DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
1. (Proposed Amendment) A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, the UE comprising:
one or more memories; and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to:
receive a configuration for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resources in at least a first time division duplexing (TDD) pattern; transmit an uplink communication in an SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources; and receive a downlink communication in the SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources.
12. (Proposed Amendment) The UE of claim 11, wherein at least one of the one or more periodicities [[are]] is semi-statically configured.
15. (Proposed Amendment) A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resources in at least a first time division duplexing (TDD) pattern;
transmitting an uplink communication in an SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources; and
receiving a downlink communication in the SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources.
20. (Proposed Amendment) An apparatus for wireless communication, the apparatus comprising:
means for receiving a configuration for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resources in at least a first time division duplexing (TDD) pattern;
means for transmitting an uplink communication in an SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources; and
means for receiving a downlink communication in the SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources.
Claims 2-11, 13, and 14 are dependent either directly or indirectly from claim 1, therefore they are also objected.
Claims 16-19 are all dependent on claim 15, therefore they are also objected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 14-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by YOU et al. (2026/0254602 A1), hereinafter “You”.
You illustrates signaling and operation methods in FIG. 20 between a base station and a UE and illustrates a wireless device in FIG. 21 comprising a first wireless device 100 and a second wireless device 200, wherein each of the first wireless device 100 and the second wireless device 200 includes one or more processors 102/202, one or more memories 104/204, one or more transceivers 106/206, and one or more antennas 108/208.
You teaches that the UE performs DL reception in an SBFD symbol, i) the UE may perform DL reception using frequency resources within the DL subband. ii) The UE does not perform DL reception on frequency resources outside the DL subband. The UE does not perform DL reception using frequency resources outside the DL subband within the DL BWP. Paragraph [0196].
You also teaches that If the UE performs UL transmission on SBFD symbols, i) the UE may use frequency resources within the UL subband to perform UL transmission. The UE may use frequency resources within the UL subband to perform UL transmission within the UL BWP. ii) The UE does not perform UL transmission on frequency resources other than the UL subband. The UE does not perform UL transmission using frequency resources other than the UL subband within the UL BWP. Paragraph [0197].
You further teaches that if pattern 1 is indicated by the TDD pattern, then: i) the UE may determine that the SBFD symbol resource exists within the time duration of (P+P2)*N′ msec to (P+P2)*N′+P msec relative to the start of each period within the duration of each period. Or ii) the UE determines that the SBFD symbol resource exists within the pattern1 resource, which is the N′th resource within the duration of each period. Alternatively, if pattern 2 is dictated by the TDD pattern, then: i) the UE may determine that the SBFD symbol resource exists within a time duration of (P+P2)*N′+P msec to (P+P2)*(N′+1) msec relative to the start of each period within the duration of each period. Or ii) the UE determines that the SBFD symbol resource is present in the pattern2 resource, which is the N′th resource within the duration of each period. Based on the starting point of the time duration in which the SBFD symbol exists, as determined in 1) above, the UE determines that time resources consisting of consecutive symbols as long as the SBFD symbol duration from the SBFD symbol offset location constitute the SBFD symbol resource. That is, if pattern1 is indicated by the TDD pattern, the UE determines that a contiguous time resource equal to the SBFD symbol duration from the SBFD symbol offset location based on the location of (P+P2)*N′ msec within each period constitutes the SBFD symbol resource. Alternatively, if pattern 2 is indicated by the TDD pattern, the UE determines that a contiguous time resource equal to the SBFD symbol duration from the SBFD symbol offset location based on the location of (P+P2)*N′+P msec within each period constitutes the SBFD symbol resource. Paragraphs [0290]-[0292].
Regarding claim 1, You illustrates a user equipment (UE) in FIG. 21 for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories (104 or 204); and one or more processors (102 or 202), coupled to the one or more memories, configured to cause the UE to: receive a configuration for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) resources in at least a first time division duplexing (TDD) pattern (the UE receiving a TDD pattern indicating SBFD configurations: “if pattern 1 is indicated by the TDD pattern, the UE determines... the SBFD symbol resource.” It also describes an alternative pattern 2); transmit an uplink communication in an SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources (If the UE performs UL transmission on SBFD symbols... the UE may use frequency resources within the UL subband to perform UL transmission); and receive a downlink communication in the SBFD slot or symbol in accordance with the SBFD resources (the UE configured to perform DL reception in an SBFD symbol, i) the UE may perform DL reception using frequency resources within the DL subband).
Regarding claim 15, it is a method claim with steps that correspond to the claim features recited in apparatus claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20, the disclosed structure performing the recited function corresponds directly to the claim features recited in apparatus claim 1.
Regarding claims 2 and 16, You explicitly defines and distinguishes configurations for SBFD resources using both a first TDD pattern (pattern 1) and a second TDD pattern (pattern 2). Pattern 1 is indicated by the TDD pattern, specifying the exact time durations and resource locations for SBFD symbols. Pattern 2 is dictated by the TDD pattern, defining its distinct time duration relative to the period start.
Regarding claim 4, You directly links SBFD symbol resources to an indicated TDD pattern, states that the SBFD symbol resources are determined if pattern 1 is indicated by the TDD pattern or if pattern 2 is dictated by the TDD pattern, and explicitly derives the timing and existence of SBFD symbols from a TDD pattern, it inherently relies on the fundamental symbol types (such as downlink or flexible symbols) defined by that very same TDD pattern.
Regarding claim 5, the details of pattern 1 and pattern 2 are as options indicated by a TDD pattern, they are directly applied to the first TDD pattern and the second TDD pattern. You also provides concrete formulas, such as time durations from (P+P₂)*N' to (P+P₂)*N'+P msec and frequency subband boundaries. These details explicitly show how the SBFD pattern allocates the SBFD resources.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, You provides the exact structural and operational definitions (Pattern 1 and Pattern 2 timing and frequency rules) required to configure and allocate the distinct sets of SBFD resources across different TDD patterns. You also explicitly outlines how SBFD symbol resources are determined using specific time durations and formulas (such as P, P₂, and N'), which directly corresponds to defining the first SBFD pattern and the second SBFD pattern. You further specifies the exact boundaries of DL and UL subbands within a bandwidth part (BWP), explaining how different sets of SBFD resources are partitioned and allocated under different TDD pattern indicators.
Regarding claims 11-12 and 19, You explicitly describes pattern 1 and pattern 2 dictated by the TDD pattern and defines the SBFD resource locations relative to the start of each period (within the duration of each period), establishing a recurring, periodic time structure using parameters like duration P, P₂, and index N'. The fixed time durations and period formulas (P, P₂) function as semi-statically configured parameters that dictate where the SBFD symbols appear across the periodic frames.
Regarding claim 14, You details specific configurations, such as frequency subband restrictions for DL/UL and time duration formulas like (P+P2)*N′ msec for Pattern 1 and Pattern 2. Claim 14 specifies allocation using “default SBFD symbols.” You provides the explicit procedural and mathematical framework used to establish these default or configured TDD patterns, making the mechanism a matter of explicit technical disclosure rather than an implicit, hidden necessity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, as applied to 1, and claim 17 as applied to claim 15 discussed above, although You does not explicitly show or teach the claimed limitations that wherein the configuration for the SBFD resources allocates the SBFD resources in the first TDD pattern and allocates non-SBFD resources in a second TDD pattern as recited in claims 3 and 17, and wherein the configuration defines the first TDD pattern and a second TDD pattern, and wherein the SBFD resources are allocated only in the first TDD pattern as recited in claim 8, You explicitly discusses different operational schedules, referring to “pattern 1” for SBFD resource allocation and “pattern 2” for handling transitions between non-SBFD and SBFD symbols. See paragraphs [0254], [0257], [0288], [0289], [0310], [0336]-[0338], [0341], [0342], [0344], [0345], [0348], [0349], [0376], [0377], [0379], and [0381].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled person in wireless network design, such as You’s UE of a wireless communication system, would find it simple and obvious to assign SBFD resources to one pattern and non-SBFD resources to another in order to split resource types across different indicated TDD patterns does not create a new or unexpected technical result just simple by applying the scheduling options already provided in the source text and because You teaches multiple patterns and restricts SBFD resource rules to the first pattern, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find the limitation of allocating SBFD resources to only the first TDD pattern.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You in view of ZHOU et al. (US 2024/0405962 A1), hereinafter “Zhou”.
Regarding claim 13, as applied to claim 1 discussed above, You fails to show or teach that wherein the SBFD resources in the first TDD pattern are allocated in accordance with one or more legacy SBFD symbols allocated in the first TDD pattern.
Zhou also relates to a UE may transmit an indication of a limit on a number of switching points (or transition points) between one or more first symbols configured for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) communications and one or more second symbols configured for non-SBFD communications, within a period of time. The UE may receive a configuration for the SBFD communications, which is in accordance with the indication. See abstract.
Zhou also teaches that techniques can be used to improve resource utilization and reduce latency (e.g., since the SBFD mode allows the UE to transmit UL signal in UL subband in DL only or flexible slots or receive DL signal in DL subband(s) in legacy UL only slots). Additionally, a limit on a number of switching points between the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols within the slot may reduce the frequent switching between the SBFD symbols and the non-SBFD symbols, which may further prevent or reduce the interruptions of the transmissions/receptions within the slot. See paragraph [0024].
Zhou also illustrates example slots that consist of both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols in FIGs. 11 and 12 and teaches in paragraphs [0108] and [0109] that FIG. 11 depicts one example slot 1100 for legacy TDD and SBFD communication. As depicted, the slot 1100 includes both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols (e.g., in accordance with symbol-level TDD UL/DL configuration). For example, in the slot 1100, DL symbols 1102 can be configured as SBFD symbols followed by guard symbols and then UL symbols (e.g., non-SBFD symbols) 1104 at the end. FIG. 12 depicts another example slot 1200 for legacy TDD and SBFD communication. As depicted, the slot 1200 also includes both SBFD and non-SBFD symbols (e.g., in accordance with symbol-level TDD UL/DL configuration). For example, in the slot 1200, initial one or more symbols may be DL symbols (e.g., non-SBFD symbols) 1202 followed with guard symbols and then remaining DL symbols 1204 can be configured (e.g., semi-static configured) as SBFD symbols.
Zhou explicitly describes mixing SBFD and non-SBFD symbols within a slot based on a “symbol-level TDD UL/DL configuration.” Therefore, allocating SBFD resources “in accordance with one or more legacy SBFD symbols” as recited in the claim inherently apply to the teaching of configuring remaining or initial symbols (like DL or guard symbols) into SBFD modes using established TDD structures.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as taught by Zhou to align new SBFD resource allocations to You’s UE with existing legacy SBFD or TDD patterns in order to maintain compatibility and reduce transition overhead.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, and 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ABOTABL et al. (US 2023/0155798 A) relates to a full-duplex communication in a time division duplexing (TDD) band, a network node (e.g., a user equipment (UE)) may be configured to communicate in one or more flexible bandwidth parts (BWPs) using BWP-specific TDD patterns regardless of a TDD pattern configured for the underlying band. However, in some cases, half-duplex communication may offer better performance than full-duplex communication (e.g., when full-duplex communication may cause self-interference or there is a need for high throughput half-duplex communication).
ABDELGHAFFAR et al. (US 2024/0284460 A) relates to mechanisms for duplex-specific physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) configuration and transmission. A UE may receive a first configuration of PUCCH for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) symbols including downlink or flexible symbols with a configured uplink sub-band. In addition, the UE may receive a second configuration of PUCCH for non-SBFD symbols including uplink symbols or flexible symbols configured for uplink communication.
ZHANG et al. (US 2025/0105991 A) relates to a network may configure a user equipment (UE) with a time duration pattern, and may further indicate (e.g., via control signaling) which time intervals (e.g., slots or symbols) of the time duration pattern are designated as full duplex time intervals. The network may indicate a full duplex time interval on a configured downlink symbol, a configured uplink symbol, or a configured flexible symbol. The network may further indicate frequency resources (e.g., an uplink subband, a downlink subband, etc.) via which the UE is to perform the full duplex communication during the indicated time intervals. The control signaling may include an indication of a full duplex mode for each of the time intervals. Multiple transmission receive points (TRPs) may communicate to determining which TRP will schedule uplink signaling and which TRP will schedule downlink signaling in the full duplex time interval.
GRANT et al. (US 2025/0254018 A) relates to a UE may transmit an indication of a limit on a number of switching points (or transition points) between one or more first symbols configured for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) communications and one or more second symbols configured for non-SBFD communications, within a period of time. The UE may receive a configuration for the SBFD communications, which is in accordance with the indication.
/Young T. Tse/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632