DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Churchill et al. (US 20090254840 A1).
Claims 1, 11, and 12:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a server that provides an instant messaging service “...server...instant message...” [para 28-29], a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the operating method (“...memory...”) [para 25], and a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25] comprising,
receiving a request for a local chat page through an instant messenger
“...in the search area 311 the search term "San Francisco, Calif." is entered into a search field 314 and a search is initiated by activating or clicking on the search button 316...” [para 44];
transmitting a query based on meta information of the local chat page to a map server
“...a first user ("user" in FIG. 7) enters a query such as "San Francisco coffee house 3rd market." In response based on the location "San Francisco 3rd market", a map is generated by the map server 126 using the maps 120 database, and a list of coffee houses at the corner of 3.sup.rd avenue and Market street is generated by the map server 126 using the locals 118 database...” [para 70];
generating a map view based on local map information received from the map server in response to the query
“...The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...” [para 39];
generating a chat view based on chat information linked with the local chat page
“...The comment log area 206 (also referred as a chat log) lists the comments by the user and any buddies in a time sequential order, such as user comment 208 and buddy comment 210. The user comment 208 and buddy comment 210 duplicate at least a portion of the text included in the user chat bubble 214 and buddy chat bubble 212, respectively. The comment log area 206 appears on the map information communication interface 200 to give a sense of the progression of the conversation between the user and his/her buddies...” [para 40];
and providing the local chat page comprising the map view and the chat view to a terminal having executed the instant messenger
“...The user chat bubble 214 is displayed on the interactive map display area 204 pointing to the location of interest on the map, as specified by the user. The user chat bubble 214 also includes a text bubble displaying the text entered by the user, which in this example is "But I like the coffee here". The buddy chat bubble 212 is also displayed on the interactive map display area 204, and in this example indicates the buddy's preference for the second location. The buddy chat bubble 212 also includes a text bubble displaying the text entered by the buddy, which in this example is "this place looks close to the 101"...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate a map view with chat view displayed on a client device through an application; para 39-40].
Claims 2 and 13:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a server that provides an instant messaging service “...server...instant message...” [para 28-29] and a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claims 1 and 12 above, further comprising,
the transmitting the query to the map server comprises: generating the query to request the local map information corresponding to at least one of local information, local level information, place type information, and place ranking criterion information, based on the meta information
“...The interactive map display area 204 presents a map showing the location of the meeting place such as a restaurant or shopping center. The interactive map display area 204 may also show approach roads or alternative meeting locations...pointing to the location of interest on the map...a text bubble displaying the text entered by the user, which in this example is "But I like the coffee here"...buddy chat bubble 212 also includes a text bubble displaying the text entered by the buddy, which in this example is "this place looks close to the 101"...the map information communication interface 300 then highlights the map location A on the reviews section (e.g., search results area 306), displays the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, and displays more detail information about the map location A on the detail location information area 320...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate local information, local level information, place type information, and even place ranking criterion information; para 39, 40, 44, 47].
Claims 3 and 14:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a server that provides an instant messaging service “...server...instant message...” [para 28-29] and a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claims 1 and 12 above, further comprising,
the generating the map view comprises: generating the map view comprising at least one of a map chart of a region corresponding to the local chat page, the information of a place object positioned in the region, and the ranking information of the place object positioned in the region
“...The interactive map display area 204 presents a map showing the location of the meeting place such as a restaurant or shopping center...The user chat bubble 214 is displayed on the interactive map display area 204 pointing to the location of interest on the map...the map information communication interface 300 then highlights the map location A on the reviews section (e.g., search results area 306), displays the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, and displays more detail information about the map location A on the detail location information area 320...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate map view specific to chats, map markers of locations of interest related to the chats, and location rankings; para 39, 40, 44, 47].
Claims 4 and 15:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a server that provides an instant messaging service “...server...instant message...” [para 28-29] and a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claims 1 and 12 above, further comprising,
the generating the chat view comprises: determining a target chatroom based on the chat information linked with the local chat page and generating the chat view comprising information on the target chatroom
“...the interactive map display area 204 includes user and buddy chat bubbles (e.g., buddy chat bubble 212 and user chat bubble 214) as explained below. The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion....The comments chat log area 302, presents chat logs/comments from users relative to a particular map location shown in the search results area 306... in the search area 311 the search term "San Francisco, Calif." is entered into a search field 314 and a search is initiated by activating or clicking on the search button 316. Jane is not familiar with the city, but Joseph is. Jane types in "Sushi" in the search window 312 to search the local information database 118, and selects one of the possible locations shown in the search results area 306. For example, she can select a map location A by activating or clicking on the A icon. Once she selects the map location A, the map information communication interface 300 then highlights the map location A on the reviews section (e.g., search results area 306), displays the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, and displays more detail information about the map location A on the detail location information area 320...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate chat records created for specific chats for specific locations; para 39, 40, 43, 44].
Claims 6 and 18:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a server that provides an instant messaging service “...server...instant message...” [para 28-29] and a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claims 1 and 12 above, further comprising,
the generating the chat view comprises: generating the chat view comprising a message transmitted through a chatroom linked with the local chat page
“...The interactive map display area 204 includes user and buddy chat bubbles (e.g., buddy chat bubble 212 and user chat bubble 214) as explained below. The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...The comment log area 206 appears on the map information communication interface 200 to give a sense of the progression of the conversation between the user and his/her buddies. The user chat bubble 214 is displayed on the interactive map display area 204 pointing to the location of interest on the map, as specified by the user...Joseph can submit the text message that he has inserted in the open field 322 by activating or clicking on the submit button 324. Once Joseph submits his comments/text, an icon representing Joseph along with Joseph's comments can be presented on Joseph's comments area 316 on the chat bubble 330. Similarly, Jane can type a response for the same map location A on her map information communication interface 300 (on her client 102 device)...users can track a history of conversations. For example, Joseph and Jane may chat about map locations A-G as shown on the search results area 306, and can use the scroll bar 303 to scroll up and down in the comments chat log area 302 to see the chat history of the map locations A-G. In another embodiment, a user (Jane/Joseph) can click on a location icon (e.g., icon A) on the interactive map display area 308 to see a chat history of location A appear on the comments chat log area 302...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate submitting chat messages to chats for specific locations; para 39, 40, 44, 45, 47].
Claim 16:
Churchill et al. teaches a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claim 15 above, further comprising,
the processor is further configured to, when determining the target chatroom, determine a chatroom mapped to the local chat page as the target chatroom
“...The interactive map display area 204 includes user and buddy chat bubbles (e.g., buddy chat bubble 212 and user chat bubble 214) as explained below. The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...The user chat bubble 214 is displayed on the interactive map display area 204 pointing to the location of interest on the map, as specified by the user. The user chat bubble 214 also includes a text bubble displaying the text entered by the user...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate chat records created for specific chats for specific locations; para 39-40];
and determine a chatroom, comprising local information corresponding to the local chat page as a keyword, as the target chatroom
“...in the search area 311 the search term "San Francisco, Calif." is entered into a search field 314 and a search is initiated by activating or clicking on the search button 316. Jane is not familiar with the city, but Joseph is. Jane types in "Sushi" in the search window 312 to search the local information database 118, and selects one of the possible locations shown in the search results area 306...” [para 44].
Claim 20:
Churchill et al. teaches a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claim 15 above, further comprising,
the processor is further configured to, when receiving the request for the local chat page, receive an input of selecting an interfacing object for the local chat page in the instant messenger
“...The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...The user chat bubble 214 is displayed on the interactive map display area 204 pointing to the location of interest on the map, as specified by the user. The user chat bubble 214 also includes a text bubble displaying the text entered by the user...select a map location A by activating or clicking on the A icon. Once she selects the map location A, the map information communication interface 300 then highlights the map location A on the reviews section (e.g., search results area 306), displays the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, and displays more detail information about the map location A on the detail location information area 320. By activating or clicking on the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, the name of the map location A, for example, "Ta Ta Pizza" can appear on the chat bubble 330...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate selecting a location on the map for a location specific chat; para 39, 40, 44].
Claim 8:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a terminal configured to execute an instant messenger (“...FIG. 3A is an illustration of an exemplary map information communication interface 300, which shows how a map information communication interface might appear on a display of a client 102 device...comments chat log area 302...a comments chat log area 302, an interactive map display area 308,a chat bubble 330, a new map view 332, a chat number 334, and a chat history area 326...”) [FIGs 3A, 3B illustrate an interface on a client for instant messaging with a map view; para 42, 50] comprising,
requesting a local chat page from a server through the instant messenger
“...The client 102 may communicate with the server 104 using suitable communication interfaces via the network 106...The server 104 may be programmed to format data, accessed from local or remote databases or other sources of data, for presentation to users 101 of the client 102...in the search area 311 the search term "San Francisco, Calif." is entered into a search field 314 and a search is initiated by activating or clicking on the search button 316. Jane is not familiar with the city, but Joseph is. Jane types in "Sushi" in the search window 312 to search the local information database 118, and selects one of the possible locations shown in the search results area 306. For example, she can select a map location A by activating or clicking on the A icon. Once she selects the map location A, the map information communication interface 300 then highlights the map location A on the reviews section (e.g., search results area 306), displays the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, and displays more detail information about the map location A on the detail location information area 320...” [para 27, 28, 44];
and displaying the local chat page, comprising a chat view and a map view, as a response to a request of the local chat page
“...The interactive map display area 204 presents a map showing the location of the meeting place such as a restaurant or shopping center. The interactive map display area 204 may also show approach roads or alternative meeting locations. The interactive map display area 204 includes user and buddy chat bubbles (e.g., buddy chat bubble 212 and user chat bubble 214) as explained below. The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...” [para 39];
the map view is generated based on local map information corresponding to a query based on meta information of the local chat page
“...The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...the search area 311 the search term "San Francisco, Calif." is entered into a search field 314 and a search is initiated by activating or clicking on the search button 316...” [para 39, 44];
and the chat view is generated based on chat information linked with the local chat page
“...The comment log area 206 (also referred as a chat log) lists the comments by the user and any buddies in a time sequential order, such as user comment 208 and buddy comment 210. The user comment 208 and buddy comment 210 duplicate at least a portion of the text included in the user chat bubble 214 and buddy chat bubble 212, respectively. The comment log area 206 appears on the map information communication interface 200 to give a sense of the progression of the conversation between the user and his/her buddies...” [para 40].
Claim 9:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a terminal configured to execute an instant messenger (“...FIG. 3A is an illustration of an exemplary map information communication interface 300, which shows how a map information communication interface might appear on a display of a client 102 device...comments chat log area 302...a comments chat log area 302, an interactive map display area 308,a chat bubble 330, a new map view 332, a chat number 334, and a chat history area 326...”) [FIGs 3A, 3B illustrate an interface on a client for instant messaging with a map view; para 42, 50], as in claim 8, further comprising,
the requesting the local chat page comprises: requesting the local chat page through an input of selecting an interfacing object for the local chat page in the instant messenger
“...The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...The user chat bubble 214 is displayed on the interactive map display area 204 pointing to the location of interest on the map, as specified by the user. The user chat bubble 214 also includes a text bubble displaying the text entered by the user...select a map location A by activating or clicking on the A icon. Once she selects the map location A, the map information communication interface 300 then highlights the map location A on the reviews section (e.g., search results area 306), displays the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, and displays more detail information about the map location A on the detail location information area 320. By activating or clicking on the A icon on the interactive map display area 308, the name of the map location A, for example, "Ta Ta Pizza" can appear on the chat bubble 330...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate selecting a location on the map for a location specific chat; para 39, 40, 44].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchill et al. (US 20090254840 A1) in view of Jones (US 20090106040 A1).
Claims 5 and 17:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a server that provides an instant messaging service “...server...instant message...” [para 28-29] and a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claims 1 and 12 above, further comprising,
determining a chatroom mapped to the local chat page as the target chatroom
“...The interactive map display area 204 includes user and buddy chat bubbles (e.g., buddy chat bubble 212 and user chat bubble 214) as explained below. The interactive map may be dynamically rendered, and furthermore, may be dynamically rendered to show a map area that is under discussion...The user chat bubble 214 is displayed on the interactive map display area 204 pointing to the location of interest on the map, as specified by the user. The user chat bubble 214 also includes a text bubble displaying the text entered by the user...” [FIGs 2, 3A, 3B illustrate chat records created for specific chats for specific locations; para 39-40];
and determining a chatroom, comprising local information corresponding to the local chat page as a keyword, as the target chatroom
“...in the search area 311 the search term "San Francisco, Calif." is entered into a search field 314 and a search is initiated by activating or clicking on the search button 316. Jane is not familiar with the city, but Joseph is. Jane types in "Sushi" in the search window 312 to search the local information database 118, and selects one of the possible locations shown in the search results area 306...” [para 44];
but Churchill et al. does not teach,
the determining the target chatroom comprises: determining the target chatroom based further on the chat participation history of a user account
However, Jones teaches,
“...Implicit preferences can be inferred by the present disclosure by analyzing current behavior and/or historical user behavior. Such user behavior can be dynamic, such as the locations where a user goes in real-time in a social interaction environment, or asynchronous, such as slowly-changing user profile information including, but not limited to, individuals' likes and/or dislikes, social network ties information, and other information...” [para 26];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicants' filed invention to incorporate the teachings of Jones into that of Churchill et al. in order to further tailor chat results to a user’s interests. Jones’ teachings leverage a user’s chat and other history as part of a recommendation system that utilizes “...behavior...by the system of the present disclosure to infer that the user is searching for an available social interaction space that readily engages new users. Further, the type of chat channels already sampled in this manner by the user could be utilized to suggest preferences relating to the type and/or topic of chat channels that are best to recommend to the user...” [Jones para 26] thereby expanding the relevant map view results in Churchill et al. to be more relevant to the user’s desired input query.
Claim 10:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a terminal configured to execute an instant messenger (“...FIG. 3A is an illustration of an exemplary map information communication interface 300, which shows how a map information communication interface might appear on a display of a client 102 device...comments chat log area 302...a comments chat log area 302, an interactive map display area 308,a chat bubble 330, a new map view 332, a chat number 334, and a chat history area 326...”) [FIGs 3A, 3B illustrate an interface on a client for instant messaging with a map view; para 42, 50], as in claim 8, but Churchill et al. does not teach,
the requesting the local chat page comprises: requesting the local chat page through an interfacing object provided based on whether a position of the terminal corresponds to the local chat page
However, Jones teaches,
“...the user's state is monitored. The state could include information about the user's location and/or the user's engagement in an activity. This information could be acquired by monitoring the user's actions in an electronic communications system (such a chat channel), or by remotely monitoring the user's physical actions using sensors (e.g., using a door sensor for monitoring the number of individuals within a room, remotely monitoring the user's presence through tracking of cell phone signals, or other suitable type of remote sensing system/device, etc.). In step 56, the monitored state is stored in a user profile database 58...” [para 26];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicants' filed invention to incorporate the teachings of Jones into that of Churchill et al. in order to further tailor chat results to a user’s interests. Jones’ teachings leverage a user’s location and other history as part of a recommendation system that “...analyzing current behavior and/or historical user behavior. Such user behavior can be dynamic, such as the locations where a user goes in real-time in a social interaction environment, or asynchronous...the type of chat channels already sampled in this manner by the user could be utilized to suggest preferences relating to the type and/or topic of chat channels that are best to recommend to the user...” [Jones para 26] thereby expanding the relevant map view results in Churchill et al. to be more relevant to the user “...if a user belongs to a social group that typically goes to football matches an implicit preference for places where football is seen or discussed could be inferred...” [Jones para 26].
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Churchill et al. (US 20090254840 A1) in view of Kwon (US 20230308406 A1).
Claims 7 and 19:
Churchill et al. teaches an operating method of a server that provides an instant messaging service “...server...instant message...” [para 28-29] and a server that provides an instant messaging service, the server comprising a processor configured to (“...processing unit...”) [para 25], as in claims 1 and 12 above, but Churchill et al. does not teach,
the generating the chat view comprises at least one of: generating the chat view in which messages transmitted in a chatroom linked with the local chat page are sorted in order of the most recently transmitted messages
and generating the chat view in which the messages transmitted in a chatroom linked with the local chat page are sorted in order of importance
However, Kwon does teach,
“...when there is a plurality of recent messages sent within a predetermined (or, alternatively, desired) time range, the processor 220 may select a portion of the recent messages based on ranking of the OpenChat chatroom and may display corresponding message information. If a plurality of OpenChat chatrooms is associated with the same metadata, that is, the same area, the processor 220 may select a recent message of an OpenChat chatroom with relatively high ranking and may provide the selected recent message as message information. If a plurality of recent messages is present in the same OpenChat chatroom, the processor 220 may select a most recently sent message or a message that includes a main keyword related to a subject or an area and may provide the selected message as message information...” [para 59];
“...A message that satisfies a predetermined (or, alternatively, desired) condition in consideration of a text length or a message type may be selected as an important message as a message highly likely to be a valid message in terms of information in addition to up-to-dateness of a message...determine message rankings based on at least one of information of a chatroom in which a message is sent such as the number of members of the chatroom in which the message is sent and message information such as correlation between the message and a corresponding area, a sender of the message, a time at which the message is sent, a message length, and/or the like, and then may configure and display the list of recent messages 1180...” [para 93-95];
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of applicants' filed invention to incorporate the teachings of Kwon into that of Churchill et al. in order to present a user with the most recent and most relevant messages. Kwon’s teachings provides for the prioritization of the most recent and most relevant messages for a user based on their query. This is advantageous as a modification to Churchill et al. due to the nature of large volumes of chat messages being posted and shown on the map view. Kwon would allow for the most recent and relevant messages to be displayed on the user client display as taught by Churchill et al., thereby focusing the chat that is most relevant to the user based on their query.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Oscar Louie whose telephone number is (571) 270-1684 and E-mail address is OSCAR.LOUIE@USPTO.GOV. Note that a form SB-439 must be on file in order to conduct correspondence by E-mail, however, E-mail may be utilized to arrange time(s) for interview(s) without the SB-439 form. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Thursday between 05:30AM-03:30 PM.
/OSCAR A LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2445