DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 01/10/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the JP10-2024-0004486 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. See “Priority Document Exchange Failure State Report” dated 6/10/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mohan et al. (US 2016/0019160).
Consider claim 13, Mohan et al. discloses a storage device comprising: at least one nonvolatile memory device configured to store or read data; and a controller configured to control the at least one nonvolatile memory device and to perform a workload requested by a host, wherein the controller is configured to: divide the at least one nonvolatile memory device into a plurality of virtual groups, based on bit information and based on a physical address of the at least one nonvolatile memory device stored in a mapping table, the bit information being included in a logical address associated with the workload, being indicated by bits at preset bit positions in the logical address, and corresponding to one of the plurality of virtual groups; and perform the workload based on the plurality of virtual groups (Abstract, Fig 1B, 3, [0016]-[0022], [0030], [0049], [0053], [0082], [0083], [0103]-[0107] and [0111]-[0114], Mohan et al. discloses a storage system with a plurality of non-volatile memory modules and a plurality of controllers that utilize logical page addressing to at least two physical addresses to access a storage where the predefined bits of the logical page address are used to access a mapping table with an associated physical address and this table it used to access another table with an additional physical address to access the table. The whole process is based on what particular logical page address is submitted. Mohan et al. discloses memory being grouped into modules, channels, chips, dies, planes, blocks pages, etc.).
Consider claim 14, Mohan et al. discloses the storage device of claim 13, wherein the controller distinguishes the plurality of virtual groups based on the bit information. (Abstract, Fig 1B, 3, [0016]-[0022], [0030], [0049], [0053], [0082], [0083], [0103]-[0107] and [0111]-[0114], Mohan et al. discloses memory being grouped into modules, channels, chips, dies, planes, blocks pages, etc.).
Consider claim 15, Mohan et al. discloses the storage device of claim 13, further comprising: a plurality of flash controllers connected to perform the workload by controlling at least one of a plurality of channels to which the at least one nonvolatile memory device is connected, wherein the controller allocates the workload to one of the plurality of flash controllers based on the bit information. (Abstract, Fig 1B, 3, [0016]-[0022], [0030], [0049], [0053], [0082], [0083], [0103]-[0107] and [0111]-[0114], Mohan et al. discloses memory being grouped into modules, channels, chips, dies, planes, blocks pages, etc. The configuration of a system effects how many bits are required. The logical address is used to segway into particular sections of the memory configuration.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-12 and 16-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The applicant’s arguments, filed 1/14/2026, have been considered and are persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL ALSIP/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2136