Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Noller et al (US 2024/0137696).
Consider claim 1. Noller teaches a sound system comprising: a receiver (110, fig. 1, para 1: audio signals that are amplified and played through one or more acoustic transducers, e.g., loudspeakers; para 18: The audio system 100 also includes a sound stage processor 120 to control output to a number of acoustic transducers 122) configured to simultaneously receive a plurality of signals from a plurality of external devices (sources 1-k, fig. 1, para 1); and an amplifier (sound stage rendering 120, fig. 1, para 1) configured to (i) amplify each of the plurality of signals (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120), (ii) transform the plurality of signals into a plurality of amplified signals (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120), and (iii) simultaneously transmit each of the plurality of amplified signals to a different subset of a plurality of speakers (122, fig. 1, para 1).
Consider claim 4. Noller further teaches the amplifier includes output ports, and wherein the output ports are configured to transmit at least a portion of the plurality of amplified signals from the amplifier to at least a portion of the plurality of speakers via wires (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120 connecting to plural speakers 122).
Consider claim 5. Noller further teaches the output ports (e.g., speaker terminals of the rendering 120) are configured to transmit each signal of the at least a portion of the plurality of amplified signals to a different speaker of the plurality of speakers (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120 connecting to plural speakers 122).
Consider claim 7. Noller further teaches wherein the receiver (e.g., input terminals of 110) is configured to receive the plurality of signals via wires (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120 connecting to plural speakers 122).
Consider claim 8. Noller further teaches wherein the amplifier and the receiver are mounted to a wall (e.g., a structure of a vehicle, para 22 of Noller).
Consider claim 9. Noller also teaches the amplifier and the receiver are mounted to a wall of a mobile structure (e.g., a vehicle, para 22 of Noller).
Consider claim 10. Noller teaches the mobile structure is a recreational vehicle (e.g., a vehicle, para 22 of Noller).
Consider claim 12. Noller teaches the mobile structure is a bus (e.g., a vehicle, para 22 of Noller).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3, 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noller et al (US 2024/0137696) in view of Wee et al (US2011/0142243).
Consider claim 2. Noller does not teach the use of a transmitter, wherein the transmitter is (i) connected to the amplifier and (ii) configured to wirelessly transmit at least a portion of the plurality of amplified signals from the amplifier to at least a portion of the plurality of speakers.
Wee teaches the use of a transmitter, wherein the transmitter is (i) connected to the amplifier and (ii) configured to wirelessly transmit at least a portion of the plurality of amplified signals from the amplifier to at least a portion of the plurality of speakers (see the abstract; para 21, para 24, fig. 2 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Wee into the teachings of Noller in order to provide a transmitter unit compensation method having simpler structure in comparison to the conventional receiver unit control method by pre-compensating for replay time difference between the speakers at the transmitter unit (para 17 of Wee) .
Consider claim 3. Wee further teaches the transmitter is configured to transmit each signal of the at least a portion of the plurality of amplified signals to a different speaker of the plurality of speakers (see the abstract; para 21, para 24, fig. 2 and 5).
Consider claim 6. Wee further teaches the receiver is configured to receive the plurality of signals wirelessly (see the abstract; para 21, para 42, fig. 2 and 5).
Consider claim 11. Noller teaches the mobile structure is a vehicle or bus or car (see the rejections of claims 8-10 above). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the teachings of Noller into a boat, since modifying Noller teachings into a boat involves just mere mechanical skill.
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noller et al (US 2024/0137696) in view of Lee et al (US2013/0329893).
Consider claim 13. Noller further teach each subset of the plurality of speakers is configured to receive one of the plurality of amplified signals (see fig. 1) and not any other of the plurality of amplified signals (para 1: an audio system supports multiple input channels, such as a stereo left-right pair or even more audio channels and/or metadata as in surround sound and/or spatial audio systems. Such audio systems generally include multiple loudspeakers, each of which may be in varying locations and cover varying portions of the audio spectrum; para 20: the sound stage processor 120 may produce inconsistent delays across various components of one or more of the audio signal channels 114, such that when audio is rendered by the acoustic transducers 122). However, to make the record clearer. Lee teaches each subset of the plurality of speakers is configured to receive one of the plurality of amplified signals and not any other of the plurality of amplified signals (para 42: the audio output 150 comprises a plurality of speakers, and each of the speakers outputs a single-channel audio signal respectively. In this case, each speaker is separated from each other physically, and an audio signal of a different channel is input to each speaker, and thus each speaker outputs an audio signal of a different channel simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Noller in order to provide an audio output apparatus capable of outputting multi-channel audio signals which have been input individually and a method for outputting audio.
Consider claim 14. Noller teaches a sound system (sound system 100, fig. 1) comprising: a receiver configured to receive a plurality of signals from a plurality of external devices (para 18, It is noted that para 18 of Noller has not limited the number(s) of source(s) to be selected at a single moment; para 18: FIG. 1 illustrates an example audio system 100 that includes source selection switching 110 to allow selection from among multiple audio sources 112 to provide one or more audio signal channels 114 for rendering as acoustic signals. Selection, according to Collins English Dictionary: a thing or number of things that have been selected); and an amplifier (sound stage rendering 120, fig. 1, para 1) configured to (i) amplify each of the plurality of signals (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120), (ii) transform the plurality of signals into a plurality of amplified signals (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120), and (iii) transmit each of the plurality of amplified signals to a different subset of a plurality of speakers (122, fig. 1, para 1) such that each subset of the plurality of speakers receives one of the plurality of amplified signals and not any other of the plurality of amplified signals (para 1: an audio system supports multiple input channels, such as a stereo left-right pair or even more audio channels and/or metadata as in surround sound and/or spatial audio systems. Such audio systems generally include multiple loudspeakers, each of which may be in varying locations and cover varying portions of the audio spectrum; para 20: the sound stage processor 120 may produce inconsistent delays across various components of one or more of the audio signal channels 114, such that when audio is rendered by the acoustic transducers 122).
However, to make the record clearer. Lee teaches each subset of the plurality of speakers is configured to receive one of the plurality of amplified signals (para 38: The receiver 110 receives multi-channel audio signals. That is, the receiver 110 may be configured as a plurality of receiving terminals to receive audio signals by channel. The audio signals received through a plurality of receiving terminals are different from each other and input to the amplifier 130 channel by channel; para 39: The receiver 110 may be realized as a receiving terminal in various forms. The receiver 110 is capable of receiving an audio signal from the audio processing apparatus 200 via cable (see FIG. 6). (However, alternatively a wireless connection may be used.) For example, the receiver 110 may be realized in various types such as plug type, socket type, direct cable connection type, and so on) and not any other of the plurality of amplified signals (para 42: the audio output 150 comprises a plurality of speakers, and each of the speakers outputs a single-channel audio signal respectively. In this case, each speaker is separated from each other physically, and an audio signal of a different channel is input to each speaker, and thus each speaker outputs an audio signal of a different channel simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Noller in order to provide an audio output apparatus capable of outputting multi-channel audio signals which have been input individually and a method for outputting audio.
Consider claim 15. Noller further teaches the receiver (100, fig 1) is configured to receive the plurality of signals simultaneously (para 18, It is noted that para 18 of Noller has not limited the number(s) of source(s) to be selected at a single moment; para 18: FIG. 1 illustrates an example audio system 100 that includes source selection switching 110 to allow selection from among multiple audio sources 112 to provide one or more audio signal channels 114 for rendering as acoustic signals.) Selection, according to Collins English Dictionary: a thing or number of things that have been selected.
Consider claim 16. Noller further teaches the amplifier is configured to transmit each of the plurality of amplified signals simultaneously (see fig. 1, para 20: the sound stage processor 120 may produce inconsistent delays across various components of one or more of the audio signal channels 114, such that when audio is rendered by the acoustic transducers 122, the audio output associated with the various components may not be temporally aligned, e.g., synchronized, to the same extent that they were in the audio signal channels 114).
Consider claim 17. Noller does not teach the receiver is configured to receive the plurality of signals wirelessly.
Lee teaches the receiver is configured to receive the plurality of signals wirelessly (wireless receiver, para 39: The receiver 110 may be realized as a receiving terminal in various forms. The receiver 110 is capable of receiving an audio signal from the audio processing apparatus 200 via cable (see FIG. 6). (However, alternatively a wireless connection may be used.))
Consider claim 18. Noller does not teaches the amplifier is configured to transmit each of the plurality of amplified signals wirelessly.
Lee teaches the amplifier is configured to transmit each of the plurality of amplified signals wirelessly (wireless transmitter, para 65: The plurality of audio output apparatuses 100-1 to 100-6 are connected to the audio processing apparatus 200 via cable. However, alternatively a wireless connection may be used).
Consider claim 19. Noller teaches a sound system (100, fig. 1) comprising: a receiver configured to receive a plurality of signals from a plurality of external devices (para 18, It is noted that para 18 of Noller has not limited the number(s) of source(s) to be selected at a single moment; para 18: FIG. 1 illustrates an example audio system 100 that includes source selection switching 110 to allow selection from among multiple audio sources 112 to provide one or more audio signal channels 114 for rendering as acoustic signals. Selection, according to Collins English Dictionary: a thing or number of things that have been selected); and an amplifier (sound stage rendering 120, fig. 1, para 1) configured to (i) amplify each of the plurality of signals (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120), (ii) transform the plurality of signals into a plurality of amplified signals (e.g., source 1-k or channel 1-m are amplified by the rendering 120), and (iii) and simultaneously transmit each of the plurality of amplified signals to a different subset of a plurality of speakers such that each subset of the plurality of speakers receives a respective one of the plurality of amplified signals (122, fig. 1, para 1) while every other of the plurality of amplified signals is prevented from being transmitted to the respective subset (para 1: an audio system supports multiple input channels, such as a stereo left-right pair or even more audio channels and/or metadata as in surround sound and/or spatial audio systems. Such audio systems generally include multiple loudspeakers, each of which may be in varying locations and cover varying portions of the audio spectrum; para 20: the sound stage processor 120 may produce inconsistent delays across various components of one or more of the audio signal channels 114, such that when audio is rendered by the acoustic transducers 122).
However, to make the record clearer. Lee teaches each subset of the plurality of speakers is configured to receive one of the plurality of amplified signals while every other of the plurality of amplified signals is prevented from being transmitted to the respective subset (para 42: the audio output 150 comprises a plurality of speakers, and each of the speakers outputs a single-channel audio signal respectively. In this case, each speaker is separated from each other physically, and an audio signal of a different channel is input to each speaker, and thus each speaker outputs an audio signal of a different channel simultaneously).
Noller also does not teach wireless receivers or wireless transmitters to receive and transmit wireless audio signals, respective.
Lee further teaches the use of wireless receivers or wireless transmitters to receive and transmit wireless audio signals (wireless receiver, para 39: The receiver 110 may be realized as a receiving terminal in various forms. The receiver 110 is capable of receiving an audio signal from the audio processing apparatus 200 via cable (see FIG. 6). (However, alternatively a wireless connection may be used.); (wireless transmitter, para 65: The plurality of audio output apparatuses 100-1 to 100-6 are connected to the audio processing apparatus 200 via cable. However, alternatively a wireless connection may be used).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Noller in order to provide an audio output apparatus capable of outputting multi-channel audio signals which have been input individually and a method for outputting audio.
Consider claim 20. Noller teaches the receiver is configured to receive the plurality of signals simultaneously (para 18, It is noted that para 18 of Noller has not limited the number(s) of source(s) to be selected at a single moment; para 18: FIG. 1 illustrates an example audio system 100 that includes source selection switching 110 to allow selection from among multiple audio sources 112 to provide one or more audio signal channels 114 for rendering as acoustic signals. Selection, according to Collins English Dictionary: a thing or number of things that have been selected) and the amplifier is configured to transmit each of the plurality of amplified signals simultaneously (see fig 1 of Noller, para 20: the sound stage processor 120 may produce inconsistent delays across various components of one or more of the audio signal channels 114, such that when audio is rendered by the acoustic transducers 122, the audio output associated with the various components may not be temporally aligned, e.g., synchronized, to the same extent that they were in the audio signal channels 114). However, to make the record clearer. Lee teaches each subset of the plurality of speakers is configured to receive one of the plurality of amplified signals while every other of the plurality of amplified signals is prevented from being transmitted to the respective subset (para 42: the audio output 150 comprises a plurality of speakers, and each of the speakers outputs a single-channel audio signal respectively. In this case, each speaker is separated from each other physically, and an audio signal of a different channel is input to each speaker, and thus each speaker outputs an audio signal of a different channel simultaneously).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Noller in order to provide an audio output apparatus capable of outputting multi-channel audio signals which have been input individually and a method for outputting audio.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Noller does not disclose simultaneously transmitting different amplified signals to different subsets of speakers as required by claim 1. In contrast to applicant’s assertion, para 20 clearly discloses : “the sound stage processor 120 may produce inconsistent delays across various components of one or more of the audio signal channels 114, such that when audio is rendered by the acoustic transducers 122, the audio output associated with the various components may not be temporally aligned, e.g., synchronized, to the same extent that they were in the audio signal channels 114. In some examples, for instance, bass or lower frequencies may be delayed more than treble or higher frequencies. Thus, as one example for illustration, a snare drum may be heard by a listener just slightly before a bass guitar, even though the bass guitar may be in sync with the snare drum in the original audio signal channels 114. To be clear, such a difference in arrival times may not be perceived by the listener as a delay or out-of-sync condition, rather the delay may be so slight that the listener simply has a different perception of the sound of the audio system, as compared to one without the introduction of such delays.” Clearly that the audio signals from channels 114 have different contents (e.g., snare drum, bass guitar), being delayed, out-of-sync, having different frequencies. Moreover, Fig. 1 clearly shows multiple channels (114) simultaneously rendered to speakers (122).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the present application describes an amplifier that simultaneously outputs separate amplified signals so that different speaker subsets (speaker zones) reproduce different audio. For example, the specification explains that the amplifier may direct the signals of each external device to a different speaker or to a different subset of speakers and that each subset of speakers may constitute a separate speaker zone. See Spec., [0014]-[0018]. Accordingly, the claimed amplifier performs a fundamentally different function than Noller's sound stage processor 120. Whereas Noller distributes multiple channels of a single audio program among multiple speakers, while claim 1 requires simultaneously distributing different amplified signals corresponding to different received signals among different subsets of speakers.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Nonetheless, it is noted that para 18 of Noller has not limited the number(s) of source(s) to be selected at a single moment, para 18 discloses: FIG. 1 illustrates an example audio system 100 that includes source selection switching 110 to allow selection from among multiple audio sources 112 to provide one or more audio signal channels 114 for rendering as acoustic signals. Moreover, Selection, according to Collins English Dictionary: a thing or number of things that have been selected. Therefore, Noller distributes multiple channels of multiple audio programs (e.g., multiple sources) among multiple speakers, not a single program as argued by the applicant.
Applicant argues that Wee does not disclose transmitting each signal of a plurality of amplified signals to a different speaker as required by claim 3. In contrast to applicant’s assertion, Wee discloses in para 24: “the present invention suggests a TDMA based multichannel wireless transmission system comprising: a wireless sound transmitter receiving multiple data having identical replay time point, outputting the received data with a predetermined time delay as assigned to each sound channel, and transmitting the transmit packets modulated by the output data via the wireless channels; and a plurality of wireless sound speakers for replaying sounds by receiving the transmit packets from the wireless sound transmitter.” It is noted that Noller already discloses transmitting each signal of a plurality of amplified signals to a different speaker as required by claim 3. However, Noller does not disclose wirelessly transmitting each signal of a plurality of amplified signals to a different speaker as required by claim 3. Wee makes up for the wirelessly transmitting aspect.
Applicant argues that ” Noller does not disclose output ports that transmit each signal of a plurality of amplified signals to a different speaker. Rather, Noller describes a conventional multichannel audio reproduction system in which multiple channels of a single audio program are processed and rendered to corresponding loudspeakers to reproduce a desired sound field. See Noller, [0018]- [0028], Figs. 1-3. Noller does not describe separate amplified signals being independently routed through output ports such that each signal is directed to a different speaker. In contrast to applicant’s assertion, para 20 clearly discloses : “the sound stage processor 120 may produce inconsistent delays across various components of one or more of the audio signal channels 114, such that when audio is rendered by the acoustic transducers 122, the audio output associated with the various components may not be temporally aligned, e.g., synchronized, to the same extent that they were in the audio signal channels 114. In some examples, for instance, bass or lower frequencies may be delayed more than treble or higher frequencies. Thus, as one example for illustration, a snare drum may be heard by a listener just slightly before a bass guitar, even though the bass guitar may be in sync with the snare drum in the original audio signal channels 114. To be clear, such a difference in arrival times may not be perceived by the listener as a delay or out-of-sync condition, rather the delay may be so slight that the listener simply has a different perception of the sound of the audio system, as compared to one without the introduction of such delays.” Clearly that the audio signals from channels 114 have different contents (e.g., snare drum, bass guitar), being delayed, out-of-sync, having different frequencies. Nonetheless, it is noted that para 18 of Noller has not limited the number(s) of source(s) to be selected at a single moment, para 18 discloses: FIG. 1 illustrates an example audio system 100 that includes source selection switching 110 to allow selection from among multiple audio sources 112 to provide one or more audio signal channels 114 for rendering as acoustic signals. Moreover, Selection, according to Collins English Dictionary: a thing or number of things that have been selected. Therefore, Noller distributes multiple channels of multiple audio programs (e.g., multiple sources) among multiple speakers, not a single program as argued by the applicant. Moreover, Fig. 1 of Noller clearly shows a plurality of output ports between sound stage rendering 120 and speakers 122. Fig. 1 clearly shows multiple channels (114) simultaneously rendered to speakers (122).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DUC NGUYEN
Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2691
/DUC NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2691