DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 16-18, 21-25, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the OIF publication “OIF-400ZR-01.0 Implementation Agreement 400ZR” cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, 17, 18, the OIF Publication teaches A transmission/receiving device for optical communication (e.g. “Transceiver” as in Figure 2, Figure 4 and throughout), comprising a memory and one or more processors coupled to the memory (e.g. any of the numerous processors and memories coupled together as illustrated in Figure 6) and configured to: generate a frame comprising symbols (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 34), wherein the symbols comprise NFAW frame alignment word symbols (e.g. “FAW” as in paragraph 12.1), NPS pilot symbols (e.g. “Pilot” as in paragraph 12), and NRES reserved symbols (e.g. “Reserved” as in paragraph 12.1) in a first polarization direction of two polarization directions (e.g. “X and Y” “orthogonal polarizations” as in paragraph 12.4), wherein the two polarization directions are orthogonal to each other (e.g. “X and Y” “orthogonal polarizations” as in paragraph 12.4), wherein in the first polarization direction, one symbol in every M symbols of the symbols in the frame is a pilot symbol (e.g. “Pilot symbols are inserted every 32 symbols” as in paragraph 12), wherein M is an integer greater than 1 (e.g. “32” as in paragraph 12), wherein NFAW+NRES=M or NFAW+NRES+1=M (e.g. in the second 32 symbol frame NFAW=1, NRES=30, M=32 therefore NFAW+NRES+1=M); wherein each of the frame alignment word symbols and the pilot symbols is one of −A−Aj, −A+Aj, A−Aj, or A+Aj, wherein A is a real number (e.g. as illustrated in Table 9 and Table 12); and transmit/decode the frame (e.g. via “Transceiver” as in Figure 2, Figure 4 and throughout).
Regarding claim 4, 21, the OIF Publication teaches The transmission device of claim 1, there is no symbol serving as both a frame alignment word symbol of the frame alignment word symbols and a pilot symbol of the pilot symbols in the frame in the polarization direction, wherein NFAW+NRES+1=M (e.g. in the second 32 symbol frame NFAW=1, NRES=30, M=32 therefore NFAW+NRES+1=M), and wherein NFAW+NPS is an even number (e.g. in the second 32 symbol frame NFAW=1, NPS=1, therefore NFAW+NPS=2).
Regarding claim 5, 22, the OIF Publication teaches The transmission device of claim 4, further comprising generating the pilot symbols using a target polynomial and a seed (e.g. “polynomial and seed” as in Table 11), wherein a combination of (NFAW+NPS) symbols achieves a direct current balance (e.g. “DC balanced” as in paragraph 12.3).
Regarding claim 6, 23, the OIF Publication teaches The transmission device of claim 1, wherein a value of NFAW is 22 or 11 (e.g. “22 symbol Frame Alignment Word” as in paragraph 12.1).
Regarding claim 7, 24, the OIF Publication teaches The transmission device of claim 1, wherein the symbols are in a 16-quadrature amplitude modulation 16QAM modulation format (e.g. “16QAM” as in paragraph 12.1), and wherein a value of A is ±1, ±3, or ±√5 (e.g. as shown in Table 9, Table 10, and Table 12).
Regarding claim 8, 25, the OIF Publication teaches The transmission device of claim 1, wherein a value of M is 64 (e.g. the first two 32 symbols frames taken together).
Regarding claim 16, 33, the OIF Publication teaches The transmission device of claim 1, wherein the frame alignment word symbols are training symbols (e.g. as illustrated in the first 32 symbol frame of Figure 34).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 9-15, 19-20, 26-32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest one symbol serving as both a frame alignment word symbol and a pilot symbol in the frame such that NFAW+NRES=M, and NFAW+NPS is an odd number.
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635