DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: it appears claim 20 should depend from claim 19. Appropriate correction is required.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on April 2, 2025, and September 1, 2025, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to the abstract idea of organizing and managing data (specifically computer models). Mathematical Concepts/Mental Processes: The core of the claim involves "aggregating a plurality of repositories" and "determining a state for the computer model". These steps utilize "checksum operations," "model commits," or "hash functions" to compare versions. These are fundamental mathematical and organizational activities that can be performed mentally or with generic computer tools. Certain Organized Human Activity: Managing a "diverse array of machine learning models" and their "lifecycles" is a longstanding commercial and administrative practice. The automation of these management tasks (e.g., checking for remote existence, validating policies, and caching) remains directed to the abstract idea of data management and administrative record-keeping. The claims do not include additional elements that, either individually or as an ordered combination, transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application. Generic Computer Components: The specification describes the hardware as a "high-level block diagram of an exemplary computing device" including standard components like a "controller," "memory," "executable code," and "storage". These are well-understood, routine, and conventional computer elements. Routine Data Processing: The functions performed—aggregating repositories, associating a single address with data elements, and fetching data based on a state—are typical computer functions for handling files and databases. No Technical Improvement: The application states there is a "need for a centralized framework" to manage models, but it does not provide a specific technical solution that improves the internal functioning of the computer itself. Instead, it uses existing computer technology to perform the administrative task of model management more efficiently. Consequently, the claims constitute nothing more than an instruction to "apply" the abstract idea of repository management on a generic computer system, which is insufficient to establish patent eligibility.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zohar et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0084273).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Zohar et al. teaches a method of managing computer model repositories comprising, using a computer processor: aggregating one or more repositories, each of the one or more repositories comprising one or more model data elements of a computer model (paragraph 0050 and 0063); determining a state for the computer model (paragraph 0143); and fetching one or more of the model data elements based on the determined state (paragraph 0130-0135).
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Zohar et al. teaches wherein the one or more repositories include two or more of: a remote repository, and a local repository; and wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address with both of: at least one model data element from a first repository of the two or more repositories and at least one model data element from a second repository of the two or more repositories (paragraph 0050 and 0057).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Zohar et al. teaches wherein the determining of the state comprises comparing a stored version of the model to a reference version of the model, the comparing using at least one of: a checksum operation, a model commit, and a hash function (paragraph 0072).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Zohar et al. teaches comprising: if the reference version of the model is unavailable over a predetermined time period, preventing the comparing of the stored version to the reference version (paragraph 0063 and 0106).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Zohar et al. teaches comprising: uploading one or more of the model data elements to one or more of the repositories based on a repository layout, the layout describing a hierarchy between one or more of the model data elements (paragraph 0046).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Zohar et al. teaches comprising omitting one or more of the model data elements based on one or more access permissions corresponding to at least one of the aggregated repositories (paragraph 0049).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Zohar et al. teaches comprising caching one or more of the model data elements, wherein one or more of the cached elements is a model binary file (paragraph 0042).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Zohar et al. teaches wherein the determining of a state comprises if one or more of the data elements is cached for more than a predefined time period, expiring one or more of the model data elements; and wherein the fetching of model data elements comprises replacing one or more of the expired data elements with new data elements (paragraph 0063 and 0142).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Zohar et al. teaches wherein the fetching of one or more of the model data elements comprises transmitting one or more of the model data elements to a remote computer over a communication network (paragraph 0147 and 0152).
Regarding claim 19, Zohar et al. teaches a method of maintaining computer model repositories comprising, using a computer processor: connecting one or more repositories, each of the one or more repositories comprising one or more model data items of a computer model (paragraph 0050 and 0063); computing a state for the computer model (paragraph 0143); and providing one or more of the model data items based on the determined state (paragraph 0130-0135).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433