DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to the December 26th, 2025 arguments and remarks (“Remarks”). The
text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior
Office Action.
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendments received on December 26th, 2025:
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-22 are pending in the current application. Claims 1, 20, and 21 are amended. Claim 22 is newly added.
Claim 1, 20, and 21 are amended to specify a plurality of batteries linked to be one pack; and a relationship between a first electrode plate, a second electrode plate, a first opening, and a second opening. The term “detachably” is removed in describing the connection between components.
Claim 22 is newly added to be dependent on Claim 1 and specifies that adjacent batteries are linked in one pack through a connecting piece, and a baffle plate is arranged in the battery compartment to separate each two battery mounting positions.
Applicant’s amendment finds support in the disclosure as originally filed including the drawings and specification.
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-21 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as described below:
Claims 1, 3, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and further in view Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A) and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as evidenced by Loh (C.N. Pat. No. 113366696 A) and Murakami et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114976433 A). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claims 4, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of and further in view of Nam et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130224524 A1). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2) and Nam et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130224524 A1) as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20190372069 A1). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2), and Nam et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130224524 A1) as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20210077415 A). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claims 13-14, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A) and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kazuhiro et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20110048001 A). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), and Kazuhiro et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20110048001 A) as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of Matsuda et al. (J.P. Pat. No. 2015008114 A). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and in view of Kazuhiro et al. as applied Claims 13-14 and 17, and further in view of Yang (C.N. Pat. No. 109630951 A) and Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20220285770 A1). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 205829212 U) and Zhu et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 212333396 U). The rejections are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed December 26th, 2025 have been fully considered as further described below:
Applicant presents arguments to Claim 1, 20, and 21 in which are based on the claims as amended:
Applicant argues that the applied prior art does not teach a plurality of batteries to be linked in one pack (see pg. 14 of the “Remarks”). Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Further, applicant argues that primary reference Bian does not teach the battery cells as completely received. Applicant provides further arguments against references individually, but does not address the proposed combination of references to successfully establish nonobviousness (see pg. 14-22 of the “Remarks”).
“Obviousness can be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so. In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 986, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1335 (Fed. Cir. 2006)” (emphasis in original) (see MPEP 2143.01).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Bian is modified by Fuhr et al. to teach a battery compartment in which the cells are completely received with a motivation to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure within the cell compartment. "Applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.)." Similarly, the supporting plate and circuit board configuration as claimed is addressed by the modification by Lin and Zhang et al.; applicant does not address the proposed combination nor the motivation applied. The mounting portions and fixing portions are addressed by Kazuhiro et al. (see rejection below).
Applicant argues that the electrode plates (201, 202) of Bian do not cover the openings of the energy storage housing (liquid cooling unit) (see pg. 14 of the “Remarks”). However, Bian clearly teaches the electrode plates covering the respective openings to allow electrical connection there between (Fig. 2). Further, the electrode plates (201, 202) of Bian are structurally similarly to the electrode plates (3, 4) of the present application.
Applicant argues that the two assembly directions are not taught by the prior art. As stated in the rejection below, there is no difference in the structure of the first opening or second opening of Bian that would prevent a skilled artisan from inserting the battery cells from either opening and providing two assembly directions; the battery compartment configuration of Bian is capable of performing the claimed function (allowing insertion of the battery cells into either opening of the compartment and providing two assembly directions) (para. 59).
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
Examiner further recommends addressing the nonobviousness of the proposed combination of references; and/or filing an affidavit or declaration with evidence to traverse the rejections such as to establish unexpected results, commercial success, solution of a long-felt need, or inoperability of the prior art (see MPEP 716.01(c)).
The new grounds of rejection are necessitated by amendment.
Cited Prior Art
Previously Cited Nam et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130224524 A1) (“Nam et al.”)
Previously Cited Jeon et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20210077415 A) (“Jeon et al.”)
Previously Cited Kazuhiro et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20110048001 A) (“Kazuhiro et al.”)
Previously Cited Hohm (D.E. Pat. No. 102020202306 A1) (“Hohm”)
Previously Cited Matsuda et al. (J.P. Pat. No. 2015008114 A) (“Matsuda et al.”)
Previously Cited Yang (C.N. Pat. No. 109630951 A) (“Yang”)
Previously Cited Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20220285770 A1) (“Kim et al.”)
Previously Cited Sun et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 205829212 U) (“Sun et al.”)
Previously Cited Zhu et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 212333396 U) (“Zhu et al.”)
Previously Cited Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) (“Fuhr et al.”)
Previously Cited Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A) (“Zhang et al.”)
Previously Cited Loh (C.N. Pat. No. 113366696 A) (“Loh”)
Previously Cited Murakami et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114976433 A) (“Murakami et al.”)
Previously Cited Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2) (“Zeng”)
Previously Cited Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) (“Tin”)
Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1) (“Ho et al.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“Correspondence between the specification and claims is required by 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1), which provides that claim terms must find clear support or antecedent basis in the specification so that the meaning of the terms may be ascertainable by reference to the specification . . .
A claim, although clear on its face, may also be indefinite when a conflict or inconsistency between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure renders the scope of the claim uncertain as inconsistency with the specification disclosure or prior art teachings may make an otherwise definite claim take on an unreasonable degree of uncertainty. In re Moore, 439 F.2d 1232, 1235-36, 169 USPQ 236, 239 (CCPA 1971); In re Cohn, 438 F.2d 989, 169 USPQ 95 (CCPA 1971); In re Hammack, 427 F.2d 1378, 166 USPQ 204 (CCPA 1970)" (see MPEP 2173.03).
In this case, the specification does not provide antecedent basis for the term “connecting piece” as required by 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1). Although there appears to be some structural element between the cells of the battery pack (2) of Figure 10 of applicant’s disclosure, this element is not defined in the specification and cannot be clearly distinguished as a connecting piece; therefore, the meaning of the connecting piece is unclear and the scope of the claim is deemed uncertain. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Figures included in previous office actions have been omitted.
Claims 1, 3, 20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1) and Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A) and further in view Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A) and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as evidenced by and Murakami et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114976433 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Bian teaches a battery module (energy storage power supply) comprising a liquid cooling unit (400) in which houses the battery cells (100) forming an energy storage housing (para. 57, Fig. 2). The energy storage housing comprises a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate (positive current carrying sheet (201), negative current carrying sheet (202)); a battery compartment comprising hollow cylindrical walls (401a) forming a first opening exposed on one side and a second opening exposed at opposite another side (para. 59, Fig. 6) and channels (401a-1) forming through holes in which are in communication with the opening and serve as battery mounting positions. The first opening or the second opening is configured to allow the battery cells of the battery pack to be plugged into the battery compartment in a Z direction (preset axial direction) (there is no difference in the structure of the first opening or second opening that would prevent a skilled artisan from inserting the battery cells from either opening; the battery compartment configuration of Bian is capable of performing the claimed function (allowing insertion of the battery cells into either opening of the compartment)) (para. 59). The batteries are received in the respective through holes by the first electrode plate (201) covering the first opening, the second electrode plate (202) covering the second opening, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate electrically connected to the batteries (para. 40-43, Fig. 2).
Bian teaches a protective casing (300) including a first shell (301) (front shell) and a second shell (302) (rear shell) located on opposite (two) sides of the energy storage housing in the Z direction (preset axial direction); the front and rear shells are configured to be detachably assembled with the energy storage housing with screws (para. 45, Fig. 2). The energy storage housing is fixed in an accommodating chamber formed by the front and rear shells in which further include a cover (304, 305) and an air guide unit (500) (para. 65, Fig. 2). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to integrate a front shell and rear shell of a battery pack as evidenced by Murakami et al. (Fig. 2, front and rear shell (12a, 12b)) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Bian does not teach a plurality of batteries linked to be one pack.
Ho et al. teaches a battery housing configuration in which at least two adjacent battery cells are linked with a battery holder (connecting piece) to form a single pack (Abstract). Further, an adhesive is used for binding the battery holder and the battery cells together. The battery packs are linked or made prior to being plugged into the casing or housing; the battery holder separates the battery cells to avoid safety issues ([0044]). Ho et al. notes that a person having ordinary skill in the art can reasonably expand the number of battery cells by attaching an additional moveable battery holder to an exposed side of the first and second battery cell ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include adjacent batteries linked to be one pack through a connecting piece as taught by Ho et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to avoid contact between the battery cells and corresponding safety issues as described above.
Bian does not teach a first supporting plate and second supporting plate opposite to the first supporting plate with a battery compartment located there between.
Zhang et al. teaches an energy storage power supply comprising an energy storage housing provided with a first support plate (bracket assembly (4)) and a second support plate (bracket assembly (2)) opposite to the first supporting plate in which battery compartments are arranged there between to accommodate the battery pack (3) (Fig. 1). The first supporting plate (2) separates the accommodating chamber or space (formed by housing enclosure (1), lower cover (8), upper cover (9), and output panel (7)) into an equivalent upper and lower space in which the battery compartment is located in a lower space and an upper space is configured to house the inverter power circuit board (53) (comprises an inverter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include a first supporting plate, a second supporting plate opposite to the first supporting plate, a battery compartment located there between, as specified by Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated perform the described modification to reduce battery damage and improved safety due to collision or falls (Zhang et al., para. 8).
Zhang et al. teaches a first side of the first supporting plate at an upper surface (away) from the second supporting plate at a lower surface, and a second side of the second supporting plate away from the first supporting plate (Fig. 1). As shown in the annotated Figure 2 of Bian, Bian teaches an equivalent first (upper), second (lower), third (rear), and fourth (front) side of the energy storage housing in which the front shell (301) is located on a side analogous to a fourth side and the rear shell (302) is located on a side analogous to a third side (Bian, Fig. 2); therefore, when modifying Bian by Zhang, it would be obvious to include the first and second supporting plate at the equivalent first (upper) and second (lower) sides, respectively. The third side and fourth side can be considered arranged in the preset axial direction and adjacent to the first side and second side.
Bian does not teach the batteries being completely received in the respective through holes.
Bian does not teach a plurality of circuit boards arranged as claimed.
Fuhr et al. teaches a shell (826) forming a battery compartment in which the batteries are completely received in the respective holes of the plurality of cell compartments (para. 88, Fig. 15).
[AltContent: textbox (Lin (Fig. 1A))]
Lin teaches a battery module comprising a first circuit board 121 arranged at a front (fourth) side, a second circuit board 122 arranged at a rear (third) side, and a third circuit board 130 arranged at an upper (first) side (para. 1, Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include the batteries completely received in the respective through holes of the cell compartment as taught by Fuhr et al., and to include three circuit boards surrounding a plurality of batteries in which a first circuit board is arranged on an upper (first) side and a third circuit board is arranged on a rear (third) side as taught by Lin. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to completely receive the battery pack within the cell compartments to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure within the cell compartment. Further, the structure of Zhang et al. can reduce battery damage and improved safety due to collision or falls (Zhang et al., para. 8).
Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the upper circuit board of Lin to provide a second circuit board at a lower (second) surface of the battery module or to move the circuit board at the front (fourth side) to the lower (second) side to provide a second circuit board provided on a second (lower) side. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378,380 (CCPA 1960). Additionally, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the modification to further secure the side circuit boards and to provide more sensing elements at a lower surface of the battery module (Lin, para. 1). Further, as the front shell and rear shell of Bian form an accommodating chamber as described above, the first circuit board, second circuit board, would be enclosed and fixed there within as modified.
Further, as the third circuit board is modified to be arranged on a third side with respect to a first supporting plate and a second supporting plate, two ends of the third circuit board would be adjacent to the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
Regarding Claim 3, Bian is modified Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Bian teaches the liquid cooling channel (401d) (baffle plate) is arranged in the battery compartment and arranged between any or each two battery mounting positions (para. 62). The length of the baffle plate in the Z direction (preset axial direction) is less than a length of a side wall (401a) of the battery compartment in which the side wall protrudes farther than the baffle plate as shown in Figure 6 (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 20, Bian teaches an assembling method for a battery module (in which can be used as an energy storage power supply) providing at least one battery pack comprising a plurality of batteries; and providing a liquid cooling unit (400) (energy storage housing) comprising a plurality of battery cells (para. 57, Fig. 2). The energy storage housing comprises a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate (positive current carrying sheet (201), negative current carrying sheet (202)); a battery compartment comprising hollow cylindrical walls (401a) forming a first opening exposed on one side and a second opening exposed at opposite another side (para. 59, Fig. 6) and channels (401a-1) forming through holes in which are in communication with the first opening and the second opening;
the battery pack is inserted or plugged into the battery compartment in a Z direction (preset axial direction) (there is no difference in the structure of the first opening or second opening that would prevent a skilled artisan from inserting the battery cells from either opening; the battery compartment configuration of Bian is capable of performing the claimed function (allowing insertion of the battery cells into either opening of the compartment)) (para. 59). The batteries are received in the respective through holes by the first electrode plate (201) covering the first opening, the second electrode plate (202) covering the second opening, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate electrically connected to the batteries (para. 40-43, Fig. 2).
Bian teaches a protective casing (300) including a first shell (301) (front shell) and a second shell (302) (rear shell) located on opposite (two) sides of the energy storage housing in the Z direction (preset axial direction); the front and rear shells are configured to be assembled with the energy storage housing with screws (para. 45, Fig. 2). The energy storage housing is fixed in an accommodating chamber formed by the front and rear shells in which further include a cover (304, 305) and an air guide unit (500) (para. 65, Fig. 2). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to directly integrate a front shell and rear shell of a battery pack as evidenced by Murakami et al. (Fig. 2, front and rear shell (12a, 12b)) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Bian does not teach a plurality of batteries linked to form a battery pack.
Ho et al. teaches a battery housing configuration in which at least two adjacent battery cells are linked with a battery holder (connecting piece) to form a single pack (Abstract). Further, an adhesive is used for binding the battery holder and the battery cells together. The battery packs are linked or made prior to being plugged into the casing or housing; the battery holder separates the battery cells to avoid safety issues ([0044]). Ho et al. notes that a person having ordinary skill in the art can reasonably expand the number of battery cells by attaching an additional moveable battery holder to an exposed side of the first and second battery cell ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include adjacent batteries linked to be one pack through a connecting piece as taught by Ho et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to avoid contact between the battery cells and corresponding safety issues as described above.
Bian does not teach the batteries being completely received in the respective through holes.
Bian does not teach a first supporting plate and second supporting plate opposite to the first supporting plate with a battery compartment located there between.
Bian does not teach a plurality of circuit boards arranged as claimed.
Fuhr et al. teaches a shell (826) forming a battery compartment in which the batteries are completely received in the respective holes of the plurality of cell compartments (para. 88, Fig. 15).
Zhang et al. teaches an energy storage power supply comprising an energy storage housing provided with a first support plate (bracket assembly (4)) and a second support plate (bracket assembly (2)) opposite to the first supporting plate in which battery compartments are arranged there between to accommodate the battery pack (3) (Fig. 1). The first supporting plate (2) separates the accommodating chamber or space (formed by housing enclosure (1), lower cover (8), upper cover (9), and output panel (7)) into an equivalent upper and lower space in which the battery compartment is located in a lower space and an upper space is configured to house the inverter power circuit board (53) (comprises an inverter).
Lin teaches a battery module comprising a first circuit board 121 arranged at a front (fourth) side, a second circuit board 122 arranged at a rear (third) side, and a third circuit board 130 arranged at an upper (first) side.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include the batteries completely received in the respective through holes of the cell compartment as taught by Fuhr et al. and to further include a first supporting plate, a second supporting plate opposite to the first supporting plate, a battery compartment located there between, as specified by Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to completely receive the battery pack within the cell compartments to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure within the cell compartment. Further, the structure of Zhang et al. can reduce battery damage and improved safety due to collision or falls (Zhang et al., para. 8).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Bian to include three circuit boards surrounding a plurality of batteries in which a first circuit board is arranged on an upper (first) side and a third circuit board is arranged on a rear (third) side as taught by Lin. Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the upper circuit board of Lin to provide a second circuit board at a lower (second) surface of the battery module or to move the circuit board at the front (fourth side) to the lower (second) side to provide a second circuit board provided on a second (lower) side. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378,380 (CCPA 1960). Additionally, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the modification to further secure the side circuit boards and to provide more sensing elements at a lower surface of the battery module (Lin, para. 1).
As described by the modification above, the energy storage housing of Bian is modified by Zhang et al. to include a first supporting plate and a second supporting plate. Zhang et al. teaches a first side of the first supporting plate at an upper surface (away) from the second supporting plate at a lower surface, and a second side of the second supporting plate away from the first supporting plate (Fig. 1). As shown in the annotated Figure 2 of Bian, Bian teaches an equivalent first (upper), second (lower), third (rear), and fourth (front) side of the energy storage housing in which the front shell (301) is located on a side analogous to a fourth side and the rear shell (302) is located on a side analogous to a third side (Bian, Fig. 2); therefore, when modifying Bian by Zhang, it would be obvious to include the first and second supporting plate at the equivalent first (upper) and second (lower) sides, respectively. The third side and fourth side can be considered arranged in the preset axial direction and adjacent to the first side and second side. Further, as the front shell and rear shell of Bian form an accommodating chamber, the first circuit board, second circuit board, would be enclosed and fixed there within as modified.
Further, as the third circuit board is modified to be arranged on a third side with respect to a first supporting plate and a second supporting plate, two ends of the third circuit board would be adjacent to the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
Regarding Claim 22, Bian is modified Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. Bian teaches that the liquid cooling channel (401d) (functionally analogous to a baffle plate) is arranged in the battery compartment and arranged between any or each two battery mounting positions (para. 62).
Bian does not teach wherein adjacent batteries in one pack are linked through a connecting piece.
Ho et al. teaches a battery housing configuration in which at least two adjacent battery cells are linked with a battery holder (connecting piece) to form a single pack (Abstract). Further, an adhesive is used for binding the battery holder and the battery cells together. The battery packs are linked or made prior to being plugged into the casing or housing; the battery holder separates the battery cells to avoid safety issues ([0044]). Ho et al. notes that a person having ordinary skill in the art can reasonably expand the number of battery cells by attaching an additional moveable battery holder to an exposed side of the first and second battery cell ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include adjacent batteries in one pack that are linked through a connecting piece as taught by Ho et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to avoid contact between the battery cells and corresponding safety issues as described above.
Claims 4, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2).
Regarding Claim 4, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above. As applied to Claim 1, the front shell and the rear shell are configured to be detachably assembled.
Bian does not teach a plurality of output ports exposed at the rear shell.
Zeng teaches a port component including plurality of USB ports exposed at a rear shell (para. 13 of Background summary).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power supply of Bian to further include a port component including a plurality of USB output ports exposed at the rear shell as taught by Zeng. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to provide charging capabilities (Zeng, para. 6 of Background/Summary).
Regarding Claim 9, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, and Zeng teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. As applied to Claim 1, Bian teaches a top cover (top plate) (304) (para. 49, Fig. 2). The top plate is configured to be detachably attached or assembled with the front and rear shells with screws (para. 50, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 11, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al. Zhang et al., Lin, and Zeng teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above. Bian teaches the energy storage housing comprising a liquid inlet and liquid outlet (403, 404) analogous to a guide slot in which is located on a side corresponding to the location of the modified second supporting plate (para. 60, Fig. 5). The bottom cover (305) includes guide holes (305a) forming a guide plate arranged at a corresponding position on the front and rear shell in which the guide plate is configured to slide along the guide slot (para. 60, Fig. 2).
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Nam et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130224524 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, and Zeng teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 4 above.
Bian does not teach the front shell comprising a first buckle slot and the rear shell comprising a first buckle with the first buckle and the first buckle slot configured to be detachably connected to each other.
Nam et al. teaches a front case plate (front shell) provided with first locking depressions (244) (first buckle slot) and a rear case plate (rear shell) with locking members (234) (first buckle) in which the first buckle and the first buckle slot are configured to be detachably connected to each other (para. 143, Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the front and rear shells of Bian to further include a first buckle slot and first buckle, respectively, in which are detachably connected as taught by Nam et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Nam et al. useful in providing a fastening method of battery module members in which assembly time is decreased by eliminating the need of bolts and screws and corresponding tools (Nam et al., para. 9).
Regarding Claim 10, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, and Zeng teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 9 above. As applied to Claim 5, the front shell and rear shell of Bian are modified to further include a first buckle slot and first buckle, respectively, in which are detachably connected as taught by Nam et al. As applied to Claim 7, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a plurality of buckles and connecting buckle slots to fasten or connect members of a battery housing as taught by Nam et al. Therefore, the claim language including the presence of two fifth buckles arranged on the top plate, the front shell provided with an eighth buckle slot, the rear shell provided with a ninth buckle slot, one fifth buckle configured to be detachably connected to the eighth buckle slot, and one fifth buckle configured to be detachably connected to the ninth buckle slot is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B.) One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Nam et al. useful in providing a fastening method of members of a battery module member in which assembly time is decreased by eliminating the need of bolts and screws and corresponding tools (Nam et al., para. 9). Further, including a plurality of buckles and buckle slots will more securely fasten connecting members of the battery housing.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2) and Nam et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130224524 A1) as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20190372069 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, Zeng, and Nam et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 5 above. As applied to Claim 5, Nam et al. teaches the use of buckles and corresponding buckle slots configured to be detachably connected each other as a method to fasten or connect members of a battery housing.
Bian does not teach the energy storage power supply comprising a chamber cover body arranged in a lengthwise direction of the first supporting plate or the second supporting plate in which is configured to be detachably connected to the energy storage housing; at least two second buckles arranged on the chamber cover body; at least two second buckle slots provided in the energy storage housing; and the second buckles and the second buckle slots configured to be detachably connected to each other.
Lee et al. teaches an insulation plate (295) (chamber cover body) arranged in a lengthwise direction of the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate; the chamber cover body is fastened and configured to be detachably connected to the energy storage housing with a fastening member (299) and support bar (297) (para. 126-119, Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include a chamber cover body arranged in a lengthwise direction of the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate in which configured to be detachably connected to the energy storage housing as taught by Lee et al. One of ordinary skill would be motivated to do so to provide a battery module with increased efficiency in connecting and expanding a plurality of battery modules (Lee et al., para. 11). Further, it would have been obvious to further modify connecting members such as the chamber cover body and energy storage housing to include second buckles and second buckle slots, respectively in which are configured to be detachably connected to each other as taught by Nam et al. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378,380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co. , 193 USPQ 8. The motivation to do so would be to provide a fastening method of battery module members in which assembly time is decreased by eliminating the need of bolts and screws and corresponding tools (Nam et al., para. 9).
Regarding Claim 7, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, Zeng, Nam et al. and Lee et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 6 above. As applied to Claim 6, the energy storage power supply of Bian is modified to include a chamber cover body connected or assembled to the energy storage housing as taught by Lee et al. As applied to Claims 5 and 6, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a plurality of buckles and connecting buckle slots to fasten or connect members of a battery housing as taught by Nam et al. Therefore, it would be obvious to connect the front and rear shell to the energy storage housing using a plurality of buckles in which, as claimed, a third buckle slot is communicated to a second buckle slot of the front shell, a fourth buckle slot is communicated to the other second buckle slot provided in the rear shell, one of the second buckles passes through the third buckle slot and one of the second buckle slots to connect the front shell and the energy storage housing, and the other second buckle passes through the fourth buckle slot and the other second buckle slot to connect the rear shell and the energy storage housing. (See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B.) The motivation to do so would be to provide a fastening method of battery module members in which assembly time is decreased by eliminating the need of bolts and screws and corresponding tools (Nam et al., para. 9). Further, including a plurality of buckles and buckle slots will more securely fasten connecting members of the battery housing.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), Zeng (U.S. Pat. No. 11283282 B2), and Nam et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20130224524 A1) as applied to Claim 5 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20210077415 A).
Regarding Claim 8, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, Zeng, and Nam et al. teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 5 above. As applied to Claim 5, the front and rear shells of Bian are modified to further include a first buckle slot and first buckle, respectively, in which are detachably connected as taught by Nam et al.
Bian does not teach a side plate arranged in a lengthwise direction of the first supporting plate or the second supporting plate and the side plate is configured to be detachably connected to the energy storage housing.
Jeon et al. teaches a cover plate (180) (side plate) disposed on the side of the module housing (150) (energy storage housing) in a lengthwise direction of first plate (160) (first supporting plate) and a second supporting plate arranged on the opposite side; the side plate may be coupled by a screw in which the side plate is detachably connected to the energy storage housing (para. 17 of “Module housing 150]”, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to further include a side plate arranged in a lengthwise direction of the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate and the side plate is configured to be detachably connected to the energy storage housing as taught by Jeon et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Jeon et al. useful in providing improved structural stability and rigidity of an energy storage housing (para. 31 of “[Module housing 150]”).
Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further Modify Bian to apply the fastening method taught by Nam et al. to include a plurality of buckles and buckle slots arranged on the side plates, front, and rear shells for attachment to the energy storage housing. Therefore, the following claim language is rendered obvious: at least one third buckle and at least two fourth buckles arranged on the side plate, at least one fifth buckle slot provided in the energy storage housing; at least one sixth buckle slot provided in the front shell; at least one seventh buckle slot provided in the rear shell; the third buckle configured to be detachably connected to the fifth buckle slot; the fourth buckle configured to be detachably connected to the sixth buckle slot; and one of the fourth buckles configured to be detachably connected to the seventh buckle slot. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B.) One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Nam et al. useful in providing a fastening method of members of a battery module member in which assembly time is decreased by eliminating the need of bolts and screws and corresponding tools (Nam et al., para. 9). Further, including a plurality of buckles and buckle slots will more securely fasten connecting members of the battery housing.
Claims 13-14, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A) and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kazuhiro et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20110048001 A).
Regarding Claim 13, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin as applied to Claim 1 above.
Bian does not teach the energy storage housing provided with a first mounting portion, the first mounting portion arranged on one side of the first supporting plate away from the second supporting plate, and the first circuit board and the first mounting portion configured to be detachably connected to each other.
Kazuhiro et al. teaches mounting or detachably connecting a first and second circuit board using screws in which are inserted through holes (first mounting portion) of an energy storage housing (para. 22 of “[12] Embodiment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian to include mounting portions on each side of the energy storage housing corresponding to a circuit board in which are configured to detachably connect the energy storage housing and circuit board as taught by Kazuhiro et al. When performing the described modification, it would be obvious to include a first mounting portion on one side of the first (upper) supporting plate (away from the second (lower) supporting plate) in which accommodates the first circuit board where the first circuit board and the first mounting portion are configured to be detachably connected to each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to securely fix the circuit boards with the energy storage housing.
Regarding Claim 14, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin as applied to Claim 1 above.
Bian does not teach the energy storage housing provided with a first fixing portion, the first fixing portion arranged on one side of the first supporting plate away from the second supporting plate, the first fixing portion configured to be detachably connected to the second circuit board; and a first limiting portion configured to resist against and locate the second circuit board is further arranged on one side of the second supporting plate away from the first supporting plate.
Kazuhiro et al. teaches mounting or detachably connecting the first and second circuit board using screws (limiting portion) in which are inserted through holes (first mounting portion) of an energy storage housing (para. 22 of “[12] Embodiment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian by Kazuhiro et al. to include mounting (fixing) portions on each side of the energy storage housing corresponding to a circuit board in which are configured to detachably connect the energy storage housing and circuit board, and to further include a screw as the limiting portion in which is configured to fix (resist against force). When performing the described modification, it would be obvious to include a first fixing portion on one side of the second (lower) supporting plate (away from the upper (first) supporting plate) in which accommodates the second circuit board where the first circuit board and the first fixing portion are configured to be detachably connected to each other. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the screw a first limiting portion in which is configured to resist against and locate the second circuit board and is further arranged on one side of the second supporting plate away from the first supporting plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to securely fix the circuit boards with the energy storage housing.
Regarding Claim 17, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin as applied to Claim 1 above. As applied to Claims 13 and 14, the energy storage housing of Bian is modified to include mounting (fixing) portions on each side of the energy storage housing corresponding to a circuit board in which are configured to detachably connect the energy storage housing and circuit board by screws inserted through holes as taught by Kazuhiro et al. (para. 22 of “[12] Embodiment”). When modifying Bian, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a second fixing portion arranged on one side of the rear shell facing the front shell; a hole provided in the third circuit board for accommodating the screw; the third circuit board and the second fixing portion configured to be detachably connected to each other; and a supporting portion (screw) configured to resist against and locate the third circuit board further arranged on one side of the rear shell facing the front shell. Mere duplication of parts such as the fixing portion has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B.). Rearrangement of parts such as the hole provided in the energy storage housing as taught by Kazuhiro et al. above and to include a second fixing portion on the rear and front shell is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.C). One would be motivated to do so to provide an attachment mechanism.
Regarding Claim 21, Bian teaches a battery module (in which can be used as an energy storage power supply) comprising a plurality of batteries and a liquid cooling unit (400) (energy storage housing) (para. 57, Fig. 2). The energy storage housing comprises a first electrode plate and a second electrode plate (positive current carrying sheet (201), negative current carrying sheet (202)); a battery compartment comprising hollow cylindrical walls (401a) forming a first opening exposed on one side and a second opening exposed at opposite another side (para. 59, Fig. 6) and channels (401a-1) forming through holes in which are in communication with the opening and serve as battery mounting positions. The first opening or the second opening is configured to allow the battery cells of the battery pack to be plugged into the battery compartment in a Z direction (preset axial direction) (there is no difference in the structure of the first opening or second opening that would prevent a skilled artisan from inserting the battery cells from either opening; the battery compartment configuration of Bian is capable of performing the claimed function (allowing insertion of the battery cells into either opening of the compartment)) (para. 59). The batteries are received in the respective through holes by the first electrode plate (201) covering the first opening, the second electrode plate (202) covering the second opening, and the first electrode plate and the second electrode plate electrically connected to the batteries (para. 40-43, Fig. 2).
Bian does not teach at least two battery packs, wherein each of the battery packs comprises a plurality of batteries linked to be one pack.
Ho et al. teaches a battery housing configuration in which at least two adjacent battery cells are linked with a battery holder (connecting piece) to form a plurality of battery packs (Abstract). Further, an adhesive is used for binding the battery holder and the battery cells together. The battery packs are linked or made prior to being plugged into the casing or housing; the battery holder separates the battery cells to avoid safety issues ([0044]). Ho et al. notes that a person having ordinary skill in the art can reasonably expand the number of battery cells by attaching an additional moveable battery holder to an exposed side of the first and second battery cell ([0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include at least two battery packs, wherein each of the battery packs comprises a plurality of batteries linked to be one pack as taught by Ho et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform the described modification to avoid contact between the battery cells and corresponding safety issues as described above.
Bian teaches a protective casing (300) including a first shell (301) (front shell) and a second shell (302) (rear shell) located on opposite (two) sides of the energy storage housing in the Z direction (preset axial direction); the front and rear shells are configured to be detachably assembled with the energy storage housing with screws (para. 45, Fig. 2). The energy storage housing is fixed in an accommodating chamber formed by the front and rear shells in which further include a cover (304, 305) and an air guide unit (500) (para. 65, Fig. 2). Further, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to directly integrate a front shell and rear shell of a battery pack as evidenced by Murakami et al. (Fig. 2, front and rear shell (12a, 12b)) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Bian does not teach the batteries being completely received in the respective through holes.
Bian does not teach a first supporting plate and second supporting plate opposite to the first supporting plate with a battery compartment located there between.
Bian does not teach a plurality of circuit boards arranged as claimed.
Bian does not teach the energy storage housing provided with a first mounting portion, the first mounting portion arranged on one side of the first supporting plate away from the second supporting plate, and the first circuit board and the first mounting portion configured to be detachably connected to each other. Bian does not teach the energy storage housing provided with a first fixing portion, the first fixing portion arranged on one side of the first supporting plate away from the second supporting plate, the first fixing portion configured to be detachably connected to the second circuit board; and a first limiting portion configured to resist against and locate the second circuit board is further arranged on one side of the second supporting plate away from the first supporting plate.
Fuhr et al. teaches a shell (826) forming a battery compartment in which the batteries are completely received in the respective holes of the plurality of cell compartments (para. 88, Fig. 15).
Zhang et al. teaches an energy storage power supply comprising an energy storage housing provided with a first support plate (bracket assembly (4)) and a second support plate (bracket assembly (2)) opposite to the first supporting plate in which battery compartments are arranged there between to accommodate the battery pack (3) (Fig. 1). The first supporting plate (2) separates the accommodating chamber or space (formed by housing enclosure (1), lower cover (8), upper cover (9), and output panel (7)) into an equivalent upper and lower space in which the battery compartment is located in a lower space and an upper space is configured to house the inverter power circuit board (53) (comprises an inverter).
Lin teaches a battery module comprising a first circuit board 121 arranged at a front (fourth) side, a second circuit board 122 arranged at a rear (third) side, and a third circuit board 130 arranged at an upper (first) side.
Kazuhiro et al. teaches mounting or detachably connecting a first and second circuit board using screws in which are inserted through holes (first mounting portion) of an energy storage housing (para. 22 of “[12] Embodiment”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage power supply of Bian to include the batteries completely received in the respective through holes of the cell compartment as taught by Fuhr et al. and to further include a first supporting plate, a second supporting plate opposite to the first supporting plate, and a battery compartment located there between as specified by Zhang et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to completely receive the battery pack within the cell compartments to provide protection of the battery cell and to further secure within the cell compartment. Further, the structure of Zhang et al. can reduce battery damage and improved safety due to collision or falls (Zhang et al., para. 8).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further modify Bian to include three circuit boards surrounding a plurality of batteries in which a first circuit board is arranged on an upper (first) side and a third circuit board is arranged on a rear (third) side as taught by Lin. Additionally, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the upper circuit board of Lin to provide a second circuit board at a lower (second) surface of the battery module or to move the circuit board at the front (fourth side) to the lower (second) side to provide a second circuit board provided on a second (lower) side. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378,380 (CCPA 1960). Additionally, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art while the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the modification to further secure the side circuit boards and to provide more sensing elements at a lower surface of the battery module (Lin, para. 1).
As described by the modification above, the energy storage housing of Bian is modified by Zhang et al. to include a first supporting plate and a second supporting plate. Zhang et al. teaches a first side of the first supporting plate at an upper surface (away) from the second supporting plate at a lower surface, and a second side of the second supporting plate away from the first supporting plate (Fig. 1). As shown in the annotated Figure 2 of Bian above, Bian teaches an equivalent first (upper), second (lower), third (rear), and fourth (front) side of the energy storage housing in which the front shell (301) is located on a side analogous to a fourth side and the rear shell (302) is located on a side analogous to a third side (Bian, Fig. 2); therefore, when modifying Bian by Zhang, it would be obvious to include the first and second supporting plate at the equivalent first (upper) and second (lower) sides, respectively. The third side and fourth side can be considered arranged in the preset axial direction and adjacent to the first side and second side. Further, as the front shell and rear shell of Bian form an accommodating chamber, the first circuit board, second circuit board, would be enclosed and fixed there within as modified. Further, as the third circuit board is modified to be arranged on a third side with respect to a first supporting plate and a second supporting plate, two ends of the third circuit board would be adjacent to the first supporting plate and the second supporting plate (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.C).
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian to include mounting portions on each side of the energy storage housing corresponding to a circuit board in which are configured to detachably connect the energy storage housing and circuit board as taught by Kazuhiro et al. When performing the described modification, it would be obvious to include a first mounting portion on one side of the first (upper) supporting plate in which accommodates the first circuit board where the first circuit board and the first mounting portion are configured to be detachably connected to each other. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to securely fix the circuit boards with the energy storage housing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian by Kazuhiro et al. to include mounting portions on each side of the energy storage housing corresponding to a circuit board in which are configured to detachably connect the energy storage housing and circuit board, and to further include a screw as the limiting portion in which is configured to fix (resist against force). When performing the described modification, it would be obvious to include a first fixing portion on one side of the second (lower) supporting plate in which accommodates the second circuit board where the first circuit board and the first fixing portion are configured to be detachably connected to each other. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to consider the screw a first limiting portion in which is configured to resist against and locate the second circuit board and is further arranged on one side of the second supporting plate away from the first supporting plate. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to perform the described modification to securely fix the circuit boards with the energy storage housing.
As applied above, the energy storage housing of Bian is modified to include a first mounting or fixing portion arranged on one side of the energy storage housing as taught by Kazuhiro et al. (para. 22 of “[12] Embodiment”). When modifying Bian, it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to a second fixing portion arranged on one side of the rear shell facing the front shell; a hole provided in the third circuit board; the third circuit board and the second fixing portion configured to be detachably connected to each other; and a supporting portion configured to resist against and locate the third circuit board further arranged on one side of the rear shell facing the front shell. Mere duplication of parts such as the fixing portion has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B.). Rearrangement of parts such as the hole provided in the energy storage housing as taught by Kazuhiro et al. above and to include a second fixing portion on the rear and front shell is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (See MPEP 2144.04.VI.C). One would be motivated to do so to provide an attachment mechanism.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A), and Kazuhiro et al. (K.R. Pat. No. 20110048001 A) as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of Matsuda et al. (J.P. Pat. No. 2015008114 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, and Kazuhiro et al. as applied to Claim 14 above. As applied to Claim 14, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to duplicate the mounting portions and limiting portions to include a second mounting portion, third mounting portion, and second limiting portion in which is configured to detachably connect to one another.
Bian does not teach a lighting device or heat dissipation fan.
Matsuda et al. teaches a lighting device (10) configured to be electrically connected to a circuit board (24) comprising heat dissipation fins (35) (para. 12-19, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian to include a lighting device configured to be electrically connected to the second circuit board and the lighting device comprising a heat dissipation fin as taught by Matsuda et al. When performing the modification, it would be obvious to include a second mounting portion on the energy storage housing to detachably connect the lighting device; the heat dissipation fin comprising a third mounting portion and a second limiting portion connected to the third mounting portion; the third mounting portion configured to be detachably connected to the second mounting portion; and the second limiting portion configured to resist against the second mounting portion to limit a mounting position of the heat dissipation fin. Mere duplication and rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.). One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Matsuda et al. useful in providing a lighting device with improved heat radiation, performance, and regulation (para. 6).
Regarding Claim 16, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., Lin, Kazuhiro et al., and Matsuda et al. as applied to Claim 15 above.
Bian does not teach a lighting chamber, light outlet, light emitting element, and condensing lens.
Matsuda et al. teaches a cylindrical portion (42) (lighting chamber) provided with a first light outlet in which the lighting device is arranged in the lighting chamber. The lighting device further comprises light emitting elements (19) and lens (12) (condensing lens) arranged on the heat dissipation fin (para. , Fig. 1). A light emitting surface (18) of the light emitting element is arranged in a manner facing the condensing lens (12) (para. , Fig. 1). It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that a condensing lens is configured to condense light emitted by the light emitting element to form a small beam with long lighting distance.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian to include a lighting chamber provided with a first light outlet, the lighting device arranged in the lighting chamber; the lighting device comprising a light-emitting element and a condensing lens arranged on the heat dissipation fin; a light-emitting surface of the light-emitting element arranged in a manner of facing the condensing lens and the first light outlet; the condensing lens configured to condense light emitted by the light-emitting element to form a small beam with a long lighting distance as taught by Matsuda et al. When performing the modification, it would be obvious to include a mounting portion (second mounting portion) to mount or connect the lighting chamber to the energy storage housing. Further, it would be obvious to configure the second circuit board to be electrically connected to the first circuit board. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Matsuda et al. useful in providing a lighting device with improved heat radiation performance and regulation (para. 6).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and in view of Kazuhiro et al. as applied Claims 13-14 and 17, and further in view of Yang (C.N. Pat. No. 109630951 A) and Kim et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20220285770 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin as applied to Claim 1 above. Based on the modification as applied in Claims 13-14 and 17, the presence of a mounting portion on a side of the first and second supporting plate to detachably connect the first and second circuit board to the mounting portion, respectively, is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art and further evident by Kazuhiro et al. (para. 22 of “[12] Embodiment”). Mere duplication and rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (See MPEP § 2144.04.VI.). Therefore, the presence of a fourth mounting portion and fifth mounting portion respectively arranged on the front shell and rear shell is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art; one would be motivated to do so to improve attachability of the battery housing.
Bian does not teach a mounting sliding chute; a light-transmittance lampshade and a night lamp; the lampshade is configured to be retractable and foldable; the night lamp is arranged in the lampshade; the night lamp is electrically connected to the second circuit board; the lampshade or the night lamp is provided with a mounting structure; and the mounting structure is configured to be detachably connected to the mounting sliding chute.
Yang teaches a night lamp provided with a lampshade (light-transmittance lampshade) in which the night lamp is arranged in the lampshade (Claim 1, Fig. 1), the night lamp is electrically connected to a circuit board provided in the inner surface of base (1). The lampshade and night lamp are provided with a lamp base (4) and a supporting rod (2) analogous to a mounting structure (para. 28, Fig. 1). Further, the night lamp has automatic closing capabilities in which implies that the lampshade has retractability and foldability (para. 3 of “Beneficial Effects”). Kim et al. teaches grooves formed in a housing (300) analogous to an energy storage housing in which align with corresponding guides (210) of a battery cell stack (100) and cell covers (200) in which are slid and inserted into the housing forming a structure analogous to a mounting sliding chute (para. 5, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian to include a light-transmittance lampshade and a night lamp; the night lamp is electrically connected to a circuit board; the lampshade or the night lamp is provided with a mounting structure as taught by Yang. It would be obvious to further include a mounting sliding chute taught by Kim et al. to detachably connect to the mounting structure. Further, it would be obvious to apply the mounting sliding chute mechanism taught by Kim et al. to the fourth and fifth mounting portion as connection mechanism. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Yang useful to include an intelligent night lamp with timing and automatic closing capabilities in which imply a retractable and foldable lampshade. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Kim et al. useful to prevent dislodging and improve the mechanical efficiency of the battery housing (para. 76).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian (C.N. Pat. No. 110581299 A) in view of Ho et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 20110293971 A1), Fuhr et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 102460816 A), Zhang et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 114784985 A), and Lin (T.W. Pat. No. 201216545 A) as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Sun et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 205829212 U) and Zhu et al. (C.N. Pat. No. 212333396 U).
Regarding Claim 19, Bian is modified by Ho et al., Fuhr et al., Zhang et al., and Lin teaching all claim limitations as applied to Claim 1 above.
Bian does not teach a handle and strap with the claimed features.
Sun et al. teaches a power supply with a strap (113) and a handle (112) in which is connected to a box body (111) (energy storage housing) (para. 25, Fig. 2); the battery box has the dimensions of 400 x 362 x 485 mm in which the length of the strap appears to at least be the total length and width of the box totaling approximately 1200 mm, within the claimed range of 500 mm to 1900 mm (para. 30, Fig. 2). Zhu et al. teaches a power supply comprising a handle (1) including a silica gel protective sleeve (2) or strip arranged on a limiting column (5) (seventh mounting portion) (para. Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy storage housing of Bian to further include a handle and strap configured to be detachably connected to energy storage housing, a strap length within the claimed range of 500 mm to 1900 mm and a relatively small width and thickness as taught by Sun et al. Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir.1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). It is well known in the art that the thickness of a strap is typically less than the strap width while the strap width is not overly large or small for optimal user comfort and portability; the ranges disclosed by claim language of a width in a range of 10 mm to 60 mm and a thickness in a range of 0.5 mm to 5 mm are not unknown to those skilled in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would find the teachings of Sun et al. useful in providing a battery module in which is small in volume and convenient to carry (Sun et al., para. 30). It would be obvious to further include a silica gel strip arranged on a mounting portion of the handle as taught by Zhu et al; one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to provide a portable power supply with improved space utilization, appearance utilizing the handle structure (Zhu et al., Abstract).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.R.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1729
/ULA C RUDDOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1729