DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant’s response filed on 07/20/2026 to a Requirement for Election/Restriction mailed on 05/19/2026 for Application #18/941,591 filed on 11/08/2024 in which Claims 1-20 were pending, Claims 15-20 are now withdrawn from further consideration and canceled due to a restriction election as non-elected claims, with New Claims 21-26 added.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14, 21-26 are now pending, of which Claims 8, 9, 10, 21, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102, Claims 1, 2, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103, dependent Claim(s) 3-5, 11-14, 24-26 is/are objected to as being allowable as a whole over prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of its/their base independent claim and any intervening dependent claims.
Applicant’s Most Recent Claim Set of 07/20/2026
Applicant’s most recent claim set of 07/20/2026 is considered to be the latest claim set under consideration by the examiner.
Prior Art Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and/or 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8, 9, 10, 21, 22, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al US Patent Application Publication #2005/0021968.
Regarding Claim 8, Zimmer et al discloses:
A method comprising: receiving, by a device, update data comprising a firmware image and a component identifier [(Zimmer et al. Abstract Lines 10-13) where Zimmer et al teaches that during a firmware update process, a firmware update image along with a second copy of an authentication credential is received at the platform to be updated];
authenticating the update data using a stored verification key; storing the component identifier in a protected storage region [(Zimmer et al. Abstract Lines 1-4, 13-18) where Zimmer et al teaches that during a firmware update process, a first copy of the authentication credential encrypted by a secure key that are both securely stored in a protect storage region, in this case a Trusted Platform Module, are used to authenticate the received firmware update image via confirming the received second copy of the authentication credential];
generating a verification identifier after installing the firmware image based on the installed firmware image; and generating security credentials using a hardware-based unique identifier generator in response to determining the verification identifier matches the stored component identifier [(Zimmer et al. Par 55 Lines 1-13; Par 56 Lines 1-8; Par 57 Lines 1-11) where Zimmer et al teaches that during a firmware update process, a new TPM identity or verification identifier is generated after installing the updated firmware image, and the generation of updated security credentials based on a hardware based Platform Configuration Register of which a matching verification identifier has to be presented in order to access the stored values in the Platform Configuration Register].
Regarding Claim 9:
The method of claim 8, wherein authenticating the update data comprises: retrieving a stored certificate; and verifying an authentication signature using a verification key included in the stored certificate [(Zimmer et al. Par 51 Lines 8-12) where Zimmer et al teaches the retrieval of a stored authentication certificate and utilizing a verification key from the stored authentication certificate to verify an authentication signature].
Regarding Claim 10:
The method of claim 9, wherein the stored certificate is stored in a protected region of the device [(Zimmer et al. Par 22 Lines 1-12; Par 44 Lines 1-10) where Zimmer et al teaches the storage in a secure location of authentication or verification certificates that include authentication or verification keys].
Regarding Claim 21:
It is a medium claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 8. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 8 above.
Regarding Claim 22:
It is a medium claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 9. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 9 above.
Regarding Claim 23:
It is a medium claim corresponding to the method claim of claim 10. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected with the same rationale as applied against claim 10 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmer et al US Patent Application Publication #2005/0021968 in view of PARK et al Patent Application Publication #2022/0399056.
Regarding Claim 1, Zimmer et al discloses:
A system comprising: receive update data comprising a firmware image and a component identifier; authenticate the update data; generate a verification identifier based on the firmware image after installing the firmware image; generate security credentials using a hardware-based unique identifier generator. [As explained in the rejection of Claim 8]
a hardware processor configured to [(Zimmer et al. Fig 1a Item #104)]:
Zimmer et al does not appear to explicitly disclose:
a physically unclonable function (PUF);
However, PARK et al discloses:
a physically unclonable function (PUF); [(PARK et al Par 37 Lines 1-18) where PARK et al teaches a physically unclonable function utilized in conjunction with a firmware update process].
Zimmer et al and PARK et al are analogous art because they are from the “same field of endeavor” and are from the same “problem-solving area”. Namely, they are both from the field of “information security”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zimmer et al and the teachings of PARK et al by providing a physically unclonable function utilized in conjunction with a firmware update process as taught by PARK et al in the teaching described by Zimmer et al.
The motivation for doing so would be to increase the usability and flexibility of Zimmer et al by providing a physically unclonable function utilized in conjunction with a firmware update process as taught by PARK et al in the teaching described by Zimmer et al so as to provide a secure means of identifying the validity of a specific firmware update image to be used with a specific system to be updated.
Regarding Claim 2, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. Applicant is directed to the rejection of Claim 1 above. In addition, the combination of Zimmer et al and PARK et al discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the system further comprises a stored certificate in a protected region, the stored certificate including a verification key. [(Zimmer et al. Par 22 Lines 1-12; Par 44 Lines 1-10) where Zimmer et al teaches the storage in a secure location of authentication or verification certificates that include authentication or verification keys].
Regarding Claim 6, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. Applicant is directed to the rejection of Claim 1 above. In addition, the combination of Zimmer et al and PARK et al discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the hardware-based unique identifier generator comprises a static random-access memory (SRAM) circuit or a delay circuit [(Zimmer et al. Par 55 Lines 1-13; Par 56 Lines 1-8; Par 57 Lines 1-11) where Zimmer et al teaches that the hardware-based unique identifier generator is based on a hardware Trusted Platform Module which includes Static RAM].
Regarding Claim 7, most of the limitations of this claim have been noted in the rejection of Claim 1. Applicant is directed to the rejection of Claim 1 above. In addition, the combination of Zimmer et al and PARK et al discloses:
The system of claim 1, wherein the hardware processor is further configured to: generate the security credentials without communicating with an external server. [(Zimmer et al. Par 55 Lines 1-13; Par 56 Lines 1-8; Par 57 Lines 1-11) where Zimmer et al teaches that security credentials are generated by a hardware Trusted Platform Module’s internal hardware processor which does not communicate with an external server].
Allowable Subject Matter – Dependent Claim(s)
Claim(s) 3-5, 11-14, 24-26 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable as a whole over prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of its/their base independent claim, and any intervening dependent claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The closest prior art, as recited, Zimmer et al US Patent Application Publication #2005/0021968 and PARK et al Patent Application Publication #2022/0399056, are also generally directed to various aspects of providing management of device identity and security during firmware updates. However, Zimmer et al or PARK et al does not teach or suggest, either singularly or in combination, the particular combination of steps or elements as recited in the dependent Claim(s) 3-5, 11-14, 24-26 when also incorporating all of the limitations of its/their base independent claim and any intervening dependent claims. For example, none of the cited prior art teaches or suggests the steps of:
reading a hardware-generated value from a hardware-based unique identifier generator, generating an asymmetric key pair using the hardware-generated value as a seed, using a private key of the asymmetric key pair to sign an authentication record containing the security credentials, when the verification identifier does not match the component identifier, reverting to a previous version, clearing the component identifier from a protected storage region, where the protected storage region stores both a current component identifier and a previous component identifier for enabling rollback.
As recited in dependent Claim(s) 3-5, 11-14, 24-26, when also incorporating all of the limitations of its/their base independent claim, any intervening dependent claims, and any additional limitations found in dependent Claim(s) 3-5, 11-14, 24-26.
Response to Restriction
Applicant provided no response to the Restriction except to make an election and cancel the non-elected claims, so it is assumed by the examiner that the restriction was elected without traverse.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bandakka et al - US_20130125107: Bandakka et al teaches updating firmware components with recovery logic.
Zhu et al - US_20060174242: Zhu et al teaches updating firmware components with attention to device status.
/BRADLEY W HOLDER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408