DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 10194206 in view of Westphal (US 2013/0120440).
Application claim 1 recites, in part, “initiating a search associated with the plurality of items by sending image data associated with the plurality of items to a server,” “receiving a report from the server based on the search,” and “determining, based on the report.” Apart from the aforementioned limitations, patent claim 1 substantially encompasses the limitations presented in application claim 1.
Westphal teaches:
initiating a search associated by sending image data associated with a plurality of items to a server ([0029], “To provide search results to a user, the server system 68 will have access to an image recognition capable search engine which will attempt to locate likely matches for an object image, e.g., an image uploaded to the server system 68.” [0030], “To improve upon the likelihood that the image recognition capable search engine will be able to find a match for a subject object (e.g., a product being sold by a vendor) within an object image, particularly in the case where the subject object is embedded within the object image, a means for generating a translation of the object image is provided. By way of example, an "embedded" subject object could be an air conditioner motor in an object image that shows the subject object positioned on a work bench amongst other items. Similarly, an "embedded" subject object could be a valve in an object image that shows all of the internals (e.g., fans, wires, pipes, etc.) of an air conditioning unit in which the valve is currently located.”);
receiving a report from the server based on the search ([0028], “By way of further example, the server system 68 includes executable instructions stored on a non-transient memory device for, among other things, handling search requests, performing image recognition processing, providing search results, etc.”);
determining, based on the report, that a first item in the plurality of items has a known identity ([0030], “An example of such an object image 200 is shown in FIG. 2. In this regard, FIG. 2 illustrates a subject object 202, e.g., a motor, embedded in the object image 200 with one or more further objects 204, e.g., the ‘Eiffel Tower,’ which further objects would themselves be recognizable by the image recognition capable search engine (See, e.g., search results shown in FIG. 3 resulting from the submission of the image of FIG. 2 to a conventional image recognition capable search engine).”).Considering Westphal, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in application claim 1 would have been an obvious variation of the invention defined in claim 1 of the patent. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, the application claim is not patentably distinct from the patent claim because the examined application claim would have been obvious over the patent claim when considered with the cited prior art. The above analysis similarly applies to application claim 8, which corresponds to patent claim 8.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 16 is generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in patent claim 4, i.e., the entire scope of the patent claim 4 falls within the scope of the claim 16 of the application.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10194206. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 12, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 11611806 in view of Westphal (US 2013/0120440).
Application claim 1 recites, in part, “initiating a search associated with the plurality of items by sending image data associated with the plurality of items to a server,” “receiving a report from the server based on the search,” and “determining, based on the report.” Apart from the aforementioned limitations, patent claim 1 substantially encompasses the limitations presented in application claim 1.
Westphal teaches:
initiating a search associated by sending image data associated with a plurality of items to a server ([0029], “To provide search results to a user, the server system 68 will have access to an image recognition capable search engine which will attempt to locate likely matches for an object image, e.g., an image uploaded to the server system 68.” [0030], “To improve upon the likelihood that the image recognition capable search engine will be able to find a match for a subject object (e.g., a product being sold by a vendor) within an object image, particularly in the case where the subject object is embedded within the object image, a means for generating a translation of the object image is provided. By way of example, an "embedded" subject object could be an air conditioner motor in an object image that shows the subject object positioned on a work bench amongst other items. Similarly, an "embedded" subject object could be a valve in an object image that shows all of the internals (e.g., fans, wires, pipes, etc.) of an air conditioning unit in which the valve is currently located.”);
receiving a report from the server based on the search ([0028], “By way of further example, the server system 68 includes executable instructions stored on a non-transient memory device for, among other things, handling search requests, performing image recognition processing, providing search results, etc.”);
determining, based on the report, that a first item in the plurality of items has a known identity ([0030], “An example of such an object image 200 is shown in FIG. 2. In this regard, FIG. 2 illustrates a subject object 202, e.g., a motor, embedded in the object image 200 with one or more further objects 204, e.g., the ‘Eiffel Tower,’ which further objects would themselves be recognizable by the image recognition capable search engine (See, e.g., search results shown in FIG. 3 resulting from the submission of the image of FIG. 2 to a conventional image recognition capable search engine).”).Considering Westphal, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in application claim 1 would have been an obvious variation of the invention defined in claim 1 of the patent. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, the application claim is not patentably distinct from the patent claim because the examined application claim would have been obvious over the patent claim when considered with the cited prior art. The above analysis similarly applies to application claim 8, which corresponds to patent claim 8.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 is generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in patent claim 1, i.e., the entire scope of the patent claim 1 falls within the scope of the claim 16 of the application.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11611806. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 12143676 in view of Westphal (US 2013/0120440).
Application claim 1 recites, in part, “initiating a search associated with the plurality of items by sending image data associated with the plurality of items to a server,” “receiving a report from the server based on the search,” and “determining, based on the report.” Apart from the aforementioned limitations, patent claim 1 substantially encompasses the limitations presented in application claim 1.
Westphal teaches:
initiating a search associated by sending image data associated with a plurality of items to a server ([0029], “To provide search results to a user, the server system 68 will have access to an image recognition capable search engine which will attempt to locate likely matches for an object image, e.g., an image uploaded to the server system 68.” [0030], “To improve upon the likelihood that the image recognition capable search engine will be able to find a match for a subject object (e.g., a product being sold by a vendor) within an object image, particularly in the case where the subject object is embedded within the object image, a means for generating a translation of the object image is provided. By way of example, an "embedded" subject object could be an air conditioner motor in an object image that shows the subject object positioned on a work bench amongst other items. Similarly, an "embedded" subject object could be a valve in an object image that shows all of the internals (e.g., fans, wires, pipes, etc.) of an air conditioning unit in which the valve is currently located.”);
receiving a report from the server based on the search ([0028], “By way of further example, the server system 68 includes executable instructions stored on a non-transient memory device for, among other things, handling search requests, performing image recognition processing, providing search results, etc.”);
determining, based on the report, that a first item in the plurality of items has a known identity ([0030], “An example of such an object image 200 is shown in FIG. 2. In this regard, FIG. 2 illustrates a subject object 202, e.g., a motor, embedded in the object image 200 with one or more further objects 204, e.g., the ‘Eiffel Tower,’ which further objects would themselves be recognizable by the image recognition capable search engine (See, e.g., search results shown in FIG. 3 resulting from the submission of the image of FIG. 2 to a conventional image recognition capable search engine).”).
Considering Westphal, a person of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the invention defined in application claim 1 would have been an obvious variation of the invention defined in claim 1 of the patent. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, the application claim is not patentably distinct from the patent claim because the examined application claim would have been obvious over the patent claim when considered with the cited prior art. The above analysis similarly applies to application claim 8, which corresponds to patent claim 8.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 10 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 12 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 16 is generic to a species or sub-genus claimed in patent claim 6, i.e., the entire scope of the patent claim 6 falls within the scope of the claim 16 of the application.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim 19 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12143676. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed subject matter is not patentably distinct from the subject matter claimed in the commonly owned patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 8, 10-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Lanfermann et al. (US 2008/0229363), Westphal (US 2013/0120440), and Bishop (US 2013/0054613).
Regarding claim 1, Lanfermann teaches a method comprising:
identifying an image ([0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105. The user can now choose and select one or more of these highlighted objects, where after a virtual channel or additional information relating to the selected objects are made available to the user e.g. by displaying the video content, music or music play-list, or the additional information via the virtual channel to the user on the TV screen.”);
identifying a plurality of items displayed in the image ([0037], “The object recognizer 101 analyzes the objects which are being displayed 104 for the user 105, in this example on a TV screen 106. … The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105.”);
initiating a search associated with the plurality of items ([0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105.” [0039], “By pressing a designated ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control, the objects 203, 204 which are recognized by the object recognizer 101 are highlighted as illustrated by the solid lines surrounding the cat and the dog in FIG. 2b.”);
causing a display of the image, the display comprising
a first notification indicating the first item has the known identity ([0037], “The object recognizer 101 analyzes the objects which are being displayed 104 for the user 105, in this example on a TV screen 106. … The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105.” [0042], Fig. 2B).
Lanfermann does not expressly teach initiating the search associated with the plurality of items by sending image data associated with the plurality of items to a server. Lanfermann also does not expressly teach receiving a report from the server based on the search; determining, based on the report, that a first item in the plurality of items has a known identity and a second item in the plurality of items has an unknown identity. Lanfermann also does not expressly teach a second notification indicating that the second item has the unknown identity.
Westphal teaches:
initiating a search associated by sending image data associated with a plurality of items to a server ([0029], “To provide search results to a user, the server system 68 will have access to an image recognition capable search engine which will attempt to locate likely matches for an object image, e.g., an image uploaded to the server system 68.” [0030], “To improve upon the likelihood that the image recognition capable search engine will be able to find a match for a subject object (e.g., a product being sold by a vendor) within an object image, particularly in the case where the subject object is embedded within the object image, a means for generating a translation of the object image is provided. By way of example, an "embedded" subject object could be an air conditioner motor in an object image that shows the subject object positioned on a work bench amongst other items. Similarly, an "embedded" subject object could be a valve in an object image that shows all of the internals (e.g., fans, wires, pipes, etc.) of an air conditioning unit in which the valve is currently located.”);
receiving a report from the server based on the search ([0028], “By way of further example, the server system 68 includes executable instructions stored on a non-transient memory device for, among other things, handling search requests, performing image recognition processing, providing search results, etc.”);
determining, based on the report, that a first item in the plurality of items has a known identity ([0030], “An example of such an object image 200 is shown in FIG. 2. In this regard, FIG. 2 illustrates a subject object 202, e.g., a motor, embedded in the object image 200 with one or more further objects 204, e.g., the ‘Eiffel Tower,’ which further objects would themselves be recognizable by the image recognition capable search engine (See, e.g., search results shown in FIG. 3 resulting from the submission of the image of FIG. 2 to a conventional image recognition capable search engine).”).
In view of Westphal’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lanfermann to include initiating the search associated with the plurality of items by sending image data associated with the plurality of items to a server, receiving a report from the server based on the search, and determining, based on the report, that a first item in the plurality of items has a known identity. By performing processing at a server, the modification would serve to facilitate data processing and distribution of results to content devices.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach determining, based on the report, that a second item in the plurality of items has an unknown identity. The combination also does not expressly teach a second notification indicating that the second item has the unknown identity.
Bishop teaches:
an item in a plurality of items having an unknown identity ([0058], “Similarly, the EIMC 316 can identify potential keywords or keyphrases, even when misspelled, in the electronic document, and the potential keywords or keyphrases can be highlighted or emphasized to indicate that such potential keywords or keyphrases may be a match to a tag, but the level of confidence is lower because the potential keywords or keyphrases were not an exact match to a stored tag.”), and
a second notification indicating that the second item has the unknown identity ([0058], “Also, the highlighting…can be varied (e.g., using different colors, different types of highlighting or emphasis), based at least in part on the level of confidence (e.g., green indicates high level of confidence or exact match, yellow indicates a medium level of confidence, and red indicates a low level of confidence) there is that the identified item(s) of key-content is associated with a tag word or tag phrase in the data store 314 or to differentiate one potential item(s) of key-content from another item(s) of key-content in the electronic document.” … Similarly, the EIMC 316 can identify potential keywords or keyphrases, even when misspelled, in the electronic document, and the potential keywords or keyphrases can be highlighted or emphasized to indicate that such potential keywords or keyphrases may be a match to a tag, but the level of confidence is lower because the potential keywords or keyphrases were not an exact match to a stored tag.”).
In view of Bishop’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Lanfermann to include the second item having an unknown identity, and a second notification indicating that the second item has the unknown identity. The modification would serve to improve the system by providing an intuitive means for indicating to a user whether an object is known or unknown. The modification would thereby improve user convenience, and would additionally facilitate user operation.
Regarding claims 3 and 10, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination as presently combined does not expressly teach wherein the first notification comprises a first color displayed in association with the first item in the image, and wherein the second notification comprises a second color displayed in association with the second item in the image.
Bishop provides a teaching for analyzing electronic documents (abstract), including video content (abstract, [0002], [0007], [0080], [0100], [0136]-[0148] Fig. 13), and highlighting key video content ([0034]). Bishop additionally teaches that highlighting may comprise using different colors based on a level of confidence of a match ([0058], “Also, the highlighting (e.g., using color(s) with regard to the text or the portion of the UI screen on which the text is displayed) or emphasizing (e.g., bolding, italicizing, or changing the size) of the item(s) of key-content can be varied (e.g., using different colors, different types of highlighting or emphasis), based at least in part on the level of confidence (e.g., green indicates high level of confidence or exact match, yellow indicates a medium level of confidence, and red indicates a low level of confidence) there is that the identified item(s) of key-content is associated with a tag word or tag phrase in the data store 314…”).
In view of Bishop, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to further modify the combination wherein the first notification comprises a first color displayed in association with the first item in the image, and wherein the second notification comprises a second color displayed in association with the second item in the image. The modification would serve to improve the system by providing an intuitive means for indicating to a user whether an object is known or unknown. The modification would thereby improve user convenience, and would additionally facilitate user operation.
Regarding claims 4 and 11, the combination further teaches further comprising: indicating a plurality of search statuses for the plurality of items based on the search (Lanfermann: [0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105.” [0039], “By pressing a designated ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control, the objects 203, 204 which are recognized by the object recognizer 101 are highlighted as illustrated by the solid lines surrounding the cat and the dog in FIG. 2b.”).
Regarding claim 8, Lanfermann teaches a computing apparatus comprising:
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium; at least one processor operatively coupled to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium; and program instructions stored on the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that, when executed by the at least one processor, direct the computing apparatus to perform a method ([0026], [0043], i.e., non-transitory computer readable media is inherent to a computer). The rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC §103 is similarly applied to the remaining limitations of claim.
Regarding claim 15, the combination further teaches wherein identifying the image comprises identifying a selection of the image in video content (Lanfermann: [0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105. The user can now choose and select one or more of these highlighted objects, where after a virtual channel or additional information relating to the selected objects are made available to the user e.g. by displaying the video content, music or music play-list, or the additional information via the virtual channel to the user on the TV screen.”).
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Lanfermann, Westphal, Bishop, and El-Saban et al. (US 2011/0295851).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach: determining, based on the search, that the plurality of items includes a third item having a plurality of potential identities; wherein the display further comprises a third notification indicating the third item possesses the plurality of potential identities.
El-Saban teaches determining an item having a plurality of potential tags, wherein a notification indicates the item possesses the plurality of potential tags ([0057], [0058], “In 522, the display shows the captured media; here a still image of a tree. Tabs 524 allow a user to toggle between a view of suggested tags and suggested links. Here, the tag view is active. The user interface 520 displays suggested metadata received from the server. Here, the words, ‘tree’, ‘NW’ (for Northwest, a geographical area known for being heavily forested), ‘green’ and ‘red’ are displayed with labels 526. Check boxes 528 allow a user to select or de-select suggested metadata. Alternative user interface controls including, but not limited to, combo boxes and push buttons may alternatively be used. In user interface 520, the semantics of checking a checkbox 528 is to indicate that the user does not consider the particular suggested metadata to be relevant. Here, ‘red’ has been checked to mean ‘de-selection’ since the user does not consider the word ‘red’ to be relevant metadata for an image of a tree as shown in 522.” Fig. 5).
In view of El-Saban’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination to include determining, based on the search, that the plurality of items includes a third item having a plurality of potential identities; wherein the display further comprises a third notification indicating the third item possesses the plurality of potential identities. The modification would allow users to easily associate identities with objects, and would additionally serve to facilitate the search and retrieval of media objects (El-Saban: Abstract).
Claim(s) 5-6 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Lanfermann, Westphal, Bishop, and Watanabe (US 2009/0262213).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein indicating the plurality of search statuses for the plurality of items comprises: for the first item: providing a first visual state indicating the search is ongoing; and providing a second visual state indicating the search is completed.
Watanabe provides a teaching for a user interface wherein an initial visual indication is modified from an initial visual state indicating that a detection process is ongoing to a modified visual state indicating that the detection process has been completed ([0085], [0089], “in FIG. 6, the framed portions in solid lines 300a, 300b show successfully followed faces in the frames while the framed portion in dashed line 301 represents a framed region including an unsuccessfully followed face which is under the detection in Step S24 (detection is performed again).” [0088], “The display representing that the unsuccessfully followed face is being detected is kept on while the processing in Steps S21 to S28, that is, the face detection in the stored area including the unsuccessfully followed face is being performed.” [0092], [0085], “Unless the counter value R is zero (Step S24), the detection is performed in the region including the unsuccessfully followed face stored in Step S22 (Step S25).” Figs. 6-7).
The examiner submits that Watanabe would have at least suggested to one having ordinary skill that, upon successful detection of the unsuccessfully followed face ([0085]-[0087], Figs. 6-7), the dashed line representing the unsuccessfully followed face would change to a solid line representing a successfully followed face.
In view of Watanabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination such that indicating the plurality of search statuses for the plurality of items comprises: for the first item: providing a first visual state indicating the search is ongoing; and providing a second visual state indicating the search is completed. The combination would serve to allow users to easily and properly understand the search status of the plurality of items (see Watanabe, [0092]). The modification would serve to facilitate user operation.
Regarding claims 6 and 13, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach, wherein indicating the plurality of search statuses for the plurality of items comprises: indicating a first visual state for the first item; and indicating a second visual state for the second item, the second visual state different from the first visual state.
Watanabe provides a teaching for indicating a first visual state for a first item; and indicating a second visual state for a second item, the second visual state different from the first visual state ([0085], [0089], “in FIG. 6, the framed portions in solid lines 300a, 300b show successfully followed faces in the frames while the framed portion in dashed line 301 represents a framed region including an unsuccessfully followed face which is under the detection in Step S24 (detection is performed again).” [0088], “The display representing that the unsuccessfully followed face is being detected is kept on while the processing in Steps S21 to S28, that is, the face detection in the stored area including the unsuccessfully followed face is being performed.” [0092], [0085], “Unless the counter value R is zero (Step S24), the detection is performed in the region including the unsuccessfully followed face stored in Step S22 (Step S25).” Fig. 6, framed portions 300a and 300b are solid line frames, and framed portion 301 is a dashed line).
In view of Watanabe’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination such that indicating the plurality of search statuses for the plurality of items comprises: indicating a first visual state for the first item; and indicating a second visual state for the second item, the second visual state different from the first visual state. The modification would serve to improve the system by providing an intuitive means for indicating to a user whether an object is known. The modification would thereby improve user convenience, and would additionally facilitate user operation.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Lanfermann, Westphal, Bishop, and Avison-Fell (US 2012/0167144).
Regarding claims 7 and 14, the combination further teaches further comprising: receiving a selection of the first item; and in response to the selection, causing display of information associated with the first item (Lanfermann: [0039], “Assuming the user selects the object cat 204, a virtual channel showing various ‘cat’ categories 205, 206, 207, 208 (see FIG. 2c) is created, varying from the normal house cat to the panther. In this example, the user has the opportunity to select still another virtual channel from these categories and thereby obtain more detailed information. Assuming the user selects the normal house cat, various house cats can be displayed. This is illustrated in FIG. 2d, showing the Siamese cat 209, Persian cat 210, Tabby Persian cat 211. The user could even get further information, video/TV clips, etc. by selecting e.g. the Siamese cat 209.” Figs. 2a-2d).
However, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach in response to the selection, causing display of at least one hyperlink associated with the first item and received based on the search.
Avison-Fell teaches, in response to a selection, causing display of at least one webpage associated with an item and received based on a search ([0028], “In general, the features that the receiver is configured to detect may be associated with one or more objects that may be of potential interest to a viewer of the video frame.” [0035], “Once the receiver determines the keyword associated with the detected object, information about the detected object may be obtained from several sources. In one embodiment, the receiver may provide the keyword or phrase to an internet search engine to retrieve an informational webpage about the detected image.”).
In view of Avison-Fell’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination to include in response to the selection, causing display of at least one hyperlink associated with the first item and received based on a search. The modification would enhance the combined system by providing a convenient means by which users may access a website related to a selected item.
Claim(s) 16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Lanfermann, Westphal, and Kikinis.
Regarding claim 16, Lanfermann teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions stored there on that ([0026], [0043], i.e., non-transitory computer readable media is inherent to a computer), when executed by at least one processor, perform a method, the method comprising:
identifying an image ([0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105. The user can now choose and select one or more of these highlighted objects, where after a virtual channel or additional information relating to the selected objects are made available to the user e.g. by displaying the video content, music or music play-list, or the additional information via the virtual channel to the user on the TV screen.”);
identifying a plurality of items displayed in the image ([0037], “The object recognizer 101 analyzes the objects which are being displayed 104 for the user 105, in this example on a TV screen 106. … The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105.”);
initiating a search associated with the plurality of items ([0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105.” [0039], “By pressing a designated ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control, the objects 203, 204 which are recognized by the object recognizer 101 are highlighted as illustrated by the solid lines surrounding the cat and the dog in FIG. 2b.”).
Lanfermann does not expressly teach initiating a search associated with the plurality of items by sending image data associated with the plurality of items to a server. Lanfermann also does not expressly teach receiving a report from the server based on the search; identifying a hyperlink associated with a first item in the plurality of items based on the report; and causing a display of the image, the first item labeled in the display of the image with at least the hyperlink.
Westphal teaches:
initiating a search associated with a plurality of items by sending image data associated with a plurality of items to a server ([0029], “To provide search results to a user, the server system 68 will have access to an image recognition capable search engine which will attempt to locate likely matches for an object image, e.g., an image uploaded to the server system 68.” [0030], “To improve upon the likelihood that the image recognition capable search engine will be able to find a match for a subject object (e.g., a product being sold by a vendor) within an object image, particularly in the case where the subject object is embedded within the object image, a means for generating a translation of the object image is provided. By way of example, an ‘embedded’ subject object could be an air conditioner motor in an object image that shows the subject object positioned on a work bench amongst other items. Similarly, an ‘embedded’ subject object could be a valve in an object image that shows all of the internals (e.g., fans, wires, pipes, etc.) of an air conditioning unit in which the valve is currently located.”);
receiving a report from a server based on the search ([0028], “By way of further example, the server system 68 includes executable instructions stored on a non-transient memory device for, among other things, handling search requests, performing image recognition processing, providing search results, etc.”); and
identifying a first item in the plurality of items based on the report ([0030], “An example of such an object image 200 is shown in FIG. 2. In this regard, FIG. 2 illustrates a subject object 202, e.g., a motor, embedded in the object image 200 with one or more further objects 204, e.g., the ‘Eiffel Tower,’ which further objects would themselves be recognizable by the image recognition capable search engine (See, e.g., search results shown in FIG. 3 resulting from the submission of the image of FIG. 2 to a conventional image recognition capable search engine).”).
In view of Westphal’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lanfermann to include initiating a search associated with the plurality of items by sending image data associated with the plurality of items to a server, receiving a report from the server based on the search, and identifying a first item in the plurality of items based on the report. By performing processing at a server, the modification would serve to facilitate data processing and distribution of results to content devices.
The combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach identifying a hyperlink associated with a first item in the plurality of items based on the report; and causing a display of the image, the first item labeled in the display of the image with at least the hyperlink.
Kikinis teaches identifying a hyperlink associated with a first item and causing a display of the image, the first item labeled in the display of the image with at least the hyperlink (Abstract; Col. 5, lines 17-27, “In embodiments of the present invention, individual images in TV presentations, such as persons, objects, and the like, are linked with Universal Resource Locators (URLs) in a manner that a viewer may select such images, and by so doing, invoke a linked URL, which leads to a WEB location providing information related to the image.” Col. 7, lines 56-67, “If the viewer is interested in additional information, he/she may manipulate the cursor to touch the region of emblem 57 and then actuate a selection signal, such as pressing one of the buttons 69 on the remote. On receipt of the selection signal with the cursor touching the BMW emblem, the system executes browser routines, accessing the WWW, and dials up the WEB server (see server 54 and modem 35 or 39, FIG. 1)”. Figs. 2A, C).
In view of Kikinis’ teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination to include identifying a hyperlink associated with a first item in the plurality of items based on the report, and causing a display of the image, the first item labeled in the display of the image with at least the hyperlink. The modification would enhance the combined system by providing a convenient means by which users may access a website related to a selected item.
Regarding claim 18, the combination further teaches further comprising indicating a plurality of search statuses for the plurality of items based on the search (Lanfermann: [0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105.” [0039], “By pressing a designated ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control, the objects 203, 204 which are recognized by the object recognizer 101 are highlighted as illustrated by the solid lines surrounding the cat and the dog in FIG. 2b.”).
Regarding claim 20, the combination further teaches, wherein identifying the image comprises identifying a selection of the image in video content (Lanfermann: [0037], “When the user 105 is interested in a particular scene or objects in a scene, the object recognizer 101 receives a command from the user 105 to ‘freeze’ the TV scene. This can e.g. be done by pressing a ‘HyperInfo’ button on the remote control. The objects in the scene, which are recognized by the object recognizer 101, are then highlighted for the user 105. The user can now choose and select one or more of these highlighted objects, where after a virtual channel or additional information relating to the selected objects are made available to the user e.g. by displaying the video content, music or music play-list, or the additional information via the virtual channel to the user on the TV screen.”).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Lanfermann, Westphal, Kikinis, and Bishop.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach further teaches wherein the method further comprises:
determining, based on the search, that the plurality of items includes a second item having an unknown identity;
wherein the display further comprises a notification indicating the second item has the unknown identity.
Bishop teaches:
an item having an unknown identity ([0058], “Similarly, the EIMC 316 can identify potential keywords or keyphrases, even when misspelled, in the electronic document, and the potential keywords or keyphrases can be highlighted or emphasized to indicate that such potential keywords or keyphrases may be a match to a tag, but the level of confidence is lower because the potential keywords or keyphrases were not an exact match to a stored tag.”), and
a second notification indicating that the second item has the unknown identity ([0058], “Also, the highlighting…can be varied (e.g., using different colors, different types of highlighting or emphasis), based at least in part on the level of confidence (e.g., green indicates high level of confidence or exact match, yellow indicates a medium level of confidence, and red indicates a low level of confidence) there is that the identified item(s) of key-content is associated with a tag word or tag phrase in the data store 314 or to differentiate one potential item(s) of key-content from another item(s) of key-content in the electronic document.” … Similarly, the EIMC 316 can identify potential keywords or keyphrases, even when misspelled, in the electronic document, and the potential keywords or keyphrases can be highlighted or emphasized to indicate that such potential keywords or keyphrases may be a match to a tag, but the level of confidence is lower because the potential keywords or keyphrases were not an exact match to a stored tag.”).
In view of Bishop’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Lanfermann to include determining, based on the search, that the plurality of items includes a second item having an unknown identity; wherein the display further comprises a notification indicating the second item has the unknown identity. The modification would serve to improve the system by providing an intuitive means for indicating to a user whether an object is known or unknown. The modification would thereby improve user convenience, and would additionally facilitate user operation.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over a combination of Lanfermann, Westphal, Kikinis, and El-Saban.
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches the limitations specified above; however, the combination does not expressly teach wherein the method further comprises: determining, based on the search, that the plurality of items includes a second item having a plurality of potential identities; wherein the display further comprises a notification indicating that the second item has the plurality of potential identities.
El-Saban teaches determining an item having a plurality of potential tags, wherein a notification indicates the item possesses the plurality of potential tags ([0057], [0058], “In 522, the display shows the captured media; here a still image of a tree. Tabs 524 allow a user to toggle between a view of suggested tags and suggested links. Here, the tag view is active. The user interface 520 displays suggested metadata received from the server. Here, the words, ‘tree’, ‘NW’ (for Northwest, a geographical area known for being heavily forested), ‘green’ and ‘red’ are displayed with labels 526. Check boxes 528 allow a user to select or de-select suggested metadata. Alternative user interface controls including, but not limited to, combo boxes and push buttons may alternatively be used. In user interface 520, the semantics of checking a checkbox 528 is to indicate that the user does not consider the particular suggested metadata to be relevant. Here, ‘red’ has been checked to mean ‘de-selection’ since the user does not consider the word ‘red’ to be relevant metadata for an image of a tree as shown in 522.” Fig. 5).
In view of El-Saban’s teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the combination to include determining, based on the search, that the plurality of items includes a second item having a plurality of potential identities; wherein the display further comprises a notification indicating that the second item has the plurality of potential identities. The modification would allow users to easily associate identities with objects, and would additionally serve to facilitate the search and retrieval of media objects (El-Saban: Abstract).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL R TELAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426