DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18941772 filed 11/08/2024 is a Continuation of PCT/CN2022/092038, filed 05/10/2022.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 02/10/2025 and 05/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speidel et al (US 2018/0254825) in view of Baba (US 2016/0026157).
Regarding claim 1, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), comprising:
obtaining, at a transmitting device, an estimate of a velocity vector for a mobile device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4);
obtaining, at the transmitting device and based on the estimate of the velocity vector, an estimate of a Doppler shift for a signal path between the transmitting device and the mobile device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at the satellite device (transmitting device) and based on the velocity vector, an estimated doppler shift in received frequency between the MS device (mobile device) and the satellite (transmitting device), [0135], lines 2-4, [0138], lines 1-10, [0139], lines 1-2);
obtaining, at the transmitting device and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5); and
transmitting, from the transmitting device, a signal according to the adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals; thus is seen as transmitting, from the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) a signal timing module adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5).
Speidel et al does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a doppler variable.
However, Baba specifically teaches concept of obtaining a doppler variable (if step S34 results in NO, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines if all Doppler frequencies have been searched (step S36). For example, if the maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines all Doppler frequencies were searched if the current value of variable D is 103; thus is seen as determines (obtaining) maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, [0285], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Speidel et al with concept of obtaining a doppler variable of Baba. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve satellite signal receiving device that receives satellite signals transmitted from positioning information satellites to an electronic timepiece, (Baba, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 2, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), wherein obtaining the estimate of the velocity vector comprises obtaining the estimate of the velocity vector based on information received from a sensing device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 3, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), further comprising transmitting, to the sensing device, an indication of a configuration for a sensing reference signal (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays, [0059], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 4, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), wherein the configuration comprises at least one of (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays, [0059], lines 4-5):
an indication of an approximate position of the mobile device (The propagation delay of signals between a MS and a satellite BTS is a function of distance and distance to a satellite in orbit is a function of the orbit radius and the elevation angle, which is the angle between the position vector of the satellite and the position vector of the MS, [0106], lines 4-6);
an indication of an initial direction in which to point the sensing reference signal (re-allocation or shifting of the channels based on large data sets gathered over time and many satellite passes (based on relatively static locations of MSs) and more dynamic real-time shifting based on changes in MS distributions that have been sensed by the spacecraft that passed over this location just prior to the present spacecraft, or even by the present spacecraft, [0169], lines 2-5);
an indication of time resources for the sensing reference signal and an indication of frequency resources for the sensing reference signal (Power levels should be addressed. As an example, the GSM specification calls for mobile phones to surge transmit power to 1 or 2 W (depending on the frequency) when they need to, [0095], lines 1-2);
an indication of a waveform type for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5);
an indication of a numerology for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals, [0062], lines 1-5);
an indication of a mapping function to be used when generating a time domain signal on a basis of a sensing profile identification (In FIG. 14, each dashed line defines a border for a Doppler shift strip that is used to localize the potential Doppler shift for each channel and, therefore, minimize interference. The curvatures of the contour lines on the map are a result of the geometry of the communication link as well as the frequency of communication, [0146], lines 1-3); or
an indication of a sensing identification of the mobile device, wherein the sensing identification is different from an identification that is associated with the mobile device for identifying the mobile device in a data communication context (In FIG. 14, each dashed line defines a border for a Doppler shift strip that is used to localize the potential Doppler shift for each channel and, therefore, minimize interference. The curvatures of the contour lines on the map are a result of the geometry of the communication link as well as the frequency of communication, [0146], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 5, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), wherein the velocity vector comprises at least one of (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4):
a plurality of velocity values associated with a corresponding plurality of orthogonal directions in a global coordinate system (The user equipment also computes a frequency offset based on data indicative of the position and velocity of the satellite and adjusts its uplink signal frequency accordingly to account for dynamic Doppler shift in the communications system, [0058], lines 3-5); or
a scalar velocity magnitude, an azimuth angle and a zenith angle (With suitable BTS antenna capability, two watts can be enough transmit power to close the link at a reasonable elevation angle at 500 km altitude using antennas in something like a 50 cm form factor, where the speeds of data transfer are adjusted as needed, [0095], lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 6, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)) comprising:
at least one processor (processor, [0030], line 1); and
a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (Computer system 2100 also includes a main memory 2106, such as a random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to bus 2102 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 2104. Main memory 2106 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor 2104. Such instructions, when stored in non-transitory storage media accessible to processor 2104, render computer system 2100 into a special-purpose machine that is customized to perform the operations specified in the instructions, [0177], [0177], lines 1-6):
obtain an estimate of a velocity vector for a mobile device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4);
obtain, based on the estimate of the velocity vector, an estimate of a Doppler shift for a signal path between the apparatus and the mobile device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at the satellite device (transmitting device) and based on the velocity vector, an estimated doppler shift in received frequency between the MS device (mobile device) and the satellite (transmitting device), [0135], lines 2-4, [0138], lines 1-10, [0139], lines 1-2);
obtain, based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5); and
transmit a signal according to the adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals; thus is seen as transmitting, from the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) a signal timing module adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5).
Speidel et al does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a doppler variable.
However, Baba specifically teaches concept of obtaining a doppler variable (if step S34 results in NO, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines if all Doppler frequencies have been searched (step S36). For example, if the maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines all Doppler frequencies were searched if the current value of variable D is 103; thus is seen as determines (obtaining) maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, [0285], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Speidel et al with concept of obtaining a doppler variable of Baba. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve satellite signal receiving device that receives satellite signals transmitted from positioning information satellites to an electronic timepiece, (Baba, [0002], lines 1-2)
Regarding claim 7, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the instructions to obtain the estimate of the velocity vector comprise instructions to obtain the estimate of the velocity vector based on information received from a sensing device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4).
Regarding claim 8, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to transmit, to the sensing device, an indication of a configuration for a sensing reference signal (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays. MSs 104 communicate with orbital BTSs 106 over BTS-MS links 108. As illustrated, each of the BTSs 106 has an orbital velocity relative to the surface 102, as well as some separation distance, [0059], lines 4-5, [0108], lines 3-5).
Regarding claim 9, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the configuration comprises at least one of (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays. MSs 104 communicate with orbital BTSs 106 over BTS-MS links 108. As illustrated, each of the BTSs 106 has an orbital velocity relative to the surface 102, as well as some separation distance, [0059], lines 4-5, [0108], lines 3-5).
an indication of an approximate position of the mobile device (The propagation delay of signals between a MS and a satellite BTS is a function of distance and distance to a satellite in orbit is a function of the orbit radius and the elevation angle, which is the angle between the position vector of the satellite and the position vector of the MS, [0106], lines 4-6);
an indication of an initial direction in which to point the sensing reference signal (re-allocation or shifting of the channels based on large data sets gathered over time and many satellite passes (based on relatively static locations of MSs) and more dynamic real-time shifting based on changes in MS distributions that have been sensed by the spacecraft that passed over this location just prior to the present spacecraft, or even by the present spacecraft, [0169], lines 2-5);
an indication of time resources for the sensing reference signal and an indication of frequency resources for the sensing reference signal (Power levels should be addressed. As an example, the GSM specification calls for mobile phones to surge transmit power to 1 or 2 W (depending on the frequency) when they need to, [0095], lines 1-2);
an indication of a waveform type for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5);
an indication of a numerology for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals, [0062], lines 1-5);
an indication of a mapping function to be used when generating a time domain signal on a basis of a sensing profile identification (In FIG. 14, each dashed line defines a border for a Doppler shift strip that is used to localize the potential Doppler shift for each channel and, therefore, minimize interference. The curvatures of the contour lines on the map are a result of the geometry of the communication link as well as the frequency of communication, [0146], lines 1-3); or
an indication of a sensing identification of the mobile device, wherein the sensing identification is different from an identification that is associated with the mobile device for identifying the mobile device in a data communication context (In FIG. 14, each dashed line defines a border for a Doppler shift strip that is used to localize the potential Doppler shift for each channel and, therefore, minimize interference. The curvatures of the contour lines on the map are a result of the geometry of the communication link as well as the frequency of communication, [0146], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 10, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the velocity vector comprises at least one of (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4):
a plurality of velocity values associated with a corresponding plurality of orthogonal directions in a global coordinate system (The user equipment also computes a frequency offset based on data indicative of the position and velocity of the satellite and adjusts its uplink signal frequency accordingly to account for dynamic Doppler shift in the communications system, [0058], lines 3-5); or
a scalar velocity magnitude, an azimuth angle and a zenith angle (With suitable BTS antenna capability, two watts can be enough transmit power to close the link at a reasonable elevation angle at 500 km altitude using antennas in something like a 50 cm form factor, where the speeds of data transfer are adjusted as needed, [0095], lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 11, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), comprising:
receiving, at a mobile device, a sensing reference signal (The downlink transmit frequencies are “pinched” instead of “frayed” to ensure the signal has the appropriate carrier frequency when it arrives at the MS. Note that the Doppler blocks are referenced in both the uplink and downlink frequencies, which implies that each channel has an uplink and downlink component, [0158], lines 5-8);
processing, at the mobile device, the sensing reference signal, to obtain an estimate of a velocity vector for the mobile device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system experiencing, at the MS (mobile device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4);
transmitting, from the mobile device to a first device, feedback, the feedback including an indication of the estimate of the velocity vector, thereby allowing the first device to (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, from the MS, an indication of the estimate of the velocity vector, thereby allowing the MS to [0135], lines 2-4, [0138], lines 1-10, [0139], lines 1-2):
obtain, based on the estimate of the velocity vector, an estimate of a Doppler shift for a signal path between the first device and the mobile device (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, from the MS, based on the velocity vector, an estimated doppler shift in received frequency between the MS device (mobile device) and the satellite (first device), [0135], lines 2-4, [0138], lines 1-10, [0139], lines 1-2); and
obtain, based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5); and
receiving, at the mobile device, a signal according to the adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals; thus is seen as transmitting, from the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) to the MS a signal timing module adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5).
Speidel et al does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a doppler variable.
However, Baba specifically teaches concept of obtaining a doppler variable (if step S34 results in NO, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines if all Doppler frequencies have been searched (step S36). For example, if the maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines all Doppler frequencies were searched if the current value of variable D is 103; thus is seen as determines (obtaining) maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, [0285], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Speidel et al with concept of obtaining a doppler variable of Baba. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve satellite signal receiving device that receives satellite signals transmitted from positioning information satellites to an electronic timepiece, (Baba, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 12, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), further comprising:
before receiving the sensing reference signal, receiving an indication of a configuration for the sensing reference signal (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays, [0059], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 13, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), wherein the configuration comprises at least one of (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays, [0059], lines 4-5):
an indication of time resources for the sensing reference signal and an indication of frequency resources for the sensing reference signal (Power levels should be addressed. As an example, the GSM specification calls for mobile phones to surge transmit power to 1 or 2 W (depending on the frequency) when they need to, [0095], lines 1-2);
an indication of a waveform type for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5);
an indication of a numerology for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals, [0062], lines 1-5); or
an indication of a mapping function to be used when generating a time domain signal on a basis of a sensing profile identification( In FIG. 14, each dashed line defines a border for a Doppler shift strip that is used to localize the potential Doppler shift for each channel and, therefore, minimize interference. The curvatures of the contour lines on the map are a result of the geometry of the communication link as well as the frequency of communication, [0146], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 14, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), further comprising:
receiving, from the first device, an indication of a Doppler pre-compensation value, the Doppler pre-compensation value characterizing the adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 15, Speidel et al discloses method (fig. 15, method), wherein the velocity vector comprises at least one of (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4):
a plurality of velocity values associated with a corresponding plurality of orthogonal directions in a global coordinate system (The user equipment also computes a frequency offset based on data indicative of the position and velocity of the satellite and adjusts its uplink signal frequency accordingly to account for dynamic Doppler shift in the communications system, [0058], lines 3-5); or
a scalar velocity magnitude, an azimuth angle and a zenith angle (With suitable BTS antenna capability, two watts can be enough transmit power to close the link at a reasonable elevation angle at 500 km altitude using antennas in something like a 50 cm form factor, where the speeds of data transfer are adjusted as needed, [0095], lines 3-6).
Regarding claim 16, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)) comprising:
at least one processor (processor, [0030], line 1); and
a non-transitory memory including instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (Computer system 2100 also includes a main memory 2106, such as a random access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to bus 2102 for storing information and instructions to be executed by processor 2104. Main memory 2106 also may be used for storing temporary variables or other intermediate information during execution of instructions to be executed by processor 2104. Such instructions, when stored in non-transitory storage media accessible to processor 2104, render computer system 2100 into a special-purpose machine that is customized to perform the operations specified in the instructions, [0177], [0177], lines 1-6):
receive a sensing reference signal (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays, [0059], lines 4-5);
process the sensing reference signal to obtain an estimate of a velocity vector for the apparatus (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4);
transmit, to a first device, feedback, the feedback including an indication of the estimate of the velocity vector, thereby allowing the first device to (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, from the MS, an indication of the estimate of the velocity vector, thereby allowing the MS to [0135], lines 2-4, [0138], lines 1-10, [0139], lines 1-2):
obtain, based on the estimate of the velocity vector, an estimate of a Doppler shift for a signal path between the first device and the apparatus (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, from the MS, based on the velocity vector, an estimated doppler shift in received frequency between the MS device (mobile device) and the satellite (first device), [0135], lines 2-4, [0138], lines 1-10, [0139], lines 1-2); and
obtain, based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5); and
receive a signal according to the adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals; thus is seen as transmitting, from the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) to the MS a signal timing module adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5).
Speidel et al does not specifically disclose concept of obtaining a doppler variable.
However, Baba specifically teaches concept of obtaining a doppler variable (if step S34 results in NO, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines if all Doppler frequencies have been searched (step S36). For example, if the maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, the satellite signal search unit 36 determines all Doppler frequencies were searched if the current value of variable D is 103; thus is seen as determines (obtaining) maximum value of the Doppler variable D is 103 as shown in FIG. 16, [0285], lines 1-3).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Speidel et al with concept of obtaining a doppler variable of Baba. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve satellite signal receiving device that receives satellite signals transmitted from positioning information satellites to an electronic timepiece, (Baba, [0002], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 17, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays. MSs 104 communicate with orbital BTSs 106 over BTS-MS links 108. As illustrated, each of the BTSs 106 has an orbital velocity relative to the surface 102, as well as some separation distance, [0059], lines 4-5, [0108], lines 3-5):
before receiving the sensing reference signal, receive an indication of a configuration for the sensing reference signal (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays, [0059], lines 4-5).
Regarding claim 18, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the configuration comprises at least one of (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays. MSs 104 communicate with orbital BTSs 106 over BTS-MS links 108. As illustrated, each of the BTSs 106 has an orbital velocity relative to the surface 102, as well as some separation distance, [0059], lines 4-5, [0108], lines 3-5):
an indication of time resources for the sensing reference signal and an indication of frequency resources for the sensing reference signal (Power levels should be addressed. As an example, the GSM specification calls for mobile phones to surge transmit power to 1 or 2 W (depending on the frequency) when they need to, [0095], lines 1-2);
an indication of a waveform type for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5);
an indication of a numerology for the sensing reference signal (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals, [0062], lines 1-5); or
an indication of a mapping function to be used when generating a time domain signal on a basis of a sensing profile identification (In FIG. 14, each dashed line defines a border for a Doppler shift strip that is used to localize the potential Doppler shift for each channel and, therefore, minimize interference. The curvatures of the contour lines on the map are a result of the geometry of the communication link as well as the frequency of communication, [0146], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 19, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to (GEO satellite introduces, separate processing devices service separate sub-coverage ring, or zone, by configuring itself for that ring's/zone's range of allowable propagation delays. MSs 104 communicate with orbital BTSs 106 over BTS-MS links 108. As illustrated, each of the BTSs 106 has an orbital velocity relative to the surface 102, as well as some separation distance, [0059], lines 4-5, [0108], lines 3-5):
receive, from the first device, an indication of a Doppler pre-compensation value, the Doppler pre-compensation value characterizing the adapted waveform (The multiple-access transceiver might support terrestrial mobile stations that are cellular telephone handsets, smartphones, and/or connected devices. The signal timing module might be adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform) of the transmitted signals based on orbit to terrestrial Doppler shifts. The signal allocation logic might allocate capacity of the multiple-access transceiver to a plurality of terrestrial mobile stations; thus is seen as system receives, at the multiple-access transceiver (transmitting device) and based on the estimate of the Doppler shift for the signal path, an adapted to adjust frequency (adapted waveform), [0062], lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 20, Speidel et al discloses apparatus (fig. 1 item 104, mobile station (MS)), wherein the velocity vector comprises at least one of (A first MS in front of the satellite velocity vector will experience a positive Doppler shift in received frequency, while a second MS behind the satellite velocity vector will experience a negative Doppler shift in received frequency; thus is seen as system receives, at a satellite device (transmitting device) an estimate of a velocity vector for a MS (mobile device), [0135], lines 2-4):
a plurality of velocity values associated with a corresponding plurality of orthogonal directions in a global coordinate system(The user equipment also computes a frequency offset based on data indicative of the position and velocity of the satellite and adjusts its uplink signal frequency accordingly to account for dynamic Doppler shift in the communications system, [0058], lines 3-5); or
a scalar velocity magnitude, an azimuth angle and a zenith angle (With suitable BTS antenna capability, two watts can be enough transmit power to close the link at a reasonable elevation angle at 500 km altitude using antennas in something like a 50 cm form factor, where the speeds of data transfer are adjusted as needed, [0095], lines 3-6).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681