DETAILED ACTION
Response to Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed 02/16/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “guide member” in claims 1, 3, 14, and 17 is not found in the specification. Presumably “guide member” should be - - support member - -.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 3, lines 5-6 (last two lines) recite “a second track of the second guide member having a first portion generally parallel to the tool axis and a second portion curving radially from the first portion of the second guide member toward the tool axis” in which “the second guide member” presumably should be - - the second track - -.
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 17, “clamping at an angle” presumably should be - - clamping jaws at an angle - -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being unclear what the structural members are being claimed and what structural cooperative connections and there relationships are. Are the guide members part of the linkage bar with the support members? Claim 14 recites having “guide members” with tracks but which is not found in the specification and the specification discloses having support members with a linkage bar to help present a blind fastener to the screw drive/nose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Szuba et al. (US 20050278930 A1) in view of Sun (EP 3184193 B1) and further in view of Casasanta et al. (US 20130153633 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 13-14, Szuba et al. discloses a setting tool (30, fig. 4) for a blind fastener (10) including a head and a shank (fig. 1), the setting tool comprising: a tool housing (fig. 4);
a screw tool including a male thread (52) that is rotationally and translationally movable within the tool housing along and around a tool axis between a retracted position and an extended position (48/50 rotates and moves the tool [0022-0024];
a blind fastener presenting assembly (30) for presenting blind fasteners to the screw tool, said blind fastener presenting assembly comprising: a receiver (34) having an input end and an output end [0022-0031];
a gripper (32) having a receptacle configured to receive blind fasteners from the receiver and a clamping device (60/62) disposed proximate the receptacle for securing the blind fastener, wherein the clamping device comprises clamping jaws having an open position and a closed position ([0023-0031], figs. 6-9);
a handover unit (92) configured to move the gripper along a path between a first position wherein the gripper is proximate the output end of the receiver and a second position wherein the gripper is proximate the screw tool ([0023-0031], figs. 1-11).
Szuba et al. fails to disclose the handover unit further comprises a first guide member having a first track extending generally parallel to the tool axis between a first portion and a second portion, the first track spaced from a second track having a first portion generally parallel to the tool axis and a second portion curving radially from the first portion of the second track toward the tool axis; a linkage bar having a first guide bearing engaged with the first track and a second guide bearing engaged with the second track, wherein the first guide bearing is configured to move between the first portion of the first track and the second portion of the first track, and wherein the second guide bearing is configured to move between the first portion of the second track and the second portion of the second track and the blind fastener is a blind rivet nut.
Sun teaches having a handover unit that comprises a first guide member (411) having a first track (414) extending generally parallel to the tool axis between a first portion and a second portion (fig. 3), the first track spaced from a second track (417) having a first portion generally parallel to the tool axis and a second portion (418) curving radially from the first portion of the second track toward the tool axis; a linkage bar (44) having a first guide bearing (468) engaged with the first track and a second guide bearing (469) engaged with the second track (figs. 3-9), wherein the first guide bearing (468) is configured to move between the first portion of the first track and the second portion of the first track, and wherein the second guide bearing (469) is configured to move between the first portion of the second track and the second portion of the second track ([0009-0028], figs. 10-14) and having a blind fastener that is a blind rivet nut [0008].
Given the teachings of Szuba et al. to have a handover unit for a setting tool for a blind fastener, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the handover unit further comprises a first guide member having a first track extending generally parallel to the tool axis between a first portion and a second portion, the first track spaced from a second track having a first portion generally parallel to the tool axis and a second portion curving radially from the first portion of the second track toward the tool axis; a linkage bar having a first guide bearing engaged with the first track and a second guide bearing engaged with the second track, wherein the first guide bearing is configured to move between the first portion of the first track and the second portion of the first track, and wherein the second guide bearing is configured to move between the first portion of the second track and the second portion of the second track to have precise adjustment of the fastener delivery for more precise operation of the tool and more precise delivery of the fastener with adjustment and/or for easier fastener loading purposes as taught by Sun.
Regarding claims 2-8 and 15-16, Szuba et al. fails to disclose the first track has an upper side and a lower side, and the first portion of the second track is on the lower side of the first track and the second portion of the second track is on the upper side of the first track, the handover unit further comprises a second guide member having a first track extending generally parallel to the tool axis between a first portion and a second portion, the first track of the second guide member spaced from a second track of the second guide member having a first portion generally parallel to the tool axis and a second portion curving radially from the first portion of the second guide member toward the tool axis, wherein the linkage bar has a third guide bearing engaged with the first track of the second guide member and a fourth guide bearing engaged with the second track of the second guide member, the linkage bar is configured to move in a path defined by the first track and the second track, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper along the path axially outward and radially inward toward the tool axis, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper axially and radially but not laterally, the path of the gripper is an arc-shaped path.
Sun teaches the first track (414) has an upper side and a lower side, and the first portion of the second track is on the lower side of the first track and the second portion of the second track (417) is on the upper side of the first track, the handover unit further comprises a second guide member having a first track extending generally parallel to the tool axis between a first portion and a second portion, the first track of the second guide member spaced from a second track of the second guide member having a first portion generally parallel to the tool axis and a second portion curving radially from the first portion of the second guide member toward the tool axis, wherein the linkage bar has a third guide bearing engaged with the first track of the second guide member and a fourth guide bearing engaged with the second track of the second guide member, the linkage bar is configured to move in a path defined by the first track and the second track, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper along the path axially outward and radially inward toward the tool axis, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper axially and radially but not laterally, the path of the gripper is an arc-shaped path ([0009-0028], figs. 10-14).
Given the teachings of Szuba et al. to have a handover unit for a setting tool for a blind fastener, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the first track has an upper side and a lower side, and the first portion of the second track is on the lower side of the first track and the second portion of the second track is on the upper side of the first track, the handover unit further comprises a second guide member having a first track extending generally parallel to the tool axis between a first portion and a second portion, the first track of the second guide member spaced from a second track of the second guide member having a first portion generally parallel to the tool axis and a second portion curving radially from the first portion of the second guide member toward the tool axis, wherein the linkage bar has a third guide bearing engaged with the first track of the second guide member and a fourth guide bearing engaged with the second track of the second guide member, the linkage bar is configured to move in a path defined by the first track and the second track, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper along the path axially outward and radially inward toward the tool axis, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper axially and radially but not laterally, the path of the gripper is an arc-shaped path to have precise adjustment of the fastener delivery for more precise operation of the tool and more precise delivery of the fastener with adjustment and/or for easier fastener loading purposes as taught by Sun.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Szuba et al. (US 20050278930 A1) in view of Sun (EP 3184193 B1) and further in view of Blacket et al. (US 20150143686 A1).
Regarding claims 9-10 and 17-20, Szuba et al. discloses the invention as substantially claimed. See above. Szuba et al. fails to disclose the handover unit is configured to move the gripper along the path axially outward and radially inward toward the tool axis, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper axially and radially but not laterally, the path of the gripper is an arc-shaped path and the clamping jaws further comprise a plurality of teeth, wherein each tooth of the plurality of teeth extends radially inward from an inner surface of the clamping jaws at an angle; asymmetrically such that each tooth of the plurality of teeth has a point formed by a first slope on a first edge that is steeper than a second slope on a second edge.
Sun teaches the handover unit is configured to move the gripper along the path axially outward and radially inward toward the tool axis, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper axially and radially but not laterally, the path of the gripper is an arc-shaped path ([0009-0028], figs. 10-14).
Blacket et al. teaches having clamping jaws (32) further comprise a plurality of teeth [0205], wherein each tooth of the plurality of teeth extends radially inward from an inner surface of the clamping jaws at an angle; asymmetrically such that each tooth of the plurality of teeth has a point formed by a first slope on a first edge that is steeper than a second slope on a second edge [0086-0088, 0103-0109, 0118, 0128, 0205, 0214-0215], figs. 1-4.
Given the teachings of Szuba et al. to have a handover unit for a setting tool for a blind fastener, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the handover unit is configured to move the gripper along the path axially outward and radially inward toward the tool axis, the handover unit is configured to move the gripper axially and radially but not laterally, the path of the gripper is an arc-shaped path and the clamping jaws further comprise a plurality of teeth, wherein each tooth of the plurality of teeth extends radially inward from an inner surface of the clamping jaws at an angle; asymmetrically such that each tooth of the plurality of teeth has a point formed by a first slope on a first edge that is steeper than a second slope on a second edge to have precise loading and delivery of the fastener, gripping the fastener, deliver the fastener/gripper to correct position, and/or for feedback and safety purposes as taught by Sun and Blacket et al..
Claim(s) 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Szuba et al. (US 20050278930 A1) in view of Sun (EP 3184193 B1) and further in view of SCHNEIDER et al. (EP 3597357 A1).
Regarding claims 11-12, Szuba et al. discloses a proximity sensor proximate to the output end, the proximity sensor is configured to detect a presence of the gripper, wherein the clamping device comprises a first sensor and a second sensor, wherein the first sensor is configured to detect the closed position of and the second sensor is configured to detect the open position.
SCHNEIDER et al. teaches having a proximity sensor proximate to the output end, the proximity sensor is configured to detect a presence of the gripper, wherein the clamping device comprises a first sensor and a second sensor, wherein the first sensor is configured to detect the closed position of and the second sensor is configured to detect the open position ([0052], figs. 1-16).
Given the teachings of Szuba et al. to have a handover unit for a setting tool for a blind fastener, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the handover unit or tool input to have a proximity sensor proximate to the output end, the proximity sensor is configured to detect a presence of the gripper, wherein the clamping device comprises a first sensor and a second sensor, wherein the first sensor is configured to detect the closed position of and the second sensor is configured to detect the open position to have precise loading and delivery of the fastener, detect empty fastener/rivet magazine, and/or for feedback and safety purposes as taught by SCHNEIDER et al.
Conclusion
Additional prior art considered pertinent: see form 892.
/ROBERT F LONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731