DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in U.S. Patent Application No. 18/941,579 and an Office action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1/10/17, at line 6 in that second ‘generating’ step, recite(s) the limitation in part “utilizing a plurality of query decoder neural networks in connection with a plurality of segmentation tasks”. Given the association between a ‘query’ and ‘a plurality of segmentation tasks’, (Applicant’s Specification at e.g. [0080] “person wearing blue shirt”), it is not clear if and how (to what extent), each of the ‘plurality’ of query decoders necessarily differ structurally, and accordingly if they may in fact be realized by a shared/common/multi-layered architecture (i.e. not decoupled and distinct primarily in terms of the query received and/or impacts of a non-recited training). In other words, under at least one apparently permissible interpretation, the query decoders in question may be realized by a ‘single’/ shared/common/multi-layered decoder architecture, distinct primarily in terms of the query received (which in turn is associated with a different/query-specific task e.g. instance segmentation, “leftmost elephant” vs “small elephant in front”; Applicant’s specification/claims does not appear to limit tasks to any that are e.g. instance vs. semantic vs. panoptic). An alternative interpretation (further giving rise to interpretation ambiguity – see MPEP 2173.02), although less of an issue, may also be one where the query decoders differ primarily in terms of an associated scale/resolution. With reference to MPEP 2173.02 sub-section II, the threshold requirements for clarity and precision (analyzed not in a vacuum but in light of A-C) may depend on a consideration of (B) the teachings of the prior art. At least the following potential prior art references serve to illustrate query decoder architecture that gives rise to the question(s) above regarding the decoder architecture as recited/claimed.
Jain et al. “OneFormer: One Transformer to Rule Universal Image Segmentation”, Fig. 2 reproduced below (note x L at Transformer Decoder):
Shah et al. “LQMFormer: Language-aware Query Mask Transformer for Referring Image Segmentation”, Fig. 2 (note L x) reproduced below:
Li et al. “OMG-Seg: Is One Model Good Enough for All Segmentation?”, Fig 2 reproduced below:
With reference to Li for example (OMG-Seg), Li discloses two types of mask queries, semantic (Li Fig. 2, see also Applicant’s Specification at [0043]), and location (Li Fig. 2, see also Applicant’s Specification at [0079]). Jain’s OneFormer Fig. 2b illustrates semantic, instance and panoptic task-oriented object queries. The references identified above each/all appear to disclose a “set of queries” comparable to Applicant’s 506, and transformer decoder architecture adapted to receive such queries as input, but would Applicant assert that all of the references identified herein each fail to disclose a ‘plurality’ of query decoders? Applicant’s Fig. 5, illustrates query decoder 500, and Examiner’s doubt/suspicion is that e.g. 408a-n (606a-n, 806a-n, etc.,) even if disclosed as ‘separate’ decoders, are/may be realized by 500 (a single/shared instance of 500 – with N masks produced based on N queries). The literature identified herein appears to illustrate instances of ‘single’ transformer decoders, understood to produce a plurality of (per-query) masks. Even Mask2Former – Cheng et al. “Masked-attention Mask Transformer for Universal Image Segmentation” (Applicant’s 1/30/2025 IDS, NPL Citation No. 2) illustrates a ‘single’ transformer decoder (Lx) – with information suggesting it also produces two distinct e.g. ‘leaf’ and ‘plant’ masks – from https://mask2former.com/
Also, Cavagnero et al. “PEM: Prototype-based Efficient MaskFormer for Image Segmentation” (06 May 2024) – Figure 2 reproduced below: see “x2” in Transformer Decoder portion:
Cavagnero (PEM) discloses in e.g. Section 3.1 N learnable queries and N generated masks. Cheng’s Mask2Former (referenced above - 1/30/2025 IDS citation No. 2) explicitly discloses at Section 3.2.2 “We repeat this 3-layer Transformer decoder L times”.
Applicant’s assistance is requested in distinguishing the invention, particularly as claimed and otherwise, over the state of the prior art, and clarifying the record at large. There is a considerable body of potential prior art, limited time for Examination, and Examiner requests Applicant’s assistance in ensuring the independent claims clearly and precisely capture at least those elements considered by Applicant to be distinguishing/essential. See also MPEP 2173.02 sub-section I, identifying how claims under examination are construed differently and with a potentially lower threshold for ambiguity.
During prosecution the Office construes claims by giving them their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification in an effort to establish a clear record of what the applicant intends to claim. Such claim construction during prosecution may effectively result in a lower threshold for ambiguity than a court's determination. Packard, 751 F.3d at 1323-24, 110 USPQ2d at 1796-97 (Plager, J., concurring). However, applicant has the ability to amend the claims during prosecution to ensure that the meaning of the language is clear and definite prior to issuance or provide a persuasive explanation (with evidence as necessary) that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not consider the claim language unclear. In re Buszard, 504 F.3d 1364, 1366, 84 USPQ2d 1749, 1750 (Fed. Cir. 2007)
Dependent claims 2-9, 11-16 and 18-20 inherit and fail to cure that/those deficiencies identified above for the case of independent claim(s) 1/10/17 and are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3, 8-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cavagnero et al. “PEM: Prototype-based Efficient MaskFormer for Image Segmentation” (06 May 2024) in view of Cheng et al. “Masked-attention Mask Transformer for Universal Image Segmentation” (Applicant’s 1/30/2025 IDS, NPL Citation No. 2), and “RAP-SAM: Towards Real-Time All-Purpose Segment Anything” (18 Jan 2024).
As to claim 1, Cavagnero discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
extracting, by at least one processor utilizing an image encoder neural network, encoded feature maps from a digital image (Fig. 2 backbone in view of input image, page 3 Section 3.1 “To achieve this goal, we follow the framework provided by the MaskFormer architecture [4, 5, 37] that consists of three main components, depicted in Fig. 2: (i) a backbone extracting feature maps Fi ∈ RHi×Wi×Bi from the image I”);
generating, by the at least one processor utilizing a pixel decoder neural network, a set of mask features from the encoded feature maps generated by the image encoder neural network (Fig. 2 Pixel Decoder stage following Backbone, page 3 Section 3.1 “(ii) a pixel decoder that processes Fi to produce high-resolution multi-scale features F̂i ∈ RHi×Wi×C, with i ∈ {1, 2, 3, 4} and Hi, Wi equal to the image resolution divided by, respectively, 4, 8, 16, and 32, and”); and
generating, by the at least one processor utilizing a plurality of query decoder neural networks in connection with a plurality of segmentation tasks for the digital image, a plurality of object segmentation masks from the set of mask features generated by the pixel decoder neural network according to a plurality of separate sets of learned queries (page 3 Section 3.1 “(iii) a transformer decoder which accepts three multi-scale features F̂i, i ∈ {2, 3, 4} as input together with N learnable queries Q ∈ RN×C and it generates N refined queries Q̂ ∈ RN×C. To generate the N binary masks”, page 2 Section 2 “We benchmark the proposed PEM architecture on two distinct tasks, semantic and panoptic segmentation, on two datasets: Cityscapes [6] and ADE20K [38] (see Fig. 1)”, etc.,).
Under any assertion that Cavagnero fails to fairly disclose at least two query decoder equivalents despite that “x2” illustrated, and/or in further view of those considerations identified above with respect to 112(b), numerous references as identified in the corresponding 112(b) rejection above appear to evidence the obvious nature of relying on such a plurality of query decoder equivalents (see at least Jain and Shah above “Lx” and “x L” respectively) (decoupled for the purposes of e.g. minimizing task interference).
Cheng (Mask2Former) further evidences the obvious nature of that final generating as recited (Fig. 2 Transformer Decoder portion following Pixel Decoder and that “Lx”, page 1293 Section 3.2.2 “We repeat this 3-layer Transformer decoder L times”).
Xu’s RAP-SAM further evidences the obvious nature of varying decoder architecture between shared and decoupled embodiments – see Fig. 3(b) and (d) in particular disclosing decoupled decoder designs as obvious variants of shared embodiments.
Xu further discloses at page 7 Section 5.2, that a decoupled decoder would have more capacity, and may boost final performance by being better able to exploit benefits associated with larger/known feature extraction/backbone portions (see also reference therein to [42] Panoptic-Partformer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system and method of Cavagnero, so as to implement a plurality of query decoder equivalents as taught/suggested in Cheng, and/or so as to implement a shared/single decoder alternatively in a decoupled manner as taught/ suggested by Xu, the motivation as similarly taught/suggested therein that such a plurality of decoupled decoders may make better use of extracted features and/or minimize task interference.
As to claim 2, Cavagnero in view of Cheng and Xu teaches/suggests the method of claim 1.
Cavagnero in view of Cheng and Xu further teaches/suggests the method wherein
generating the set of mask features from the encoded feature maps comprise generating the set of mask features as a single set of mask features based on the encoded feature maps utilizing Cavagnero discloses high resolution multi-scale features F̂i derived from multi-scale convolutional pyramid network relying on deformable convolutions and self-modulation CSM – at page 2 Section 1 “While previous works enhanced a feature pyramid network (FPN) with transformer-based attention modules [4, 5, 37], we employ a more efficient fully convolutional FPN. We supplement it with a context-based self-modulation module to recover the global context and deformable convolutions [7] to allow each kernel to dynamically modify its receptive field to focus on relevant regions”; Cavagnero’s attention disclosure is limited to the transformer architecture following the pixel decoder, with the exception of that reference to [4, 5, 37] suggesting the obvious nature of pixel decoder architecture implementing attention mechanisms (FPN with transformer based attention) – Examiner notes [5] in Cavagnero is Cheng, Mask2Former); and
generating the plurality of object segmentation masks comprises generating the plurality of object segmentation masks from the single set of mask features utilizing the plurality of query decoder neural networks (Cavagnero as proposed above, in view of F̂i as passed between the pixel decoder and transformer decoder(s) of Cavagnero Fig. 2, and at least those N masks Section 3.1 “we aim to predict a set of N binary masks M ∈ {0, 1}N×H×W each associated with a probability distribution pi ∈ ΔK+1, where (H,W) is the height and width of the image, and K + 1 is the number of classes plus an additional “no object” class”).
Cheng further suggests the obvious nature of a pixel decoder utilizing a transformer neural network (page 1294, Section 4.1 Implementation details “We adopt settings from [14] with the following differences: Pixel decoder. Mask2Former is compatible with any existing pixel decoder module. In MaskFormer [14], FPN [33] is chosen as the default for its simplicity. Since our goal is to demonstrate strong performance across different segmentation tasks, we use the more advanced multi-scale deformable attention Transformer (MSDeformAttn) [66] as our default pixel decoder. Specifically, we use 6 MSDeformAttn layers applied to feature maps with resolution 1/8, 1/16 and 1/32, and use a simple upsampling layer with lateral connection on the final 1/8 feature map to generate the feature map of resolution 1/4 as the per-pixel embedding”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to further modify the system and method of Cavagnero in view of Cheng and Xu, so as to implement a known/established pixel decoder alternative, implementing a transformer neural network e.g. MSDeformAttn as taught/suggested by Cheng (see MPEP 2143 Rationale B, in further view of predictable results as evidenced by Cheng, and/or references referenced therein [66]), the motivation as similarly taught/suggested therein that such an attention mechanism (as an alternative to e.g. CNN with localized kernels) may allow for resultant feature maps to dynamically attend to information outside of said localized kernel (more context aware at the image level).
As to claim 3, Cavagnero in view of Cheng and Xu teaches/suggests the method of claim 1.
Cavagnero in view of Cheng and Xu further teaches/suggests the method wherein
generating the plurality of object segmentation masks (Cavagnero generating those N masks, Section 3.1 “we aim to predict a set of N binary masks M”) comprises:
generating, utilizing a first query decoder neural network for a first segmentation task (see claim 1 above), a first object segmentation mask from the set of mask features generated by the pixel decoder neural network (any one of the disclosed masks in view of Section 3.1, see also e.g. page 2 Section 1 “we incorporate a prototype selection mechanism which leverages a single visual token for each object descriptor”, page 4 Prototype Selection “The goal of the cross-attention is to refine each input query based on the visual features of the object it represents. However, we argue that using all the pixels belonging to an object for the refinement is redundant, since pixels associated with a specific object query will naturally become close to each other as training progresses. We can leverage this inherent redundancy to focus solely on the most relevant feature for each object, i.e. the prototype”, etc.,); and
generating, utilizing a second query decoder neural network for a second segmentation task, a second object segmentation mask from the set of mask features generated by the pixel decoder neural network (see above, for any second instance/object – see also final panoptic prediction and multiple object classes and object instances).
As to claim 10, this claim is the system claim corresponding to the method of claim 1 and is rejected accordingly. In response to any argument/assertion that e.g. Cavagnero fails to explicitly disclose generic computer processor and/or memory, Examiner would assert a reasonable reading of Cavagnero at least implies if not inherently requires such structural components. Cheng further explicitly discloses associated GPU memory constraints (Cheng at §§ 4.2 and 1 with reference to MaskFormer) further evidencing an implied and/or inherent nature of such structural components.
As to claim 17, this claim is the non-transitory CRM claim sufficiently incorporating and corresponding to the method of claim 1, and is rejected accordingly.
Additional References
Prior art made of record and not relied upon that is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Additionally cited references (see attached PTO-892) otherwise not relied upon above have been made of record in view of the manner in which they evidence the general state of the art. As suggested above, alternative combination(s) of references may serve in rejections to at least the independent claim(s) as recited, as multiple pieces of literature appear to disclose at least those three components that are a backbone, pixel decoder, and Lx Transformer decoder (query decoder equivalents).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9, 11-16 and 18-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. References of record fail to serve in any obvious combination teaching each and every limitation as required therein. With respect to claim(s) 4, 14, 16 and 19-20 in particular, Examiner has considered e.g. Chen at al. “Vision Transformer Adapter for Dense Predictions”, which may serve to evidence the obvious nature of an adapter neural network broadly, while arguably failing to serve in any obvious combination teaching the claim(s) as a whole, particularly in view of the previously proposed combination of references as required for proper rejection of independent and/or intervening claim(s), and additional/subsequent modification(s) thereto as would be necessary/required.
Inquiry
/IAN L LEMIEUX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669