DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-5 are pending in the current application.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: claim one contains the type ‘plum’ in the second to last line (likely meant to be ‘plume’). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opower (US 5324552) in view of Balooch (US 6120857).
As to claim 1, Opower discloses a laser deposition device comprising:
A vacuum chamber having a space therein maintained in a vacuum state (col 6 lines 21-31: vacuum sealed chamber; figure 1A: vacuum pumps 68, 72 to obtain vacuum conditions in the chamber);
A cylindrical target comprising a first area to which a first laser from a first laser generator reaches and a second area to which a second laser form a second laser generator reaches, and having a hollow (figure 18: showing cylindrical target 310, with central bore 382 [hollow], and a plurality [at least first and second] of laser beams 330 with contact areas 328; col 3 lines 14-30: providing a plurality of lasers [laser generators] to obtain the plurality of laser ablation sites);
A target holder inserted into the hollow defined in the cylindrical target to hold the target and including a cooling passage (figure 18: core 314 [holder] inserted into center bore of target 310; col 28 lines 5-11: cooling channel provided through core 314);
A substrate holder configured to hold the substrate on which particles formed by the laser irradiated on the cylindrical target are deposited (figure 1c: rollers [unlabeled] for continuous strip substrate 24 being coated in coating unit 88).
As to the claim limitation of a cooling device to circulate the cooling fluid passing through cooling passage and emit heat, Opower discloses a cooling channel for cooling the target, as discussed above, but is silent as to further details. Because a cooling channel for controlling the temperature of the target is disclosed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further include structure necessary for the cooling channel to actually function, this further structure including a mechanism for moving/circulating cooling fluid through the passage, and for the fluid to emit heat gained form the target, as this is the only way a cooling channel would function. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a circulation mechanism for providing cooling fluid to the disclosed cooling channel, as this would be necessary to obtain the stated goal of the cooling channel following known thermodynamic principles.
Opower, while disclosing a laser ablation deposition system with provided laser sources, is silent as to the lasers being mounted in the chamber.
Balooch discloses a laser ablation deposition system in which a vacuum chamber is provided a target and laser source for deposition onto a substrate (abstract; figure 1). Balooch also discloses knowledge in the art of mounting the laser to the chamber for securing the laser source in the desired position relative to the target and substrate (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mount a laser to the chamber, as disclosed by Balooch, in the system of Opower, because his allows for effectively holding the laser source in a desired position for a deposition system.
As to claim 4, Opower discloses a substrate transport with unwinding reel and winding reel at sides of the deposition chamber with a plurality of roller between (figure 1E/1A: showing winding/unwinding reel 110 and 14 for providing substrate 24; figure 1D: unlabeled continuous rollers for substrate 24); and a driving mechanism to drive the substrate support system (col 17 lines 48-57: driving mechanism for substrate and rollers).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opower in view of Balooch, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Richert (US 20070089982).
As to claim 2, Opower discloses a cooling passage through a cylindrical target support, but is silent as to further details.
Richert discloses a cylindrical target for a deposition system in which a cooling supply is provided to a central cooling channel within the target support (figure 3: cooling chamber/channel 40 through target tube 14 with support 22), the channel having a plurality of spiral vanes to obtain a spiral circulation and increase cooling efficiency (figure 3, paragraph 8, 13, 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a spiral path with spiral vanes to introduce a vortex, as disclosed by Richert, in the system of Opower, because this increases cooling efficiency.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Opower in view of Balooch, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Garvey (US 20030121887).
As to claim 3, Opower discloses a target holder moving part including a linear driver and rotational driver for the target holder to linearly move and rotate the target holder, the movement mechanisms mounted outside the chamber (fig. 18: drive 334 for linear and cylindrical movement of cylindrical target and holder; col 25 line 64 to col 26 line 7; figure 15: movement mechanisms 182, 184 for target 168 mounted outside chamber).
Opower, while disclosing linear movement and rotation mechanisms for the target, is silent as to a control system.
Garvey discloses a cylindrical target within a chamber provided a laser beam for ablation and deposition of material onto a substrate, the target rotated and linearly moved (abstract; figure 16: laser 86 with beam 88 to ablate cylindrical target 90 with movement mechanism 94 and rotation and linearly movement shown by arrows; paragraph 172). Garvey also discloses knowledge in the art of using a control system for the movement mechanism (figure 16: controller 65) to use sensor data to adjust process conditions including the movement of the target to obtain the desired product in a controlled manner (paragraph 100).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a controller to control the movement, as disclosed by Garvey, in the system of Opower, because this allows for controlled production of a desired deposition product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 requires specific structure for both the substrate support including a roller, drive and belt system and movement mechanisms for both laser sources including drives with rack gears and rail structure. While prior art exists disclosing knowledge in the art of various substrate movement system including roller and belt drives (see for example US 20020134310) and there is knowledge in the art of gear and rail rotation system for a laser (see for example US 6230072, figure 6-7), the laser movement is non-analogous art and one of ordinary skill in the art would not necessarily find it obvious to modify the currently applied art with such a system without impermissible hindsight combination.
Correspondence Information
/JASON BERMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794