Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) A person shall be entitled to a patent unless—
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Padan (US 2006/0142903 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Padan discloses a system for generating live, virtual, and constructive training tactics (Abstract) comprising a tactical input/output (I/O) interface configured to receive input data and batch the input data in response to an event (10), a training tactics database configured to generate at least one tactical scenario from scenarios stored within the training tactics database (12), wherein the at least one tactical scenario is generated based on the batched input data (24) and data related to a user identification (26) stored within the training tactics database (14), an exercise controller configured to execute simulations for each tactical scenario of the at least one tactical scenario to generate at least one input vector (16) and a select tactics model configured to receive the at least one input vector to determine a selected tactic in response to the event (18-20).
Regarding claim 2, Padan discloses wherein the exercise controller receives the batched input data (44-46) and provides the batched input data to the trainings tactics database (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Padan discloses wherein the input data includes at least one of environmental data, target aircraft data, time-space position information data, and weapons data (¶ [0031]: range, altitude, airspeed, position).
Regarding claim 4, Padan discloses wherein the tactical I/O interface is configured to capture the input data when the event is detected (¶ [0031]: relevant information collected by various external artificial sensor devices, such as sensor devices that are communicated to the pilot via suitable visual display or audio devices).
Regarding claim 5, Padan discloses wherein the exercise controller is configured to provide the at least one input vector to the training tactics database (12 – 14)
Regarding claim 6, Padan discloses wherein the select tactics model is configured to provide the selected tactic to the training tactics database (¶ [0017]: file could also include rules based on the analysis of previous dogfights).
Regarding claim 7, Padan discloses wherein the training tactics database associates the selected tactic to the user identification (26).
Regarding claim 8, Padan discloses wherein the user identification includes a pilot identification such that the data related to the pilot identification includes pilot performance data (26).
Claim 9 subsumes the limitations of claim 1 above and is accordingly rejected for the same reasons give supra. Further regarding claim 9, Padan discloses a weapons bus to receive input data from components related to the aircraft (¶ [0035]: onboard computer is linked to a visual graphics display device, such as a HUD, an HMS and the like, to an audio output device, such as the pilot headsets and to a manual input device, such as a suitable stick or throttle mounted (ROTAS) control or a weapon-control-panel-mounted sub-panel), a user interface to provide a selected tactic to a user of the aircraft (¶ [0034]: visual, aural or verbal recommendations are mentally converted by the pilot to functional flight commands that are used as input to the maneuver or energy controls of the aircraft, such as the stick and throttle assemblies) and a tactical training system to generate the selected tactic used by the user interface (40, 48, 50).
Regarding claim 10, Padan discloses wherein the select tactics model provides the selected tactic to the weapons bus (¶ [0034]: pilot may choose to engage an "automatic" system position whereby the recommendation is automatically performed by the aircraft's automatic pilot system).
Regarding claim 11, Padan discloses wherein the weapons bus provides the selected tactic to the user interface through the aircraft (¶ [0035]: onboard computer is linked to a visual graphics display device, such as a HUD, an HMS and the like, to an audio output device, such as the pilot headsets and to a manual input device, such as a suitable stick or throttle mounted (ROTAS) control or a weapon-control-panel-mounted sub-panel).
Regarding claim 12, Padan discloses further comprising a radar to provide target aircraft data within the input data to the weapons bus (¶ [0033]: additional information can be received from devices such as radar).
Regarding claim 13, Padan discloses wherein the radar provides environmental data within the input data to the weapons bus (¶ [0033]: additional information can be received from devices such as radar).
Regarding claim 14, Padan discloses a time-space position information (TSPI) device to provide positioning information data within the input data to the weapons bus (¶ [0033]: onboard sensors can include … inertial sensors and GPS devices).
Regarding claim 15, Padan discloses wherein the user identification includes a pilot identification such that the data related to the pilot identification includes pilot performance data (26).
Regarding claim 16, Padan discloses method for generating real-time tactics for a live, virtual, and constructive (LVC) training system (Abstract) comprising receiving input data at a tactical input/output (I/O) interface of a tactical training system of the LVC system (10), batching the input data in response to an event within the LVC system (10), generating at least one tactical scenario from scenarios stored at a training tactics database (12) based on the batched data (24) and data related to a user identification stored within the training tactics database (26), executing simulations at an exercise controller for each tactical scenario of the at least one tactical scenario (16), generating at least one input vector for the at least one tactical scenario by the exercise controller based on the simulations and determining a tactic for the LVC system based on the at least one input vector using a select tactics model (18-20).
Regarding claim 17, Padan discloses receiving the batched data from the tactical I/O interface at the exercise controller (44-46) and providing the batched data from the exercise controller to the training tactics database Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 18, Padan discloses providing the at least one input vector to the training tactics database (12 – 14).
Regarding claim 19, Padan discloses wherein receiving the input data includes receiving the input data from a weapons bus of the LVC system (¶ [0034]: pilot may choose to engage an "automatic" system position whereby the recommendation is automatically performed by the aircraft's automatic pilot system).
Regarding claim 20, Padan discloses associating the tactic to the user identification (26).
Conclusion
The prior art considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and not relied upon is made of record on the attached PTO-892 form.
Stone (US 6763325 B1) a real-time flight simulation system.
Zyskowski (US 7284984 B1) discloses automatic longitudinal pitch control in a combat simulation.
Miasnik (US 20090081619 A1) discloses a real-time combat training system.
Ibrahim et al (US 20190112050 A1) discloses artificially intelligent flight crew systems.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Steve Rowland whose telephone number is (469) 295-9129. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Thursday, alternate Fridays, 8:30 am to 6:00 pm, Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor Dmitry Suhol can be reached at (571) 272-4430. The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Applicant may choose, at his or her discretion, to correspond with Examiner via Internet e-mail. A paper copy of any and all email correspondence will be placed in the appropriate patent application file. Email communication must be authorized in advance. Without a written authorization by applicant in place, the USPTO will not respond via e-mail to any correspondence which contains information subject to the confidentiality requirement as set forth in 35 U.S.C. 122.
Authorization may be perfected by submitting, on a separate paper, the following (or similar) disclaimer:
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
See MPEP 502.03 for more information.
/STEVE ROWLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715