine in order to determine whether use of the respective attachment with the autonomous agricultural work machine is permitted; and send the indication of whether the selection is at least one of permissible or not permissible for use with the autonomous agricultural work machine, as taught by Jager as disclosed above, in order to ensure efficient and safe work by the agricultural work machine (Jager Paragraph 1 “The present application relates to an assistance system for a working machine and a method for operating an assistance system”).
Sawada in view of Jager, however, fail to explicitly disclose to automatically access information from a database, the database configured to store the information relating to a detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of one or more attachments, the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected
Pangels teaches to automatically access information from a database, the database configured to store the information relating to a detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of one or more attachments, the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected (See at least Pangels Col. 9 “As previously mentioned, the Field Coverage Planner 116 module plans a path for the harvester to follow. The path may be either a Path To Land path to move the harvester (1) from its current position to the end of the first row, (2) from the end of the last row of one land section to the first row of another land Section, or (3) a coverage path Such as an S-type path. In order to plan a path, the FCP requires, as input data, the type of plan it is to construct, Surveyed GPS points which define both the geometry of the field and the location of known obstacles, including irrigation ditches within the field, the dimensions of the harvester and its cutting instrument, the maximum range of the cameras 42 and 44 and the current position of the harvester in global coordinates. From this data the FCP 116 constructs a path made of points which are tagged with position, Velocity, curvature, trigger and other information, the points being with respect to the global reference frame”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Sawada in view of Jager to automatically access information from a database, the database configured to store the information relating to a detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of one or more attachments, the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine and dimensional information relating to dimensions of the attachment that is selected, as taught by Pangels as disclosed above, such that information is accessed responsive to the planning portal receiving the selection of the respective attachment for coupling with the autonomous agricultural work machine, in order to ensure accurate determination of attachment permissibility (Pagels “The present invention relates to agricultural machines and more particularly to harvesting machines which, as part of the harvesting process, cut the crop or the plants on which the crop was grown. ”).
Claims 20 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pangels (US 6336051 B1) (“Pangels”) in view of Sawada (US 20100185335 A1) (“Sawada”) in view of Jager (DE 102020200122 A1) (“Jager”) (Translation Attached) further in view of Mori (US 20250296813 A1) (“Mori”).
With respect to claim 20, Pangels in view of in Sawada in view of Jager fail to explicitly disclose that the at least one processor is configured to determine whether the respective attachment is entirely within the detectable surrounding area when the respective attachment is coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine.
Mori, however, teaches that the at least one processor is configured to determine whether the respective attachment is entirely within the detectable surrounding area when the respective attachment is coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine (See at least Mori Paragraph 359 “The working machine 1 may include a position detector 80C that detects a height position of the attachment 100, and the controller 51 may change the degree of the operational limitation in accordance with the height position of the attachment 100. For example, the position detector 80C may be a height detection sensor for the attachment 100, or detect the height of the attachment 100 based on the swing angle θ2 of the boom 21 detected by the boom angle sensor 91 and the swing angle θ3 of the arm 22 detected by the arm angle sensor 92.” | Paragraphs 365-366 “The controller 51 changes the operational area of the working machine 1 based on the height position of the attachment 100. For example, referring to FIG. 8C, the controller 51 limits the operational radius when the height position of the attachment 100 is in a horizontal region at a predetermined distance from the ground in the up-down direction, and does not limit the operational radius in regions above or below the horizontal region. The operational area of the working machine 1 may be limited by an amount that gradually decreases as the height position of the attachment 100 moves upward or downward from the ground. The controller 51 changes the operational speed of the working machine 1 based on the height position of the attachment 100. For example, referring to FIG. 8D, the controller 51 limits the operational speed when the height position of the attachment 100 is in the horizontal region, and does not limit the operational speed in regions above or below the horizontal region. The operational speed of the working machine 1 may be limited by an amount that decreases gradually or stepwise as the height position of the attachment 100 moves upward or downward from the ground. In other words, the operational speed may be lowest on the ground and highest at the uppermost and lowermost positions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager to include that the at least one processor is configured to determine whether the respective attachment is entirely within the detectable surrounding area when the respective attachment is coupled to the autonomous agricultural work machine, as taught by Mori as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal detection of the attachment (Mori Paragraph 6 “Example embodiments of the present invention make it possible to improve the safety in an operation using an attachment to hold a to-be-held object.”).
With respect to claim 23, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager in view of Mori teach that the information relating to the detectable surrounding area of the autonomous agricultural work machine relates to a dimension transverse to a direction of travel of the autonomous agricultural work machine (See at least Mori Paragraph 359 “The working machine 1 may include a position detector 80C that detects a height position of the attachment 100, and the controller 51 may change the degree of the operational limitation in accordance with the height position of the attachment 100. For example, the position detector 80C may be a height detection sensor for the attachment 100, or detect the height of the attachment 100 based on the swing angle θ2 of the boom 21 detected by the boom angle sensor 91 and the swing angle θ3 of the arm 22 detected by the arm angle sensor 92.” | Paragraphs 365-366 “The controller 51 changes the operational area of the working machine 1 based on the height position of the attachment 100. For example, referring to FIG. 8C, the controller 51 limits the operational radius when the height position of the attachment 100 is in a horizontal region at a predetermined distance from the ground in the up-down direction, and does not limit the operational radius in regions above or below the horizontal region. The operational area of the working machine 1 may be limited by an amount that gradually decreases as the height position of the attachment 100 moves upward or downward from the ground. The controller 51 changes the operational speed of the working machine 1 based on the height position of the attachment 100. For example, referring to FIG. 8D, the controller 51 limits the operational speed when the height position of the attachment 100 is in the horizontal region, and does not limit the operational speed in regions above or below the horizontal region. The operational speed of the working machine 1 may be limited by an amount that decreases gradually or stepwise as the height position of the attachment 100 moves upward or downward from the ground. In other words, the operational speed may be lowest on the ground and highest at the uppermost and lowermost positions.”).
With respect to claim 24, Pangels in view of Sawada in view of Jager in view of Mori teach that the dimensional information relates to dimensions of the one or more attachments transverse to the direction of travel of the autonomous agricultural work machine (See at least Mori Paragraph 359 “The working machine 1 may include a position detector 80C that detects a height position of the attachment 100, and the controller 51 may change the degree of the operational limitation in accordance with the height position of the attachment 100. For example, the position detector 80C may be a height detection sensor for the attachment 100, or detect the height of the attachment 100 based on the swing angle θ2 of the boom 21 detected by the boom angle sensor 91 and the swing angle θ3 of the arm 22 detected by the arm angle sensor 92.” | Paragraphs 365-366 “The controller 51 changes the operational area of the working machine 1 based on the height position of the attachment 100. For example, referring to FIG. 8C, the controller 51 limits the operational radius when the height position of the attachment 100 is in a horizontal region at a predetermined distance from the ground in the up-down direction, and does not limit the operational radius in regions above or below the horizontal region. The operational area of the working machine 1 may be limited by an amount that gradually decreases as the height position of the attachment 100 moves upward or downward from the ground. The controller 51 changes the operational speed of the working machine 1 based on the height position of the attachment 100. For example, referring to FIG. 8D, the controller 51 limits the operational speed when the height position of the attachment 100 is in the horizontal region, and does not limit the operational speed in regions above or below the horizontal region. The operational speed of the working machine 1 may be limited by an amount that decreases gradually or stepwise as the height position of the attachment 100 moves upward or downward from the ground. In other words, the operational speed may be lowest on the ground and highest at the uppermost and lowermost positions.”).
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667