DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,461,916. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent claim a method of managing computer model repositories comprising, using a computer processor: aggregating a plurality of repositories, each of the plurality of repositories comprising one or more model data elements of a computer model, wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address with both of: at least one of the model data element from a first repository of the two or more repositories, and at least one of the model data element from a second repository of the two or more repositories; determining a state for the computer model; and fetching one or more of the model data elements based on the determined state. The patent further claims many additional limitations whereas the instant application claims a first repository and second repository instead of a local and remote repository (from the patent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0406782) in view of Kumar et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2022/0377844).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Nakayama et al. teaches a method of managing computer model repositories comprising, using a computer processor: aggregating two or more repositories, each of the two or more repositories comprising one or more model data elements of a computer model (paragraph 0136), wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address (paragraph 0103); determining a state for the computer model (paragraph 0122); and fetching one or more of the model data elements based on the determined state (paragraph 0137).
Nakayama et al. does not teach wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address with both of: at least one of the model data element from a first repository of the two or more repositories, and at least one of the model data element from a second repository of the two or more repositories.
Kumar et al. teaches wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address with both of: at least one of the model data element from a first repository of the two or more repositories, and at least one of the model data element from a second repository of the two or more repositories (paragraph 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine model data from a first and second repository, as taught by Kumar et al., with the method of Nakayama et al. It would have been obvious for such modifications to allow the client to fetch complete models via a single endpoint without needing to track separate network addresses for local vs remote repository elements.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 20, Nakayama et al. as modified by Kumar et al. teaches wherein the two or more repositories include two or more of: a remote repository, and a local repository (see paragraph 0082 of Kumar et al.).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Nakayama et al. teaches wherein the determining of the state comprises comparing a stored version of the model to a reference version of the model, the comparing using at least one of: a checksum operation, a model commit, and a hash function (paragraph 0061).
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Nakayama et al. teaches comprising: if the reference version of the model is unavailable over a predetermined time period, preventing the comparing of the stored version to the reference version (fig. 4, discard the model).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Nakayama et al. as modified by Kumar et al. teaches comprising: uploading one or more of the model data elements to one or more of the repositories based on a repository layout, the layout describing a hierarchy between one or more of the model data elements (see paragraph 0166 of Kumar et al.).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Nakayama et al. teaches comprising omitting one or more of the model data elements based on one or more access permissions corresponding to at least one of the aggregated repositories (fig. 4, Discard the model).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Nakayama et al. teaches comprising caching one or more of the model data elements, wherein one or more of the cached elements is a model binary file (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Nakayama et al. as modified by Kumar et al. teaches wherein the determining of a state comprises if one or more of the data elements is cached for more than a predefined time period, expiring one or more of the model data elements; and wherein the fetching of model data elements comprises replacing one or more of the expired data elements with new data elements (see paragraph 0123 of Nakayama et al. and paragraph 0112 of Kumar et al.).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Nakayama et al. as modified by Kumar et al. teaches wherein the fetching of one or more of the model data elements comprises transmitting one or more of the model data elements to a remote computer over a communication network (see paragraph 0082 of Kumar et al.).
Regarding claim 19, Nakayama et al. teaches a method of maintaining computer model repositories comprising, using a computer processor: connecting two or more repositories, each of the two or more repositories comprising one or more model data items of a computer model (paragraph 0136), wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address (paragraph 0103); computing a state for the computer model (paragraph 0122); and providing one or more of the model data items based on the determined state (paragraph 0137).
Nakayama et al. does not teach wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address with both of: at least one of the model data element from a first repository of the two or more repositories, and at least one of the model data element from a second repository of the two or more repositories.
Kumar et al. teaches wherein the aggregating comprises associating a single address with both of: at least one of the model data element from a first repository of the two or more repositories, and at least one of the model data element from a second repository of the two or more repositories (paragraph 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine model data from a first and second repository, as taught by Kumar et al., with the method of Nakayama et al. It would have been obvious for such modifications to allow the client to fetch complete models via a single endpoint without needing to track separate network addresses for local vs remote repository elements.
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433