DETAILED ACTION
2. This application is entitled to and claims the benefit of priority of CN App. No. 20231116 9829X, filed 09/12/2023. The preliminary amendment filed on 11/08/2024 is entered and acknowledged by the Examiner.
3. Claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 1-8 are under examination on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement submitted on 11/08/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner has considered the information disclosure statement.
Drawings
5. The drawings are received on 01/01/2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Priority
6. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted on 02/03/2025 under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Interpretation
7. It is submitted that polydimethylmethylvinylsiloxane is interpreted as poly(dimethyl-co-methylvinyl)siloxane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
9. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 3 recites “the hydroxyl-terminated polydimethylsiloxane in the A phase has a viscosity of 950 Pa.s to 1,050 Pa.s.”, wherein applicant fails to articulate by sufficiently distinct functional language, the required temperature in which viscosity is measured, since viscosity is a measure of a fluid's resistance to flow, influenced by factors such as temperature. Thus, claim 3 constitutes indefinite subject matter as per the metes and bounds of said phrase engenders indeterminacy in scope.
10. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites “the dispersants in the A phase, the B phase and the C phase are all methyl silicone oil having a viscosity of 9,900 Pa·s to 10,100 Pa·s.”, wherein applicant fails to articulate by sufficiently distinct functional language, the required temperature in which viscosity is measured, since viscosity is a measure of a fluid's resistance to flow, influenced by factors such as temperature. Thus, claim 4 constitutes indefinite subject matter as per the metes and bounds of said phrase engenders indeterminacy in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (CN 117304696 A, machine translation, hereinafter “’696”).
Regarding claim 1: ‘696 discloses a light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp (Page 6/15. [0012]), comprising the following raw materials in percentage by weight:
an A phase 94.09%;
a B phase 2.91%; and
a C phase 3% (Page 3, Claim 1) , wherein
the A phase comprises the following raw materials in percentage by weight:
polydimethylmethylvinylsiloxane 55-95%,
silicon dioxide 5-45%,
hydroxyl-terminated polydimethylsiloxane 0-8%, and
a dispersant 0-1%;
the B phase comprises the following raw materials in percentage by weight:
silicon dioxide 70-80%,
polydimethylsiloxane 10-20%,
a 107 raw rubber 6-10%, and
a dispersant 1.8-2.2%;
the C phase comprises the following raw materials in percentage by weight:
silicon dioxide 60-70%,
polydimethylsiloxane 10-20%,
a 107 raw rubber 6-10%,
titanium dioxide 4-6%,
a dispersant 5.88-7.78%, and
a pigment 0.12-0.22% (Page 1/15, Abstract).
Regarding claim 2: ‘696 discloses the light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp (Page 6/15. [0012]), wherein the polydimethylmethylvinylsiloxane in the A phase has a molecular weight of 610,000 to 620,000 (Page 3/15, Claim 2; Page 7/15, [0024]).
Regarding claim 3: ‘696 discloses the light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp (Page 6/15. [0012]), wherein the hydroxyl-terminated polydimethyl
siloxane in the A phase has a viscosity of 950 Pa.s to 1,050 Pa.s (Page 3/15, Claim 3; Page 7/15, [0025]).
Regarding claim 4: ‘696 discloses the light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp (Page 6/15. [0012]), wherein the dispersants in the A phase, the B phase and the C phase are all methyl silicone oil having a viscosity of 9,900 Pa·s to 10,100 Pa·s (Page 3/15, Claim 4; Page 7/15, [0026]).
Regarding claim 5: ‘696 discloses the light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp (Page 6/15. [0012]), wherein the silicon dioxide in the A phase, the B phase and the C phase has a particle size of less than or equal to 200 mesh, and the titanium dioxide in the C phase has a particle size of less than or equal to 200 mesh (Page 4/15, Claim 5; Page 7/15, [0027])
Regarding claim 6: ‘696 discloses the light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp (Page 6/15. [0012]), wherein the polydimethylsiloxane in the B phase and the C phase has a molecular weight of 610,000 to 620,000 (Page 4/15, Claim 6; Page 7/15, [0028]).
Regarding claim 7: ‘696 discloses the light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp (Page 6/15. [0012]), wherein the 107 raw rubber in the B phase and the C phase has a molecular weight of 580,000 to 670,000 (Page 4/15, Claim 7; Page 7/15, [0029]).
Regarding claim 8: ‘696 discloses a preparation method of the light diffusion material applied to secondary dimming of an LED lamp according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises:
step 1, weighing A phase, B phase and C phase substances according to a formula, respectively, and using a refiner to make a particle size of silicon dioxide and titanium dioxide less than 200 mesh (Page 7/15, [0031]);
step 2, mixing raw materials of an A phase and a B phase uniformly using a rubber mixing machine to obtain a first material body (Page 7/15, [0032]); and
step 3, feeding the first material body and raw materials of a C phase to a mixer, and performing uniform mixing to obtain a light diffusion material for secondary dimming (Page 4/15, Claim 8; Page 7/15, [0033]).
Examiner Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Del Sole can be reached on 571-272-1130. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Bijan Ahvazi/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
06/03/2026
bijan.ahvazi@uspto.gov