DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to an application filed on 11/08/2024.
Claims 1-15 are pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a a knob” in line 3 should be re-written as “a knob”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a motor" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Rosenberg (US 2002/0142701 A1).
As to Claim 1, Rosenberg in its teachings as shown in Fig.1-7 disclose a programmable sensory feedback switch to control a motorized device (14) comprising:
a user moveable control interface (20, 22) chosen from a a knob, a lever, and a paddle switch, and configured to be manually touched by the user and moved along at least one axis thereof by a designated amount to control the motorized device (…time-based haptic effects can be output in the degree of freedom of a control, similar to the tactile effects described above. For example, a vibration or jolt can be directly output on the lever 20 or 22 while the user is holding it when controlling the toy 14 in a desired manner. The magnitude and/or frequency of the jolt or vibration can be based on the position of the control in its degree of freedom, and/or can simulate engine rumble, turning radius, etc… see [0045]);
at least one electronic sensor (318) to detect movement of the user moveable control interface when manipulated by the user and to generate voltage outputs based on detected position of the user moveable control interface (see [0069]);
a vibration motor (170) disposed proximally to the user moveable control interface (see [0037]); and
a switch operational software program executed by a programmable processor (310) to generate vibration motor control signals that produce vibrations in one or more designated patterns based on detected position of the user moveable control interface and corresponding control commands for the motorized device to provide haptic vibration feedback to the user (see [0066] - [0074]).
As to Claim 2, Rosenberg disclose the programmable sensory feedback switch of claim 1, further comprising a molded handle (20) that covers the user moveable control interface and is shaped to provide the user with an ergonomic grip (see Fig.6 and [0060]).
As to Claim 3, Rosenberg disclose the programmable sensory feedback switch of claim 1, wherein the vibration motor is disposed within the handle and proximal to at least a portion of the ergonomic grip (see Fig.6 and [0060]).
As to Claim 4, Rosenberg disclose the programmable sensory feedback switch of claim 1, wherein the at least one electronic sensor is a Hall effect sensor (see [0069]).
As to Claim 5, Rosenberg disclose the programmable sensory feedback switch of claim 1, wherein the processor is disposed at a location chosen from inside a housing for the at least one electronic sensor provided in the programmable sensory feedback switch, inside a molded handle that covers the user moveable control interface, and separate from programmable sensory feedback switch (see Fig.6 and Fig.7 and [0065]- [0067]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (US 9,625,905 B2: A haptic feedback remote control device provides control signals to a toy device, such as a car, boat, plane, etc., to control the toy's operation. The remote control device includes a housing and at least one control for manual manipulation by the user, where control signals representing the manipulation are sent to the toy, preferably transmitted wirelessly. An actuator outputs forces on the housing and/or on a control in response to actuator signals. A controller provides the actuator signals based on the manual manipulation of the control by the user, or based on status signals from the toy indicating the toy's actions or interactions, or based on both. In one embodiment, the actuator moves an inertial mass to provide inertial sensations on the housing. The information received from the toy device can include information from a contact sensor or inertial sensor on the toy device- see [Abstract])
/GABRIEL AGARED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837