DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12177835. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is substantially similar in nature with the patent No. 12177835.
Instant claim 1 is broader than the patent claim 1 because patent claim has further limitation on range and granularities of the range of the accumulative numbers of PDSCHs transmission.
Therefore, patent claim 1 is in essence a “species” of the generic invention of instant claim 1. It has been held that a generic invention is “anticipated” by a “species” within the scope of the generic invention.
TABLE 1: Teaching of Instant claim 1 by Patent claim 1
Instant Claim 1
Patent Claim 1
A terminal apparatus, comprising: a receiver which, in operation, receives a downlink assignment index (DAI) transmitted using a downlink control information (DCI) format used for scheduling of a first group of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), the DAI indicating an accumulative number of transmitted PDSCHs included in a second group of PDSCHs;
A terminal apparatus comprising: a receiver which, in operation, receives, from a base station, a downlink assignment index (DAI) that is transmitted by means of a downlink control information (DCI) format, the DAI indicating an accumulative number of a transmitted physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) included in a group of PDSCHs,
and a transmitter which, in operation, transmits hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information based on the DAI.
and a transmitter which, in operation, transmits, to the base station, hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information based on the DAI,
Same rejection of Claim 1 applies to Instant Claim 9 over Patent Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12177835.
Claim Objections
Independent Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because the claims do not recite HARQ retransmission. However, DAI use in retransmission control in unlicensed band is the basis of the invention as disclosed in the Spec.
Claim 9 is objected to because the claim is missing an entity performing the method, such as a terminal apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With respect to claim 7, claim feature “the defined value is indicated by a higher layer signaling” is not described in the specification. No disclosure is found for a process or algorithm for selecting a defined value and indicating it via a higher layer signaling.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by IDS reference, Li; Yingyang et al US 20200127796 A1, hereinafter Li.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Li teaches, a terminal apparatus (see Li Fig. 24) comprising:
a receiver which, in operation, receives a downlink assignment index (DAI) transmitted using a downlink control information (DCI) format used for scheduling of a first group of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs), the DAI indicating an accumulative number of transmitted PDSCHs included in a second group of PDSCHs (see Li Fig.2 [65]-[70], Fig. 4 [82], Fig. 6, [85]-[86] teaching that DCI for scheduling a set of PDSCHs (i.e., first group of PDSCHs) comprises DAI, and the DCI further includes C-DAI of the set of PDSCHs that is retransmitted (i.e., second group of PDSCHs). C-DAI is known in the art (see also Li [64] as counter-DAI (i.e., accumulative DAI of the claim). It is also known in the art and 3GPP, DCI is sent in a DCI Format); and
a transmitter which, in operation, transmits hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) information based on the DAI (see Li Fig.2 [65]-[70]; Fig. 4 [82]; Fig. 6 [85]-[86] teaching HARQ-ACK is transmitted by the terminal based on the DAI in the DCI).
With respect to claim 9, claim recites the identical features of claim 1 for a corresponding method. Therefore, it is subjected to the same rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Li further teaches, wherein the first group of PDSCHs is transmitted in a first transmission period, and the second group of PDSCHs is transmitted in a second transmission period which is different from the first transmission period (see Li Figs, 2, 4, 6 teaching current set (i.e., first group) and previous set (i.e., second group) are transmitted at different periods).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claim 2.
Li further teaches, wherein the second group of PDSCHs is not transmitted in the first transmission period (see Li Figs, 2, 4, 6).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claim 2.
Li further teaches, wherein the DCI format includes information to identify a group of PDSCH from a plurality of groups of PDSCHs (see Li e.g., [65]-[70] teaching DCI includes Set Index to identify different sets of PDSCHs).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Li further teaches, wherein the first group of PDSCHs and the second group of PDSCHs are scheduled in different transmission periods, respectively (see Li Figs, 2, 4, 6 teaching current set and previous set are transmitted at different periods).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Li further teaches, wherein a value of the DAI is determined using modulo arithmetic with a defined value selected from a plurality of defined values (see Li [76], [86] teaching using modulo arithmetic for DAI with e.g., a defined value of 4).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the terminal, as outlined in the rejection of claim 1.
Li further teaches, wherein a time domain resource assignment is included in the DCI format, and the time domain resource assignment is associated with the first group of PDSCHs (see LI Claim 1 teaching DCI including resource assignments for the current set of PDSCHs. It is inherent in 3GPP that resource comprises time and frequency domain resource).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GAO, US 20200280396 A1 - TRANSMISSION METHOD, DEVICE, TERMINAL, BASE STATION AND STORAGE MEDIUM; para [19], [20], [32] teaching independent claims 1 and 9;
Zhang, U.S. Publication No. 20220078827 - DOWNLINK DATA SCHEDULING HARQ-ACK CODEBOOK FEEDBACK AND GENERATION METHODS AND DEVICES, AND MEDIUM, para [111]-[112], [124]-[129], [158]-[159], [170]-[175].
/MAHBUBUL BAR CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475