DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
The official correspondence below is a first action non-final.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02-16-2026, 01-22-2026, 04-29-2025, and 02-05-2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
Drawings submitted 11-08-2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (US 20190387670 A1) in view of Paschall (US 20190161274 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 1, Matsuda discloses, determining a configuration of the machine (Matsuda: [0050] in the automatic control mode, the traveling control section activates the mowing height drive section according to a mowing height operation instruction, whereby the mowing height operational tool and/or the mowing height adjustment link will be driven ... the mowing height adjustment mechanism can be automatically driven according to the mowing height operation instruction) to autonomously perform a grass treatment action in the environment using the machine (Matsuda: [0145] in the automatic control mode, a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit e.g. a mowing height operation instruction for operating activating the mowing height operational tool 77); to autonomously perform the grass treatment action based on the determined configuration (Matsuda: [0050] in the automatic control mode, the traveling control section activates the mowing height drive section according to a mowing height operation instruction, whereby the mowing height operational tool and/or the mowing height adjustment link will be driven ... the mowing height adjustment mechanism can be automatically driven according to the mowing height operation instruction); receiving a notification from a manager of the machine to begin autonomously performing grass treatment actions (Matsuda: [0117] in the automatic control mode, a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit, via e.g. a remote controller or the like, a traveling instruction for operating; [0145] a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit e.g. a mowing height operation instruction); performing one or more machine actions for treating grass as the machine travels through the environment (Matsuda: [0185] If the auto-cruising switch 291 is operated in the course of mowing work traveling state).
Matsuda does not explicitly disclose, determining the virtual safety bubble for the machine detecting an object in the environment by applying an object detection model to measurements captured by the detection system; determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble; and in response to determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble, modifying the grass treatment based on the detected object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Paschall discloses, determining the virtual safety bubble for the machine (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot) detecting an object in the environment (Paschall: [0020] generate and attempt multiple routes to navigate past a detected object and continue on a mission) by applying an object detection model (Paschall: [0070] The process 1100 may include detecting an obstruction in a first bounded area around the autonomous mobile robot based on updated first sensor data from the first set of sensors at 1108) to measurements captured by the detection system (Paschall: [0033] the obstacle detection sensors 322 may be configured to identify or detect an object or obstacle within a certain distance of the autonomous mobile robot 312; [0070] The process 1100 may include detecting an obstruction in a first bounded area around the autonomous mobile robot based on updated first sensor data from the first set of sensors at 1108); determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot); and in response to determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot), modifying the grass treatment based on the detected object (Paschall: [0025] obstacle to breach the safety zone 106, then the safety verification system would override or veto any instructions from the navigation computer to propulsion mechanisms of the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease propulsion and safely stop the autonomous mobile robot), for the benefit of updating the first size and a shape of the safety zone to prevent striking a person leading to a collision or crush scenario, and/or the payload could become dislodged or fall from the autonomous mobile robot creating a payload collision or crush hazard.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auto-drive features disclosed by Matsuda to include a plurality of bubble zones taught by Paschall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to updating the first size and a shape of the safety zone to prevent striking a person leading to a collision or crush scenario, and/or the payload could become dislodged or fall from the autonomous mobile robot creating a payload collision or crush hazard.
REGARDING CLAIM 2, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, the detection system is a light detection and ranging system (“LIDAR”) (Paschall: [0033] two dimensional ranging sensors such as a scanning light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor or other suitable light pulse laser ranging sensors) and applying the object detection model comprises identifying a set of ranging data as belonging to one of a plurality of object types including a first object type for objects (Paschall: [0020] avoiding collision or crush hazards include identifying an object such as a person within a certain distance).
REGARDING CLAIM 4, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, also discloses treating grass.
Matsuda does not explicitly disclose stopping in the presence of a dynamic object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Paschall discloses, “[0006] one or more dynamic objects on a collision course; [0019] unexpected static/stationary or mobile/dynamic obstacles, including human bystanders [0025] obstacle to breach the safety zone 106, then the safety verification system would override or veto any instructions from the navigation computer to propulsion mechanisms of the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease propulsion and safely stop the autonomous mobile robot”, for the benefit of not hitting things.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auto-drive disclosed by Matsuda to include stopping taught by Paschall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to not hit stuff.
REGARDING CLAIM 5, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, the detected dynamic object is a person (Paschall: [0006] one or more dynamic objects on a collision course; [0019] unexpected static/stationary or mobile/dynamic obstacles, including human bystanders).
REGARDING CLAIM 6, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, the detected object is a static object (Paschall: [0006] one or more dynamic objects on a collision course; [0019] unexpected static/stationary or mobile/dynamic obstacles, including human bystanders) and the modified grass treatment comprises avoiding the static object (Paschall: [0025] obstacle to breach the safety zone 106, then the safety verification system would override or veto any instructions from the navigation computer to propulsion mechanisms of the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease propulsion and safely stop the autonomous mobile robot).
REGARDING CLAIM 7, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, switching the machine into a second configuration (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot); and dynamically adjusting the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] the safety verification system dynamically updates the size and shape of the safety zone around the autonomous mobile robot based at least in part on the speed of the propulsion mechanisms such that the safety zone adjusts to enable the navigation computer to generate and attempt routes that navigate past congested areas or multiple objects) based on the second configuration (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot).
REGARDING CLAIM 8, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, the configuration is a combination of one or more of: a machine path, a velocity of the machine, an acceleration of the machine, an expected object, a type of grass treatment mechanism of the machine, one or more grass treatment actions undertaken by the machine, one or more characteristics of a grass treatment action, one or more characteristics of the machine, one or more characteristics of the environment, a type of object, and an input from the manager (Paschall: [0022] the safety verification system dynamically updates the size and shape of the safety zone around the autonomous mobile robot based at least in part on the speed of the propulsion mechanisms such that the safety zone adjusts to enable the navigation computer to generate and attempt routes that navigate past congested areas or multiple objects).
REGARDING CLAIM 9, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, determining the virtual safety bubble comprises determining a shape and a size of the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] the safety verification system dynamically updates the size and shape of the safety zone around the autonomous mobile robot based at least in part on the speed of the propulsion mechanisms such that the safety zone adjusts to enable the navigation computer to generate and attempt routes that navigate past congested areas or multiple objects ... dynamic route generating and safety verification for the autonomous mobile robot to utilize to avoid collisions).
REGARDING CLAIM 10, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, determining a depth of the object (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot … dynamic route generating and safety verification for the autonomous mobile robot to utilize to avoid collisions; [0024] identify obstacles or obstructions within a certain distance of the autonomous mobile robot); and determining that the depth of the object is less than a depth of the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot … dynamic route generating and safety verification for the autonomous mobile robot to utilize to avoid collisions; [0024] command the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease moving upon identifying an object or obstacle within the safety zone).
REGARDING CLAIM 11, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 10. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, predict the depth of the object (Paschall: [0022] The new routes or paths may include instructions for changing a current speed, direction, or steering for the autonomous mobile robot to utilize to avoid and navigate past a detected object or obstacle; [0024] command the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease moving upon identifying an object or obstacle within the safety zone; [0029] the navigation computer 200 might attempt to identify objects as humans and estimate their direction and speed of travel using the data captured by the object detection sensors 206 and/or external sensors 212 to better plan the autonomous mobile robots trajectory accounting for the human obstacles and their potential future locations).
REGARDING CLAIM 12, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, in response to determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble, enacting one or more preventive measures to avoid collision with the object (Paschall: [0053] upon identifying a breach of the safety zone 402, provide instructions to the propulsion components of the autonomous mobile robot 400 which causes the autonomous mobile robot 400 to stop before colliding with the detected object).
REGARDING CLAIM 13, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, determining a second virtual safety bubble for the machine for use in conjunction with the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [FIG. 1, 7, 9]), wherein the second virtual safety bubble is different in shape or size of the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [FIG. 1, 7, 9]).
REGARDING CLAIM 14, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 13. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, detecting the object in the environment by applying the object detection model to measurements captured by the detection system (Paschall: [0020] cease propulsion upon the object breaching a safe zone; [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone); determining that the object is within the second virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0023] a local planning zone 104 ([0034] a local planning zone or first bounded area) and a safety zone 106; [0026] detect breaches of the buffer zone 114; [0028] identifies a breach in a safety zone); and in response to determining that the object is within the second virtual safety bubble, modifying operation of the machine in a manner different from if the object was detected in the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0035] generate a new travel plan that includes avoiding or navigating around an obstacle or obstruction that is within the local planning zone; [0024] command the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease moving upon identifying an object or obstacle within the safety zone 106; [0026] When the autonomous mobile robot 102 is operating within a space that causes obstacles to breach the buffer zone 114, the safety verification system enforces a minimal speed for the autonomous mobile robot 102 to utilize and also generates a signal such as an audible warning, a visible warning).
REGARDING CLAIM 15, Matsuda discloses, a grass treating machine comprising a treatment mechanism configured to apply grass treatments to a treatment area (Matsuda: [0145] in the automatic control mode, a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit e.g. a mowing height operation instruction for operating activating the mowing height operational tool 77); a computer processor (Matsuda: [0176] The sensor information processing section 205a), determining a configuration of the machine (Matsuda: [0050] in the automatic control mode, the traveling control section activates the mowing height drive section according to a mowing height operation instruction, whereby the mowing height operational tool and/or the mowing height adjustment link will be driven ... the mowing height adjustment mechanism can be automatically driven according to the mowing height operation instruction) to autonomously perform a grass treatment action in the environment using the machine (Matsuda: [0145] in the automatic control mode, a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit e.g. a mowing height operation instruction for operating activating the mowing height operational tool 77); to autonomously perform the grass treatment action based on the determined configuration (Matsuda: [0050] in the automatic control mode, the traveling control section activates the mowing height drive section according to a mowing height operation instruction, whereby the mowing height operational tool and/or the mowing height adjustment link will be driven ... the mowing height adjustment mechanism can be automatically driven according to the mowing height operation instruction); receiving a notification from a manager of the machine to begin autonomously performing grass treatment actions (Matsuda: [0117] in the automatic control mode, a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit, via e.g. a remote controller or the like, a traveling instruction for operating; [0145] a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit e.g. a mowing height operation instruction); performing one or more machine actions for treating grass as the machine travels through the environment (Matsuda: [0185] If the auto-cruising switch 291 is operated in the course of mowing work traveling state).
Matsuda discloses modifying grass treatment (see above [0050]). Matsuda does not explicitly disclose, a detection system to capture measurements of an environment surrounding the machine; and a control system for establishing a virtual safety bubble surrounding the machine and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions determining the virtual safety bubble for the machine detecting an obstacle in the environment by applying an obstacle detection model to measurements captured by the detection system; determining that the obstacle is within the virtual safety bubble; and in response to determining that the obstacle is within the virtual safety bubble, modifying the autonomous grass treatment based on the detected object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Paschall discloses, a detection system to capture measurements of an environment surrounding the machine (Paschall: [0020] a mission to complete a task using sensor data from sensors associated with the autonomous mobile robot); and a control system for establishing a virtual safety bubble surrounding the machine (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot) and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions (Paschall: [0032] one or more processing units or processor(s) 320. The memory 318 may store program instructions that are loadable and executable on the processor(s) 320, as well as data generated during the execution of these programs) determining the virtual safety bubble for the machine (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot) detecting an obstacle in the environment (Paschall: [0020] generate and attempt multiple routes to navigate past a detected object and continue on a mission) by applying an obstacle detection model (Paschall: [0070] The process 1100 may include detecting an obstruction in a first bounded area around the autonomous mobile robot based on updated first sensor data from the first set of sensors at 1108) to measurements captured by the detection system (Paschall: [0033] the obstacle detection sensors 322 may be configured to identify or detect an object or obstacle within a certain distance of the autonomous mobile robot 312; [0070] The process 1100 may include detecting an obstruction in a first bounded area around the autonomous mobile robot based on updated first sensor data from the first set of sensors at 1108); determining that the obstacle is within the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot); and in response to determining that the obstacle is within the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot), modifying the autonomous grass treatment based on the detected object (Paschall: [0025] obstacle to breach the safety zone 106, then the safety verification system would override or veto any instructions from the navigation computer to propulsion mechanisms of the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease propulsion and safely stop the autonomous mobile robot), for the benefit of updating the first size and a shape of the safety zone to prevent striking a person leading to a collision or crush scenario, and/or the payload could become dislodged or fall from the autonomous mobile robot creating a payload collision or crush hazard.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auto-drive features disclosed by Matsuda to include a plurality of bubble zones taught by Paschall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to updating the first size and a shape of the safety zone to prevent striking a person leading to a collision or crush scenario, and/or the payload could become dislodged or fall from the autonomous mobile robot creating a payload collision or crush hazard.
REGARDING CLAIM 16, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, switching the machine into a second configuration (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot); and dynamically adjusting the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] the safety verification system dynamically updates the size and shape of the safety zone around the autonomous mobile robot based at least in part on the speed of the propulsion mechanisms such that the safety zone adjusts to enable the navigation computer to generate and attempt routes that navigate past congested areas or multiple objects) based on the second configuration (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot).
REGARDING CLAIM 17, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, the configuration is a combination of one or more of: a machine path, a velocity of the machine, an acceleration of the machine, an expected object, a type of grass treatment mechanism of the machine, one or more grass treatment actions undertaken by the machine, one or more characteristics of a grass treatment action, one or more characteristics of the machine, one or more characteristics of the environment, a type of object, and an input from the manager (Paschall: [0022] the safety verification system dynamically updates the size and shape of the safety zone around the autonomous mobile robot based at least in part on the speed of the propulsion mechanisms such that the safety zone adjusts to enable the navigation computer to generate and attempt routes that navigate past congested areas or multiple objects).
REGARDING CLAIM 18, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 15. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, determining a second virtual safety bubble for the machine for use in conjunction with the virtual safety bubble, wherein the second virtual safety bubble is different in shape or size of the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [FIG. 1, 7, 9]).
REGARDING CLAIM 19, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 18. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, detecting the object in the environment by applying the object detection model to measurements captured by the detection system (Paschall: [0020] cease propulsion upon the object breaching a safe zone; [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone); determining that the object is within the second virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0023] a local planning zone 104 ([0034] a local planning zone or first bounded area) and a safety zone 106; [0026] detect breaches of the buffer zone 114; [0028] identifies a breach in a safety zone); and in response to determining that the object is within the second virtual safety bubble, modifying operation of the machine in a manner different from if the object was detected in the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0035] generate a new travel plan that includes avoiding or navigating around an obstacle or obstruction that is within the local planning zone; [0024] command the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease moving upon identifying an object or obstacle within the safety zone 106; [0026] When the autonomous mobile robot 102 is operating within a space that causes obstacles to breach the buffer zone 114, the safety verification system enforces a minimal speed for the autonomous mobile robot 102 to utilize and also generates a signal such as an audible warning, a visible warning).
Regarding claim 20, Matsuda discloses, determining a configuration of the machine (Matsuda: [0050] in the automatic control mode, the traveling control section activates the mowing height drive section according to a mowing height operation instruction, whereby the mowing height operational tool and/or the mowing height adjustment link will be driven ... the mowing height adjustment mechanism can be automatically driven according to the mowing height operation instruction) to autonomously perform a grass treatment action in the environment using the machine (Matsuda: [0145] in the automatic control mode, a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit e.g. a mowing height operation instruction for operating activating the mowing height operational tool 77); to autonomously perform the grass treatment action based on the determined configuration (Matsuda: [0050] in the automatic control mode, the traveling control section activates the mowing height drive section according to a mowing height operation instruction, whereby the mowing height operational tool and/or the mowing height adjustment link will be driven ... the mowing height adjustment mechanism can be automatically driven according to the mowing height operation instruction); receiving a notification from a manager of the machine to begin autonomously performing grass treatment actions (Matsuda: [0117] in the automatic control mode, a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit, via e.g. a remote controller or the like, a traveling instruction for operating; [0145] a user of the grass mowing machine will transmit e.g. a mowing height operation instruction); performing one or more machine actions for treating grass as the machine travels through the environment (Matsuda: [0185] If the auto-cruising switch 291 is operated in the course of mowing work traveling state).
Matsuda does not explicitly disclose, determining the virtual safety bubble for the machine detecting an object in the environment by applying an object detection model to measurements captured by the detection system; determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble; and in response to determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble, modifying the grass treatment based on the detected object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Paschall discloses, determining the virtual safety bubble for the machine (Paschall: [0058] the size and shape of the safety zone 536 and the speed determined by the navigation computer may be dynamically updated based on the presence or absence of a payload being moved by the autonomous mobile robot) detecting an object in the environment (Paschall: [0020] generate and attempt multiple routes to navigate past a detected object and continue on a mission) by applying an object detection model (Paschall: [0070] The process 1100 may include detecting an obstruction in a first bounded area around the autonomous mobile robot based on updated first sensor data from the first set of sensors at 1108) to measurements captured by the detection system (Paschall: [0033] the obstacle detection sensors 322 may be configured to identify or detect an object or obstacle within a certain distance of the autonomous mobile robot 312; [0070] The process 1100 may include detecting an obstruction in a first bounded area around the autonomous mobile robot based on updated first sensor data from the first set of sensors at 1108); determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot); and in response to determining that the object is within the virtual safety bubble (Paschall: [0022] identifying an object/obstacle has breached the safe zone around the autonomous mobile robot), modifying the grass treatment based on the detected object (Paschall: [0025] obstacle to breach the safety zone 106, then the safety verification system would override or veto any instructions from the navigation computer to propulsion mechanisms of the autonomous mobile robot 102 to cease propulsion and safely stop the autonomous mobile robot), for the benefit of updating the first size and a shape of the safety zone to prevent striking a person leading to a collision or crush scenario, and/or the payload could become dislodged or fall from the autonomous mobile robot creating a payload collision or crush hazard.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the auto-drive features disclosed by Matsuda to include a plurality of bubble zones taught by Paschall. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to updating the first size and a shape of the safety zone to prevent striking a person leading to a collision or crush scenario, and/or the payload could become dislodged or fall from the autonomous mobile robot creating a payload collision or crush hazard.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda (US 20190387670 A1) in view of Paschall (US 20190161274 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cherney (US 20200134330 A1).
REGARDING CLAIM 3, Matsuda, as modified, remains as applied above to claim 1. Further, Matsuda, as modified, also discloses, the detection system is a camera system and applying the object detection model (Paschall: [0033] two dimensional image capturing sensors or cameras), and recognizing a plurality of objects (Paschall: [0081] identify segments or areas of a facility with obstacles or objects and classify the objects or obstacles as stationary or non-stationary).
Matsuda, as modified, does not explicitly disclose, segmenting pixels of images captured by the camera system.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Cherney discloses, segmenting pixels of images captured by the camera system (Cherney: [ABS] cause the object recognition device to: associate a plurality of identifying indicia with the worksite objects; determine an object type of the worksite objects based on the plurality of identifying indicia; and characterize a workman located within a vicinity of the work vehicle based on the determined object type; [0027] the color recognition module 207 can be configured to compare color pixels of images of the worksite objects 125 with color data stored in the vehicle data storage device ... the color recognition module 207 can comprise an extraction or sampling circuit (not shown) that extracts color data associated with the captured images), for the benefit of classifying the object type into one or more categories and characterizing a workman located within a vicinity of a work vehicle based on the determined object type.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the machine disclosed by a modified Matsuda to include image processing taught by Cherney. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to classifying the object type into one or more categories and characterizing a workman located within a vicinity of a work vehicle based on the determined object type.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lupu (US 20210153418 A1)
Downing (US 20170357268 A1)
/A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ANGELA Y ORTIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663