DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawabata et al. (JP 2000269392). A copy of the English translation of Kawabata et al. was provided by Applicant with the IDS filed 01/26/2026.
Regarding claim 1, Kawabata et al. teaches a semiconductor module (Fig. 3) comprising a ceramic substrate 22 is formed of alumina, etc. (See Abstract), i.e. base including insulating member, a heat sink 29 comprising Cu-W (paragraph [0011] and [0017]), i.e. metal layer having a first nonmagnetic material (Cu) and nonmagnetic property, a Cu film 31 (paragraph [0031]), i.e. conductive film on the metal member and including the first nonmagnetic material (Cu), and Ag brazing material 30 (paragraph [0017]), i.e. joining portion joining the metal member to base and including a second nonmagnetic material (Ag).
Regarding claim 2, Kawabata et al. teaches ceramic substrate 22 is formed of alumina, i.e. third nonmagnetic material, having on both sides metalized layers 23 and 24 made of W (paragraph [0016]), i.e. nonmagnetic film.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Kawabata et al. teaches wherein the heat sink 29 can be made of Cu-W (paragraph [0011]) and the Cu film 31 (paragraph [0031]) includes copper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawabata et al. (JP 2000269392) in view of Takeuchi et al. (JP 2010232263). A copy of the English translation of Takeuchi et al. was provided by Applicant with the IDS filed 01/26/2026.
Kawabata et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Kawabata et al. fails to teach a barrier film as claimed.
However, Takeuchi et al. teaches a light-emitting diode comprising a heat sink substrate 1 (See Abstract) having bonding layer 4 including barrier layer 4c that is formed in order to prevent mutual diffusion between constituent elements of the reflective layer 4b and constituent elements of the Au layer 4d and metal bonding layer 4e (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a barrier film in between the conductive film and joining portion of Kawabata et al. in order to prevent mutual diffusion of constituent elements between layers.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787