DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Response dated 4/6/2026. Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 3/26/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55, however the request for foreign priority cannot yet be approved due to the lack of certified English copies, per requirements of 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d), specifically 35 U.S.C. 119 (b)(3), see below.
(3) The Director may require a certified copy of the original foreign application, specification, and drawings upon which it is based, a translation if not in the English language, and such other information as the Director considers necessary. Any such certification shall be made by the foreign intellectual property authority in which the foreign application was filed and show the date of the application and of the filing of the specification and other papers.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments, see pages 9-10 of 17, filed 4/6/2026, with respect to claim objections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections of record have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see pages 10-13 of 17, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued against the 101 rejections of record and insisted that the claims as presented indicate a practical application, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims merely recite a variety of generic components (collection units, sensor units, detection units, communication units, control units, etc.) which implement the abstract limitations, while additionally reciting generic data manipulation limitations that are directed to insignificant extra-solution activity.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 14-16 of 17, filed 4/6/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant has argued against the prior art rejections of record, specifically that neither Mimura nor Nickel disclose or teach the amended limitations as currently presented, however the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Primary reference Mimura generally discloses a vehicle that includes a control apparatus and communication apparatus, focused on communicating information with other nearby vehicles. Secondary reference Nickel teaches a variety of roadside units which provide signals to vehicles, the signals containing information about road conditions and traffic signal patterns.
A detailed rejection follows below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 and 8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 as currently presented states “…a location…a location…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…a location…[ [ a ] ] the location…” so as to avoid any potential misinterpretations.
Claim 1 as currently presented states “…a mobile road traffic information providing apparatus…the road traffic information providing apparatus…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…a mobile road traffic information providing apparatus…the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus…” so as to avoid any potential misinterpretations.
Claim 2 as currently presented states “…a weather information collection unit…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…[ [ a ] ] the weather information collection unit…” so as to avoid any potential misinterpretations.
Claim 2 as currently presented states “…a location…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…[ [ a ] ] the location…” so as to avoid any potential misinterpretations.
Claim 8 as currently presented states “…a mobile road traffic information providing apparatus…the road traffic information providing apparatus…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…a mobile road traffic information providing apparatus…the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus…” so as to avoid any potential misinterpretations.
Claim 8 as currently presented states “…a server…the server…a server…the server…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…a server…the server…[ [ a ] ] the server…the server…” so as to avoid any potential misinterpretations.
Claim 8 as currently presented states “…an autonomous vehicle…an autonomous vehicle…the autonomous vehicle…” which the Examiner believes should be updated to instead state “…an autonomous vehicle…[ [ an ] ] the autonomous vehicle…the autonomous vehicle…” so as to avoid any potential misinterpretations.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2, dependent upon claim 1, recites identical information pertaining to “a weather information collection unit” and therefore does not further limit claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis: Step 1
Independent claims 1 and 8 are directed towards an apparatus and a system, respectively. Therefore, each of the independent claims 1 and 8 and the corresponding dependent claims 2-4, 7, and 9 are directed to a statutory category of invention under Step 1.
101 Analysis: Step 2A, Prong 1
Regarding Prong 1 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection. Claim 1 recites:
A mobile road traffic information providing apparatus for autonomous vehicles, comprising:
a moving unit configured to move the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus;
a road traffic information collection unit that is movably installed on one side of a road and collects road traffic information,
wherein the road traffic information collection unit comprises:
a sensor unit comprising at least one of camera, a radar, a light detection and ranging (LiDAR), or an ultrasonic sensor;
a traffic light information collection unit configured to collect, through the sensor unit, signal information of traffic lights within a preset range from the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus;
an unexpected situation detection unit configured to collect, through the sensor unit, information on an unexpected situation on the road within the preset range; and
a weather information collection unit configured to collect weather information from a server based on information about a location in which the road traffic information providing apparatus is installed and to collect the weather information through the camera or the ultrasonic sensor of the sensor unit,
a communication unit configured to perform vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication to receive driving information comprising a location and a driving speed from an autonomous vehicle entering the present range or to perform communication with the server; and
a control unit comprising an electronic circuit that processes an electrical signal to determine a road traffic condition based on:
information about the road on which the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus is installed; and
the road traffic information,
wherein the control unit transmits information on the road traffic condition to the autonomous vehicle via the V2X communication within the preset range or to the server.
These limitations, as drafted, are an apparatus that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation as a mental concept. That is, nothing in the claim elements preclude the steps from practically being performed as a mental process. For example, “…determine a road traffic condition…” may be interpreted as mentally determining characteristics or events at a location. Therefore, the claims are directed towards reciting an abstract idea.
101 Analysis: Step 2A, Prong 2
Regarding Prong 2 of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a "practical application.”
In the present case, the additional elements beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional elements” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A mobile road traffic information providing apparatus for autonomous vehicles, comprising:
a moving unit configured to move the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus;
a road traffic information collection unit that is movably installed on one side of a road and collects road traffic information,
wherein the road traffic information collection unit comprises:
a sensor unit comprising at least one of camera, a radar, a light detection and ranging (LiDAR), or an ultrasonic sensor;
a traffic light information collection unit configured to collect, through the sensor unit, signal information of traffic lights within a preset range from the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus;
an unexpected situation detection unit configured to collect, through the sensor unit, information on an unexpected situation on the road within the preset range; and
a weather information collection unit configured to collect weather information from a server based on information about a location in which the road traffic information providing apparatus is installed and to collect the weather information through the camera or the ultrasonic sensor of the sensor unit,
a communication unit configured to perform vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication to receive driving information comprising a location and a driving speed from an autonomous vehicle entering the present range or to perform communication with the server; and
a control unit comprising an electronic circuit that processes an electrical signal to determine a road traffic condition based on:
information about the road on which the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus is installed; and
the road traffic information,
wherein the control unit transmits information on the road traffic condition to the autonomous vehicle via the V2X communication within the preset range or to the server.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional elements do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional elements of “a mobile road traffic information providing apparatus for autonomous vehicles,” “a moving unit,” “a road traffic information collection unit,” “a sensor unit comprising at least one of camera, a radar, a light detection and ranging (LiDAR), or an ultrasonic sensor,” “a traffic light information collection unit,” “an unexpected situation detection unit,” “a weather information collection unit,” “a server,” “a communication unit,” “an autonomous vehicle or a server,” and “a control unit comprising an electronic circuit” are merely generic components which allow the abstract idea to be applied (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2)). The Examiner submits that these elements are mere computers or other machinery used as a tool to perform the existing process.
The limitations of “collects road traffic information”, “collect…signal information,” “collect…information,” “collect…weather information,” “perform vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication”, “receive driving information,” “perform communication,” “processes an electrical signal,” and “transmits information” are directed towards insignificant extra-solution activity that is data gathering/manipulation/output, which does not add any meaningful limits on the claim. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
101 Analysis: Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B in the 2019 PEG, independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As discussed, the additional elements of “a mobile road traffic information providing apparatus for autonomous vehicles,” “a moving unit,” “a road traffic information collection unit,” “a sensor unit comprising at least one of camera, a radar, a light detection and ranging (LiDAR), or an ultrasonic sensor,” “a traffic light information collection unit,” “an unexpected situation detection unit,” “a weather information collection unit,” “a server,” “a communication unit,” “an autonomous vehicle or a server,” and “a control unit comprising an electronic circuit” amounts to mere instructions to apply the exception (using additional elements such as “the control unit”). Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea does not provide significantly more. See Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). In addition, the recitation of claim limitations that attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result, does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words “apply it”.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “collects road traffic information”, “collect…signal information,” “collect…information,” “collect…weather information,” “perform vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication”, “receive driving information,” “perform communication,” “processes an electrical signal,” and “transmits information” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the background recites that the sensors are all conventional sensors mounted on the apparatus, and the specification does not provide any indication that the control unit of the apparatus is anything other than a conventional computer within the apparatus. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner. Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 recites analogous limitations to that of claim 1, deviating in the citation of a system, and is therefore rejected by the same premise.
Dependent claims 2-4, 7, and 9 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Claim 2-4 and 9 further narrows the previously recited abstract limitations (determination of road traffic conditions) and additional data gathering and data output steps, directed towards insignificant extra-solution activity. For the reasons described above with respect to claim 1, this judicial exception is not meaningfully integrated into a practical application, or significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim 7 recites the use of a generic component to display information, however a displaying function, according to the Federal Circuit in Trading Techs. Int’l v. IBG LLC, 921 F.3d 1084, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2019), and Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indemnity Co., 850 F.3d 1315, 1331 (Fed. Cir. 2017), indicates that the mere displaying of data is a well understood, routine, and conventional function.
Therefore, dependent claims 2-4, 7, and 9 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of independent claim 1.
Therefore, claims 1-4 and 7-9 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura et al. (US-2021/0174673; hereinafter Mimura; already of record) in view of Nickel et al. (US-11,036,239; hereinafter Nickel; already of record) and Ueno et al. (US-2023/0343208; hereinafter Ueno; already of record), and further in view of Morita (US-2018/0301034; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Mimura discloses a mobile road traffic information providing apparatus for autonomous vehicles (see Mimura at least Abs), comprising:
a moving unit configured to move the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus (see Mimura at least [0055] "As illustrated in FIG. 2, the host vehicle M is equipped with a communication apparatus 25, the vehicle sensor 30, the HMI 35, a travel drive force output apparatus 200, a steering apparatus 210, and a brake apparatus 220, as well as the above-described external sensor 10, navigation apparatus 20, and vehicle control apparatus 100.");
…
wherein the [apparatus] comprises:
a sensor unit comprising at least one of camera, a radar, a light detection and ranging (LiDAR), or an ultrasonic sensor (see Mimura at least [0040] "As illustrated in FIG. 1, the host vehicle M is equipped with: an external sensor 10 having a function of detecting outside information on targets including objects and signs present around the host vehicle M; a navigation apparatus 20 having a function of mapping the current position of the host vehicle M onto a map, guiding the host vehicle M to a destination through a route, and so on; and the vehicle control apparatus 100 having a function of controlling self-driving of the host vehicle M including the steering and the acceleration and deceleration of the host vehicle M and so on." and [0043] "The external sensor 10 is configured of cameras 11, radars 13, and lidars 15.");
a traffic light information collection unit configured to collect … signal information of traffic lights within a preset range from the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus (see Mimura at least [0055] "As illustrated in FIG. 2, the host vehicle M is equipped with a communication apparatus 25, the vehicle sensor 30, the HMI 35, a travel drive force output apparatus 200, a steering apparatus 210, and a brake apparatus 220, as well as the above-described external sensor 10, navigation apparatus 20, and vehicle control apparatus 100." [0058] "The communication apparatus 25 wirelessly communicates with, for example, an information providing server of a system that monitors the traffic situations of roads, such as the Vehicle Information and Communication System (VICS) (registered trademark), and obtains traffic information indicating the traffic situation of the road which the host vehicle M is currently traveling or a road which the host vehicle M will be traveling. The traffic information contains pieces of information such as information on congestion ahead, information on the times required to pass through congested areas, information on accidents, failed vehicles, and construction, information on speed restrictions and lane closures, information on the locations of parking lots, and information on the availability of parking lots and rest areas." [0060] "The communication apparatus 25 also wirelessly communicates with, for example, an information providing server of the Traffic Signal Prediction Systems (TSPS) and obtains traffic signal information on traffic lights provided on the road which the host vehicle M is currently traveling or a road which the host vehicle M will be traveling. The TSPS serves to assist driving to smoothly cross intersections with traffic lights by using the traffic signal information on the traffic lights.");
an unexpected situation detection unit configured to collect … information on an unexpected situation on the road within the preset range (see Mimura at least [0058] "The communication apparatus 25 wirelessly communicates with, for example, an information providing server of a system that monitors the traffic situations of roads, such as the Vehicle Information and Communication System (VICS) (registered trademark), and obtains traffic information indicating the traffic situation of the road which the host vehicle M is currently traveling or a road which the host vehicle M will be traveling. The traffic information contains pieces of information such as information on congestion ahead, information on the times required to pass through congested areas, information on accidents, failed vehicles, and construction, information on speed restrictions and lane closures, information on the locations of parking lots, and information on the availability of parking lots and rest areas."); and
…
a communication unit configured to perform vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication to receive driving information comprising a location and a driving speed from an autonomous vehicle entering the present range or to perform communication with the server (see Mimura at least [0055] "As illustrated in FIG. 2, the host vehicle M is equipped with a communication apparatus 25, the vehicle sensor 30, the HMI 35, a travel drive force output apparatus 200, a steering apparatus 210, and a brake apparatus 220, as well as the above-described external sensor 10, navigation apparatus 20, and vehicle control apparatus 100." [0058] "The communication apparatus 25 wirelessly communicates with, for example, an information providing server of a system that monitors the traffic situations of roads, such as the Vehicle Information and Communication System (VICS) (registered trademark), and obtains traffic information indicating the traffic situation of the road which the host vehicle M is currently traveling or a road which the host vehicle M will be traveling..." and [0146] "Note that the channel for the congestion information obtaining unit 313 to obtain the congestion information is not particularly limited. For example, the congestion information obtaining unit 313 may employ a configuration that obtains the congestion information based on VICS traffic information obtained via the communication apparatus 25 or traffic information obtained via road-to-vehicle communication or vehicle-to-vehicle communication using the communication apparatus 25."); and
a control unit comprising an electronic circuit that processes an electrical signal to determine a road traffic condition (see Mimura at least [0056] "The communication apparatus 25, the vehicle sensor 30, the HMI 35, the travel drive force output apparatus 200, the steering apparatus 210, and the brake apparatus 220 are configured such that they are connected to the vehicle control apparatus 100 so as to be capable of communicating data to and from the vehicle control apparatus 100 through the communication medium." and [0094]-[0095] "The vehicle control apparatus 100 includes the target lane determination unit 110, a driving assist control unit 120, a travel control unit 160, an HMI control unit 170, and a storage unit 180. The functions of the target lane determination unit 110 and the driving assist control unit 120 and part or entirety of the function of the travel control unit 160 are implemented by the processor executing programs (software). Also, some or all of these functions may be implemented by hardware such as a large scale integration (LSI) circuit or an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) or be implemented by a combination of software and hardware.") based on:
information about the road on which the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus is installed (see Mimura at least [0058] "The communication apparatus 25 wirelessly communicates with, for example, an information providing server of a system that monitors the traffic situations of roads, such as the Vehicle Information and Communication System (VICS) (registered trademark), and obtains traffic information indicating the traffic situation of the road which the host vehicle M is currently traveling or a road which the host vehicle M will be traveling. The traffic information contains pieces of information such as information on congestion ahead, information on the times required to pass through congested areas, information on accidents, failed vehicles, and construction, information on speed restrictions and lane closures, information on the locations of parking lots, and information on the availability of parking lots and rest areas."); and
the road traffic information (see Mimura at least [0058] "The communication apparatus 25 wirelessly communicates with, for example, an information providing server of a system that monitors the traffic situations of roads, such as the Vehicle Information and Communication System (VICS) (registered trademark), and obtains traffic information indicating the traffic situation of the road which the host vehicle M is currently traveling or a road which the host vehicle M will be traveling. The traffic information contains pieces of information such as information on congestion ahead, information on the times required to pass through congested areas, information on accidents, failed vehicles, and construction, information on speed restrictions and lane closures, information on the locations of parking lots, and information on the availability of parking lots and rest areas."),
wherein the control unit transmits information on the road traffic condition [with] the autonomous vehicle via the V2X communication within the preset range or to the server (see Mimura at least [0059] “The communication apparatus 25 may obtain the traffic information by, for example, communicating with a radio beacon provided on a side margin of the road or the like or performing vehicle-to-vehicle communication with another vehicle traveling around the host vehicle M.”).
However, while Mimura discloses a vehicle capable of receiving traffic information, it is not explicit that Mimura discloses the following information:
…a road traffic information collection unit that is movably installed on one side of a road and collects road traffic information…
…collect, through the sensor unit…information…
…collect, through the sensor unit, information…
…a weather information collection unit configured to collect weather information from a server based on information about a location in which the road traffic information providing apparatus is installed and to collect the weather information through the camera or the ultrasonic sensor of the sensor unit…
…wherein the control unit transmits information on the road traffic condition to the autonomous vehicle…
Nickel, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a road traffic information collection unit that is movably installed on one side of a road and collects road traffic information (see Nickel at least col 2 lines 3-7 "The transit system 110 further includes a plurality of road objects 130 that carry RF devices 140. The road objects 130 are located along the road 120. As used herein, “along the road 120” refers to on the road 120 as well as on grounds and objects 130 adjacent the road 120." col 2 lines 30-33 "The road objects 130 may also include movable traffic control devices 132. Examples of the movable traffic control devices 132 include, but are not limited to, street closure barriers and highway cones." col 2 lines 44-55 "The RF devices 140 generate and broadcast wireless identification signals 160. Encoded in the wireless identification signals 160 is information that identifies their associated objects 130 and 150. For instance, an RF device 140 carried by a fire hydrant generates and broadcasts a wireless identification signal 160 that is encoded with information that identifies the fire hydrant. This encoded identification information may include an ASCII code, an alphanumeric code, a hexadecimal code, or some other code. The encoded identification information may also include identifying features (e.g., height of the fire hydrant, diameter of the fire hydrant, and fitting size of the fire hydrant)." col 4 lines 17-32 “Additional information may be encoded in the wireless identification signals 160. For instance, the RF devices 140 carried by road objects 130 such as raised pavement markers and traffic control devices may encode road information in their wireless identification signals. The road information may include upcoming traffic information such as distances to stop signs, traffic lights, and intersections. The road information may include road topography, such as distance to changes in road curvatures and grades (e.g., the number of feet to the start of a turn with a curvature of a given radius; and the number of feet to the start of downgrade of a certain percentage). Other pertinent information may also be included, such as the speed limit posted by a speed limit sign, the street name and block number indicated in a street identification sign, exit number and street for a freeway exit sign, etc.")…
…
…
…
…wherein the control unit transmits information on the road traffic condition to the autonomous vehicle (see Nickel at least col 4 lines 11-16 “The RF device 140 carried by a traffic light may be programmed to encode the state of the traffic light in the wireless identification signal 160. The wireless identification signal 160 may also be encoded with information indicating when the traffic signal is about to change states (e.g., from amber to red).” and col 9 lines 36-39 “The RF reader 430 of FIG. 4 is mounted to the body 410 at a location that enables its antenna 432 to capture the wireless identification signals 160 during movement of the autonomous road vehicle 100.”)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the traffic information exchange such as disclosed by Mimura with a road traffic information collection unit such as taught by Nickel with a reasonable expectation of success so as to establish an information network to enhance situational awareness (see Nickel at least col 4 line 63 – col 5 line 2).
However, while Mimura discloses the use of sensors, neither Mimura nor Nickel explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…collect, through the sensor unit…information…
…collect, through the sensor unit, information…
…a weather information collection unit configured to collect weather information from a server based on information about a location in which the road traffic information providing apparatus is installed and to collect the weather information through the camera or the ultrasonic sensor of the sensor unit…
Ueno, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…collect, through the sensor unit…information (see Ueno at least [0186] "In the variant of the second embodiment, the roadside device 3 is provided with a camera 35 for collecting shot images of record points…")…
…collect, through the sensor unit, information (see Ueno at least [0186] "In the variant of the second embodiment, the roadside device 3 is provided with a camera 35 for collecting shot images of record points…")…
…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus as taught by Mimura in view of Nickel with a sensor capable of detecting information such as taught by Ueno with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of detecting and recognizing the surroundings of a specific road area (see Ueno at least [0004]).
However, neither Mimura nor Nickel nor Ueno explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…a weather information collection unit configured to collect weather information from a server based on information about a location in which the road traffic information providing apparatus is installed and to collect the weather information through the camera or the ultrasonic sensor of the sensor unit…
Morita, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…a weather information collection unit configured to collect weather information from a server based on information about a location in which the road traffic information providing apparatus is installed (see Morita at least [0081]-[0083] "…The base station 400, a route assignment server 200, a charging server 300, and a weather information server 600 communicate with one another through a network 500. The vehicle 100 and the manual driving requesting vehicle 160 transmit a request for traveling (travel request) to the route assignment server 200 through the base station 400 and the network 500. The route assignment server 200 calculates the route assignment of each vehicle 100 based on the travel request and the previously received travel request of another vehicle 100. The route assignment server 200 transmits the route assignment to each vehicle 100 as necessary. The route assignment server 200 acquires weather information from the weather information server 600. The route assignment server 200 acquires vehicle information from the vehicle 100 and the manual driving requesting vehicle 160. The route assignment server 200 acquires environmental information measured by the vehicle 100 and the manual driving requesting vehicle 160. If the manual driving requesting vehicle 160 travels by manual driving, the manual driving requesting vehicle 160 always notifies the route assignment server 200 of the vehicle information including driving information such as a position, a speed, an acceleration, an actual steering angle, a vehicle body direction. The route assignment server 200 calculates route assignment of each vehicle by taking into account the notified weather information, vehicle information, and environmental information.") and to collect the weather information through the camera or the ultrasonic sensor of the sensor unit (see Morita at least [0081]-[0083] "…The base station 400, a route assignment server 200, a charging server 300, and a weather information server 600 communicate with one another through a network 500. The vehicle 100 and the manual driving requesting vehicle 160 transmit a request for traveling (travel request) to the route assignment server 200 through the base station 400 and the network 500. The route assignment server 200 calculates the route assignment of each vehicle 100 based on the travel request and the previously received travel request of another vehicle 100. The route assignment server 200 transmits the route assignment to each vehicle 100 as necessary. The route assignment server 200 acquires weather information from the weather information server 600. The route assignment server 200 acquires vehicle information from the vehicle 100 and the manual driving requesting vehicle 160. The route assignment server 200 acquires environmental information measured by the vehicle 100 and the manual driving requesting vehicle 160. If the manual driving requesting vehicle 160 travels by manual driving, the manual driving requesting vehicle 160 always notifies the route assignment server 200 of the vehicle information including driving information such as a position, a speed, an acceleration, an actual steering angle, a vehicle body direction. The route assignment server 200 calculates route assignment of each vehicle by taking into account the notified weather information, vehicle information, and environmental information." and [0136] “…If there is a road with a change in the risk level (step S467: Yes), and if there is a road with the risk level (evacuation direction) (step S472: Yes), the route assignment server 200 confirms the target road by the sensor or a surveillance camera arranged in the roadside strip, and/or the flying of the unmanned surveillance aircraft, and acquires the environmental information from the vehicle around the target road (step 480)…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the road traffic information collection unit as taught by Mimura in view of Nickel with a weather information collection unit such as taught by Morita with a reasonable expectation of success so as to assist with travel planning for a vehicle (see Morita at least [0063]).
Regarding claim 2, Mimura in view of Nickel and Ueno and Morita teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is rejected for similar reasons.
Regarding claim 3, Mimura in view of Nickel and Ueno and Morita teach mobile road traffic information providing apparatus of claim 1, wherein when a road condition changes, the control unit transmits information about the changed road condition to the autonomous vehicle within the preset range and to the server (see Nickel at least see Nickel at least col 4 lines 11-16 “The RF device 140 carried by a traffic light may be programmed to encode the state of the traffic light in the wireless identification signal 160. The wireless identification signal 160 may also be encoded with information indicating when the traffic signal is about to change states (e.g., from amber to red).” col 6 lines 34-42 “To further increase situational awareness, the wireless identification signals 160 may be used to create accurate mapping information about the road objects 130 and the mobile objects 150 and any other objects nearby. This mapping information may be uploaded to a shared database, which aggregates the mapping information from many other autonomous vehicles 100, giving redundant verification of object location, as well as timely awareness of changes to object locations...” and col 9 lines 36-39 “The RF reader 430 of FIG. 4 is mounted to the body 410 at a location that enables its antenna 432 to capture the wireless identification signals 160 during movement of the autonomous road vehicle 100.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the information exchange such as disclosed by Mimura with a transmission of information to both a vehicle and a server such as further taught by Nickel with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Mimura in view of Nickel and Ueno and Morita teach the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the communication unit receives the driving information further comprising at least one of vehicle information, sensor information, or emergency information from the autonomous vehicle within the preset range (see Mimura at least [0058]-[0059] "...The traffic information contains pieces of information such as information on congestion ahead, information on the times required to pass through congested areas, information on accidents, failed vehicles, and construction, information on speed restrictions and lane closures, information on the locations of parking lots, and information on the availability of parking lots and rest areas. The communication apparatus 25 may obtain the traffic information by, for example, communicating with a radio beacon provided on a side margin of the road or the like or performing vehicle-to-vehicle communication with another vehicle traveling around the host vehicle M.").
Regarding claim 8, Mimura in view of Nickel and Ueno and Morita teach the analogous material of that in claim 1 as recited in the instant claim and is reject for similar reasons. Additionally, Mimura teaches …a mobile road traffic information providing system (see Mimura at least Abs and [0004])…
Regarding claim 9, Mimura in view of Nickel and Ueno and Morita teach the mobile road traffic information providing system of claim 8, wherein the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus provides the predicted road traffic information to the autonomous vehicle within the preset range (see Nickel at least see Nickel at least col 4 lines 11-16 “The RF device 140 carried by a traffic light may be programmed to encode the state of the traffic light in the wireless identification signal 160. The wireless identification signal 160 may also be encoded with information indicating when the traffic signal is about to change states (e.g., from amber to red).” and col 9 lines 36-39 “The RF reader 430 of FIG. 4 is mounted to the body 410 at a location that enables its antenna 432 to capture the wireless identification signals 160 during movement of the autonomous road vehicle 100.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the information exchange such as disclosed by Mimura with a transmission of predicted information to a vehicle such as further taught by Nickel with a reasonable expectation of success for reasons similar to those provided above in claim 1.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mimura in view of Nickel and Ueno and Morita as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loiselle et al. (US-2011/0199231; hereinafter Loiselle).
Regarding claim 7, Mimura in view of Nickel and Ueno and Morita teach the mobile road traffic information providing apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a display unit that displays information generated through the mobile traffic information providing apparatus (see Mimura at least [0077] "The multi-information panel 87 displays, for example: map information on the area around the host vehicle M; information on the current position of the host vehicle M on the map; traffic information (including traffic signal information) on the road which the host vehicle M is currently traveling or a route which the host vehicle M will be traveling; traffic participant information on traffic participants (including pedestrians, bicycles, motorcycles, other vehicles, and so on) present around the host vehicle M; various pieces of information such as messages to be presented to the traffic participants; and so on." [0193] "Also, in the second information presenting state, in addition to the above-described presenting state, that the traffic signal is about to change soon from red to green is presented by using a character message “Turning green soon” with the rear display unit 97, as illustrated in FIG. 10C." [0195] "Further, in the second information presenting state, if the traffic signal has changed from red to green but the T-shaped intersection TJ is congested, thereby requiring the vehicles to remain stopped, that it is impossible to move forward due to the traffic congestion is presented by using a character message “Traffic jam ahead” with the rear display unit 97, as illustrated in FIG. 10E."),
…
However, neither Mimura nor Nickel nor Ueno nor Morita explicitly disclose or teach the following:
…the display unit is a digital display board.
Loiselle, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the following:
…the display unit is a digital display board (see Loiselle at least [0026] "The plurality of traffic signs 12a-c may comprise any type of traffic sign known in the industry that is capable of displaying more than one different traffic message. For example, in the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, each of the plurality of traffic signs 12a-c comprises a variable-message digital display screen. These variable-message digital display screens are known in the art and are able to display different digital messages. The digital messages may be uploaded to the variable-message digital display screen by a user, or alternatively these digital messages may be pre-programmed into a memory of the traffic sign, such that the pre-programmed messages may be selected and caused to be displayed on the basis of a command signal. In the case where the digital messages are uploaded by a user, this may be done locally, such as via a USB or infrared connection, or may be done remotely by issuing a wireless signal carrying one or more digital messages over a cellular or RF communication link, among other possibilities. Alternatively, the digital messages can be stored on a secure digital (SD) card that comprises a pre-loaded version of the program.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display as disclosed by Mimura with a digital display screen as taught by Loiselle with a reasonable expectation of success for the sake of attaining pre-loaded information accessible from remote locations (see Loiselle at least [0026]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Herman et al. (US-2019/0347498) teaches a vehicle in communication with a server to receive information, such as weather details.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.P.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663