RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination (RCE) under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 20-August-2025 has been entered.
This communication is responsive to the amendment filed 20-August-2025 with respect to application 18/941,818 filed 8-November-2024.
Applicant has amended claims 1-3, 5, 7, 10, 21, 24, 25 and 26, cancelled claims 6 and 9, and has added new claim 27 (presented as claim 25).
Claims 1-5, 7, 8 and 10-27 are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Objection is made to claims 25-27 because of the following informalities:
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not). Claims 25 and 26 of the earlier amendment are renumbered as claims 26 and 17 in the present amendment, and a new claim 25 has been added. For the purpose of examination:
Misnumbered claim 26 been renumbered as claim 25 (as recited in the previous amendment).
Misnumbered claim 27 been renumbered as claim 26 (as recited in the previous amendment).
Misnumbered new claim 25 been renumbered as claim 27.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 15-18, 21-25 and 27 are rejected under 35 USC §103 as unpatentable over Hipsley et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2023/0320321 A1), hereinafter Hipsley, Scholz (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2024/0334902 A1), Chawla (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2013/0281168 A1), and Woodhouse et al. (United States Patent Application Publication # US 2025/0049000 A1), hereinafter Woodhouse.
Consider claim 1: An animal tracking system; Hipsley discloses an animal safety collar to safe-guard and monitor location and movement of an animal [Title; Abstract; Fig, 1, 5; Para. 0002, 0006, 0017]; comprising:
an animal tracking device; a collar (68) [Fig. 1, 5; Para. 0106; Claim 1]; comprising:
a housing affixable to an animal; the collar comprising a collar module (2), and affixed to the animal with a strap (48) [Fig. 5; Para. 0106];
a memory positioned within the housing; the collar module containing memory/storage (14) [Fig. 2; Para. 0102];
a processor operatively connected to the memory and positioned within the housing; the collar module also containing a processor (6) [Fig. 2; Para. 0006, 0092];
a global positioning unit communicatively connected to the processor; the collar module also containing a GPS unit (66) [Fig. 2; Para. 0093]; and
at least one wireless communication interface; and the collar module also containing one or more communication units, including: BLE transceiver (52), Sub-1 GHz. Transceiver (50) and Cellular modem (54) [Fig. 2; Para. 0006, 0092];
wherein the memory stores instructions which, when executed by the processor, [Para. 0106]; cause the animal tracking device to perform:
determining a location of the animal tracking device relative to a virtual boundary based on position data determined via the global positioning unit; wherein the real-time position of the collar may be determined using the GPS, and the position reconciled with relative location of a user defined geo-fence, and also may be assigned to one or more zones (safe (86), monitor (88), watch (90), correction (92) and departure (94)) according to the distance to the geo-fence boundary [Fig. 1; Para. 0100, 0103];
based on the animal tracking device satisfying a predetermined criterion:
obtaining observation data via the at least one wireless communication interface, the observation data being derived from positional data of a base station having positional accuracy greater than that of the global positioning unit and used, at the animal tracking device with the first position data determined via the global positioning unit, and
determining an adjusted location of the animal tracking device using the observation data obtained from the at least one wireless communication interface to correct the first position data determined via the global position unit, the adjusted location having improved accuracy relative to the location independently determined via the global positioning unit; wherein the collar may also communicate with one or more base stations (4) at known geographic coordinates (84) using a plurality of communication modes, including BLE, Wi-Fi and sub-1 GHz., wherein location vector and heading vector (96) may be determined real time based on fused combination of information from an inertial unit (IMU) (10), triangulation with the one or more base stations and GPS data, and wherein the various fused combinations provide increased accuracy [Fig. 1, 2, 4; Para. 0092, 0096, 0098, 0100, 0103];
based on the animal tracking device not satisfying the predetermined criterion, operating at least a portion of the at least one wireless communication interface in a low power mode and using an unadjusted version of the location of the animal tracking device; a particular combination of location sensor functions to be used may be based, at least in part on an assigned zone in which the collar is located (safe, monitor, watch, correction and departure), the zones defined by a distance to the geo-fence boundary, and wherein a fusion combination is selected to increase accuracy for zones closer to the boundary [Fig. 1, 4; Para. 0103, 0105];
determining whether the first position data from the global positioning unit is receivable at the animal tracking device; Hipsley discloses that when GPS information is not available, collar position may be estimated based on relative coordinates [Para. 103];
based, at least in part, on the first position data being receivable at the animal tracking device, determining a location of the animal tracking device based, at least in part, on the first position data; wherein location information from various sensors (including GPS and base station trilateration) may be fused (each used in part) [Fig. 4; Para. 0103-0105];
based, at least in part, on the first positioning data not being receivable at the animal tracking device, performing at least one of (1) reducing frequency or ceasing receipt of the observation data or (2) deactivating the global positioning unit; and wherein the GPS unit may be placed in sleep modes during periods of inactivity and/or depended on a determined zone assignment [Fig. 4; Para. 0103-0105];
wherein the animal tracking device stores programmable information regarding a position of a virtual gate, and wherein the animal tracking device is configured to disable a stimulus activation when the animal tracking device passes through the virtual gate while the virtual gate is opened. Hipsley discloses that coordinates of (virtual) geo-fence boundaries (98) may be stored in a database [Fig 1-3; Para. 0092, 0103], but does not disclose use of a physical or virtual gate with respect to this boundary.
Hipsley discloses that sensor information collected from a plurality of sources, including GPS, and obtained wirelessly from one or more base stations at known locations, and various combinations of the sensor information may be fused to generate a location vector for the collar based on satisfaction of particular criteria (zone assignment). Hipsley does not, however, explicitly disclose that: (a) base station information is used to increase accuracy of the GPS derived location. This are known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Scholz discloses a tracking system and method for animal racing and/or training [Title; Abstract; Fig 1-3; Para. 0001; 0010-0016], and particularly the use of a Real-Time Kinematic (RTK) system wherein a base station at a known location receives a GPS signal and develops data to correct the GPS position. The base station communicates the correction data to one or more animal tags, which use the data to correct and prove location accuracy of GPS signals received by the tags [Para. 0029-0031, 0037, 0047, 0057, 0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a base station of known location to perform an RTK operation to generate and communicate correction data to animal tags, and wherein the animal tags use the correction data to improve the accuracy of GPS position received by each animal tag, as taught by Scholz, applied to an animal safety collar, where various combinations of location information (including from GPS and received from a local base station) are used (or not) in various combinations based on whether the collar is located in a particular proximity (to a boundary) zone, as taught by Hipsley, to provide higher accuracy that that of the received GPS position itself, and to reduce computational and energy requirements when the higher accuracy is not required (animal location further from the boundary).
Hipsley discloses that GPS operation may be suspended to save energy, based at least on movement and/or position, such suspension based on inability to receive GPS signals is not specifically disclosed. This is also known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Chawla discloses real time location using a push location client [Title; Abstract; Para. 0009-0011], and specifically that if movement is detected and GPS position is not available it may be placed in a sleep mode and an alternative positioning system may be used [Para. 0010-0015; 0040; claims 1, 6].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to place GPS circuits in sleep mode when position is unavailable and to use an alternative position sensor, as taught by Chawla and applied to an animal safety collar, and method of operation, as taught by Hipsley as modified by Scholz, in order to reduce power consumption.
Hipsley discloses that coordinates of (virtual) geo-fence boundaries (98) may be stored in a database, but does not disclose use of a physical or virtual gate with respect to this boundary. This also is known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Woodhouse discloses an apparatus and method to guide animals [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 2, 4; Para. 0006-0028], embodiments in which animals may be confined within one or more paddocks (geo-fenced areas) and which may be provided with physical and/or virtual gates [Fig. 7; Para. 539-549], and particularly that one or more borders (gates) may be dropped (opened) and allow the animal the cross the border without stimulation [Para. 0544].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to provide controllable virtual gates associated with one or more geo-fence areas, as taught by Woodhouse, and applied to an animal safety collar, and method of operation, as taught by Hipsley as modified by Scholz and Chawla, in order to facilitate movement of animals in and out of a geo-fenced area, or from one geo-fence area to another geo-fenced area, and to train animals to do so.
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined criterion includes at least one of:
a determination that the location independently determined via the global positioning unit is within a predetermined threshold distance of the virtual boundary; or
a determination that a speed of the animal tracking device, combined with the location independently determined via the global positioning unit, indicates a likelihood of a virtual boundary crossing event.
Hipsley discloses that collar location (as may be determined by GPS position) may be determined to be within a zone, the zone representing a distance to the geo-fence boundary, and/or is beyond the boundary (100% likelihood of crossing) [Fig. 1, 4; Para. 0103-0105].
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined criterion is based, at least in part, on at least one of:
the location of the animal tracking device; or
a determination that an activity level has exceeded a threshold.
Hipsley discloses that a sensor data fusion mode may be based on collar location within a predetermined zone, the zone representing a distance to the geo-fence boundary, and/or is beyond the boundary (100% likelihood of crossing) [Fig. 1, 4; Para. 0103-0105].
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the at least one wireless communication interface includes a cellular communication interface and/or a radio frequency (RF) communication interface configured to receive observation data from the base station. Hipsley discloses use of a plurality of communication interfaces for communication between an animal collar and a base station, including a cellular modem (54), BLE transceiver (52), and sub-1 GHz transceiver (50) [Fig 1-2; Para. 0092, 0096-0097, 0101].
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, further comprising one or more base stations communicatively connectable to the animal tracking device and operable as the base station, and wherein the predetermined criterion includes at least one of:
a signal strength;
a determined positional accuracy of the one or more base stations;
environmental conditions at a location of the one or more base stations;
environmental conditions at a location of the animal tracking device; or
a distance between the base station and the animal tracking device.
Hipsley discloses that cellular communication (and GPS position data) may be selected when the collar is out of range of a base station (no signal) and conversely may operate with other position sensors and communication interface when a useable signal (strength) exists [Fig. 1, 4; Para. 0092].
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the at least one wireless communication interface is configured to obtain second position data based on a relative position of the animal tracking device to one or more wireless communication devices and wherein the instructions cause the animal tracking device to further perform:
based, at least in part, on second position data being receivable at the animal tracking device, utilizing the second position data and not the position data to determine the position of the animal tracking device.
Hipsley discloses that location information from various sensors including GPS and various base station trilateration measurements using BLE and/or sub-1 GHz communication channels may be fused in various combinations, based at least in part on assigned zone, and particularly that certain combinations (for Safe and Monitor zones ) do not rely on GPS position data [Fig. 4; Para. 0103-0105].
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the animal tracking device is further configured to:
determine a location of the animal tracking device based, at least in part, on a position determined via the global positioning unit and observation data obtained from the base station; [Hipsley: Fig, 1, 4; Para. 0092, 0105]; and
initiate an alert at the animal tracking device in response to a determination of an alert event, wherein an alert event comprises at least one of (1) the animal tracking device moving toward the virtual boundary from within the virtual boundary, (2) the animal tracking device being within a threshold distance of the virtual boundary, (3) the animal tracking device crossing the virtual boundary, (4) the animal tracking device being positioned outside of the virtual boundary, (5) a predicted boundary event determined based on analysis of the location of the animal and past locations of the animal at a predictive behavioral model; or (6) the animal tracking device moving toward the virtual boundary from outside the virtual boundary in a case the virtual boundary is a boundary of a virtual exclusion zone; Hipsley discloses that audio, visual, and/or haptic alerts or corrective actions may be issued to the animal or it’s caretaker, and may be based on a distancer from one or more predetermined boundaries [Fig. 1; Para. 0091-0092].
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the animal tracking device is further configured to:
determine a location of an animal tracking device based on a position determined via a global positioning unit of the animal tracking device; [Hipsley: Fig. 1; Para. 0100, 0103];
obtain observation data from a base station having positional accuracy greater than that of the global positioning unit to determine an adjusted location; [Hipsley: Fig. 1, 2, 4; Para. 0092, 0096, 0098, 0100, 0103]; See also the analysis for base claim 1).
determine whether the adjusted location is within a virtual boundary; Hipsley discloses determination of a predetermined zone in which the collar is presently located, the zones including those within and without a geo-fence boundary [Fig. 1-4; Para. 0103]; and
in response to determining that the adjusted location is outside of or has crossed the virtual boundary while the virtual boundary is in an active mode, initiating a stimulus at the animal tracking device; a Correction Zone (92) and Departure Zone (94) in which corrective stimulus is applied to the animal [Fig. 1-4; Para. 0103].
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the animal tracking device further includes an inertial measurement unit configured to estimate a current position of the animal tracking device based on historical position, speed, and direction. Hipsley discloses an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) (10) which may be used to estimate direction and velocity as a heading vector (96) and with tother sensor data, a location vector 84) [Fig. 1, 2, 2a; Para. 0011, 0092].
Consider claim 17 and as applied to claim 16: The animal tracking system of claim 16, wherein the current position determined by the inertial measurement unit is used as the location of the animal tracking device in response to a determination that the position data and the second position data are not available.
Hipsley discloses that the IMU information is fused with other position data, and therefore used in part, to estimate position, with any combination of other sensors [Fig. 1, 2A, 4; Para. 0011, 0092].
Scholz also discloses motion sensors (23) which operate independently of GPS and RTK positions measurements [Fig. 1-2; Para. 0033, 00398].
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 16: The animal tracking system of claim 16, wherein the inertial measurement unit is configured to estimate the current position concurrently with at least one of the global positioning unit or the wireless communication interface being operated in a low-power state. Hipsley discloses that the IMU information is fused with other position data, and therefore used in part, to generate a heading vector (96) and location vector (84) fused with GPS and/or base station trilateration data to estimate position [Fig. 1, 2A, 4; Para. 0011, 0092].
Consider claim 21: A method of tracking an animal, Hipsley discloses an animal safety collar and method of operation, to safe-guard and monitor location and movement of an animal [Title; Abstract; Fig, 1, 5; Para. 0002, 0006, 0017]; comprising:
determining, at a first time, a location of an animal tracking device relative to a virtual boundary based on position data determined via a global positioning unit of the animal tracking device; an animal collar comprising a collar module (2), containing a GPS unit (66) [Fig. 2, 5; Para. 0093, 0106]; wherein the real-time position of the collar may be determined using the GPS, and the position reconciled with relative location of a user defined geo-fence, and also may be assigned to one or more zones [safe (86), monitor (88), watch (90), correction (92) and departure (94)] according to the distance to the geo-fence boundary [Fig. 1; Para. 0100, 0103];
in response to the animal tracking device satisfying a predetermined criterion based at least in part on the location:
obtaining observation data via at least one wireless communication interface of the animal tracking device, the observation data being derived from positional data of a base station having positional accuracy greater than that of the global positioning unit and used at the animal tracking device with the position data determined via the global positioning unit,
determining an adjusted location of the animal tracking device using the observation data obtained from the at least one wireless communication interface to correct the position data determined via the global position unit, the adjusted location having improved accuracy relative to the location as independently determined via the global positioning unit, wherein the collar may also communicate with one or more base stations (4) at known geographic coordinates (84) using a plurality of communication modes, including BLE, Wi-Fi and sub-1 GHz., wherein location vector and heading vector (96) may be determined real time based on fused combination of information from an inertial unit (IMU) (10), triangulation with the one or more base stations and GPS data, and wherein the various fused combinations provide increased accuracy [Fig. 1, 2, 4; Para. 0092, 0096, 0098, 0100, 0103];
determining, at a second time, a second location of the animal tracking device relative to a virtual boundary based on position data determined via a global positioning unit of the animal tracking device, the second location being different from the first location; where the heading vector may be determined at least in part on fusion sensor data (including GPS position) [Para. 0092];
in response to the animal tracking device not satisfying the predetermined criterion based at least in part on the second location, operating at least a portion of the at least one wireless communication interface in a low power mode and using an unadjusted version of the location of the animal tracking device; a particular combination of location sensor functions to be used may be based, at least in part on an assigned zone in which the collar is located (safe, monitor, watch, correction and departure), the zones defined by a distance to the geo-fence boundary, and wherein a fusion combination is selected to increase accuracy for zones closer to the boundary [Fig. 1, 4; Para. 0103, 0105].
determining whether the first position data from the global positioning unit is receivable at the animal tracking device; Hipsley discloses that when GPS information is not available, collar position may be estimated based on relative coordinates [Para. 103];
based, at least in part, on the first position data being receivable at the animal tracking device, determining a location of the animal tracking device based, at least in part, on the first position data; wherein location information from various sensors (including GPS and base station trilateration) may be fused (each used in part) [Fig. 4; Para. 0103-0105];
based, at least in part, on the first positioning data not being receivable at the animal tracking device, performing at least one of (1) reducing frequency or ceasing receipt of the observation data or (2) deactivating the global positioning unit; and wherein the GPS unit may be placed in sleep modes during periods of inactivity and/or depended on a determined zone assignment [Fig. 4; Para. 0103-0105];
storing programmable information regarding a position of a virtual gate, and
disabling a stimulus activation when the animal tracking device passes through the virtual gate while the virtual gate is opened. Hipsley discloses that coordinates of (virtual) geo-fence boundaries (98) may be stored in a database [Fig 1-3; Para. 0092, 0103], but does not disclose use of a physical or virtual gate with respect to this boundary.
Hipsley discloses that sensor information collected from a plurality of sources, including GPS, and obtained wirelessly from one or more base stations at known locations, and various combinations of the sensor information may be fused to generate a location vector for the collar based on satisfaction of particular criteria (zone assignment). Hipsley does not, however, explicitly disclose that: (a) base station information is used to increase accuracy of the GPS derived location. This are known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Scholz discloses a tracking system and method for animal racing and/or training [Title; Abstract; Fig 1-3; Para. 0001; 0010-0016], and particularly the use of a Real-Time Kinematic (RTK) system wherein a base station at a known location receives a GPS signal and develops data to correct the GPS position. The base station communicates the correction data to one or more animal tags, which use the data to correct and prove location accuracy of GPS signals received by the tags [Para. 0029-0031, 0037, 0047, 0057, 0060].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a base station of known location to perform an RTK operation to generate and communicate correction data to animal tags, and wherein the animal tags use the correction data to improve the accuracy of GPS position received by each animal tag, as taught by Scholz, applied to an animal safety collar, and method of operation, wherein various combinations of location information (including from GPS and received from a local base station) are used (or not) in various combinations based on whether the collar is located in a particular proximity (to a boundary) zone, as taught by Hipsley, to provide higher accuracy that that of the received GPS position itself, and to reduce computational and energy requirements when the higher accuracy is not required (animal location further from the boundary).
Hipsley discloses that GPS operation may be suspended to save energy, based at least on movement and/or position, such suspension based on inability to receive GPS signals is not specifically disclosed. This is also known in analogous prior art, however, and for example:
Chawla discloses real time location using a push location client [Title; Abstract; Para. 0009-0011], and specifically that if movement is detected and GPS position is not available it may be placed in a sleep mode and an alternative positioning system may be used [Para. 0010-0015; 0040; claims 1, 6].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to place GPS circuits in sleep mode when position is unavailable and to use an alternative position sensor, as taught by Chawla and applied to an animal safety collar, and method of operation, as taught by Hipsley as modified by Scholz, in order to reduce power consumption.
Hipsley discloses that coordinates of (virtual) geo-fence boundaries (98) may be stored in a database, but does not disclose use of a physical or virtual gate with respect to this boundary. This also is known in analogous prior art, and for example:
Woodhouse discloses an apparatus and method to guide animals [Title; Abstract; Fig. 1, 2, 4; Para. 0006-0028], embodiments in which animals may be confined within one or more paddocks (geo-fenced areas) and which may be provided with physical and/or virtual gates [Fig. 7; Para. 539-549], and particularly that one or more borders (gates) may be dropped (opened) and allow the animal the cross the border without stimulation [Para. 0544].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing for the invention, to provide controllable virtual gates associated with one or more geo-fence areas, as taught by Woodhouse, and applied to an animal safety collar, and method of operation, as taught by Hipsley as modified by Scholz and Chawla, in order to facilitate movement of animals in and out of a geo-fenced area, or from one geo-fence area to another geo-fenced area, and to train animals to do so.
Consider claim 22 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the wireless communication interface is further configured to perform:
based on the location of the animal tracking device, reducing the frequency of determining adjusted locations of the animal tracking device.
Hipsley discloses a variable location update rate, based on the zone (location area) in which the animal occupies, where the “safe zone” has the slowest update (lowest frequency), and the “correction” and “departure” zones, the highest [Fig. 4].
Consider claim 23 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein obtaining observation data includes obtaining the observation data at a first frequency, and wherein the instructions further cause the animal tracking device to obtain further observation data at a second frequency slower than the first frequency.
Hipsley discloses that the animal tracking device operates under the control of a processor and program [instructions], which may be synchronized with a plurality of other animal devices [Fig. 5; Para. 0106], and particularly that an exemplary animal device may [be programmed to] operate such that a location is updated at different rates (frequencies) depending on a zone in which an animal occupies, and where an animal moves, for example, from a “watch” zone to a “monitor” zone, the update rate is reduced (lower) [Fig. 4; Para. 0105]. Hipsley further discloses that based on a lack of movement, that the device may be placed in a sleep mode during which time update is suspended (reduced update frequency, until movement is again detected [Para. 0092, 0105].
Scholz similarly discloses operation based on program instructions [Para. 0070].
Consider claim 24 and as applied to claim 23: The animal tracking system of claim 23, wherein obtaining the further observation data is performed based on the animal tracking device not satisfying the predetermined criterion. A predetermined criterion may be the animal location within a particular virtual zone, wherein the location update may be a particular rate, and using a particular sub-group of the available location sensing means. Should the animal occupy a different zone, (first predetermined criterion not met), location information is still collected, but with a different update rate and different one or more sensors. [Hipsley: Fig. 4; Para. 0105].
Consider claim 25 and as applied to claim 1: The method of claim 1, wherein the predetermined criteria include a determined positional accuracy of the one or more base stations.
Hipsley discloses a calibration procedure wherein an absolute GPS position may as may be determined for a base station to correlate the absolute position with sensed relative position, and wherein a recalibration is necessary if base station move (a change in positional accuracy) [Pare. 0098, 0103].
Scholz discloses a similar process for an RTK system, in which the GPS coordinates are corrected according to a comparison of GPS sensor data with known positional data for the RTK base station [Para. 0002-0005, 0010-0016] and where it would be obvious that a recalibration becomes necessary if the base station position changes.
Consider claim 27 and as applied to claim 1: The animal tracking system of claim 1, wherein the unadjusted version of the location of the animal tracking device is based on the location determined via the global positioning unit unmodified by the observational data.
Hipsley discloses that a location vector and heading vector (96) may be determined real time based on fused combination of information from an inertial unit (IMU) (10), triangulation with the one or more base stations and GPS data, and wherein the various fused combinations provide increased accuracy [Fig. 1, 2, 4; Para. 0093, 0102-0103]; The (“raw” or unadjusted) GPS data is stored, and used to generate the combined vector/location of the collar. GPS (without combination or correction) may also be used as an only location source depending on a situation, particularly during an uncontrolled departure, leaving the range of other location infrastructure elements [Fig. 4; Para. 0093]
Allowable Subject Matter
Objection is made to claims 8, 10, 12-14, 19, 20 and 26 as dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 20-August-2025 have been carefully and fully considered by the Examiner, and responses are provided as follow:
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to objection made to claims 1, 21 and 24-26 for informalities [Remarks: [page 9]: Amendment of these claims, obviates the objection, which has been withdrawn.
Consider Applicant’s remarks with respect to rejection of claims 1-5-8 and 11-26 under 35 USC §103 over:
Hipsley (US 2023/0320321 A1), and Scholz (US 2024/0334902 A1): claims 1-5, 15-18, and 21-25;
Hipsley, Scholz and Chawla (US 2013/0281168 A1): claims 6 and 7;
Hipsley, Scholz, Chawla and O’Hare (US 2011/0281168 A1): claim 8;
Hipsley, Scholz and Troxler (US 2002/0196151 A1): claims 12 and 13;
Hipsley, Scholz and Lee (US 2012/0111286 A1): claims 12 and 14;
Hipsley, Scholz and Perrine (US 2016/0205898 A1): claims 19 and 20;
Hipsley, Scholz and Ehrman (US 2022/0279760 A1): claim 26;
the subject matter of claims 9, 10 had been indicated as allowable if presented in independent form and including all of the limitations of claims 1, 6 and 7 [Remarks: page 9-10]:
Regarding independent claims 1 and 21: These claims have been amended to incorporate limitations of claims 9 and portions of claim 6. These claims are now rejected under 35 USC §103 over Hipsley, Scholz, Chawla and Woodhouse (US 2025/0049000 A1), where the combination renders the claim limitations obvious.
Regarding claims 2-5, 7, 11, 15-18 and 22-25: These claims depend from claim 1. No separate or additional arguments are made with respect to these claims, and the claims are now also rejected under 35 USC §103 over Hipsley, Scholz, Chawla and Woodhouse, based on the new rejection of the base claim, and on the particular citations and analysis applied to each in this Office action.
Regarding claims 8, 10, 12-14, 19, 20 and 26: Arguments with respect to these claims are moot. These claims would be allowable if presented in independent form, including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9: Arguments with respect to this claim are moot. The claim has been cancelled by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 27 (presented as claim 25): Arguments with respect to this claim, are moot, the claim has not been previously examined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Hung et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2011/0279323 A1) disclosing a system and method for providing location information on mobile devices.
Seth(U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2023/0280477 A1) disclosing a system for calculating highly accurate GPS location for mobile devices
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Quan-Zhen Wang can be reached at (571) 272-3114 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/STEPHEN R BURGDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2685