Response to Amendments
The amendment filed December 24th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have not overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed August 5th, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 line 5, “…the cylindrical structure…” should read “…the at least one cylindrical structure…” for the purpose of consistency.
In claim 10 lines 2-3, “…a longitudinal arrangement…” should read “…the longitudinal arrangement…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odle et al. (US 2011/0121130) in view of Luther (US 2012/0025006).
Regarding claim 1, Odle et al. ‘130 teaches (figures 1-14) a system for a blended wing body aircraft (1400) with built-in, non-removable tanks (Para 0067), the aircraft comprising:
a blended wing body (clearly seen in figure 3); and
at least one polygonal structure extending vertically within the blended wing body, wherein the at least one polygonal structure comprises at least a tank (1402, 1404) permanently attached to the blended wing body, and configured to store fuel (Para 0067; tanks are polygonal in shape and are fixed within the body; fuel tank stores fuel to be used by an engine of the aircraft),
an upper mold line/upper surfaces of the blended wing body aircraft and a lower mold line/lower surfaces of the blended wing body aircraft (aircraft has upper and lower mold lines), and
the at least one polygonal structure is configured to provide structural support the blended wing body by connecting at least an upper skin and at least a lower skin of the blended wing body (clearly seen in figure 3) (polygonal structure connects and extends in between skins and thus reinforces the blended wing body).
but it is silent about the aircraft comprising:
polygonal structure as a cylindrical structure and at least a tank configured to store liquified gas fuel, wherein the at least a tank further comprises:
a first end cap attached to and capping at least a cylindrical wall at a top of the at least a tank, wherein the first end cap is inset from an upper mold line of the blended wing body; and
a second end cap attached to and capping the at least a cylindrical wall at a bottom of the at least a tank, wherein the second end cap is inset from a lower mold line of the blended wing body.
Luther ‘006 teaches (figures 1a-1o) the aircraft/flight vehicle (100) (Para 0047) comprising:
a cylindrical structure comprising at least a tank (194a-194c, 195a-195b) configured to store liquified gas fuel/rocket and jet fuel (Para 0075-0076; rocket uses combination of liquid hydrogen and liquid oxygen as a fuel; tanks are cylindrical in shape), wherein the at least a tank further comprises:
a cylindrical wall with end caps (clearly shown in the figure below) (tanks (194a-194c, 195a-195b) are cylindrical in shape and has a cylindrical wall; end caps are on two ends of the cylindrical fuel tank which encloses the cylinder).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Odle et al. ‘130 to incorporate the teachings of Luther ‘006 to configure the aircraft comprising:
polygonal structure as a cylindrical structure and at least a tank configured to store liquified gas fuel, wherein the at least a tank further comprises:
a first end cap attached to and capping at least a cylindrical wall at a top of the at least a tank, wherein the first end cap is inset from an upper mold line of the blended wing body (the open upper end of the tank is enclosed by a first end cap and is not connected to/with clearance from the structure that supports the skin); and
a second end cap attached to and capping the at least a cylindrical wall at a bottom of the at least a tank, wherein the second end cap is inset from a lower mold line of the blended wing body (the open lower end of the tank is enclosed by a second end cap and is not connected to/with clearance from the structure that supports the skin).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would enclose the fuel within a fuel tank and a cylindrical shape ensures uniform stress distribution on the tank.
Regarding claim 4, modified Odle et al. ‘130 teaches (figures 1-14) the system wherein:
the blended wing body further comprises a cabin comprising a passenger cabin (Para 0034; blended wing body is applicable to blended wing body passenger aircraft); and
the at least a tank comprises two tanks (1402, 1404) located laterally from the passenger cabin on either side of the passenger cabin (Para 0034; clearly seen in figures 10-14; the area occupied by the pallets in figures 10-12 is the area that is occupied by the passenger cabin in blended wing body passenger aircraft).
Regarding claim 5, modified Odle et al. ‘130 teaches (figures 1-14) the system wherein the two tanks are each separated from the passenger cabin by an interior structural wall (clearly shown in the figure below)
Regarding claims 6-7, modified Odle et al. ‘130 teaches (figures 1-14) the system wherein the cabin further comprises a fore passenger cabin located in front of the passenger cabin (clearly shown in the figure below), and
wherein the two tanks are located aft of the fore passenger cabin (clearly shown in the figure below).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odle et al. (US 2011/0121130) and Luther (US 2012/0025006) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Childress et al. (US 2009/0090724).
Regarding claim 3, modified Odle et al. ‘130 teaches (figures 1-14) the system of claim 1 but it is silent about the system wherein an insulation of the at least a tank includes a chamber located between an inner wall and an outer wall of the at least tank.
Childress et al. ‘724 teaches (figures 1-4) fuel tank assembly (10) an inlet (20) that opens into the bladder/chamber defined between the exterior/outer (14) and interior/inner (16) bladder walls wherein the pressurized inert gas is supplied continuously into the bladder (12) via the inlet (20) (Para 0024-0025; inert gases provide optimum insulation performances)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Odle et al. ‘130 to incorporate the teachings of Childress et al. ‘724 to configure the system wherein an insulation of the at least a tank includes a chamber located between an inner wall and an outer wall of the at least tank.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would control temperature of fuel and pressure inside fuel tank.
Claim(s) 8-10 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odle et al. (US 2011/0121130) and Luther (US 2012/0025006) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Clark et al. (US 6,422,514).
Regarding claims 8-10, modified Odle et al. ‘130 teaches (figures 1-14) the system wherein the at least a tank comprises a longitudinal arrangement of a vertical axis tank, a lateral arrangement of a vertical axis tank, and both a lateral arrangement of a vertical axis tank and the longitudinal arrangement of the vertical axis tank (clearly seen in the figure 14) (tanks have vertical axis in a vertical direction; tank 1402 is within an aircraft and has both lateral position/arrangement in the lateral direction of an aircraft and longitudinal position/arrangement in the longitudinal direction of an aircraft)
but it is silent about the system wherein a vertical axis tank is a vertical axis air mattress tank.
Clark et al. ‘514 teaches (figures 1-5) the aerospace vehicle (10) comprising a multi-chamber/lobe fuel tank (100) wherein each of a plurality of containers or chambers/lobes (112, 114, 116, 118) have upper and lower surfaces with a common center point (clearly seen figures 2A-2D) (Col. 3 lines 3-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Odle et al. ‘130 to incorporate the teachings of Clark et al. ‘514 to configure the system wherein a vertical axis tank is a vertical axis air mattress tank.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would conform to interior space of an aircraft and maximize the space occupied by the tank in an aircraft by enable the tank to occupy narrower spaces within the aircraft.
Regarding claim 21, modified Odle et al. ‘130 teaches (figures 1-14) the system of claim 1 but it is silent about the system wherein the at least a tank comprises a multi-bubble tank.
Clark et al. ‘514 teaches (figures 1-5) the aerospace vehicle (10) comprising a multi-chamber/bubble fuel tank (100) (clearly seen figures 2A-2D) (Col. 3 lines 3-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Odle et al. ‘130 to incorporate the teachings of Clark et al. ‘514 to configure the system wherein the at least a tank comprises a multi-bubble tank.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would conform to interior space of an aircraft and maximize the space occupied by the tank in an aircraft by enable the tank to occupy narrower spaces within the aircraft.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,1681521. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,1681521 explicitly recites all of the limitation of claim 1 except:
“at least one cylindrical structure extending vertically within the blended wing body, wherein the cylindrical structure comprises at least a tank” and
“the at least one cylindrical structure is configured to provide structural support to
the blended wing body by connecting at least an upper skin and at least a
lower skin of the blended wing body”.
However, claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,1681521 recites “the at least a tank further comprises: at least a cylindrical wall arranged with at least an axis of the at least a cylindrical wall running vertically;” in lines 51-53, which implies that the at least a tank is a cylindrical structure extending vertically and since the tank/cylindrical structure runs vertically, the tank/cylindrical structure is between upper skin and lower skin and reinforces the blended wing body i.e., provides structural support to the blended wing body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 24th, 2025, with respect to the amended claim 1 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments are explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642