DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kassouni (6,164,471) in view of Hunt (US 2022/0016622).
Claim 17
Kassouni discloses cap assembly (14 and 16) capable of locking and unlocking a component having an opening, the cap assembly comprising a cap (14); and a thermoplastic arm (30) disposed on the cap and extending obliquely with respect to a radial direction of the cap (see figure 2 and column 3 lines 18-25). Kassouni discloses the cap (14) is made from thermoplastic material, and the arm is integral to the cap, therefore the arm is thermoplastic same as the cap. Kassouni further discloses at least a portion of the thermoplastic arm is capable of being received in a recess of the component and abuts against a protrusion of the component to prevent the cap assembly from rotating in a first direction relative to the component, such that the cap assembly is locked with the component; and wherein the at least a portion of the thermoplastic arm is capable of being released from the recess to unlock the component. In same fashion the thermoplastic arm is received in recess (41), between threads (40) of component (12) from Kassouni, the thermoplastic arm extending from the cap of Kassouni is capable to be received in a recess of a component and abuts against a protrusion of that component to prevent the cap assembly from rotating in a first direction relative to that component, and also capable of being released from the recess to unlock that component. Kassouni does not specifically discloses the thermoplastic arm being elastic. However, Hunt discloses a cap (20) for closing an opening (22) of a container (12) (see figure 2), wherein the cap comprises thermoplastic elastomer material (see [0044]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thermoplastic cap of Kassouni formed from thermoplastic elastomer as taught by Hunt because thermoplastic elastomer caps are known in the art for sealing containers. By the fact that the thermoplastic arm of Kassouni is integral to the cap, after Kassouni is modified by Hunt having the cap made from elastic thermoplastic material, the elastic arm will also be formed from the same material.
Claim 19
Kassouni further discloses a free end of the thermoplastic arm is capable of being located in the recess of the component and abuts against the protrusion of the component to prevent the cap assembly from rotating in the first direction relative to that component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-16 and 21 are allowed. No prior art discloses the arrangement of structures between a component and the cap assembly as recited in claims 1 and 21.
Claims 18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 17-20, regarding the 112, second paragraph rejection, have been considered and the rejection is removed. However, the limitations recited in the claim is still met by the teachings of Kassouni and Hunt.
Conclusion
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested of the applicant, in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or prior art(s) disclosed by the Examiner (in the attached PTO-892 form).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RAFAEL A. ORTIZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736