DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12138519. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the claim limitations claimed by instant claims 1-20 are being disclosed by claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12138519.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation " the difference value". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11, 13 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RENAULT et al. [KR20210104906 A], hereinafter RENAULT, in view of ISHIKAWA [US20160129307].
Regarding claim 9, RENAULT discloses a system for determining alignment of a golf swing (Figs. 1 and 2), comprising:
a tag device attached to a golf club (“The system includes an electronic tag 120 adapted to be attached to a golf club 110”), including:
an inertial measurement unit comprising at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to output a signal based on a detected condition, movement, or orientation of the tag device (“Any one of an accelerometer, a magnetometer, or a gyroscope may be considered a sensor of the electronic tag 120”); a microprocessor; a memory; a transceiver configured to transmit data corresponding to sensor outputs from the at least one sensor (Figs. 1 and 2); and a battery; and at least one location-aware device in communication with the tag device, including a location aware unit (“The medallion 130 includes a GPS receiver 131 for determining the location of the medallion and thus the golfer during a round of golf”).
However, RENAULT does not explicitly disclose wherein the output signal from the at least one sensor of the tag device is used to determine an actual alignment of the golf club.
Nevertheless, ISHIKAWA teaches in a like invention, wherein the output signal from the at least one sensor is used to determine an actual alignment of the golf club ([0084], “For example, if an angular velocity sensor is used as the inertial sensor, and an axial direction is set to the direction in which the groove or the fitting portion extends, angular velocity about a shaft axis can be detected with high accuracy, and thus it is possible to trace a change or the like in a face angle of a golf club head with high accuracy”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by RENAULT, to have the actual alignment of the golf club determined with the output signal from the at least one sensor, as taught by ISHIKAWA, in order to better trace the swing action of the golf club for improvement.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of RENAULT and ISHIKAWA discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the at least one sensor further includes at least one accelerometer, at least one gyroscope, and/or at least one piezo sensor (RENAULT, “Any one of an accelerometer, a magnetometer, or a gyroscope may be considered a sensor of the electronic tag 120”).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of RENAULT and ISHIKAWA discloses the system of claim 10, wherein the tag device includes at least one magnetometer calibrated based on sensor data produced by the at least one accelerometer and/or the at least one gyroscope (RENAULT, “Any one of an accelerometer, a magnetometer, or a gyroscope may be considered a sensor of the electronic tag 120”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of RENAULT and ISHIKAWA discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the location aware unit includes at least one global positioning system (GPS) chip (RENAULT, “The medallion 130 includes a GPS receiver 131 for determining the location of the medallion and thus the golfer during a round of golf”).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of RENAULT and ISHIKAWA discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the at least one location-aware device includes at least one smartphone, at least one tablet, and/or at least one computer (RENAULT, “A computer interface 138 may also be included to allow the processing system 134 to communicate with an external computer 140 , which may be a smartphone, personal computer, or any other type of computing device”).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over RENAULT, in view of ISHIKAWA, further in view of Reeves [US20040073325].
Regarding claim 14, the combination of RENAULT and ISHIKAWA discloses the system of claim 9. However, the combination of RENAULT and ISHIKAWA does not disclose wherein the at least one device determines an intended target line based on input selection of a target location on a map interface.
Nevertheless, Reeves teaches in a like invention, wherein the at least one device determines an intended target line based on input selection of a target location on a map interface (Fig. 4a, [0038], “These are the next club to be used 20, the intended direction line 32 for the next stroke, hole number being played 17, player identity 16 if multiple players are sharing a hand-held unit, and strokes used on the hole 21”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system disclosed by the combination of RENAULT and ISHIKAWA, to have the intended target line based on input selection of a target location on a map interface, as taught by Reeves, in order to assist the golf player aiming the target.
Conclusion
/YINGCHUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711