DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of CN202311483255.3 and CN202311570378.0 filed 11/08/2023 and 11/22/2023 respectively.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/08/2024 and 03/28/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the amendment filed 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons are set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Heere et al., “hereinafter Heere” (U.S. Patent Application: 20210089860).
As per Claim 1, Heere discloses a method of session interaction, comprising:
providing, to a model, a session message of a user in a session between the user and a digital assistant (Heere, Para.40, the digital assistant system 300 comprises any combination of one or more of one or more front end applications 305, an assistant service 310, a conversation manager 320, a context manager 330, a projection manager 340, an action manager 350, a connection manager 360, a semantics manager 370, a machine learning manager 380, a conversational artificial intelligence unit 390, and one or more data sources 395. The components 305, 310, 320, 330, 340, 350, 360, 370, 380, 390, and 395 can reside on a computer system, or other machine, having a memory and at least one processor, Para.112, receive a message from the user directed to the digital assistant system 300. The user may use the user interface element 505 to request that certain operations be performed and to ask the digital assistant system 300 questions to be answered, Para.50, a user may be able to initiate conversations with the digital assistant system 300 on multiple topics);
receiving, from the model, a processing result for the session message by the model (Heere, Para.50, a user may be able to initiate conversations with the digital assistant system 300 on multiple topics with overlapping time frames and switch back and forth between different domain specific skills. In order to implement the conversational interaction features, the digital assistant system 300 may utilize sentiment analysis, natural language generation, machine learning, multi-lingual capabilities, Speech2Text, Text2Speech, machine reading comprehension, analytics, question answering, semantics, push channels, knowledge graphs, entity extraction and relations, bot persona, asynchronous dialog, text summarization, frame management, mapping of entities, topic extraction, and topic storage, Para.56, The user interactions (e.g., conversations) of the digital assistant system 300 provide functionality (e.g., through buttons or natural-language commands) to drill further into a provided result), , the processing result indicating summary content and detail content, the summary content being matched to the session (Heere, Para.57, The digital assistant system 300 may act as a dialog partner for making business decisions in the sense that a user can ask the digital assistant system 300 to provide lists of arguments and artifacts supporting or discouraging a specific decision…Machine learning paired with sentiment analysis may be used to classify relevance of extracted information entities for a specific topic and argument side (e.g., whether it is an argument for or against a certain decision)…the summarization skills and aggregation capabilities may allow the digital assistant system 300 to present the information in a concise and comprehensible fashion, and the self-explaining capabilities may allow the digital assistant system 300 to iteratively provide additional details to the user upon request, Para.112, the user to view a summary of the event (e.g., “WOULD YOU LIKE A SUMMARY OF IT?”), and a corresponding selectable user interface element 520 may also be displayed to receive a user instruction to provide a summary of the event.);
presenting, in the session between the user and the digital assistant, a reply message of the digital assistant for the session message of the user, the reply message comprising the summary content (Heere, Para.43, Upon observing a relevant (e.g., sufficiently significant) data event (e.g., a change in data), internal data processing and enrichment steps of the digital assistant system 300 may be triggered (e.g., generation of a summary, re-execution of a prediction or simulation, generation of prescriptive recommendations, etc.), Para.112, the GUI 400 has been reconfigured in response to the user's selection of the other user interface element 414. As a result, the menu bar 410 includes a user interface element 505 (e.g., a text field) configured to receive a message from the user directed to the digital assistant system 300. The user may use the user interface element 505 to request that certain operations be performed and to ask the digital assistant system 300 questions to be answered. In FIG. 5, the page body 420 displays another indication 510 of the event. This indication 510 may also prompt the user to view a summary of the event (e.g., “WOULD YOU LIKE A SUMMARY OF IT?”), and a corresponding selectable user interface element 520 may also be displayed to receive a user instruction to provide a summary of the event.); and
in response to detecting a detail viewing operation on the summary content, presenting the detail content comprising the summary content and an extension to the summary content (Heere, Para.112, the digital assistant system 300 displays a visual indication 530 of the user instruction, as well as the summary 540 that was requested by the user. The summary 540 may provide more in-depth details regarding the event, such as underlying KPIs. In addition to the summary 540, the digital assistant system 300 may display data supporting the summary, such as factors contributing to the event. Indications 550 of the factors may be displayed along with corresponding selectable user interface elements 552 configured to trigger a display of details about the supporting data in response to their selection. For example, in response to the selection of the selectable user interface element 552 corresponding to “SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTOR: COSTS OF GOODS SOLD” in FIG. 5, or in response to a suitable textual or verbal user input, the digital assistant system 300 displays more detailed information 654 about how the costs of goods sold is a significant factor in the predicted decline in operating profit.).
With respect to Claim 10, 19 are substantially similar to Claim 1 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 2, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the presentation of the summary content and the presentation of the detail content are based on the processing result (Heere, Para.115, the digital assistant system 300 requests feedback from the user regarding the information provided to the user, such as the summary, the supporting data for the summary, the detailed explanation, the supporting data for the detailed explanation, the recommendation, and the supporting data for the recommendation. For example, in FIG. 8, the digital assistant system 300 displays a user interface element 810, such as a pop-up window overlaying the page body 420.).
With respect to Claim 11 is substantially similar to Claim 2 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 3, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the processing result indicates target content that matches the session message and comprises an indication of a summary portion and an indication of a detail portion in the target content, wherein the summary content comprises the summary portion in the target content, and the detail content comprises the summary portion and the detail portion in the target content (Heere, Para.112, In FIG. 5, the GUI 400 has been reconfigured in response to the user's selection of the other user interface element 414. As a result, the menu bar 410 includes a user interface element 505 (e.g., a text field) configured to receive a message from the user directed to the digital assistant system 300. The user may use the user interface element 505 to request that certain operations be performed and to ask the digital assistant system 300 questions to be answered. In FIG. 5, the page body 420 displays another indication 510 of the event. This indication 510 may also prompt the user to view a summary of the event (e.g., “WOULD YOU LIKE A SUMMARY OF IT?”), and a corresponding selectable user interface element 520 may also be displayed to receive a user instruction to provide a summary of the event. The user may also provide audio input (e.g., a verbal utterance) to provide the instruction. In response to the user instruction, the digital assistant system 300 displays a visual indication 530 of the user instruction, as well as the summary 540 that was requested by the user. The summary 540 may provide more in-depth details regarding the event, such as underlying KPIs. In addition to the summary 540, the digital assistant system 300 may display data supporting the summary, such as factors contributing to the event. Indications 550 of the factors may be displayed along with corresponding selectable user interface elements 552 configured to trigger a display of details about the supporting data in response to their selection. For example, in response to the selection of the selectable user interface element 552 corresponding to “SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTOR: COSTS OF GOODS SOLD” in FIG. 5, or in response to a suitable textual or verbal user input, the digital assistant system 300 displays more detailed information 654 about how the costs of goods sold is a significant factor in the predicted decline in operating profit.).
With respect to Claim 12 is substantially similar to Claim 3 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 4, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: in response to receiving the processing result, storing the detail content together with an identifier of the reply message (Heere, Para.44, the digital assistant system 300 is configured to, instead of directly pushing every event directly to the user, analyze the content and metadata (e.g., influenced semantic identifiers) of a notification together with context information of the user and situation to predict relevance and importance of the notification, and to perform a (re-)ranking (e.g., in case of several notifications in a short time frame), summarization/enrichment, postponing or filtering of a notification and information artifact.).
With respect to Claim 13 is substantially similar to Claim 4 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 5, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, wherein presenting the detail content comprises: providing a data presentation area, and presenting the detail content in the data presentation area, wherein the data presentation area is separated from the session (Heere, Para.112, The user may also provide audio input (e.g., a verbal utterance) to provide the instruction. In response to the user instruction, the digital assistant system 300 displays a visual indication 530 of the user instruction, as well as the summary 540 that was requested by the user. The summary 540 may provide more in-depth details regarding the event, such as underlying KPIs. In addition to the summary 540, the digital assistant system 300 may display data supporting the summary, such as factors contributing to the event. Indications 550 of the factors may be displayed along with corresponding selectable user interface elements 552 configured to trigger a display of details about the supporting data in response to their selection. For example, in response to the selection of the selectable user interface element 552 corresponding to “SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTOR: COSTS OF GOODS SOLD” in FIG. 5, or in response to a suitable textual or verbal user input, the digital assistant system 300 displays more detailed information 654 about how the costs of goods sold is a significant factor in the predicted decline in operating profit.).
With respect to Claim 14 is substantially similar to Claim 5 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 6, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reply message comprises a detail viewing entry, and wherein presenting the detail content comprises:
detecting a detail viewing operation on the summary content based on a trigger for the detail viewing entry; and in response to detecting the detail viewing operation, presenting the detail content (Heere, Para.112, In FIG. 5, the GUI 400 has been reconfigured in response to the user's selection of the other user interface element 414. As a result, the menu bar 410 includes a user interface element 505 (e.g., a text field) configured to receive a message from the user directed to the digital assistant system 300. The user may use the user interface element 505 to request that certain operations be performed and to ask the digital assistant system 300 questions to be answered. In FIG. 5, the page body 420 displays another indication 510 of the event. This indication 510 may also prompt the user to view a summary of the event (e.g., “WOULD YOU LIKE A SUMMARY OF IT?”), and a corresponding selectable user interface element 520 may also be displayed to receive a user instruction to provide a summary of the event).
With respect to Claim 15 is substantially similar to Claim 6 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 7, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reply message is presented in a card form (Heere, Para.66, Outgoing messages may, in addition, comprise feature diagrams (e.g., charts), smaller tables, as well as interaction functionality. The assistant service 310 is able to maintain multiple conversations with the same output channel (e.g., SAP Fiori ®Launchpad/CoPilot) to allow multiple, topic-specific interactions of a user for the digital assistant system 300 at the same time.).
With respect to Claim 16 is substantially similar to Claim 7 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 8, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
in response to a collection operation on the reply message, adding the summary content and the detail content to a content collection page of the user (Heere, Para.111, in FIG. 4, in response to the user selecting the notification user interface element 412, another user interface element 414 is displayed, such as in the form of a pop-up element overlaying the page body 420. The other user interface element 414 comprises information about the event, such as a brief explanation of the event (e.g., “KPI OPERATING PROFIT PREDICTED TO BE BELOW PLAN” in FIG. 4). The user may select the other user interface element 414 to find out more details about the event. While the page body 420 is displaying certain information 422, the selection of the user interface element 414 may cause the digital assistant system 300 to replace content of the menu bar 410 and the page body 420 with content additional user interface features configured to enable the user to interact with the digital assistant system 300 regarding the event based on the user selection of the other user interface element 414.); presenting the summary content in the content collection page; and in response to detecting the detail viewing operation on the summary content in the content collection page, presenting the detail content (Heere, Para.112, the GUI 400 has been reconfigured in response to the user's selection of the other user interface element 414. As a result, the menu bar 410 includes a user interface element 505 (e.g., a text field) configured to receive a message from the user directed to the digital assistant system 300. The user may use the user interface element 505 to request that certain operations be performed and to ask the digital assistant system 300 questions to be answered. In FIG. 5, the page body 420 displays another indication 510 of the event. This indication 510 may also prompt the user to view a summary of the event (e.g., “WOULD YOU LIKE A SUMMARY OF IT?”), and a corresponding selectable user interface element 520 may also be displayed to receive a user instruction to provide a summary of the event. The summary 540 may provide more in-depth details regarding the event, such as underlying KPIs. In addition to the summary 540, the digital assistant system 300 may display data supporting the summary, such as factors contributing to the event. Indications 550 of the factors may be displayed along with corresponding selectable user interface elements 552 configured to trigger a display of details about the supporting data in response to their selection. For example, in response to the selection of the selectable user interface element 552 corresponding to “SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTOR: COSTS OF GOODS SOLD” in FIG. 5, or in response to a suitable textual or verbal user input, the digital assistant system 300 displays more detailed information 654 about how the costs of goods sold is a significant factor in the predicted decline in operating profit.).
With respect to Claim 17 is substantially similar to Claim 8 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 9, Heere discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
presenting, in the detail content, one or more interaction controls for the detail content (Heere, Para.47, the digital assistant system 300 is configured to provide role-specific and user-specific personalized adaptions and alterations. Leveraging its self-learning capabilities, which are discussed in more detail below, the digital assistant system 300 may evolve its user-specific behavior based on the continued interaction with the user.); and in response to a trigger for an interaction control in the one or more interaction controls, performing an operation corresponding to the triggered interaction control on at least a part of the detail content (Heere, Para.43, Upon observing a relevant (e.g., sufficiently significant) data event (e.g., a change in data), internal data processing and enrichment steps of the digital assistant system 300 may be triggered (e.g., generation of a summary, re-execution of a prediction or simulation, generation of prescriptive recommendations, etc.). Based on the observed data change or based on the results of a thereby triggered processing step, the digital assistant system 300 may issue a data event into a suitable outgoing channel (e.g., meeting preparation, approval process, daily business process updates, urgent notifications, etc.).).
With respect to Claim 18 is substantially similar to Claim 9 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
The applicant Argue:
Argument 1:
Applicant argues that the reference Heere fails to teach or suggest “providing, to a model, a session message of a user in a session between the user and a digital assistant” as recited in claim 1.
In response, Examiner would like to point out that the reference Heere does teach in Para.40, “the digital assistant system 300 comprises any combination of one or more of one or more front end applications 305, an assistant service 310, a conversation manager 320, a context manager 330, a projection manager 340, an action manager 350, a connection manager 360, a semantics manager 370, a machine learning manager 380, a conversational artificial intelligence unit 390, and one or more data sources 395. The components 305, 310, 320, 330, 340, 350, 360, 370, 380, 390, and 395 can reside on a computer system, or other machine, having a memory and at least one processor” and in Para.112, “receive a message from the user directed to the digital assistant system 300. The user may use the user interface element 505 to request that certain operations be performed and to ask the digital assistant system 300 questions to be answered” and in Para.50, “a user may be able to initiate conversations with the digital assistant system 300 on multiple topics”.
Th front end applications 305, an assistant service 310, a conversation manager 320, a context manager 330, a projection manager 340, an action manager 350, a connection manager 360, a semantics manager 370, a machine learning manager 380, a conversational artificial intelligence unit 390 can be interpreted as “model” which can be reside in the digital assistant or in separate computer or server or machine. The reference Heere teaches in Para.50, the conversation (session) between the user and the digital assistant.
Argument 2:
Applicant argues that the reference Heere fails to teach or suggest “receiving, from the model, a processing result for the session message by the model, the processing result indicating summary content and detail content, the summary content being matched to the session” as recited in claim 1.
In response, Examiner would like to point out that the reference Heere does teach in Para.50, “a user may be able to initiate conversations with the digital assistant system 300 on multiple topics with overlapping time frames and switch back and forth between different domain specific skills. In order to implement the conversational interaction features, the digital assistant system 300 may utilize sentiment analysis, natural language generation, machine learning, multi-lingual capabilities, Speech2Text, Text2Speech, machine reading comprehension, analytics, question answering, semantics, push channels, knowledge graphs, entity extraction and relations, bot persona, asynchronous dialog, text summarization, frame management, mapping of entities, topic extraction, and topic storage” and in Para.56, “The user interactions (e.g., conversations) of the digital assistant system 300 provide functionality (e.g., through buttons or natural-language commands) to drill further into a provided result” and in Para.57, “The digital assistant system 300 may act as a dialog partner for making business decisions in the sense that a user can ask the digital assistant system 300 to provide lists of arguments and artifacts supporting or discouraging a specific decision…Machine learning paired with sentiment analysis may be used to classify relevance of extracted information entities for a specific topic and argument side (e.g., whether it is an argument for or against a certain decision)…the summarization skills and aggregation capabilities may allow the digital assistant system 300 to present the information in a concise and comprehensible fashion, and the self-explaining capabilities may allow the digital assistant system 300 to iteratively provide additional details to the user upon request”, and in Para.112, “the user to view a summary of the event (e.g., “WOULD YOU LIKE A SUMMARY OF IT?”), and a corresponding selectable user interface element 520 may also be displayed to receive a user instruction to provide a summary of the event.”.
The digital assistant receive the message and analyze the message and provide the result to the user.
Argument 3:
Applicant argues that the reference Heere fails to teach or suggest “presenting, in the session between the user and the digital assistant, a reply message of the digital assistant for the session message of the user, the reply message comprising the summary content” as recited in claim 1.
In response, Examiner would like to point out that the reference Heere does teach in Para.43, “Upon observing a relevant (e.g., sufficiently significant) data event (e.g., a change in data), internal data processing and enrichment steps of the digital assistant system 300 may be triggered (e.g., generation of a summary, re-execution of a prediction or simulation, generation of prescriptive recommendations, etc.)” and in Para.112, “the GUI 400 has been reconfigured in response to the user's selection of the other user interface element 414. As a result, the menu bar 410 includes a user interface element 505 (e.g., a text field) configured to receive a message from the user directed to the digital assistant system 300. The user may use the user interface element 505 to request that certain operations be performed and to ask the digital assistant system 300 questions to be answered. In FIG. 5, the page body 420 displays another indication 510 of the event. This indication 510 may also prompt the user to view a summary of the event (e.g., “WOULD YOU LIKE A SUMMARY OF IT?”), and a corresponding selectable user interface element 520 may also be displayed to receive a user instruction to provide a summary of the event.” And in Para.128, “Once the user enters the emulated user interface by clicking on the notification, the user interface renders the message and the charts as defined by the charting instructions, which ensures that the summary is presented in a visually appealing way to the user”.
The user can view the reply message comprising the summary content.
Argument 4:
Applicant argues that the reference Heere fails to teach or suggest “in response to detecting a detail viewing operation on the summary content, presenting the detail content comprising the summary content and an extension to the summary content” as recited in claim 1.
In response, Examiner would like to point out that the reference Heere does teach in Para.112, the digital assistant system 300 displays a visual indication 530 of the user instruction, as well as the summary 540 that was requested by the user. The summary 540 may provide more in-depth details regarding the event, such as underlying KPIs. In addition to the summary 540, the digital assistant system 300 may display data supporting the summary, such as factors contributing to the event. Indications 550 of the factors may be displayed along with corresponding selectable user interface elements 552 configured to trigger a display of details about the supporting data in response to their selection. For example, in response to the selection of the selectable user interface element 552 corresponding to “SIGNIFICANT CONTRIBUTOR: COSTS OF GOODS SOLD” in FIG. 5, or in response to a suitable textual or verbal user input, the digital assistant system 300 displays more detailed information 654 about how the costs of goods sold is a significant factor in the predicted decline in operating profit”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449